Channel Master DVR+ Owners Thread - Page 506 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4329Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15151 of 17079 Old 12-06-2017, 11:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,941
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
On 12/4 and 12/5 my wife set five half-hour programs to record from the guide. None of them recorded. Instead, they were listed in the history as failed due to poor signal quality. But the signal quality was not even remotely poor, and they were on two or three different channels anyway. I tried recording a show in progress, and the same thing happened.

I then held the power button until the LED turned red and re-booted. After that, all was well... that is, I can record again either manually or scheduled in advance from the guide and the recordings don't fail

I don't recall seeing this odd behavior reported before, but I guess even Linux likes a re-boot once every few months.
if it would be good job of e* coders ... Linux based STB would works for months without reboot !
But now, we knew all e* devices - sat and OTA,etc - have mandatory night reboot; it's their method of eliminating results of buggy FW/SW; unfortunately they cannot squash the bugs with memory leakage normal way. Coder's churn is bad thing for SW developing ...their salary is lowest in the industry and long hours doesn't suggest loyalty for long time
P Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15152 of 17079 Old 12-07-2017, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pachinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,520
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
You're right about bootloader version ... can someone with 115R tell us its bootloader version ?
The bootloader info can be found on the DVR+ Version Info window.

For 132R, the bootloader version is 105S (see photo below).



Can someone running 135R please post its bootloader version (a photo would be great)?
pachinko is offline  
post #15153 of 17079 Old 12-08-2017, 06:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 149
115R info
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171208_072234_186_edited.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	726.7 KB
ID:	2327550  
pachinko likes this.
RTPVid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15154 of 17079 Old 12-08-2017, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2903 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I suspect that optional 2nd part of the file names (e.g., 104B) is the boot-loader version. I think it's shown in STB Health too. Looks like some of the early updates updated the boot-loader along with the firmware itself. Those are the ones where a power failure at just the wrong time might have been
Guess I was wrong. Looking at the above screenshots, the boot-loader version ends in S; the down-loader version ends in B! Silly me; thinking "B" stood for boot-loader

Looks like the down-loader version has been 104B from firmware version 106R through at least 132R, so without even looking, I suspect it's still the same in 134R and 135R. But please post screenshots anyway.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #15155 of 17079 Old 12-08-2017, 11:53 AM
Member
 
flowersrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 84, PA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Bummer. I was hoping Channel Master's change of servers might have helped.

My theory of how CMTV works is that it's basically a redirection service: when you select a CMTV channel, your DVR+ accesses a page at Channel Master's server, which then redirects your DVR+ to the "real" streaming URL. Channels therefore break when the "real" URL moves and the owner doesn't register the new URL with Channel Master (because they totally forgot about the CMTV thing they did many moons ago). If they don't fix it, eventually Channel Master delists the URL, and another CMTV channel bites the dust...
Maybe someone familiar with Wireshark could determine the URL CM is using for TWIT TV to see where its trying to reach to?

-Rich

Last edited by flowersrj; 12-08-2017 at 11:56 AM.
flowersrj is offline  
post #15156 of 17079 Old 12-08-2017, 10:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Greasemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 588 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by flowersrj View Post
Maybe someone familiar with Wireshark could determine the URL CM is using for TWIT TV to see where its trying to reach to?
I've used Wireshark, and I'd like to help but I use a hotspot and based on my experience Wireshark doesn't seem to like cell connections. I haven't been able to get it to work with mine. Second, my DVR+ has never been connected to the Internet. If anyone tries it I would suggest disconnecting all devices except the computer running Wireshark and their DVR+. Otherwise you will pick up all network traffic from your other devices and have to sift through it to find the IP address associated with the DVR+. Once you know that IP address it would be simple to track down what it is talking to and convert that address to something readable. You should refresh the Guide info and also check for FW updates while Wireshark is running. I'm curious as to what the DVR+ tries to communicate with, as well and I suspect that it does a lot more communicating with the outside world than what many people would like to believe.
Greasemonkey is offline  
post #15157 of 17079 Old 12-09-2017, 12:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,941
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 518
FW updates govern by cmds from sats (announcements, targeting, restrictions, etc). Eg one way communication. The STB does send "health reports" weekly, it does include your viewing habits too (!).

Only HS17 could take FW from Internet same as from sats.
P Smith is offline  
post #15158 of 17079 Old 12-09-2017, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Greasemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 588 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
FW updates govern by cmds from sats (announcements, targeting, restrictions, etc). Eg one way communication. The STB does send "health reports" weekly, it does include your viewing habits too (!).

