2020 LG OLED CX-GX Owner's Thread + FAQ (Posts 1-6) - No Price Talk - Page 38 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5803Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 6,412
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5318 Post(s)
Liked: 6518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
03.00.45 out on korean LG site.

Changes
ⓐ No HDMI4 improved signal generation (03.00.35)
Ⓑ HDMI No signal issue improvement in eARC On state (03.00.45)

https://www.lgservice.co.kr/fileDown...978&check=true
Do not load this firmware unless you are in Korea. Wait for the firmware for your region. This is good to know because it means an update is coming.
crussellsprout likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F, LG CX
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LightSpace Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 6,412
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5318 Post(s)
Liked: 6518
Quote:
Originally Posted by malexandria View Post
Disappointing to hear. One of the reasons I don't like my B7 is the HDMI has gone out several times in the last year and LG has had to replace the controller 3 times - it was the HDMI Arc Port, I really don't want to go through this again if I end up upgrading to the CX.
I've never had this happen on my CX.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F, LG CX
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LightSpace Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #1113 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Antarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Do not load this firmware unless you are in Korea. Wait for the firmware for your region. This is good to know because it means an update is coming.

US and Korean TVs are the same. Firmware works just fine. I've been updating this way for years without issues.
onesolo likes this.
Antarius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1114 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 1371
@jrref or @D-Nice , can you tell us what is the HDCP level of the CX (in the hidden "Host/HDMI Diagnostics" menu - if it's still behind the same 11111 keys)?
dfa973 is offline  
post #1115 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 07:05 AM
Member
 
PittyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Has anyone played around with 4k120hz yet?

Can't find any videos on youtube, and would like to see it in action.
PittyH is offline  
post #1116 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 1371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
Managed to test EARC today, had PC connected to one of hdmi ports. I did not see PCM 5.1 or PCM 7.1. And funniest part, no DTS HD MA, which works on C9. Dolby TrueHD is present.
So.. it seems that the previous reports that the CX has the MC-LPCM update from the factory are untrue...
The CX still can't pass MC-LPCM via eARC.
Mind-boggling is that DTS-HD MA does not passthrough...

Are you sure of that? Can you test again?
onesolo likes this.
dfa973 is offline  
post #1117 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 07:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,360
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7613 Post(s)
Liked: 7672
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttusqrl View Post
Here you go! GX is about a finger and a half wide, and has a very small mount pattern on the back. The wall mount is included as stated online and above.

Figured I’d take a chance to show off one of my other two LGs I got for my patio space as well.
Don't forget to take pic from the side once she is hung
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #1118 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 07:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by PittyH View Post
Has anyone played around with 4k120hz yet?

Can't find any videos on youtube, and would like to see it in action.
I think when you play 4K at 120Hz it's limited to 8bit processing. If your content, e.g gaming benefits from 4K 120Hz it's ok, but I don't believe it would be a good choice for most video content.
UltraHD enthusiast is offline  
post #1119 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Alex512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marien Zwart View Post
Just thought I'd mention the OLED55CXPTA I just bought here in Australia does have component input (a green jack input above the yellow one for composite, and a second jack-to-RCA splitter in the box). I'm assuming this is a regional difference.


Doesn't help you, but anyone who hasn't already bought one of these might want to hold off searching for component-to-HDMI converters until they've confirmed their unit really does not have this input.
My B6 had the same inputs and it was a 55. I guess LG decide to rid of it in their larger sets only. Maybe the 48 has it too.
Alex512 is offline  
post #1120 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
I do not know for sure, we got the 65" in, but have not cracked one open yet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Could one of you post up a picture of the back that I could throw into paint and post back up for some specific measurements? Pretty please??
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltraHD enthusiast View Post
I assume you received it Friday as no commercial deliveries are made on Saturday or Sunday. Rip that baby open and share some pictures today please!
Did you open your 65" GX yet? Post some pictures please.
Phil1975m likes this.
UltraHD enthusiast is offline  
post #1121 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Alex512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenrider View Post
One frustrating issue I'm encountering with the 55" CX: every once in a while, the HDMI inputs "go dead" even though the sources (a Switch, a Roku, and a Chromecast) are all working fine.

Usually the pattern is:
- I turn on the TV
- I switch to HDMI 1/2/3/4
- I get the "No Signal" screensaver
- I confirm that the source (let's say the Switch) is turned on and ought to be sending signal to the TV
- I try the other HDMI ports and get the same "No Signal" screensaver
- I turn the TV off and on again (sometimes have to do this twice)
- All the HDMI inputs work correctly again

This has happened 3-4 times already.

