Official* Xfinity X1 STB Thread - Page 89 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 127Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2641 of 2682 Old 08-16-2019, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Dear xfinity engineers,

Do the newest rental $ 4k X1 Y1 Z1 boxes change channels as fast as a free HD-DTA? If so, which X1 rev resolved that bug?
If not , whats the ongoing open bug identifier for such a severe regression error?

Please do not try to fix the slow channel change of high end boxes by slowing down the free DTAs!

I can refer you to a gender-nonspecific individual who wears a hoodie who knows another gender nonspecific individual who made the internet, so if you would like fix a bug after 100 or 1000 engineers spend 10 years and say it cannot be done, you know where to find someone who will do it for scale, just point at the setup and dev environment and the NDA to sign.

/e
tveli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2642 of 2682 Old 08-21-2019, 05:05 PM
Member
 
goke313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York City/Denver
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptMorn2374 View Post
I’ll set the upcoming EPL match and let you know!
I'm hoping we can get Sunday Night Football(NBC) + the games on FOX
goke313 is offline  
post #2643 of 2682 Old 08-25-2019, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gomo657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 813 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Official* Xfinity X1 STB Thread

The xfinity live stream beta is available on L.G tv Webos
No dvr function yet.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

"well you know what doctor I'm going to go home take two aspirins and call you a b****"

Last edited by gomo657; 08-25-2019 at 09:26 AM.
gomo657 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2644 of 2682 Old 08-27-2019, 04:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
DeadEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 198
I don't get the whole logic of why Xfinity does not let us schedule recordings from our phone or computer anymore (I think it's since 2017). Once it's recorded we can watch it remotely but we can't record it remotely. Not logical to me. I know it's some legal thing. I'm a simple man.

Not a good thing nowadays.

--. .-. .- - . ..-. ..- .-.. / -.. . .- -..
Dyslexics are teople poo.
DeadEd is offline  
post #2645 of 2682 Old 08-27-2019, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Deadhead Ed if they allowed the function you request then scammers would spider-crawl,steal, and resell all the copyrighted content way more effectively and easily than they already do.
tveli is offline  
post #2646 of 2682 Old 08-27-2019, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadEd View Post
I don't get the whole logic of why Xfinity does not let us schedule recordings from our phone or computer anymore (I think it's since 2017). Once it's recorded we can watch it remotely but we can't record it remotely. Not logical to me. I know it's some legal thing. I'm a simple man.

Not a good thing nowadays.
I thought it had to do with a Tivo patent. Almost every thing they cripple seems to be because of that.
DeadEd, billmich and Mark12547 like this.
crossbeaux is offline  
post #2647 of 2682 Old 08-27-2019, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadEd View Post
I don't get the whole logic of why Xfinity does not let us schedule recordings from our phone or computer anymore (I think it's since 2017). Once it's recorded we can watch it remotely but we can't record it remotely. Not logical to me. I know it's some legal thing. I'm a simple man.

Not a good thing nowadays.
Lawsuit that they lost with TiVo made Comcast have to drop that functionality. Really pissed me off because sometimes you realize there’s a show/game that you would like to record but you’re away from home.
DeadEd, gomo657 and Mark12547 like this.

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is online now  
post #2648 of 2682 Old 09-01-2019, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomo657 View Post
The xfinity live stream beta is available on L.G tv Webos
No dvr function yet.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
FYI the Stream app is also now available on Samsung's app store, works pretty well. I can access my recordings as well.

My Area: Samsung 75" Q9FN / Marantz NR1608 / Polk Signature S55 / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro | Living Room: Samsung UN55LS03N ("The Frame" 2018) | Family Room: Sony XBR-65X850E
Nuvo Player Portfolio Whole-Home Audio System (P4300, P200, P10 keypad, P30 tablet)
Xbox Live: oktober rust | PSN: oktoberrust11
oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #2649 of 2682 Old 09-03-2019, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I’ve been on Dtv for about a decade now and thinking it’s time to try something else.
That something else is XFinity because that’s really the only other worthwhile choice where we are.

Does Xfinity still push out everything at 720p?
I seem to remember that’s something they did years ago.

We have a roku tv as the second tv .
I’ve seen an app for XFi so I’m wondering if that can be used in place of an additional box.
whotony is offline  
post #2650 of 2682 Old 09-04-2019, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by whotony View Post
I’ve been on Dtv for about a decade now and thinking it’s time to try something else.
That something else is XFinity because that’s really the only other worthwhile choice where we are.

Does Xfinity still push out everything at 720p?
I seem to remember that’s something they did years ago.

We have a roku tv as the second tv .
I’ve seen an app for XFi so I’m wondering if that can be used in place of an additional box.
Pretty sure yes Xfinity broadcasts at 720p for cable channels, and 720p or 1080i for local channels depending on what is native.