Only HS17 could take FW from Internet same as from sats.
Wouldn't this require, at minimum some type of fractalized satellite-capable antenna on the DVR+ to receive the sat signals? I would also think that there would be some additional hardware requirements to compliment the antenna. We already know that the FW download occurs over the Internet. So what would be the purpose of using satellite communications for any commands, considering that the DVR+ would still have to poll the download site via the Internet to trigger the FW update?
Greasemonkey is offline  
post #15159 of 17079 Old 12-09-2017, 11:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,941
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Seems to me it was my blurred vision time - after reading too many sat threads, I responded in wrong thread ...
P Smith is offline  
post #15160 of 17079 Old 12-11-2017, 06:19 PM
Member
 
boogerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sparks, Nevada
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Strange behavior after 135r


It updated last Thursday and just about every night since then I get the "lost signal" pop up on my Fox station. If I press the menu button the menu pops up on the left and the lost signal screen goes away? I can go see that my signal is 100% and quality is 100% but the moment I back out to watch the channel lost signal pops up again. The video is just fine. Its going to wreck my recordings


Anyone else seeing this?
boogerhead is offline  
post #15161 of 17079 Old 12-12-2017, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've noticed another change with 135R beyond being able to tweak the frequency of each channel.


The Zip code I have been using for my guide wasn't updating the same channel list as previous. It was updating about 2/3 the channels that it use to.


I had to change to a zip code closer to the secondary market that 1/3 the channels I receive come from to get it to work.


Therefore, I assume that the CM channel location map is not the same as what Rovi was using.
JHBrandt likes this.
Inglewood is offline  
post #15162 of 17079 Old 12-12-2017, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,941
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inglewood View Post
I've noticed another change with 135R beyond being able to tweak the frequency of each channel.


The Zip code I have been using for my guide wasn't updating the same channel list as previous. It was updating about 2/3 the channels that it use to.


I had to change to a zip code closer to the secondary market that 1/3 the channels I receive come from to get it to work.


Therefore, I assume that the CM channel location map is not the same as what Rovi was using.
I would post this at CM's FB also.
P Smith is offline  
post #15163 of 17079 Old 12-13-2017, 05:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 318
so.....should we upgrade the firmware to 135R or not? I still have a choice and wonder if I should let it happen or not?
LenL is offline  
post #15164 of 17079 Old 12-13-2017, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2903 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
I can only say what I'm doing: staying on 134R for now, but when the guide breaks as I expect it will, I'll upgrade (even if I have to unblock my DVR+'s access to tr50.dishaccess.tv).
JHBrandt is offline  
post #15165 of 17079 Old 12-13-2017, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
artisticimaging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DS9
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post
so.....should we upgrade the firmware to 135R or not? I still have a choice and wonder if I should let it happen or not?
I am still using the 114 and my ROVI guide still goes out 14 days. Just saying!
artisticimaging is offline  
post #15166 of 17079 Old 12-13-2017, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Greasemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 588 Post(s)
Liked: 313
I noticed something about Signals & Network last night. My winter multipath pattern has started to set in, so I thought I'd check signal strength/quality to see how much it was being affected. I was playing back a program that was also in the process of recording at the time.When I pulled up Signals & Network I noticed that the data was for a channel that I wasn't watching. This got me curious so I stopped playback and switched to a channel on the 2nd tuner, then went back to Signals & Network. The S&N data was for the 2nd tuner channel. I ended up playing around with this for a while, and came to the conclusion that you can't get S&N data for a channel that is recording a program that you are currently playing back. When I would take DVR+ out of standby, i.e. only one tuner in use and recording, and tried this the S&N data would be for a random channel. More often than not it would be for a channel with a low power station or a channel that I don't watch, or seldom watch. So apparently when you are playing a recording you can't get signal strength/network information about the channel broadcasting the program.
Greasemonkey is offline  
post #15167 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Another thing I have noticed with the CM guide is that it only goes out 7 days now, instead of 14, and has some gaps on some channels (the guide info isn't there fore 30 minute, 1 hour, or 2 hours blocks). Where the data is missing is usually local programming - for example, I know this Friday at 8pm my local PBS has two locally produced shows on from 8pm to 10pm - both are showing unavailable information.


I've changed Zip codes as it didn't populate the guide properly, now I have only 7 days data even when I request a new download.


7 days is OK for me - but I did like setting timers up to 14 days in advance and seeing what was coming on beyond a week.
Inglewood is offline  
post #15168 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Not sure if this is related to the latest update, but my CM DVR+ missed all Colbert and Meyers late show recordings this week.

DVR+ CM-7500BDL3 owner since 8-2015, recovering Spectrum victim
ChannelMoocher is offline  
post #15169 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 10:23 AM
Member
 
nmantas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Great....now we are going to lose Sling . (email from a few minutes ago):
nmantas is offline  
post #15170 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 11:46 AM
Member
 
kent2174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmantas View Post
Great....now we are going to lose Sling . (email from a few minutes ago):
I received same email.
I do enjoy sling on amazon fire stick device on one of my smaller TVs.
So the question is, do I wait for cm stream plus or buy two more fire sticks for the larger TVs.
kent2174 is offline  
post #15171 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ericglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Just below the US in South Florida
Posts: 12,128
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3779 Post(s)
Liked: 2179
I just got the email as well. I am not happy. Sling was one of the reasons why I chose the CM over the Tivo Roamio.