Any insight into whether this is a CX bug? Anyone ever see this happen with their C9?
This exact same thing is happening to me with my CX65. Turn TV on> PlayStation on> cycle power to TV and then I get signal. Doesn’t happen ever time. My LG sound bar is also not connecting properly.
Alex512 is offline  
post #1122 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 08:12 AM
Member
 
ttusqrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
Thanks! I would also like to know the same as "E" for the bottom if possible.
A = 14.125”
C/D = 30.3”
E = 2.25”
Top to cavity = 9.25”
Bottom to cavity = 8.75”


I couldn't tell the difference in C and D from your pictures. I owe you B still but I would guestimate it at 6"
Stevetd likes this.
ttusqrl is offline  
post #1123 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttusqrl View Post
Here you go! GX is about a finger and a half wide, and has a very small mount pattern on the back. The wall mount is included as stated online and above.

Figured I’d take a chance to show off one of my other two LGs I got for my patio space as well.

Does it come with a table top stand as Best Buy says it comes with both the table top stand and wall mount. If not is there holes to mount a table top stand?

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is online now  
post #1124 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 08:23 AM
Member
 
ttusqrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
Does it come with a table top stand as Best Buy says it comes with both the table top stand and wall mount. If not is there holes to mount a table top stand?
I do not see a table top stand in the box, nor do I see one connected to the base. It's still in the bottom carton to support it, so will have to let you know about holes after it comes out and gets mounted.
ttusqrl is offline  
post #1125 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rysa_105 View Post
did they launch it in australia already, i was under the impression that these did not launch anywhere other than u.s. and korea so far. in my country, the dealer tells me june, and in the uk these havent launched so far except the pricing being made available.

LG's own site (which I'd link to but the forum won't let me) still says "coming soon", but also has a "where to buy" button that links to several retailers, one of which I bought the one sitting next to me from. So it's more launched than not launched at this point, I think?


(That's a pretty recent development, it was more not launched than launched a few days ago)
mrtickleuk likes this.
Marien Zwart is offline  
post #1126 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttusqrl View Post
I do not see a table top stand in the box, nor do I see one connected to the base. It's still in the bottom carton to support it, so will have to let you know about holes after it comes out and gets mounted.
Thanks! LG website doesn't mention the table stand but Best Buy does. I will need the table top stand as it will be difficult to hang the TV where I have it in my living room. It want the G series as it does have the ATSC 3.0 receiver in it and the C series does not. Will have to see if there is an optional stand for the GX.
crussellsprout likes this.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is online now  
post #1127 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttusqrl View Post
A = 14.125”
C/D = 30.3”
E = 2.25”
Top to cavity = 9.25”
Bottom to cavity = 8.75”


I couldn't tell the difference in C and D from your pictures. I owe you B still but I would guestimate it at 6"

Thanks for doing that. Much appreciated.
Stevetd is online now  
post #1128 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
Thanks! LG website doesn't mention the table stand but Best Buy does. I will need the table top stand as it will be difficult to hang the TV where I have it in my living room. It want the G series as it does have the ATSC 3.0 receiver in it and the C series does not. Will have to see if there is an optional stand for the GX.

There is an optional stand for the GX in US (and Canada?) -- I've spotted it listed on B&H so far with "Coming Soon" status, so I'm sure it will be listed at other retailers also at some point.
crussellsprout is offline  
post #1129 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ice Cold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltraHD enthusiast View Post
I think when you play 4K at 120Hz it's limited to 8bit processing. If your content, e.g gaming benefits from 4K 120Hz it's ok, but I don't believe it would be a good choice for most video content.
So why is no one talking about this ? So 4K 120hz is limited to 8-bit then no HDR

So when people in a few months get RTX 3080 cards with HDMI 2.1 and try to use 4K 120hz colors are gonna look either not right or limited and HDR won’t be selectable.
Ice Cold is offline  
post #1130 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 10:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marien Zwart View Post
LG's own site (which I'd link to but the forum won't let me) still says "coming soon", but also has a "where to buy" button that links to several retailers, one of which I bought the one sitting next to me from. So it's more launched than not launched at this point, I think?


(That's a pretty recent development, it was more not launched than launched a few days ago)
I checked LG's website and see the same. Here's the link.
UltraHD enthusiast is offline  
post #1131 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 1,021
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussellsprout View Post
There is an optional stand for the GX in US (and Canada?) -- I've spotted it listed on B&H so far with "Coming Soon" status, so I'm sure it will be listed at other retailers also at some point.
Value Electronics has a PDF of the optional stand. B&H has the LG part #AN-GXDV55
I guess I will have to make sure to get the stand before I get the TV or it will have to sit in the box until I get it.
You have to go to value electronics site and navigate to the 2020 GX LG OLEDS they have a link at the bottom of the page.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"

Last edited by Jed1; 04-07-2020 at 11:06 AM.
Jed1 is online now  
post #1132 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 1371
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenrider View Post
One frustrating issue I'm encountering with the 55" CX: every once in a while, the HDMI inputs "go dead" even though the sources (a Switch, a Roku, and a Chromecast) are all working fine.

