The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 656 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 310Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19651 of 19720 Old 02-02-2019, 07:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
On genuine Dish remote controls, the "Sat" or "Pal" button cannot learn - it's hard-coded to operate Dish devices - but it can be set to any address (01-16). I assume the Sat button on the clone is fixed at device 01.

On a genuine Dish remote, "Aux" can also be set to a Dish device by preceding the desired address with a '3' (e.g., 302 = Dish device with address 02), so you can control two Dish devices with one remote. Don't know if the Aux button on the clone can be set to a Dish device at all, but if it can, presumably it would support other addresses the same way. (There wouldn't be much point in programming it to Dish device 01 if the Sat button is stuck on device 01 too.)

The TV, DVD, and Aux device buttons can learn. Presumably that's true on the clone too, although the clone may have limited memory for learning. So presumably one could teach the DVD or Aux button on the clone to operate a Dish device on another address. You'd have to teach from a genuine Dish 20.1 or DTVPal remote set to the desired address. Also, you'd have to teach every button, so "limited memory" might be a problem.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19652 of 19720 Old 02-03-2019, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcclark View Post
I've been playing with remotes since one of mine had a number of keys go bad. ...
When one of my remotes start having intermittent or bad keys, I take it apart and clean the little black button contact pads and circuit board surface with some 91% alcohol and paper towel. Just had to do that with one of my remotes today. (A 20.1 remote that takes 4 AAA batteries) The "SAT" button quit working which operates the DTVPal. Cleaning restored it to like-new key response.
P Smith and JHBrandt like this.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #19653 of 19720 Old 02-04-2019, 05:43 AM
Member
 
kkoceski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Be careful cleaning those rubber pads. I got too aggressive with mine with a Q-Tip, and I think I removed too much of the conductive coating.
Now I have to push the buttons real hard to get them to work.

Does anybody know of any conductive "paint" or something ?
kkoceski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19654 of 19720 Old 02-04-2019, 05:59 AM
Senior Member
 
wiscojim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkoceski View Post
Be careful cleaning those rubber pads. I got too aggressive with mine with a Q-Tip, and I think I removed too much of the conductive coating.
Now I have to push the buttons real hard to get them to work.

Does anybody know of any conductive "paint" or something ?
https://www.amazon.com/CaiKot-Conduc...61517250&psc=1
wiscojim is offline  
post #19655 of 19720 Old 02-04-2019, 06:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1052 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiscojim View Post
Reading feedbacks I would absent from using the coating...
P Smith is offline  
post #19656 of 19720 Old 02-04-2019, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkoceski View Post
Be careful cleaning those rubber pads. I got too aggressive with mine with a Q-Tip, and I think I removed too much of the conductive coating.
Now I have to push the buttons real hard to get them to work.

Does anybody know of any conductive "paint" or something ?
Usually I just wet the back of the keys and the surface of the pc board and pat dry with a paper towel, which will also clean off the oily stuff that often seems to ooze out from the keypad rubber. Rubbing back-and-forth across can remove some of the conductive pad.

Seems those restoration kits are temporary at best, although I see a different one now by "Buttonworx" that has new contact pads that gets pretty good reviews. A little surprised the Caig CaiKot product reviews are so poor, being as they are the company that brings us the famous Deoxit contact cleaner.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #19657 of 19720 Old 02-07-2019, 11:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Heads Up! Sunday the 10th is DST-1 (month). You know what that means.

Last edited by Pete-N2; 02-09-2019 at 11:08 AM. Reason: Sunday is the 10th
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19658 of 19720 Old 02-07-2019, 01:28 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
Heads Up! Sunday the 11th is DST-1 (month). You know what that means.
It means that stations will jump the gun on the transition.


One full power station here (KUVN) set its day of month to 7 this morning.
schultdw is online now  
post #19659 of 19720 Old 02-09-2019, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Checking this morning I see that my local ION station (WPXR) is indicating that DST begins tomorrow. Since PSIP data for all ION stations is generated from a central location, I assume this applies to the entire country.
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19660 of 19720 Old 02-09-2019, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Exclamation

Station KTXD in DFW just started channel sharing: their signal is hosting not only their own channels (47.1-47.5), but also 49.2 and 49.3 from station KSTR. My DTVPal won't recognize 49.2 or 49.3 even though 47.1-47.5 work fine.

Is anyone successfully tuning all the channels from a channel-sharing station with their DTVPal? There are several stations around the country doing this now, and there will be more as spectrum repacking and ATSC 3.0 conversion continue.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19661 of 19720 Old 02-09-2019, 04:12 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I am working from memory here so I could be wrong...


About a week ago I found that my DVR had added 47.3 back to the list claiming it had just found it. Which wasn't true because I had deleted it long ago. I think it also added 49.2 and 49.3 but with 70. numbers. Which I deleted. (49.2 and 49.3 remain) There followed a period where 47.2 and 47.3 both had COMET programming. I waited till they sorted that out before deleting 47.3 again.



At around the same time their time went from being not horrible to about 18,000 seconds slow.


