The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 653 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 311Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19561 of 19722 Old 07-12-2018, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,821
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Please for next video use your table... kitchen's is OK

Well I posted (perhaps Search by poster's name would works) how to use desert spoons to open the DVR without any marks/damages ... also there are pictures with measuring the holes. Using "non-cotter" pins are from previous century's way
P Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19562 of 19722 Old 07-12-2018, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by lind777 View Post
I must be ignorant or something but is there a better way to find post 18932 than by manually stepping through every page? I searched on that number and it does not bring up that post. There are 652 pages of posts and this poor search capability really makes it hard.
The problem is AVS not you. Try this....

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hd...l#post39385538
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #19563 of 19722 Old 07-12-2018, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Please for next video use your table... kitchen's is OK

Well I posted (perhaps Search by poster's name would works) how to use desert spoons to open the DVR without any marks/damages ... also there are pictures with measuring the holes. Using "non-cotter" pins are from previous century's way
Yea the spoons really work well...
Pete-N2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19564 of 19722 Old 07-12-2018, 11:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Seems to me, the site search engine is screwed - I know for sure, we did discuss SSD a few times and there was many posts about using 2.5" HDD, but the Search giving nothing !
P Smith -- Is this the post we are looking for?

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hd...l#post23248398
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #19565 of 19722 Old 07-12-2018, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by lind777 View Post
Can we use a small form factor 2.5" SATA drive in place of the 3.5" large form factor drive?

Also would a SSD work too?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
See your Post 18932

The HGST HTS541010A9E680 2.5" is still in use 24x7x365.
Wow, talk about making it hard....

I have my preferences set to 20 posts/page. 18932/20 = 946.6, so it should be on page 947....

Next I go to the last page, then replace the "979" in the URL with "947" - yep, there it is: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hd...l#post39385538

And a trick discovered by @pachinko ensures the link above will work regardless of your posts/page setting!

Edit: BTW, I see no reason an SSD wouldn't work, although no guarantees.... It seems like a rather expensive replacement for no obvious benefit though. And the Pal doesn't support an SSD's "trim" function, so the SSD won't know when space has been reclaimed by deleting recordings. This would likely result in poor performance if the SSD ever got too full.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 07-12-2018 at 07:30 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19566 of 19722 Old 07-12-2018, 07:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Seems to me, the site search engine is screwed - I know for sure, we did discuss SSD a few times and there was many posts about using 2.5" HDD, but the Search giving nothing !
Absolutely! The AVS Forum search is terrible! Minimum 4-character words, and won't find partial words, so searching for terms like 2.5, HDD, SSD, etc. is just about impossible!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19567 of 19722 Old 07-12-2018, 07:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by lind777 View Post
I searched a lot of different ways for cover removal and did not find a good way except for someone who used cotter pins which I tried and was not easy at all.
I've used the cotter-pin method. It wasn't easy for me the first time either, but I got the hang of it after a couple more tries.

One thing I quickly learned to do was to cut off the catches once I had it open, so if I ever need to open it again, it's a simple matter of removing the screws and popping it apart. The catches are completely unnecessary to hold the case together; they serve no purpose I can see, except to make the Pal harder to open. If you'd prefer not to cut the catches, you could get the same result by wrapping tape around them. The tape could then be removed if you wanted to restore their original "functionality" for some reason.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19568 of 19722 Old 07-13-2018, 06:02 AM
Member
 
lind777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Wow, talk about making it hard....

I have my preferences set to 20 posts/page. 18932/20 = 946.6, so it should be on page 947....

Next I go to the last page, then replace the "979" in the URL with "947" - yep, there it is: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hd...l#post39385538

And a trick discovered by @pachinko ensures the link above will work regardless of your posts/page setting!

Edit: BTW, I see no reason an SSD wouldn't work, although no guarantees.... It seems like a rather expensive replacement for no obvious benefit though. And the Pal doesn't support an SSD's "trim" function, so the SSD won't know when space has been reclaimed by deleting recordings. This would likely result in poor performance if the SSD ever got too full.
Really good suggestion on locating entries. THANKS!
lind777 is offline  
post #19569 of 19722 Old 07-14-2018, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5,138
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1837 Post(s)
Liked: 1625
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Absolutely! The AVS Forum search is terrible! Minimum 4-character words, and won't find partial words, so searching for terms like 2.5, HDD, SSD, etc. is just about impossible!
If you're desperate, you can try a web search engine and specify site: avsforum.com at the end of your query to limit your results to AVSF matches only.
P Smith and Jim in Phoenix like this.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #19570 of 19722 Old 08-24-2018, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
trp2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Brand-New DTVPal DVR Available (Factory-Sealed Box)

FYI if anyone is interested I have a brand-new Dish DTVPal DVR available for sale. It's in a factory-sealed box that has never been opened. I figured someone on this forum might appreciate a brand-new DTVPal DVR as opposed to my offering it on some other venue. I actually have 2 brand-new factory-sealed units available but have decided to keep one as a spare for myself at this time.

