Mag MDR865, 867, 868 HD DVRs w/DVD Burners, Line Inputs, Editing, Rec Modes, USB 3.0 - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 171Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1181 Old 09-24-2015, 05:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
greaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
That link to the ABC Warehouse website isn't working. Keeps bringing me back here.

Anyone got a better link?
Here ya go gastrof...http://www.abcwarehouse.com/product_...~prod_id~26091
Hmmm...looks like they pushed back the delivery date to sometime next month.It was originally expected to be in Sept.

Last edited by greaser; 09-24-2015 at 05:54 PM.
greaser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1181 Old 09-25-2015, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Latest FUD-less info is here.

It looks as if Amazon may be getting this new Mag HD DVR/DVDR since they now show the Funai streaming app for Android (?) Fire OS... free...

Link gone.


Last edited by 7558037; 12-16-2015 at 07:46 AM.
7558037 is offline  
post #63 of 1181 Old 09-25-2015, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NUTMEG STATE
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by greaser View Post
Here ya go gastrof...http://www.abcwarehouse.com/product_...~prod_id~26091
Hmmm...looks like they pushed back the delivery date to sometime next month.It was originally expected to be in Sept.
http://www.hawthorneonlinestore.com/...~prod_id~26091

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 1181 Old 09-25-2015, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,544
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2305 Post(s)
Liked: 2623
Quote:
Originally Posted by wajo View Post
It looks as if Amazon may be getting this new Mag HD DVR/DVDR since they now show the Funai streaming app for Android (?) Fire OS... free.
Does that mean Google may also be getting the new Mag HD DVR/DVDR? They have the Funai streaming app for Android too.
Ken.F is online now  
post #65 of 1181 Old 10-02-2015, 02:42 PM
Member
 
AVS_MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Which DVR?

I'm a long time user of the Magnavox 2160A. I upgraded its firmware to SuperFW 727V when that was released, and had trouble free operation. I used it exclusively as a DVR - recording OTA shows onto the HDD, and playing them back later or sometime even doing chase play. I could count the number of times I recorded to DVD on one hand and have fingers left over. I bought a new 55" TV earlier this year, and wasn't satisfied with the quality of the up-converted SD image from my OTA recordings. I decided to get a HD DVR, and went with a Homeworx HW-150PVR. That unit works, but is as clunky as all get out, and I prefer the Magnavox functionality. I decided to replace the Homeworx with an easier to use HD DVR, and was going to head for the Channel Master DVR+ (not willing to pay Tivo fees). However, now that I see that Magnavox is releasing the Magnavox MDR867, I wonder - should I wait? Has anyone used the CM and felt its ease of use is as good, or better, than the Maggys? Or, since I'm familiar with the Maggy functionality, would that be just as good? Do the newer Magnavox's have any sort of guide, like the CM?
AVS_MA is offline  
post #66 of 1181 Old 10-02-2015, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Latest FUD-less info is here.

No Guide.

Last edited by 7558037; 12-16-2015 at 07:46 AM.
7558037 is offline  
post #67 of 1181 Old 10-02-2015, 03:51 PM
Member
 
AVS_MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, Wajo.

So if I don't need DVD recording capabilities, sounds like it would be better to go with a dedicated DVR type device? I've never had a guide before, but it sounds nice to have!
AVS_MA is offline  
post #68 of 1181 Old 10-02-2015, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Latest FUD-less info is here.

Yes, the Guide is nice to have.

These 86x Series HD DVRs auto-title their recordings.

Last edited by 7558037; 12-16-2015 at 07:47 AM.
7558037 is offline  
post #69 of 1181 Old 10-02-2015, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 13,108
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2286 Post(s)
Liked: 1417
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS_MA View Post
I decided to replace the Homeworx with an easier to use HD DVR, and was going to head for the Channel Master DVR+ (not willing to pay Tivo fees). However, now that I see that Magnavox is releasing the Magnavox MDR867
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS_MA View Post
So if I don't need DVD recording capabilities, sounds like it would be better to go with a dedicated DVR type device? I've never had a guide before, but it sounds nice to have!
Read the last couple hundred posts of the DVR+ thread so you know what you could be getting into -- it has issues. Nobody has one of these Magnavox units yet so who knows what its baggage will be. TiVo is still the best but its new price structure has priced themselves out of the OTA market. The Roamio OTA can still be bought at Amazon for $300 complete, no further fees ever, which is the steal of the decade, but this won't last very long and could end any day.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; 10-02-2015 at 04:09 PM.
Kelson is offline  
post #70 of 1181 Old 10-02-2015, 05:54 PM
Member
 