Speaking of time, four more stations started the DST transition today including the Ion affiliate. Now up to five stations saying the change is tomorrow and one saying it happened/will happen on the seventh.
schultdw is online now  
post #19662 of 19720 Old 02-09-2019, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Is anyone successfully tuning all the channels from a channel-sharing station with their DTVPal?
Currently receiving
24.1 WZBJ from RF 18
24.1 WZBJ-CD from RF 43
24.2 COZI from RF 43
24.3 Decades from RF 43

Earlier this year the two 24.1's gave some interesting results. After re-scanning, the Samsung TV has two 24.1's the Sony has a 24.1 and a 43.3 and the DVR created a 70.1 for WZBJ-CD
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19663 of 19720 Old 02-09-2019, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
I too noticed KTXD's time signal is way off. It's showing 2 PM even though it's actually 7 PM

It sounds like yours did find the new channels (and did what I expected mine to do), so maybe the DTVPal will handle these after all. But I may need to run the setup wizard again on mine
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19664 of 19720 Old 02-09-2019, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
But I may need to run the setup wizard again on mine
That would be the best, but you might get away with option "add a channel" and then scan the affected RF Channels.
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19665 of 19720 Old 02-09-2019, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
I tried "Add a New Channel;" it will scan in all the 47.x channels but neither of the 49.x ones.

I'll try "Find New Channels" but I'm not optimistic.

Edit: "Find New Channels" didn't work. In fact as soon as it added 47.5 (which I'd deleted) it aborted the scan! It did add a copy of 33-4 as 72-4 though (I can tell 72-4 is 33-4 and not 47-3, even though they're both Charge!, by the aspect ratio.)

Edit 2: My wife's Pal picked up both channels fine, and numbered them 71-2 and 71-3 like schultdw's did. So I guess the Pal works fine with channel-sharing stations. It's only mine that has an issue. Of course means the dreaded Setup Wizard for mine. I'll put that off until RF 48 switches to ATSC 3.0 (which may not happen until the repack; I'll just have to wait and see).

In anticipation of them going away eventually anyhow, I deleted both the 'real' and duplicate channels and re-scanned RF 46 on hers, so the RF 46 versions now appear as 49-2 and 49-3 on her Pal.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 02-10-2019 at 12:13 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19666 of 19720 Old 02-26-2019, 01:11 PM
Member
 
jhvance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkoceski View Post
Be careful cleaning those rubber pads. I got too aggressive with mine with a Q-Tip, and I think I removed too much of the conductive coating.
Now I have to push the buttons real hard to get them to work.

Does anybody know of any conductive "paint" or something ?

Here's the real deal, available directly from them or through Amazon.


https://www.bareconductive.com/shop/...electric-paint


https://www.amazon.com/Bare-Conducti.../dp/B00KBXT6JW
jhvance is offline  
post #19667 of 19720 Old 03-08-2019, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Jim in Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Worn out buttons/pads on remotes

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhvance View Post
Here's the real deal, available directly from them or through Amazon.


https://www.bareconductive.com/shop/...electric-paint


https://www.amazon.com/Bare-Conducti.../dp/B00KBXT6JW
Did you use this product?

My experience with worn out pads.

I tried CAIG CAIKOTE 44 KIT but even after 2 coats none of the buttons would ever work.
I think they left out the conductive material in the batch I bought.

I ended up using thin (no rubber) self sticking HVAC aluminum duct tape that I had laying around.

I peeled off the backing & cut little squares & stuck them on the worn out pads.

I was skeptical of doing this & ruining the remote, but I have done about 30 pads on my Harmony & Dish remotes.

They have been performing perfectly over the last 3 months. They haven't come off & they will probably NEVER wear out.

I didn't take a picture of remote when I did it, but here is tape for future repairs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HVAC tape.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	2535910  

2 DTVPal DVR, April 2009
1 DVR+ CM7500GB16, Dec 2014
1 TiVo Roamio OTA, May 2015
Jim in Phoenix is offline  
post #19668 of 19720 Old 03-08-2019, 07:14 AM
Member
 
jhvance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim in Phoenix View Post
Did you use this product?

My experience with worn out pads.

I tried CAIG CAIKOTE 44 KIT but even after 2 coats none of the buttons would ever work.
I think they left out the conductive material in the batch I bought.

I ended up using thin (no rubber) self sticking HVAC aluminum duct tape that I had laying around.

I peeled off the backing & cut little squares & stuck them on the worn out pads.

I was skeptical of doing this & ruining the remote, but I have done about 30 pads on my Harmony & Dish remotes.

They have been performing perfectly over the last 3 months. They haven't come off & they will probably NEVER wear out.

I didn't take a picture of remote when I did it, but here is tape for future repairs.
I have used that Bare material and it did work pretty well to recover the buttons' function -- not sure if it would be better (or worse) than your approach, which seems viable as well.

Last edited by jhvance; 03-08-2019 at 08:17 AM. Reason: clarify material reference
jhvance is offline  
post #19669 of 19720 Old 04-12-2019, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Sorry. Hit the wrong link in an eMail. Sometimes with these thousands of pages, one can get lost . . . .

