Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 130 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4756Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3871 of 17803 Old 06-03-2014, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
trp2525's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 65
If anyone on this thread is interested, there is an eBay seller currently selling a like-new 3-month-old Channel Master DVR+. The package includes a WD 1 TB hard drive, an IR remote extender and an amplified indoor TV antenna. The bid is currently at $190 with free shipping included.
trp2525 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3872 of 17803 Old 06-03-2014, 11:50 AM
Member
 
ReaperWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35

For me, after the 108R update, the menus and guide seem much more responsive. I had intermittent slowness previously.

 

I posted previously about my problems with choppy video when using Vudu on the DVR+. I've found that if I change streams from HDX to HD (1080P and 720P respectively), the movies play without chop.

ReaperWA is offline  
post #3873 of 17803 Old 06-03-2014, 04:27 PM
 
slprp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by thompsonj805 View Post

Check out these youtube videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUAutPlDR9s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xao32hk4XaA

Thank you for posting this! 😊
Interesting info. but sleepy narration! 😴
Good info. on viewing files on a PC!
Is there an option to burn a disc from this method? Had anyone had success with this?
slprp1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3874 of 17803 Old 06-03-2014, 04:51 PM
 
slprp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Speaking of youtube, have you seen this?
(it's bizarre!)

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KVvO6021VIc
slprp1 is offline  
post #3875 of 17803 Old 06-03-2014, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
partsman_ba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by slprp1 View Post

Interesting info. but sleepy narration! 😴

You must have liked them OK - I don't see any bold typing or excessive periods.
Kelson, kwg and Theducksfan2010 like this.

I love the digital transition. The voices in my head just say 0 and 1 now.
partsman_ba is offline  
post #3876 of 17803 Old 06-03-2014, 04:55 PM
 
slprp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by partsman_ba View Post

You must have liked them OK - I don't see any bold typing or excessive periods.

Can we get along here?
......and perhaps avoid the antagonism!
Thanks!
DrDon likes this.
slprp1 is offline  
post #3877 of 17803 Old 06-03-2014, 10:53 PM
Member
 
mike734's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got home and installed the DVR+ today. I'm using a wired internet connection. The first thing I did was update the firmware. I think it's running 108 now. Next I scanned for channels. I didn't pick up any additional ones but did notice the reception was more broken up than with my 7000pal. After knocking the antennae a little I seem to be receiving strong, clean, signals.

I installed a WD 2TB USB drive ($115 costco). It was immediately recognized so I formatted it. I set up a few recurring recordings. I'll see how they look the next few days.

The device is slow to respond to remote commands. Sometimes it's immediate and sometimes it lags several seconds. I'm still too new to the device so I'll have to reserve more comments up until later. I don't like having to select "watch now" after selecting a show from the guide though. I can tell you that.
mike734 is offline  
post #3878 of 17803 Old 06-03-2014, 11:43 PM
Member
 
Donald1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Inland Empire, SoCal.
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Don't forget to do a complete Factory Reset or 'Restore to Factory Settings' after doing an update. This is a recommended procedure for these devices. It may be inconvenient, but clears out some glitches.
Donald1800 is offline  
post #3879 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 01:57 AM
 
slprp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike734 View Post

Got home and installed the DVR+ today. I'm using a wired internet connection. The first thing I did was update the firmware. I think it's running 108 now. Next I scanned for channels. I didn't pick up any additional ones but did notice the reception was more broken up than with my 7000pal. After knocking the antennae a little I seem to be receiving strong, clean, signals.

I installed a WD 2TB USB drive ($115 costco). It was immediately recognized so I formatted it. I set up a few recurring recordings. I'll see how they look the next few days.
The device is slow to respond to remote commands. Sometimes it's immediate and sometimes it lags several seconds. I'm still too new to the device so I'll have to reserve more comments up until later. I don't like having to select "watch now" after selecting a show from the guide though. I can tell you that.