I currently have 2 of my own DTVPal DVRs in use and have owned the first one since they were first released in December 2008 (second unit purchased in 2009). That first unit from 2008 is still operating just fine on a daily basis and it has been in service now for almost 10 years. It started off on factory firmware F201 and is now at F208 and continues to chug along without any issues with the original factory hard drive and original factory capacitors! (I have a brand-new WD10EURX hard drive in my possession just in case I need it.)

If you have any interest in the brand-new DTVPal DVR send me a PM and we can discuss the details. It would probably be better to find it a "good home" where it can be used rather than letting it continue to sit in its unopened box!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DTVPal DVR Box.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	2446014  

Last edited by trp2525; 08-25-2018 at 01:20 PM. Reason: Correction
trp2525 is offline  
post #19571 of 19722 Old 10-03-2018, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Daylight savings time will end one month from Thursday. And so begins the month of uncertainty.

(If I recall correctly we have more scheduling problems in the spring.)
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #19572 of 19722 Old 10-03-2018, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Pretty much concluded to just leave the 'Pals alone and the clock time will straighten out within a day. But also make sure to check any timers that are set up. Those are what usually get messed up for me with the time change.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #19573 of 19722 Old 10-03-2018, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
If past is prologue, our Pals will be messed up Thursday but will (mostly) fix themselves Friday. We should probably check our timers, though, and delete and recreate any that are messed up Friday.

Then do it all again on Nov. 4.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19574 of 19722 Old 10-07-2018, 05:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Saved by the bug

Well, because of the "one month before DST" bug, my Pal thought we had "fallen back" Thursday and recorded The Late Show with Stephen Colbert an hour late. But that actually worked out perfectly because of Thursday Night Football!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19575 of 19722 Old 10-30-2018, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Bit by the bug

Well, my Pal suffered from the time change bug yesterday. Recorded a program 1 hour early. I deleted and reset. Was fine today.
golinux is offline  
post #19576 of 19722 Old 10-30-2018, 10:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,821
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 492
it's just "biting" a couple times per year, no biggy
P Smith is offline  
post #19577 of 19722 Old 11-02-2018, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Just a quick mention that Sunday morning, Nov. 4, at 2:00am is the end of Daylight Savings Time for most people in North America. Expect the typical glitches but be glad that the DST nonsense is over until at least Feb.
ccrider2 likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19578 of 19722 Old 11-08-2018, 01:54 PM
Member
 
LuvMyDVR33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Captioning

Is there anything in the PAL that can mess up and cause captions to go nuts? I'm talking the beginnings of some words mixed into the ends of others, gaps where there are no captions at all, 2 sentences partially combined with each other, etc. It's only happening on the CW station during prime time as far as I can tell. I have one hooked up to a digital TV, and the other 2 are still analog TVs. I called the local CW station, and they are blaming my equipment, telling me when they watch OTA in the evening, there's nothing wrong with the captions. The woman even turned on one of the same shows I recorded this week, and watched it for a few minutes, and told me there was nothing wrong.
If it's the DVRs, I would think it would be happening on all the channels I watch, not just channel 50. I'm really desperate to figure out why I can't read the captions anymore, so any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
LuvMyDVR33 is offline  
post #19579 of 19722 Old 11-08-2018, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Do you have a tuner or converter box hooked to either of your analog TVs? If so try the captions there. You could also try captions using the tuner in your digital TV.

Since it's only happening on one station, there must be something different about the captions, but they may still work with most tuners. It could be some sort of weird interaction between that station's captioning and the DVR+ DTVPal's firmware.

You might also ask your question on your local reception thread to see if anyone else is having trouble with that channel's captions. If it's happening on another device you have a better chance of getting the station to take another look at their captioning.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 11-22-2018 at 06:44 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19580 of 19722 Old 11-22-2018, 03:55 AM
Member
 
ko220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question the endless re-boot

So, my unit started to shut down and re-boot over & over yesterday. It was in the middle of watching a program. I tried to jump into the guide, or stop the program the second it came back up, but it just kept re-booting. I replaced it with a backup unit, but I'm wondering: is this a fatal problem? Will a couple days of rest help it?
ko220 is offline  
post #19581 of 19722 Old 11-22-2018, 05:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by ko220 View Post
So, my unit started to shut down and re-boot over & over yesterday. It was in the middle of watching a program. I tried to jump into the guide, or stop the program the second it came back up, but it just kept re-booting. I replaced it with a backup unit, but I'm wondering: is this a fatal problem? Will a couple days of rest help it?