Last edited by FarmerBob; 04-13-2019 at 12:46 PM.
FarmerBob is online now  
post #19670 of 19720 Old 04-12-2019, 10:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1052 Post(s)
Liked: 491
it should be posted somewhere else … not in the DTVPAL thread... perhaps other site
P Smith is offline  
post #19671 of 19720 Old 04-13-2019, 05:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerBob View Post
I have a system design question...
Maybe better to post that question in the https://www.avsforum.com/forum/3-hom...eater-builder/ section. This thread is pretty much dedicated to the DTVPal DVR. Good luck dealing with Dish!
P Smith and FarmerBob like this.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #19672 of 19720 Old 04-13-2019, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Maybe better to post that question in the https://www.avsforum.com/forum/3-hom...eater-builder/ section. This thread is pretty much dedicated to the DTVPal DVR. Good luck dealing with Dish!
Thank you. I never have issues in dealing with DISH. I have two Hopper3's after all. I just don't know of anything below the H3's.
FarmerBob is online now  
post #19673 of 19720 Old 04-13-2019, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerBob View Post
I just don't know of anything below the H3's.
OK, I think I see the confusion. You're looking for info about a Dish satellite DVR. Unfortunately, the Dish DTVPal is an terrestrial OTA DVR, even though it was marketed by Dish and has a similar UI to their satellite DVRs.
P Smith likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19674 of 19720 Old 04-13-2019, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
FarmerBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: On the Beach.
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
OK, I think I see the confusion. You're looking for info about a Dish satellite DVR. Unfortunately, the Dish DTVPal is an terrestrial OTA DVR, even though it was marketed by Dish and has a similar UI to their satellite DVRs.
Thank You! for your gracious understanding. Although I need to get into this device you speak of, actually I clicked on the wrong link, I get eMails from many many Forum(s) and from "taptalk" and since there are 19673 posts here, you have to admit these threads get long and involved. Navigation becomes a whole new animal. Mostly I probably wasn't paying attention. BUT I will be back because I do need to learn about newer solutions to the BS DISH OTA dongles. I have two of the ones that heat up and can't get 45% of the channels in anyone area.

So thank you for your understanding and I, not a threat but a warning, will be back . . . .
JHBrandt likes this.
FarmerBob is online now  
post #19675 of 19720 Old 04-14-2019, 07:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1052 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerBob View Post
... BUT I will be back because I do need to learn about newer solutions to the BS DISH OTA dongles. I have two of the ones that heat up and can't get 45% of the channels in anyone area.. . . .
Sorry.
Unfortunately, the devices are not a subject of the thread.
P Smith is offline  
post #19676 of 19720 Old 04-14-2019, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerBob View Post
I will be back because I do need to learn about newer solutions to the BS DISH OTA dongles.
If you're looking for a newer OTA DVR to replace, um, those, you may be disappointed to learn that the DTVPal DVR isn't new. Dish actually marketed these around the time of the analog-to-digital transition 10 years ago. And the DTVPal DVRs don't integrate with Dish's satellite DVRs, unlike (I assume) your dongles; so you'd have separate DVRs for OTA and for satellite. The DTVPals do use the same remote control as Dish satellite receivers, including (I think) the Hoppers, but it's still a separate box with separate recordings and a separate connection to your TV. So it could replace your dongles, but you'd have to get used to switching between devices.

Also, they're no longer made, so you can't buy new ones any more. DTVPals do sometimes show up on eBay and the like, though.
FarmerBob likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19677 of 19720 Old 05-11-2019, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Dtv pal

Is there a way to receive a full TV Guide over the air with this device? I am in suburban Chicago and only get Channel 2 full listing information. All other channels only get information on day of transmission. Thanks
krakus1 is offline  
post #19678 of 19720 Old 05-13-2019, 10:29 AM
Member
 
jhvance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If you haven't already posted this query in the associated thread for that hardware model in the 'HDTV Recorders' forum, you probably should -- several regulars there have far more technical knowledge about it than me, and I stopped using my DTVPal several years ago after getting several of the Magnavox DVRs. The original TV Guide service which the DTVPal utilized was discontinued, but the PSIP information that is transmitted by almost all OTA channels will generally provide about 12 hours' worth of programming information.
jhvance is offline  
post #19679 of 19720 Old 05-13-2019, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,816
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by krakus1 View Post
Is there a way to receive a full TV Guide over the air with this device? I am in suburban Chicago and only get Channel 2 full listing information. All other channels only get information on day of transmission. Thanks
In theory the DTVPal will display as much TV guide info as each station is willing to broadcast, up to 7 days. Unfortunately as you've seen, nowadays most stations choose to broadcast only 12-24 hours of TV guide info.

In my market (D/FW) PBS is one of the best with 3 days, and some others have 2 days, but most just have one day or less. I miss the good ol' days of TVGoS giving us a full 7 days for most of the major stations.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19680 of 19720 Old 05-14-2019, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
clarkss12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Why are people still using this DVR??
clarkss12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off