Moxi HD DVR - Page 217 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 178Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6481 of 7550 Old 02-21-2015, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Hooray!!!


Thanx dz2k...You guys rock... after a dismal unsuccessful evening hours with tech support last night with folks from (India/Bangladesh?), I called again per your instructions exactly and within 15 minutes TW tech support in Buffalo NY fixed it immediately. The asked for a bunch of CC tech info in addition to the ones you suggested and all is well.
great! please add the info to the hard drive replacement thread using the template on first page.
dz2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6482 of 7550 Old 02-21-2015, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Done!

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #6483 of 7550 Old 02-24-2015, 07:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
I do lots of fast forwarding and reversing plus skipping the commercials. Does this increase wear and tear on the drive killing them off sooner than expected?
negative, dmusoke: , fastfwding & rewinding & skipping commercials does not increase or decrease wear/tear on the hard drive.
tveli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6484 of 7550 Old 02-24-2015, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Thanks Tveli ...but doesn't this increase the random movement of the read/write heads of the disk drive, hence its life time? Fro regular PC drives, it I believe it does but I may be wrong here...

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #6485 of 7550 Old 02-24-2015, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Thanks Tveli ...but doesn't this increase the random movement of the read/write heads of the disk drive, hence its life time? Fro regular PC drives, it I believe it does but I may be wrong here...
You are most welcome, dmusoke...

The read/write heads will be gyrating back and forth about the same whether or not you fastforward/rewind/commercial-skip, due to the ongoing recordings, and the tendency towards disk fragmentation.

A possible way to reduce the read/write head/servo activity of the drive would be to tune every tuner to an unauthorized "you are not subscribed to this" channel, so there will be nothing to record onto the hard drive. (Or disconnect the input coax cable....)

This question brings to mind fun I had with a DEC RP06 "washing machine" disk drive back in the 1970s on a PDP-11/40:
Using nonprivileged system calls, one could position the heads at any physical block, so i wrote a program which looped and moved the r/w heads from an innermost block to an outermost block, on the platter(s). This caused r/w heads to go back and forth between their extreme positions as fast as mechanically possible - so the 300 lb washing-machine-sized drive "walked itself" across the floor until it pulled out its own cable, and system would crash. (I didn't run that program more than twice.)
tveli is offline  
post #6486 of 7550 Old 02-24-2015, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 221
tveli likes this.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #6487 of 7550 Old 03-02-2015, 09:18 PM
Member
 
russdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan, AL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've got a 3T with a 2TB drive in it, plus 2 Mates... everything works fine... anybody know what these are worth these days?
russdog is offline  
post #6488 of 7550 Old 03-02-2015, 10:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 221
I sold my mate for about $250 more than a year ago...

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #6489 of 7550 Old 03-02-2015, 11:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 14,547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2398
Quote:
Originally Posted by miked1960 View Post
YES they do. It's on here and I posted it on here Straight from MOXI they emailed the instructions to ME so I could reformat and reinstall their software, It's on here so go look it up. Few others have reposted it on here also.
I stand corrected! I don't know how I missed (or forgot) that. They still might have an out though since they are sending out instructions to specific people and not widely distributing the info.


VisionOn is offline  
post #6490 of 7550 Old 03-02-2015, 11:22 PM
Member
 
russdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan, AL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
I sold my mate for about $250 more than a year ago...
Thanks for that... how did you go about it? ebay or some other method?

What would you guess for a 3-tuner that works fine?
russdog is offline  
post #6491 of 7550 Old 03-02-2015, 11:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 221
A fellow AVSer PM me after I advertised on AVS. Its free!


A 3T will command a higher price. A used 2T on Amazon is asking for $1000 which I think is ridiculous since a 3T new cost about $800 and a new 2T used to cost $500. I'd sell a 3T for at least $500 imo...

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #6492 of 7550 Old 03-03-2015, 12:55 PM
Member
 
russdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan, AL
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
A fellow AVSer PM me after I advertised on AVS. Its free!


A 3T will command a higher price. A used 2T on Amazon is asking for $1000 which I think is ridiculous since a 3T new cost about $800 and a new 2T used to cost $500. I'd sell a 3T for at least $500 imo...
This is helpful... thanks again...
russdog is offline  
post #6493 of 7550 Old 03-10-2015, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
JoeAvena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Moxi 3 tuner (1TB) and 1 Moxi Mate will sell both for $300.00.
JoeAvena is offline  
post #6494 of 7550 Old 03-25-2015, 08:41 AM
Member
 
rsax777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't seem to get the 4 finger press to work. I have Moxi connected directly to my modem. When I do the 4 finger press it blinks after 15 seconds then the Moxi logo comes back and stays.