AVS_MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
The Roamio OTA can still be bought at Amazon for $300 complete, no further fees ever, which is the steal of the decade, but this won't last very long and could end any day.
Holy cow, Batman! Does it make any sense at all to consider a Channel Master from Amazon for $300 when I can get this Tivo unit for $300? What am I missing - the deal seems to good to be true. I read the reviews saying registration can be difficult, but I'm pretty good with getting through red tape like that. I've never even looked at Tivo's before because of the $15 fee every month, but this seems like it would be worth it. Does it record in Hi Def? The 500 GB drive is fine - I survived running the Homework on a 64 GB flash drive (not recommended, BTW).
AVS_MA is offline  
post #71 of 1181 Old 10-02-2015, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NUTMEG STATE
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS_MA View Post
Holy cow, Batman! Does it make any sense at all to consider a Channel Master from Amazon for $300 when I can get this Tivo unit for $300? What am I missing - the deal seems to good to be true. I read the reviews saying registration can be difficult, but I'm pretty good with getting through red tape like that. I've never even looked at Tivo's before because of the $15 fee every month, but this seems like it would be worth it. Does it record in Hi Def? The 500 GB drive is fine - I survived running the Homework on a 64 GB flash drive (not recommended, BTW).
Not only HD you can save your recordings, I got 2 of these and added 3TB hdd to them.

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #72 of 1181 Old 10-02-2015, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 13,108
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2286 Post(s)
Liked: 1417
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVS_MA View Post
Does it make any sense at all to consider a Channel Master from Amazon for $300 when I can get this Tivo unit for $300?
Nope.
Not even for a second.

I have 2 and recently upgraded them to 3TB like mickinct.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #73 of 1181 Old 10-04-2015, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
jobedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cumming Iowa
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
jobedo is offline  
post #74 of 1181 Old 10-04-2015, 01:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NUTMEG STATE
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by jobedo View Post
http://www.hawthorneonlinestore.com/...prod_id~26091#

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #75 of 1181 Old 10-08-2015, 09:23 AM
Member
 
bhata's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Two of the three new models (865 & 867) are on Walmart's website:

http://www.walmart.com/browse/electr...brand:Magnavox

Last edited by bhata; 10-08-2015 at 09:28 AM.
bhata is offline  
post #76 of 1181 Old 10-08-2015, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Nope.
Not even for a second.

I have 2 and recently upgraded them to 3TB like mickinct.
You already have two of the new ones this thread is about, Kelson?
gastrof is offline  
post #77 of 1181 Old 10-08-2015, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stuck in speed bump city
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhata View Post
Two of the three new models (865 & 867) are on Walmart's website:

http://www.walmart.com/browse/electr...brand:Magnavox
So single tuner, 500GB for $300 vs. 2-tuner 1Tb for $350? I wonder if that's a mistake?

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #78 of 1181 Old 10-08-2015, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gastrof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: my computer (or tablet)
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
so single tuner, 500gb for $300 vs. 2-tuner 1tb for $350? I wonder if that's a mistake?
Shhhhhhh!!!!!
gastrof is offline  
post #79 of 1181 Old 10-08-2015, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,395
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 888 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
So single tuner, 500GB for $300 vs. 2-tuner 1Tb for $350? I wonder if that's a mistake?
And the 500GB model lacks WiFi(at least according to W/M) so one would have to be pretty "penny wise and pound foolish" to go for the 500GB model
jjeff is offline  
post #80 of 1181 Old 10-09-2015, 11:06 AM
Member
 
AVS_MA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gastrof View Post
You already have two of the new ones this thread is about, Kelson?
Gastrof, Kelson was referring to the Tivo Roamio OTA DVR that can still be bought at Amazon for $300 complete, not the Maggie unit this thread is about. I got off topic there (sorry about that), but Kelson responded and was a big help!