Please report back after doing a factory reboot (re: sluggish remote response).
Also.....which specific WD drive are you using?
slprp1 is offline  
post #3880 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Arenal04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 105

I just upgraded to the 108R firmware, from the 101R firmware.  Yes, I was holding off on upgrading, given reports of glitches with 103R and 106R.  It seems that I got lucky.  I was able to download the upgrade via the WiFi adapter on the first try.  The whole installation process went smoothly, with no problems.  Additionally, I don't have any of the delayed response in the guide that others have been reporting.

 

One interesting thing was that after the upgrade, the clock was fast by 10 minutes.  Prior to this, I was periodically manually adjusting the clock as it lost time, due to the DVR+ clock not keeping good time.  So my clock was manually set to 10 minutes ahead of what the DVR+ thought was the real time.  The 108R update seemed to have added that 10 minutes to the now correct clock time, causing the clock to be 10 minutes fast.  Changing the time setting from manual to automatic fixed the clock so that it's now totally correct.

Arenal04 is offline  
post #3881 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Sandman905's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike734 View Post

 I don't like having to select "watch now" after selecting a show from the guide though. I can tell you that.

 

To see what's on other channels in the current time slot you don't need to bring up the Guide, just use the navigation ring "up" and "down" functions to advance through the "Info" about what's on each channel and then press OK to change channels.

Sandman905 is offline  
post #3882 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 09:22 AM
Member
 
mike734's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donald1800 View Post

Don't forget to do a complete Factory Reset or 'Restore to Factory Settings' after doing an update. This is a recommended procedure for these devices. It may be inconvenient, but clears out some glitches.
Ok, did that. It sucks losing all my scheduled DVR programming.
Quote:
Originally Posted by slprp1 View Post

Please report back after doing a factory reboot (re: sluggish remote response).
Also.....which specific WD drive are you using?
After the reset I'm still experiencing some lag but it's better. Door example, when using the guide, I can jump up or down line by line without delay. But when I get to the top or bottom, there is a small delay when jumping to the next line. There is also a delay when using the page up or down buttons. So far it's not that bothersome. The model drive is: WDBMWV0020BBK-01 it's a My Passport Ultra, portable storage.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman905 View Post

To see what's on other channels in the current time slot you don't need to bring up the Guide, just use the navigation ring "up" and "down" functions to advance through the "Info" about what's on each channel and then press OK to change channels.
I did discover that. Thanks
mike734 is offline  
post #3883 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
mishmosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
For me, huge difference in responsiveness from 106R/factory.reset. Huge.
partsman_ba likes this.
mishmosh is offline  
post #3884 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donald1800 View Post

Don't forget to do a complete Factory Reset or 'Restore to Factory Settings' after doing an update. This is a recommended procedure for these devices. It may be inconvenient, but clears out some glitches.

I never do factory resets after FW updates. If it's glitchy afterwards, a hard reset (unplug it while it's on) has been the most it has ever needed.

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #3885 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Chuck Tribolet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Silicon Valley (Morgan Hill, CA and Marina, CA).
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68

I had the DVR+ install 108R over the wireless net this afternoon.  It aborted after a few seconds, and retried.  The retry aborted

after a few seconds, and retried again.  The third try worked.

I did notice that it had stopped recording Dr. Oz about a week ago (no biggy).  We'll see if it gets the 4pm instance today after

the start from installing 108R.  It is scheduled.

 

 

Chuck

Chuck Tribolet is offline  
post #3886 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Sandman905's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Tribolet View Post
 

I did notice that it had stopped recording Dr. Oz about a week ago (no biggy). 

 

Chuck

 

My DVR+ has stopped recording scheduled programs (by name) several times now. When I check the STB Health screens it sometimes shows that the last Rovi update was 4 months ago (like "Wed, Feb 06 - 10:29pm"), but always it shows that the Session Time (I assume this is the time since the last reset) is something less than a few days when I haven't initiated any recent resets. It would appear that the DVR+ initiated a reset because of an error, but didn't fully recover in terms of re-establishing scheduled recordings.