Likely needs a couple of the aged electrolytic capacitors replaced. Been covered extensively in this thread. Common problem.
P Smith and ko220 like this.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #19582 of 19722 Old 11-22-2018, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by ko220 View Post
So, my unit started to shut down and re-boot over & over yesterday. It was in the middle of watching a program. I tried to jump into the guide, or stop the program the second it came back up, but it just kept re-booting. I replaced it with a backup unit, but I'm wondering: is this a fatal problem? Will a couple days of rest help it?
Also check the instructions for issue 5 under "known issues:" https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hd...c.html#user_A6
ko220 likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19583 of 19722 Old 11-23-2018, 03:01 AM
Member
 
ko220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Also check the instructions for issue 5 under "known issues:" https://www.avsforum.com/forum/42-hd...c.html#user_A6
I read all the relevant information extensively, so thanks for that. So first I will see if unplugging the antenna does any good, but I already tried that, so it probably is the capacitor(s). My husband works on his own musical equipment so I'm sure he will be super excited to have something else to take apart and solder


But I put in a backup unit I had bought off ebay, which worked great when I tested it out and then again when I set up all my recordings a couple days ago. Then yesterday, it started freezing up and wouldn't take any commands from the remote. (tested both remotes, both good). Re-booting helped for a few minutes but then the problem started again. Sheesh. I'll try the factory reset on the ebay backup and see if it helps. But now I'm down to my very last unit, which was new in 2010 or so and only used about 6 months. It works great, but I'd love to see if I can get my original unit or the ebay unit to work again. Thanks for all the input.
ko220 is offline  
post #19584 of 19722 Old 11-23-2018, 06:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
It sounds like the backup unit needs a new capacitor or two. Random freeze-ups are a classic symptom of a bad one. It will probably be clearly bulging when you open the case unless it's the one under the CPU shield (so make sure and look under there too).
ko220 likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19585 of 19722 Old 11-23-2018, 04:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,886
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2769 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
My wife's DTVPal had a weird issue today. Couldn't change channels, and guide data had run out for every channel except the one it was tuned to.

Tried a reboot first. That fixed the changing-channels problem, but now the guide data was empty on every channel!

So I was forced to run the dreaded Setup Wizard and scan everything in again. (Probably a bad time for it because D/FW has several channels off the air at the moment.) Of course that lost all my wife's timers. But it did finally fix the guide.

At least I didn't have to do a factory defaults reset.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19586 of 19722 Old 11-24-2018, 04:02 AM
Member
 
ko220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
It sounds like the backup unit needs a new capacitor or two. Random freeze-ups are a classic symptom of a bad one. It will probably be clearly bulging when you open the case unless it's the one under the CPU shield (so make sure and look under there too).
Thanks for the info. I'll ask my husband to take apart both units. They are technically CM 7000's, not the Pal, but I am assuming they are identical inside? And I have the long list of capacitors that was listed on this board. I'm hoping that when he looks inside, it will be kind of obvious which ones to replace.



I get blank guide data on channels sometimes, and I've found if I go to the guide and hit the channel, it will populate. You have to do it on each individual channel. However, you probably tried this already.
ko220 is offline  
post #19587 of 19722 Old 11-24-2018, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,821
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by ko220 View Post
Thanks for the info. I'll ask my husband to take apart both units.
They are technically CM 7000's, not the Pal, but I am assuming they are identical inside?
They are both TR-50. Identical by HW. Little bit (Logo/model name) difference in FW.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ko220 View Post
And I have the long list of capacitors that was listed on this board. I'm hoping that when he looks inside, it will be kind of obvious which ones to replace.
If your husband is handyman, he would use ESR meter for onboard test all electrolytic capacitors.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ko220 View Post


I get blank guide data on channels sometimes, and I've found if I go to the guide and hit the channel, it will populate. You have to do it on each individual channel. However, you probably tried this already.
P Smith is offline  
post #19588 of 19722 Old 11-24-2018, 03:29 PM
Member
 
ko220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
They are both TR-50. Identical by HW. Little bit (Logo/model name) difference in FW.

If your husband is handyman, he would use ESR meter for onboard test all electrolytic capacitors.
I have the main DVR that was stuck in re-boot open. I noticed on the board that the capacitors that go bad are typically C34 and C242, but they don't look like they're bulging at the top. On the other hand, C13, C14, and C15 do look like they're bulging a little at the top. In your experience, do you think those would cause the endless re-boot?
ko220 is offline  
post #19589 of 19722 Old 11-24-2018, 11:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,821
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 492
most likely...
it would be easy test for me by using O-scope and see ripples and noise of those rails what the capacitor should conditioning
ko220 likes this.
P Smith is offline  
post #19590 of 19722 Old 11-27-2018, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,821
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Request For Help.

In spite of new California Law, there is a good chance to obtain Service Manual/schematics/repair info from dishnetwork for the TR-50 model.


Please, someone from CA, send a request for it, perhaps with a help from General Attorney office, Consumer Union, EFF.
P Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off