Last edited by AVS_MA; 10-09-2015 at 11:10 AM.
AVS_MA is offline  
post #81 of 1181 Old 10-09-2015, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkB49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When I went to Magnavox I saw the extra WD Passport with a line on it to connect to
the new MDR 86X.
Where is it going to connect to?
My 2TB WD Passport has USB on 1 end and M on the other end of the line.


Remember
The 53x series was released during the Holidays about 3 years ago. Wajo told us about the sale at Walmart.


Our "NEW" Walmart 1000 feet from me will open in Nov.2015.
Could you see stacks of these over there lol!!
or
A few of the Vizio R HDTV.


Dream On
MarkB
MarkB49 is offline  
post #82 of 1181 Old 10-09-2015, 05:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
sunnycrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Picked up an 867 today at my local ABC Warehouse for $350. That was the only model of the three new Mags they showed in their inventory list. I didn't notice how many were on the inventory screen but it was a single digit number. Sales guy thinks they got it in the last day or so. They have a 10 day return policy so I have that amount of time to see if it will do. They are still selling the older Mag 557 for $350. I've read the entire manual thanks to this forum and have the same questions everyone else does. My first focus will be to see if high speed dubbing is still possible. If not, it may go back. I'll report back to the forum with any useful info. Sales guy wants a report also, said he'll give me a freebie of some kind if I can explain what the machine can do. I just had one of my older Philips 3575's stop burning DVD's so I needed a replacement. I can still use the Philips as a watch and delete DVR. My cable provider encrypts everything so no QAM tests, just OTA from indoor antennas. Network function testing may be limited as my router's wired function seems out but wireless is working. I also have a Mag 535 for comparison.
dleedlee, bhata, cc_in_oh and 2 others like this.

I have seen enough to know I have seen too much. (A League of Their Own)
sunnycrest is offline  
post #83 of 1181 Old 10-09-2015, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stuck in speed bump city
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnycrest View Post
Picked up an 867 today at my local ABC Warehouse for $350. That was the only model of the three new Mags they showed in their inventory list. I didn't notice how many were on the inventory screen but it was a single digit number. Sales guy thinks they got it in the last day or so. They have a 10 day return policy so I have that amount of time to see if it will do. They are still selling the older Mag 557 for $350. I've read the entire manual thanks to this forum and have the same questions everyone else does. My first focus will be to see if high speed dubbing is still possible. If not, it may go back. I'll report back to the forum with any useful info. Sales guy wants a report also, said he'll give me a freebie of some kind if I can explain what the machine can do. I just had one of my older Philips 3575's stop burning DVD's so I needed a replacement. I can still use the Philips as a watch and delete DVR. My cable provider encrypts everything so no QAM tests, just OTA from indoor antennas. Network function testing may be limited as my router's wired function seems out but wireless is working. I also have a Mag 535 for comparison.
Look forward to hearing results. I ordered a Roamio OTA to try out - I'm told it won't work with my cable feed but I wanted to try it myself while waiting for hard info on the 867...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #84 of 1181 Old 10-14-2015, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
sunnycrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Well, here's the headline: the 867 does not have a high speed dubbing function. A 60 minute show will take 60 minutes to dub. I made a recording on the HDD in SD mode (480) and then tried to dub to DVD in SD mode. I figured if I eliminated the need to transcode another option might show up on the dubbing menu, nope. The screen message said it would take 60 minutes. Also, you can not dub and record another show at the same time the way the old Panasonics could. This could be a deal breaker. The machine may go back. Being able to record in HD is good and having the external HDD capability is good. The manual emphasizes that the HDD and the external HDD should not be the permanent storage method but they sure didn't make it easy to burn to disc.
I did try recording 2 programs at once using the dual tuner. That worked but I did not find a way to switch between the tuners to select to view the recording in progress.
As we know from the manual there are no component outputs and I ran out of HDMI connects so after I rewire I'll be able to check the video quality of the various modes.
The UI is completely different than the Philips and Mag machines I have and is taking some time to adjust to.
sightsandsounds likes this.