Yes the Xfinity Stream app can be used instead of a cable box. Most functionality is there with the app, controls just take some getting used to.

My Area: Samsung 75" Q9FN / Marantz NR1608 / Polk Signature S55 / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro | Living Room: Samsung UN55LS03N ("The Frame" 2018) | Family Room: Sony XBR-65X850E
Nuvo Player Portfolio Whole-Home Audio System (P4300, P200, P10 keypad, P30 tablet)
Xbox Live: oktober rust | PSN: oktoberrust11
oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #2651 of 2682 Old 09-04-2019, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
GeorgeHolland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptMorn2374 View Post
I have the XG1v4 and Xi6. No sports in 4K I can find either live or On Demand. Most content is either Netflix, Amazon Prime, or Smithsonian Channel. A few other random things too.

Xfinity is doing some IP only video in select areas where you can use only the wireless box but need their gateways. You can call to check if available in your area.
I also have an XG1v4 and want to add a second box for an additional 4K TV. Does the Xi6 require an Xfinity provided Hub or does the XG1v4 work as the Hub? Just not understanding how it could if the Xi6 is wireless. Will I need a second XG1v4 if I use my own cable modem for internet and not an Xfinity provided X1 wireless hub?

Thanks.
GeorgeHolland is offline  
post #2652 of 2682 Old 09-04-2019, 07:12 PM
Member
 
CaptMorn2374's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeHolland View Post
I also have an XG1v4 and want to add a second box for an additional 4K TV. Does the Xi6 require an Xfinity provided Hub or does the XG1v4 work as the Hub? Just not understanding how it could if the Xi6 is wireless. Will I need a second XG1v4 if I use my own cable modem for internet and not an Xfinity provided X1 wireless hub?

Thanks.
You will need to lease a Comcast provided Wireless Gateway for the wireless signal to connect to the Xi6.

The gateway works with the XG1v4 to stream a live QAM/RF channel to the Xi6. There is a MoCA (via coax) connection from the XG1v4 to the gateway, then switches to WiFi from the gateway to the Xi6.

If the channel is IP only (some newer channels and international packages) or On Demand it will work through the gateway only.

Hopefully this helps answer. Anyone correct me if I misrepresent!
CaptMorn2374 is offline  
post #2653 of 2682 Old 09-05-2019, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gomo657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 813 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by oktoberrust11 View Post
FYI the Stream app is also now available on Samsung's app store, works pretty well. I can access my recordings as well.


I’ve found out how to get to my dvr recordings by going to the actual title recorded it gives me options to watch on demand or dvr. After watching the first episode of succession the episode is missing so the integration is excellent. Plus the pq is better than the XG1V4







Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

"well you know what doctor I'm going to go home take two aspirins and call you a b****"
gomo657 is online now  
post #2654 of 2682 Old 09-05-2019, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I would like the X1 system to add ESPN + events to the ESPN 3 (free streaming) app
billmich is offline  
post #2655 of 2682 Old 09-05-2019, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomo657 View Post
Plus the pq is better than the XG1V4
I'm surprised at how much I notice the increased PQ as well.

My Area: Samsung 75" Q9FN / Marantz NR1608 / Polk Signature S55 / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro | Living Room: Samsung UN55LS03N ("The Frame" 2018) | Family Room: Sony XBR-65X850E
Nuvo Player Portfolio Whole-Home Audio System (P4300, P200, P10 keypad, P30 tablet)
Xbox Live: oktober rust | PSN: oktoberrust11
oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #2656 of 2682 Old 09-05-2019, 07:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
GeorgeHolland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptMorn2374 View Post
You will need to lease a Comcast provided Wireless Gateway for the wireless signal to connect to the Xi6.

The gateway works with the XG1v4 to stream a live QAM/RF channel to the Xi6. There is a MoCA (via coax) connection from the XG1v4 to the gateway, then switches to WiFi from the gateway to the Xi6.

If the channel is IP only (some newer channels and international packages) or On Demand it will work through the gateway only.

Hopefully this helps answer. Anyone correct me if I misrepresent!
Thanks. Yet I have no interest in the Xfinity wireless gateway. Lame comcast doesn't have an option for a second 4K display without it. I had heard a second XG1v4 would work but at two or three times the rental charge but the agent told me that wouldn't work. I have learned the agents have no clue though.
GeorgeHolland is offline  
post #2657 of 2682 Old 09-25-2019, 10:37 PM
Member
 
lesmikesell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
Lawsuit that they lost with TiVo made Comcast have to drop that functionality. Really pissed me off because sometimes you realize there’s a show/game that you would like to record but you’re away from home.