Usually the pattern is:
- I turn on the TV
- I switch to HDMI 1/2/3/4
- I get the "No Signal" screensaver
- I confirm that the source (let's say the Switch) is turned on and ought to be sending signal to the TV
- I try the other HDMI ports and get the same "No Signal" screensaver
- I turn the TV off and on again (sometimes have to do this twice)
- All the HDMI inputs work correctly again

This has happened 3-4 times already.

Any insight into whether this is a CX bug? Anyone ever see this happen with their C9?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex512 View Post
This exact same thing is happening to me with my CX65. Turn TV on> PlayStation on> cycle power to TV and then I get signal. Doesn’t happen ever time. My LG sound bar is also not connecting properly.
This is a known bug that will be fixed by the next firmware update. Probably very soon. It is mentioned in the first posts of this thread.
dfa973 is offline  
post #1133 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
avernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1231 Post(s)
Liked: 1496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice Cold View Post
So why is no one talking about this ? So 4K 120hz is limited to 8-bit then no HDR

So when people in a few months get RTX 3080 cards with HDMI 2.1 and try to use 4K 120hz colors are gonna look either not right or limited and HDR won’t be selectable.
Because it's only limited to that on a HDMI 2.0 link. The 4K 120Hz 4:2:0 8-bit mode just comes in under the 18Gbps limit at 17.82Gbps.

The upcoming cards with a HDMI 2.1 48Gbps port can do all the way up to 4K 120Hz 4:4:4/RGB 12-bit (with HDR10 or DV).
ataneruo likes this.
avernar is online now  
post #1134 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Alex512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
This is a known bug that will be fixed by the next firmware update. Probably very soon. It is mentioned in the first posts of this thread.
Ok great. Thanks! Would you know if they will have a fix in firmware for the LG sound sync? My 2016 LG sound bar will only sync via BT not optical and doesn’t stay connected to BT.
Alex512 is offline  
post #1135 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dfa973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 1371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex512 View Post
Ok great. Thanks! Would you know if they will have a fix in firmware for the LG sound sync? My 2016 LG sound bar will only sync via BT not optical and doesn’t stay connected to BT.
The next 03.00.45 firmware version has some eARC fixes, I do not know if there are LG sound sync fixes as well. Maybe.

You should post all of your issues on the LG Community forum at https://lgcommunity.us.com to make LG aware of them.
dfa973 is offline  
post #1136 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 6,412
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5318 Post(s)
Liked: 6518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
US and Korean TVs are the same. Firmware works just fine. I've been updating this way for years without issues.
Until LG makes a change that's not for your area and you can't undo it. Last year we saw a couple of cases where someone loaded a non US version and a fix in the later US version didn't work. Not worth taking the chance.
ataneruo, Phil1975m and New24K like this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F, LG CX
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LightSpace Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #1137 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Alex512's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfa973 View Post
The next 03.00.45 firmware version has some eARC fixes, I do not know if there are LG sound sync fixes as well. Maybe.

You should post all of your issues on the LG Community forum at https://lgcommunity.us.com to make LG aware of them.
Thanks again 🙏 will do
Alex512 is offline  
post #1138 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Antarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Until LG makes a change that's not for your area and you can't undo it. Last year we saw a couple of cases where someone loaded a non US version and a fix in the later US version didn't work. Not worth taking the chance.

Those people enabled engineer mode and loaded beta firmware, not the official one. Engineering firmware has a number higher than official and prevents from updating later. Korean firmware is the same as US and always comes out before US. If you worry about it, then don't load it, no one forcing you.
onesolo likes this.
Antarius is offline  
post #1139 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ice Cold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by avernar View Post
Because it's only limited to that on a HDMI 2.0 link. The 4K 120Hz 4:2:0 8-bit mode just comes in under the 18Gbps limit at 17.82Gbps.

The upcoming cards with a HDMI 2.1 48Gbps port can do all the way up to 4K 120Hz 4:4:4/RGB 12-bit (with HDR10 or DV).
Ok thank you I had understood that the LG C9 or CX couldn’t process 4K 120hz at 10-bit. I hope that’s not the case.
jrref likes this.
Ice Cold is offline  
post #1140 of 6723 Old 04-07-2020, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gooddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,934
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3917 Post(s)
Liked: 3600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakob D. View Post
I have complained about my C9 because of dead pixels, the panel will be replaced in the middle of next week, if the new panel is not faultless, I will complain again! if I'm still unlucky I'll switch to the CX!
Are you working directly through LG or a retailer for the replacement panels? Thanks
Gooddoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
detection issue , earc , g-sync , lg cx , lossless audio , lpcm 7.1 , new purchase , pcm , surround sound and speaker , troubleshooting

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off