The amber light on the far left isn't blinking although it did on one try. The formatting menu never appears. The ethernet light in the back repeatedly blinks as if it's receiving data.

Any suggestions?
rsax777 is offline  
post #6495 of 7550 Old 03-25-2015, 12:11 PM
Member
 
bodow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsax777 View Post
I can't seem to get the 4 finger press to work. I have Moxi connected directly to my modem. When I do the 4 finger press it blinks after 15 seconds then the Moxi logo comes back and stays.

The amber light on the far left isn't blinking although it did on one try. The formatting menu never appears. The ethernet light in the back repeatedly blinks as if it's receiving data.

Any suggestions?
I had this happen when I was trying to use a bad\dying HDD. Is it new?
bodow is offline  
post #6496 of 7550 Old 03-25-2015, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I've also seen it happen when it doesnt like your brand/model hdd. Try a confirmed one that works in hdd replacement thread.
dz2k is offline  
post #6497 of 7550 Old 03-26-2015, 11:55 AM
Member
 
rsax777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using a new Seagate ST2000DM001 drive that is listed in the database as a success.

I reinstalled the flaky original disk and I can't get that to do the 4 finger also. Goes to standard reboot every time, no formatting menu.

Do I wait for the Moxi logo to appear before pressing the 4 buttons?

Last edited by rsax777; 03-26-2015 at 12:32 PM.
rsax777 is offline  
post #6498 of 7550 Old 03-26-2015, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Ok as long as its verified for your moxi tuner model.
dz2k is offline  
post #6499 of 7550 Old 03-26-2015, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsax777 View Post
I am using a new Seagate ST2000DM001 drive that is listed in the database as a success.

I reinstalled the flaky original disk and I can't get that to do the 4 finger also. Goes to standard reboot every time, no formatting menu.

Do I wait for the Moxi logo to appear before pressing the 4 buttons?

Hope this helps...
Attached Files
File Type: zip Moxi Hard Drive Replacement Instructions.zip (9.9 KB, 44 views)

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #6500 of 7550 Old 03-28-2015, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Duck05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: No. Calif (Bay Area)
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
Hope this helps...
As I recall, there are also some extended instructions on ensuring your router or ISP is not "blocking" the key ports used for this process. These are in the HDD replacement thread but I do not know exactly where....


Good luck.....
Duck05 is offline  
post #6501 of 7550 Old 03-28-2015, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsax777 View Post
I am using a new Seagate ST2000DM001 drive that is listed in the database as a success.

I reinstalled the flaky original disk and I can't get that to do the 4 finger also. Goes to standard reboot every time, no formatting menu.

Do I wait for the Moxi logo to appear before pressing the 4 buttons?

hope this helps: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hdt...l#post23190323
dz2k is offline  
post #6502 of 7550 Old 04-02-2015, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
sslund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Hard Drive Failure or Something Else?


<sigh> So, it finally happened: the internal drive on our first 3T Moxi seems to have failed. It comes as no surprise -- it's been in heavy use since 6/2010 & I've known there were issues with the hard drive for many months now. My plan was to replace the drive before it failed, but everything else has been a higher priority, so my bad.


Now I'm in crisis, but before I spend the money to buy a new drive, I'm not sure that the internal HDD is the only problem because this failure is different than what happened in when the internal drive in the other 3T Moxi failed, so will appreciate opinions.


The Moxi was working normally last night. This afternoon, I noticed it was completely dark. Yikes. I hit the reset button, nothing happened, so then I pulled the power plug. When I plugged it back in, it seemed to start quasi-normally, but all channel logos were gone in the EPG and in completed recordings . . . just the channel numbers survived. Of course, some recordings were missing as well, but I couldn't tell right away where they were missing from since there's an external drive hooked up as well.


The second thing I noticed was that only 2% of my recording space was used. I knew that was wrong -- I didn't pay attention last night, but that Moxi is always somewhere in the 70-75% full range.


I hit the reset button, and the Moxi rebooted. The space changed to 48% full, some recordings reappeared & others remained missing, but the channel logos were still missing. I spent some time writing down my Series watching things that were most important.