The ability to schedule recordings remotely with the phone app or with your web account is back again.
DeadEd, sdolen, pappaduke and 1 others like this.
lesmikesell is offline  
post #2658 of 2682 Old 09-25-2019, 10:50 PM
Member
 
lesmikesell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeHolland View Post
Thanks. Yet I have no interest in the Xfinity wireless gateway. Lame comcast doesn't have an option for a second 4K display without it. I had heard a second XG1v4 would work but at two or three times the rental charge but the agent told me that wouldn't work. I have learned the agents have no clue though.

Xfinity has next to no 4k content except for the Netflix/Amazon/YouTube streaming apps so if you have another way to play those - or don't use them - there is little reason to have the 4k X1 box. Your 4k TV probably has native apps for those anyway. If you have a roku, you can run the xfinity app on it instead of using another X1 box too.
lesmikesell is offline  
post #2659 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesmikesell View Post
Xfinity has next to no 4k content except for the Netflix/Amazon/YouTube streaming apps so if you have another way to play those - or don't use them - there is little reason to have the 4k X1 box. Your 4k TV probably has native apps for those anyway. If you have a roku, you can run the xfinity app on it instead of using another X1 box too.
I will be in the market for a 4K set within the next 6 months. Why again should I consider getting a 4K box from Comcast?

it sounds like the only content they deliver in 4K from that box will be available from other sources. What about DolbyVision and HDR10+?

what about sound?, do these TV apps support atmos, what about the 4K chromecast?
billmich is offline  
post #2660 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gomo657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 813 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Official* Xfinity X1 STB Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by billmich View Post
I will be in the market for a 4K set within the next 6 months. Why again should I consider getting a 4K box from Comcast?



it sounds like the only content they deliver in 4K from that box will be available from other sources. What about DolbyVision and HDR10+?



what about sound?, do these TV apps support atmos, what about the 4K chromecast?


If you watch ncaa football and the nfl there’s games available in 4K such as the game tonight.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
billmich and Rey L like this.

"well you know what doctor I'm going to go home take two aspirins and call you a b****"
gomo657 is online now  
post #2661 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 08:14 AM
Member
 
lesmikesell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by billmich View Post
I will be in the market for a 4K set within the next 6 months. Why again should I consider getting a 4K box from Comcast?

it sounds like the only content they deliver in 4K from that box will be available from other sources. What about DolbyVision and HDR10+?

what about sound?, do these TV apps support atmos, what about the 4K chromecast?

There is a small amount of sports content in 4k - you can see upcoming events here: https://www.xfinity.com/support/articles/uhd-4k-faqs


If you are getting an xfinity DVR there is generally no extra charge to swap it with the 4k xg1v4 which will receive that content plus it has many streaming apps, where Netflix, Amazon, and YouTube support 4k, Netflix and Amazon support HDR10. The box is nice and the remote has voice support with a handy search across all the content sources. I believe the only non-dvr 4k box is wireless and requires a rented xfinity cablemodem.



As for TV's, some support DolbyVision, some HDR10+ but the X1 box only sends standard HDR. Some (Sony at least) have built-in chromecast support - others would need a chromecast device. The chromecast device supports dolby atmos audio - there may be an issue getting anything more than DD 5.1 or DTS out of the TV to a receiver through the HDMI ARC connection or optical if the chromecast is connected to the TV first or builtin.
lesmikesell is offline  
post #2662 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
billmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 75
i don't like the fact that it doesn't have any digital audio outputs....
billmich is offline  
post #2663 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesmikesell View Post
The ability to schedule recordings remotely with the phone app or with your web account is back again.
Well that is great news. When I lost that ability I was quite unhappy about.

Man cave-Marantz 8012, Oppo 203, 4K ATV, Sony XBR-75X940E, Bluesound Vault 2, Harmony One, 2 Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's,
4 SVS Prime elevations. B&W P5. Living room- Yamaha 2010, Bluesound Node 2, Paradigm SE-1's, Zone 2-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
Bedroom- Samsung UN60ES7100F, Oppo 103D, Pulse Mini, JBL Bar Studio, ATV3 and Harmony 650
pappaduke is online now  
post #2664 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 10:09 AM
Member
 
lesmikesell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by billmich View Post
i don't like the fact that it doesn't have any digital audio outputs....