 

If I select a program in the guide that is scheduled to record, but doesn't indicate that in the guide, it displays an option to "Update the name search" which then fixes the problem. Other times I've just done a front panel reset to get it working again.

 

I'm still running 106R, so I will watch to see if this issue is still there after I do the 108R update. It would be nice to get some information from CM as to what was improved with the 108R firmware update.

Sandman905 is offline  
post #3887 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Chuck Tribolet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Silicon Valley (Morgan Hill, CA and Marina, CA).
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Tribolet View Post
 

I had the DVR+ install 108R over the wireless net this afternoon.  It aborted after a few seconds, and retried.  The retry aborted

after a few seconds, and retried again.  The third try worked.

I did notice that it had stopped recording Dr. Oz about a week ago (no biggy).  We'll see if it gets the 4pm instance today after

the start from installing 108R.  It is scheduled.

 

 

Chuck


BTW, This was the first time it had successfully upgraded over the wireless.  I'd had to hook up an Ethernet cable before.

It did record Dr. Oz this afternoon.  It also may have not recorded Bones (all prior season repeats) but I can't look back through the old guide or TV Guide to see,

 

Chuck

Chuck Tribolet is offline  
post #3888 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
MKS13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman905 View Post
My DVR+ has stopped recording scheduled programs (by name) several times now. When I check the STB Health screens it sometimes shows that the last Rovi update was 4 months ago (like "Wed, Feb 06 - 10:29pm"), but always it shows that the Session Time (I assume this is the time since the last reset) is something less than a few days when I haven't initiated any recent resets. It would appear that the DVR+ initiated a reset because of an error, but didn't fully recover in terms of re-establishing scheduled recordings.

 

Sandman, your Rovi guide should update on a daily basis if you are connected to the internet. You probably getting PSIP updates.

Check in your settings to make sure you do have an active internet connection.

MKS13 is offline  
post #3889 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 07:35 PM
Member
 
Sandman905's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKS13 View Post
 

Sandman, your Rovi guide should update on a daily basis if you are connected to the internet. You probably getting PSIP updates.

Check in your settings to make sure you do have an active internet connection.

 

I have a hard wired internet connection and this morning my Rovi Guide was working as expected with about two weeks worth of data on the major channels. One of the programs I had set to record by name was recorded on Monday morning, but not on Tuesday or Wednesday. My Ethernet connection status was good and Rovi showed that it had updated yesterday at the usual time.

 

My issue is that my DVR+ appears to have reset itself two days ago as indicated by the Session Time under STB Health which is now showing at just over two days. Since it reset itself, it has missed the scheduled recordings, otherwise it is working as expected.

Sandman905 is offline  
post #3890 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 08:23 PM
Member
 
mike734's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First two recordings, the CBS & NBC evening news. No glitches in sound or video. I'm very happy with the quality so far.
mike734 is offline  
post #3891 of 17803 Old 06-04-2014, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Donald1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Inland Empire, SoCal.
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 35
WD My Book AV 1Tb DVR Extender Price Reduced to $99.99 on WD Site

For those of you looking for another External 1Tb AV HDD for use with your PalDVR or DVR+, Western Digital is offering their nicely packaged My Book AV DVR Extender for $99.99 for a limited time. This unit has both a USB 2.0 and eSATA output and included cables. The DVR+ would use the USB cable and the PalDVR would use a 3 ft. eSATA to SATA adapter cable such as the 'Tripp Lite P952-003 eSATA to SATA Signal Cable, 7P-M/7P-M' from Amazon for $5.35 + S&H.

http://store.westerndigital.com/store/wdus/en_US/pd/ThemeID.21986300/productID.200997700/parid.13092300/catid.59262300/categoryID.59262400

http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-P952-003-eSATA-Signal/dp/B00119P6SU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1401938212&sr=8-1&keywords=Tripp+Lite+P952-003

This model is more flexible in that it includes both output types, whereas the other two models offer only one or the other. There is also a 2 Tb version at $130, but it is out of stock at present.
Donald1800 is offline  
post #3892 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
artisticimaging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DS9
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Tribolet View Post

I had the DVR+ install 108R over the wireless net this afternoon.  It aborted after a few seconds, and retried.  The retry aborted
after a few seconds, and retried again.  The third try worked.