I then disconnected the external drive and discovered that the internal hard drive dumped all shows recorded there.


But what about the channel logos disappearing? Would a failed internal HDD explain that?


And to add insult to injury, after scrambling to schedule things that were set to record tonight on the other Moxi in case this one really died it a big way, we're having a cable outage. Gotta love TWC . . . NOT!


I'll appreciate any thoughts on whether the HD failing would explain the logos that disappeared today as well.




TIA,
Saundra
sslund is offline  
post #6503 of 7550 Old 04-03-2015, 02:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Sounds like an internal hdd issue to me. In the past, my moxi would go to a black screen every so often and would require a manual reboot when the stock hdd was in. Eventually, moxi support was called and they mustve done a disk repair like someone said happens because it prolonged the hdd without the black screens for months after. In regards to moxi auto deleting recordings, ive never had that happen. I went to each recording and made sure it said keep till i delete. I also put that setting in the default recording settings for any new series or shows. If i go to recordings shows list, i think the green square all the way to the right of each recording indicates what i want. Again, this wasnt the default and it had to be changed manually. Now i dont have to worry about it thank God. It has to be done on each moxi dvr. U might as well replace the hdd as its on its last leg. Good luck in what u decide.
dz2k is offline  
post #6504 of 7550 Old 04-03-2015, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
sslund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dz2k View Post
Sounds like an internal hdd issue to me. In the past, my moxi would go to a black screen every so often and would require a manual reboot when the stock hdd was in. Eventually, moxi support was called and they mustve done a disk repair like someone said happens because it prolonged the hdd without the black screens for months after. In regards to moxi auto deleting recordings, ive never had that happen. I went to each recording and made sure it said keep till i delete. I also put that setting in the default recording settings for any new series or shows. If i go to recordings shows list, i think the green square all the way to the right of each recording indicates what i want. Again, this wasnt the default and it had to be changed manually. Now i dont have to worry about it thank God. It has to be done on each moxi dvr. U might as well replace the hdd as its on its last leg. Good luck in what u decide.

Thanks! When the hard drive in the other Moxi was failing & before it bricked, it dumped all the recordings on the internal drive a couple of times while preserving many/most/all recorded on the external, so that didn't surprise me . . . other than how long it took the drive to do so after it started experiencing issues :-) All of my recordings are set to keep until I delete them. My main concern was the missing channel logos after it turned itself off -- I'd not experienced that before. Interesting -- or not -- the channel logos still appear on those recordings when viewed in the Recorded section on the other Moxi.


I know failing HDD are by far the most common problem with Moxis, but I'm that rare person who had to RMA both of my Moxis (one couldn't receive streamed content from the other; and then something apparently went wrong with the CC slot -- not the card itself in the other) because of "other" hardware problems. So, I get a little nervous when things not clearly HDD issues happen :-)
sslund is offline  
post #6505 of 7550 Old 04-03-2015, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I had a moxi CC slot that was DOA when i got it. We tried multiple CC and nothing. We put a Cc in the other and it worked fine. Are u saying your other moxi that had a failing hdd dumped its shows to internal hdd? I thought this one has a failing internal hdd.
dz2k is offline  
post #6506 of 7550 Old 04-03-2015, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
sslund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dz2k View Post
I had a moxi CC slot that was DOA when i got it. We tried multiple CC and nothing. We put a Cc in the other and it worked fine. Are u saying your other moxi that had a failing hdd dumped its shows to internal hdd? I thought this one has a failing internal hdd.

We have two 3T Moxis purchased at the same time -- both have external drives in addition to the internal hard drive. The internal HHD on the other one failed about 18 months ago and had self-deleted all recorded content on the internal drive about 6 months before the final failure when it wouldn't boot at all -- everything on the external drive survived both times.


The current problem is with the other 3T Moxi -- it still had its original internal drive (6/2010), so it lasted close to five years! Yesterday, it somehow powered itself off -- I had to pull the power plug & then plug it back in to get it to reboot. When it started back up, a bunch of recordings had disappeared along with the channel logos. I hit the reset button on the front after a few minutes & some additional recordings reappeared. I then disconnected the external drive & found that the internal drive had no recordings left at all -- the recorded content on the external drive seems to have survived intact.