I which party decided to end this.

Having fun playing the new mobile game Volley Village
Ericglo is offline  
post #15172 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have had my DVR+ for just two months and Sling was one of the reasons I got it! No need to keep updating the Sling App apparently since the new tech they are bringing out next month is most likely going to have Android TV.
patt0329 is offline  
post #15173 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2903 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
Me too. My guess is the whole mess is due to the deal E* made with Dish earlier this year. I think it basically killed development on the DVR+, and Dish doesn't want to support Sling TV on any products nearing EOL.

They also yanked the Windows 7 Sling app, even though Win 7 doesn't hit EOL until 2020 - now the Chrome browser is the only way I can watch unless I upgrade to Windows 10, which would cause me to lose WMC (although I've heard there's a hack for that).

It really bites. Sling was only added at the beginning of 2016 and didn't really work right until 134R was released in May. Those of us who subscribed have probably had it for an average of under a year - and now we have to buy a new product to keep watching? Guess Dish believes in planned obsolescence....

And while some think this won't have the negative effect I fear (it won't have an immediate effect anyway, due to court challenges), the FCC's repeal of Net Neutrality regulations will probably force Sling to raise their prices, so they can avoid being relegated to the "slow lane" by Comcast, Spectrum, etc. Streaming services like Sling would be totally useless in the slow lane!

I'll keep using it as long as it works, but it sounds like Sling may not be a competitive alternative to cable or satellite much longer. Guess I'll be going back to Dish soon

Last edited by JHBrandt; 12-14-2017 at 03:31 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #15174 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2903 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inglewood View Post
Another thing I have noticed with the CM guide is that it only goes out 7 days now, instead of 14....

I've changed Zip codes as it didn't populate the guide properly, now I have only 7 days data even when I request a new download.

7 days is OK for me - but I did like setting timers up to 14 days in advance and seeing what was coming on beyond a week.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChannelMoocher View Post
Not sure if this is related to the latest update, but my CM DVR+ missed all Colbert and Meyers late show recordings this week.
I'm still on 134R and my guide still seems OK. Colbert is recording fine. Sounds like 135R is really stripping things down
pachinko likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #15175 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 03:30 PM
Member
 
LensClock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Late night listings

Speaking of Colbert...
More often than not, the description for Kimmel's show does not show that night's guests, but you'll see Fallon's and Colbert's guests in the description.
But last night, I noticed that all three broadcast late-night shows had "generic" descriptions.
The guests are booked in advance - why is it so hard to get that info into the guide's descriptions?
pilotart likes this.

Do you really need to quote the entire post in your reply?
Channel Master DVR+, LG Plasma, Samsung UN60J6200 LED, Yamaha HTR-5860 & RX-V595 AV Receivers, SiriusXM, Infinity RS-9's, Klipsh 12" & Polk 10" SubWoofs, Sony STR-DE635, EPI 100's, Polk RTi8's
LensClock is offline  
post #15176 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2903 Post(s)
Liked: 1415
TiVo/Rovi has always had problems in that area. Ironically, I've seen generic descriptions more often when the show is a rerun!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #15177 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inglewood View Post
Another thing I have noticed with the CM guide is that it only goes out 7 days now, instead of 14.
My wife accidentally updated our DVR+ to 135R; curiously I still have guide data (on Thursday) through Wednesday morning 14 days out, and I can still fine tune the frequency in the manual scan screen. So I seem to be noticing less of a difference with 135R than some of you have.
frank70 is offline  
post #15178 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pachinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,520
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
My wife accidentally updated our DVR+ to 135R; curiously I still have guide data (on Thursday) through Wednesday morning 14 days out, and I can still fine tune the frequency in the manual scan screen. So I seem to be noticing less of a difference with 135R than some of you have.
Have you verified that 135R successfully installed?
pachinko is offline  
post #15179 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by pachinko View Post
Have you verified that 135R successfully installed?
So says Technical Info/Version Info.
pachinko likes this.
frank70 is offline  
post #15180 of 17079 Old 12-14-2017, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pilotart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by LensClock View Post
Speaking of Colbert...
More often than not, the description for Kimmel's show does not show that night's guests, but you'll see Fallon's and Colbert's guests in the description.
<....>
I more often rely on TitanTV for late show information, but I often see same missing information there (and even for reruns).

Tonight both guides have the information, next time it's missing I'll check the TV's guide (powered by the station's feed) and report here if I see a difference.
Art
pilotart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Tags
578 , 999 , Channel Master , dvr+ , maintanance restart , maintenance restart , P552UI-B2 , vid posts 576/578 , vizio 4k

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off