I did notice that it had stopped recording Dr. Oz about a week ago (no biggy).  We'll see if it gets the 4pm instance today after
the start from installing 108R.  It is scheduled.


Chuck

Were you using Auto Record or Manuel Record for your Dr. Oz that was not recording? I use Manuel Record for the stuff that is really important to me like SG1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman905 View Post

My DVR+ has stopped recording scheduled programs (by name) several times now. When I check the STB Health screens it sometimes shows that the last Rovi update was 4 months ago (like "Wed, Feb 06 - 10:29pm"), but always it shows that the Session Time (I assume this is the time since the last reset) is something less than a few days when I haven't initiated any recent resets. It would appear that the DVR+ initiated a reset because of an error, but didn't fully recover in terms of re-establishing scheduled recordings.

If I select a program in the guide that is scheduled to record, but doesn't indicate that in the guide, it displays an option to "Update the name search" which then fixes the problem. Other times I've just done a front panel reset to get it working again.

I'm still running 106R, so I will watch to see if this issue is still there after I do the 108R update. It would be nice to get some information from CM as to what was improved with the 108R firmware update.

Were you using Auto Record or Manuel Record for your recordings?
artisticimaging is offline  
post #3893 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,794
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by artisticimaging View Post


Were you using Auto Record or Manuel Record for your Dr. Oz that was not recording? I use Manuel Record for the stuff that is really important to me like SG1.
 

Do you ever watch Late Night with Seth Meyers? If not, you should record it some night and notice the entrance he makes.

JoeKustra is online now  
post #3894 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
artisticimaging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DS9
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post

Do you ever watch Late Night with Seth Meyers? If not, you should record it some night and notice the entrance he makes.

Okay will do, Thanks.
artisticimaging is offline  
post #3895 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 09:51 AM
Member
 
ReaperWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donald1800 View Post

WD My Book AV 1Tb DVR Extender Price Reduced to $99.99 on WD Site

For those of you looking for another External 1Tb AV HDD for use with your PalDVR or DVR+, Western Digital is offering their nicely packaged My Book AV DVR Extender for $99.99 for a limited time. This unit has both a USB 2.0 and eSATA output and included cables. The DVR+ would use the USB cable and the PalDVR would use a 3 ft. eSATA to SATA adapter cable such as the 'Tripp Lite P952-003 eSATA to SATA Signal Cable, 7P-M/7P-M' from Amazon for $5.35 + S&H.

http://store.westerndigital.com/store/wdus/en_US/pd/ThemeID.21986300/productID.200997700/parid.13092300/catid.59262300/categoryID.59262400

http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-P952-003-eSATA-Signal/dp/B00119P6SU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1401938212&sr=8-1&keywords=Tripp+Lite+P952-003

This model is more flexible in that it includes both output types, whereas the other two models offer only one or the other. There is also a 2 Tb version at $130, but it is out of stock at present.

 

This might be a good product but other 1 TB EHDs can be had for ~$70, or a 3 TB EHD can be had for ~$99.

 

It would be a luxury to have both USB 2.0 and eSATA inputs, but you really only need the USB for the DVR+...

ReaperWA is offline  
post #3896 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 13,193
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2327 Post(s)
Liked: 1443
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaperWA View Post

This might be a good product but other 1 TB EHDs can be had for ~$70, or a 3 TB EHD can be had for ~$99.