Yeah, everything is HDMI these days. You either have to connect to a receiver that does 4k/HDR passthrough to the TV, or to a TV that has HDMI/ARC or optical out to the receiver or sound bar. There are combinations of older equipment that don't work with those. Or stay with one of the older 1080 X1 boxes with more outputs and use something else for your 4k apps.
billmich likes this.
lesmikesell is offline  
post #2665 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesmikesell View Post
Yeah, everything is HDMI these days. You either have to connect to a receiver that does 4k/HDR passthrough to the TV, or to a TV that has HDMI/ARC or optical out to the receiver or sound bar. There are combinations of older equipment that don't work with those. Or stay with one of the older 1080 X1 boxes with more outputs and use something else for your 4k apps.
Yes. When I switched to the newer X1 box, I had to go from a "receiver-centric" system to a "TV-centric" system. My old receiver, which still works well, didn't support HDMI. But my newer TV had both HDMI and digital audio (optical) outs. Still works, just different.
crossbeaux is offline  
post #2666 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 11:02 AM
Member
 
lesmikesell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossbeaux View Post
Yes. When I switched to the newer X1 box, I had to go from a "receiver-centric" system to a "TV-centric" system. My old receiver, which still works well, didn't support HDMI. But my newer TV had both HDMI and digital audio (optical) outs. Still works, just different.

Modern TVs are actually very good at this, and the concept works well with the TV having its own native apps and the popularity of soundbars with fewer features than traditional receivers. The only likely issue is that a lot of TVs still do not have 'enhanced' ARC (EARC) yet, so audio output is limited to stereo, DD+ and DTS, or stereo, DD 5.1 and DTS over optical. But with an older or more limited speaker system that may not matter.
lesmikesell is offline  
post #2667 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by billmich View Post
I will be in the market for a 4K set within the next 6 months. Why again should I consider getting a 4K box from Comcast?

it sounds like the only content they deliver in 4K from that box will be available from other sources. What about DolbyVision and HDR10+?

what about sound?, do these TV apps support atmos, what about the 4K chromecast?
I agree with all the other posts about the advantages. I have 2 of them but only one 4k TV at the moment and something I intend to rectify (4k were old plasma is and a new giant 4k in the cave). The bosses plasma is only 720P with 1080P input capability but the 4k box performs and looks the same as the older boxes (PQ). The lack of ports has not bugged me. I gave into HDMI back in '08/'09 and never looked back. At the time I got my first 4k anything the XGv4s were almost impossible to find and get so when I ended up with two due to a mistake (actually poor support--long story) I just held onto the best 3 boxes they had sent me. I have the newish HD box without DVR that has its own tuners in the love nest. On thing I dislike about the X1 system are all the boxes that steal channels from other boxes so I do all I can to avoid that.

One things I have observed though is now 18 or so months in box 4k boxes have developed super noisy fans and I need to at least blow them out or open them up and clean and try to find out what the issue is. Also there is no power/on/off or reset button or switch so you have to pull the plug when it freezes up (which happens more than I like on system startup) or when the many remote restart options don't work (which is almost 100% of the time unless they are operational). I have a messy complicated modern/legacy set-up and I'm sure the box can't handle all that I have on my HDMI chains?

A couple others mentioned this; super convenient for NF and Amazon on the box. As the data/Internet is on a separate channel from your Comcast Internet (if you have it--is it even possible to have X1 without their Internet? -- other than the new streaming/cord cutter box), but still counts against your cap, the loading and response is much better and generally has an almost 100% absence of buffering. I have more audio and dropout issues with their OnDemand and I don't think we have ever had issues with the streaming apps other than some anomalies with HDR early on.

In case someone did not answer; there is no (and most likely never will be) HDR10+ or DV on the XGv4. There is also no casting capability. I think you may have been able and may still be able to cast pictures to it? Thought I saw that as a feature at one point. Atmos is fully supported though, which is way cool.

There is quite a bit of 4k content on OnDemand you just have to hunt for it. Rumor has it that several premium and OnDemand things will be out there soon (in Comcast time that could be years). Personally I'd like 4kHDR access to my MoviesAnywhere library in addition to the Amazon app (which I am not sure if it gives me 4kHDR with that anyhow?)
gomo657 likes this.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #2668 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 06:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gomo657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 813 Post(s)
Liked: 796
I’m sorry I talked up the X1 sports benefits unfortunately the 4K game has disappeared tonight.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

"well you know what doctor I'm going to go home take two aspirins and call you a b****"
gomo657 is online now  
post #2669 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomo657 View Post
I’m sorry I talked up the X1 sports benefits unfortunately the 4K game has disappeared tonight.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yeah, I tried to find that too. Hmm.
crossbeaux is offline  
post #2670 of 2682 Old 09-26-2019, 07:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gomo657's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,914
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 813 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossbeaux View Post
Yeah, I tried to find that too. Hmm.


It’s been posted on Twitter that the Thursday games won’t be shown in 4K which contradicts what the site and the boxes said. I checked my box this afternoon and it was still listed as an upcoming event


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

"well you know what doctor I'm going to go home take two aspirins and call you a b****"
gomo657 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
x1 comcast activation problem companion

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off