The channel logos that were missing yesterday had reappeared sometime before this afternoon. However, the unit is acting very flaky. The replacement hard drive will arrive tomorrow & I hope replacement goes as smoothly as it did with the other Moxi. The silver lining, I suppose, is that since the internal drive has no recorded content, I won't have to mess around with cloning the old drive :-)
sslund is offline  
post #6507 of 7550 Old 04-04-2015, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
dz2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by sslund View Post
We have two 3T Moxis purchased at the same time -- both have external drives in addition to the internal hard drive. The internal HHD on the other one failed about 18 months ago and had self-deleted all recorded content on the internal drive about 6 months before the final failure when it wouldn't boot at all -- everything on the external drive survived both times.


The current problem is with the other 3T Moxi -- it still had its original internal drive (6/2010), so it lasted close to five years! Yesterday, it somehow powered itself off -- I had to pull the power plug & then plug it back in to get it to reboot. When it started back up, a bunch of recordings had disappeared along with the channel logos. I hit the reset button on the front after a few minutes & some additional recordings reappeared. I then disconnected the external drive & found that the internal drive had no recordings left at all -- the recorded content on the external drive seems to have survived intact.


The channel logos that were missing yesterday had reappeared sometime before this afternoon. However, the unit is acting very flaky. The replacement hard drive will arrive tomorrow & I hope replacement goes as smoothly as it did with the other Moxi. The silver lining, I suppose, is that since the internal drive has no recorded content, I won't have to mess around with cloning the old drive :-)

Sorry you lost the internal hdd recordings. i have an 80GB internal hdd ready if that happens to me but it would need to track the percent of space used on the internal hdd. i think Robert said he used a 60GB and it always showed 0% used although he had recordings on the hdd. i don't guess he had an external hdd connected at the same time because that will affect the percentage shown.
dz2k is offline  
post #6508 of 7550 Old 04-05-2015, 03:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 14,547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2398
Channel logos vanishing happened to me but I cannot remember if that was just before the drive failed.

I am of the opinion that it's a result of data corruption on the drive. We know the software is stored on a drive partition so it would stand to reason that a cache is reserved for channel information too. If the drive is starting to fail then corrupting not only recordings but the storage space it frequently uses for other basic tasks would not be unexpected.

edit: yup, found the original post and losing the logo icons was just a precursor to total drive meltdown.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hdt...l#post23320760



Last edited by VisionOn; 04-05-2015 at 04:02 AM.
VisionOn is offline  
post #6509 of 7550 Old 04-06-2015, 02:04 AM
Senior Member
 
sslund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I got the new drive installed -- it took me two tries to get the 4FP exactly right this time. I'll have to get on the phone to TWC CC folks tomorrow -- I was about 30 minutes late to catch them Sunday. VisionOn, your theory makes sense to me. The channel logos did reappear over time after a couple of reboots, unlike the magically disappeared recordings which are just plain gone.


Yet another oddity I'm wondering if anyone has input about? Keep in mind that both Moxis have external drives attached. For quite some time, I've noticed that sometimes a single recordings will be "split" into separate recordings. X minutes will be in a recording and then the rest will be in a second recording. I've never been able to figure out what that's about -- does anyone have any idea? I initially thought maybe the Moxis would reboot in the middle of recording something, but since the recording was complete albeit split into two, that didn't really seem to make sense.


I'm starting to think it may be a sign that all is not well with an external drive. For the Moxi that had the failed internal drive, I determined that a documentary I'd recorded but not had a chance to watch was on the external drive intact . . . one complete recording. After installing the new internal drive, that doc is now split into two. Weird, but it does seem to point to an issue with the external drive, yes?


<sigh>


Thanks for any ideas.


Saundra
sslund is offline  
post #6510 of 7550 Old 04-06-2015, 05:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 14,547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2398
Quote:
Originally Posted by sslund View Post
Yet another oddity I'm wondering if anyone has input about? Keep in mind that both Moxis have external drives attached. For quite some time, I've noticed that sometimes a single recordings will be "split" into separate recordings. X minutes will be in a recording and then the rest will be in a second recording. I've never been able to figure out what that's about -- does anyone have any idea? I initially thought maybe the Moxis would reboot in the middle of recording something, but since the recording was complete albeit split into two, that didn't really seem to make sense.
I've had recordings split when the Moxi crashes and reboots, it also happens when SDV fails and the tuning adapter loses the signal but then gets it back a minute or two later.

One of the good things about Moxi is that it will remember when a recording screws up and will try to complete the show when it comes back to life.


VisionOn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off