It would be a luxury to have both USB 2.0 and eSATA inputs, but you really only need the USB for the DVR+...
This has the advantage of being a real AV drive which is optimized to handle multiple streams from a DVR. I use one with a 4-tuner TiVo Roamio -- it has recorded 4 streams while watching a 5th recorded one.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #3897 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Chuck Tribolet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Silicon Valley (Morgan Hill, CA and Marina, CA).
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by artisticimaging View Post


Were you using Auto Record or Manuel Record for your Dr. Oz that was not recording? I use Manuel Record for the stuff that is really important to me like SG1.
Were you using Auto Record or Manuel Record for your recordings?

 

I was using Auto (by name) Record.

TV is not my life.  If I miss something, I miss it.

 

Chuck

Chuck Tribolet is offline  
post #3898 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Donald1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Inland Empire, SoCal.
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 35
"...other 1 TB EHDs can be had for ~$70, or a 3 TB EHD can be had for ~$99..."

These units are designed for portable, intermittent low duty cycle use, not for heavy streaming high duty cycle. I have two of these portable drives for my PC monthly back-ups. I would never consider them for AV use. Also, they are USB 3.0 speced. units. USB 3.0 can supply up to 1A current whereas 2.0 can only supply up to 0.5A - I had to use a USB 'Y' cable to supply enough current to my USB 3.0 1 Tb Iomega drive for reliable operation. This USB power to the HDD increases the DVR+ internal heat generated, whereas the recommended unit uses no USB power, lowering the internal heat generated. There is no comparison between these two units designed for two separate uses.
Donald1800 is offline  
post #3899 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 02:03 PM
Member
 
ReaperWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donald1800 View Post

"...other 1 TB EHDs can be had for ~$70, or a 3 TB EHD can be had for ~$99..."

These units are designed for portable, intermittent low duty cycle use, not for heavy streaming high duty cycle. I have two of these portable drives for my PC monthly back-ups. I would never consider them for AV use. Also, they are USB 3.0 speced. units. USB 3.0 can supply up to 1A current whereas 2.0 can only supply up to 0.5A - I had to use a USB 'Y' cable to supply enough current to my USB 3.0 1 Tb Iomega drive for reliable operation. This USB power to the HDD increases the DVR+ internal heat generated, whereas the recommended unit uses no USB power, lowering the internal heat generated. There is no comparison between these two units designed for two separate uses.

 

I don't buy that these units wouldn't be good for streaming. I have this Seagate 2 TB EHD that I use exclusively for PLEX streaming, without issue, though I use an older LaCie 500GB USB 2.0 EHD with the DVR+, again without issue. Meanwhile, the external hard drives that Channel Master sells on its site for the DVR+ are USB 3.0 compliant.

 

While you may have some valid technical points, I don't see any evidence that supports your assertion that these would not be good external hard drives for use with the DVR+.

 

Lastly, the DVR+ is an Echostar unit, and Echostar has always made an effort to be agnostic by not having demanding external hard drive specs.

ReaperWA is offline  
post #3900 of 17803 Old 06-05-2014, 04:33 PM
Member
 
jakep_82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I've been recording HD MPEG2 streams via QAM and ATSC for a decade. I've used everything from an IDE desktop drive to a modern USB 3.0 portable EHD. I've recorded as many as 4 streams simultaneously over the years and I've never had a performance issue in any way related to a hard drive. I've also never had a hard drive fail, even after several years of nonstop use in a HTPC (WMC and MythTV). The bottom line is that a 1080i stream is only around 2 MBps, and any hard drive made in the last 10 years can easily handle an order of magnitude more than that bandwidth. I would never spend extra money to pay for the marketing around an "AV" drive, and I'm basing that on 10 years of firsthand experience.
ReaperWA likes this.
jakep_82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
578 , 999 , Channel Master , dvr+ , maintanance restart , maintenance restart , P552UI-B2 , vid posts 576/578 , vizio 4k

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off