I have seen enough to know I have seen too much. (A League of Their Own)
sunnycrest is offline  
post #85 of 1181 Old 10-14-2015, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 13,108
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2286 Post(s)
Liked: 1417
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnycrest View Post
Well, here's the headline: the 867 does not have a high speed dubbing function.
What about editing. Is there scene delete editing capabilities like in the DVDR's. No mention of it in the manual.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #86 of 1181 Old 10-14-2015, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NUTMEG STATE
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnycrest View Post
Well, here's the headline: the 867 does not have a high speed dubbing function. A 60 minute show will take 60 minutes to dub. I made a recording on the HDD in SD mode (480) and then tried to dub to DVD in SD mode. I figured if I eliminated the need to transcode another option might show up on the dubbing menu, nope. The screen message said it would take 60 minutes. Also, you can not dub and record another show at the same time the way the old Panasonics could. This could be a deal breaker. The machine may go back. Being able to record in HD is good and having the external HDD capability is good. The manual emphasizes that the HDD and the external HDD should not be the permanent storage method but they sure didn't make it easy to burn to disc.
I did try recording 2 programs at once using the dual tuner. That worked but I did not find a way to switch between the tuners to select to view the recording in progress.
As we know from the manual there are no component outputs and I ran out of HDMI connects so after I rewire I'll be able to check the video quality of the various modes.
The UI is completely different than the Philips and Mag machines I have and is taking some time to adjust to.
Hi can it be able to burn AVCHD files to discs?

MickinCT
mickinct is online now  
post #87 of 1181 Old 10-14-2015, 01:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
sunnycrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 33
The dubbing menu is basically selecting one or more titles from one source (DVD, HDD, external HDD) and directing them to the target. If the target is the DVD you can only select from the traditional modes like HQ (1 hr) SP (2 hr) LP (4 hr) EP (6 hr) & SLP (8 hr.) There is also an AUTO which says the best possible quality will be used but it is not high speed. When you have made your dubbing title and record quality selections this message appears: "Start dubbing in constant velocity with changing picture quality e.g. Dub a 30 min. program takes 30 min to dub."

The only place I see any reference to AVCHD is the logo printed on the top of the unit. I haven't yet set up a network connection to see if the files on the HDD are accessible. In the manual in the Specifications section for Video recording format Compression format, it says mpeg-2, mpeg-4, avc/h.264. When selecting the recording mode for the HDD, the options are DR (113 hrs) FHD1 (170hrs) FHD2 (364 hrs) HD (720p 905 hrs) SD (480p 1439 hrs). This is the 1TB model and I have about 6 hrs recorded in various modes.
sightsandsounds likes this.

I have seen enough to know I have seen too much. (A League of Their Own)
sunnycrest is offline  
post #88 of 1181 Old 10-14-2015, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
sunnycrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
What about editing. Is there scene delete editing capabilities like in the DVDR's. No mention of it in the manual.
The edit menu does have a title divide function. Frame advancement is possible and seemed to be pretty accurate. There is a title combine function. I'll go back to the machine to see if there is scene delete function like we saw in the previous iterations and report back. The UI is so different I'm still trying to adapt my process that worked on the Philips and the previous Mag's.
sightsandsounds likes this.

I have seen enough to know I have seen too much. (A League of Their Own)

Last edited by sunnycrest; 10-14-2015 at 01:18 PM.
sunnycrest is offline  
post #89 of 1181 Old 10-14-2015, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mickinct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NUTMEG STATE
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnycrest View Post
The dubbing menu is basically selecting one or more titles from one source (DVD, HDD, external HDD) and directing them to the target. If the target is the DVD you can only select from the traditional modes like HQ (1 hr) SP (2 hr) LP (4 hr) EP (6 hr) & SLP (8 hr.) There is also an AUTO which says the best possible quality will be used but it is not high speed. When you have made your dubbing title and record quality selections this message appears: "Start dubbing in constant velocity with changing picture quality e.g. Dub a 30 min. program takes 30 min to dub."

The only place I see any reference to AVCHD is the logo printed on the top of the unit. I haven't yet set up a network connection to see if the files on the HDD are accessible. In the manual in the Specifications section for Video recording format Compression format, it says mpeg-2, mpeg-4, avc/h.264. When selecting the recording mode for the HDD, the options are DR (113 hrs) FHD1 (170hrs) FHD2 (364 hrs) HD (720p 905 hrs) SD (480p 1439 hrs). This is the 1TB model and I have about 6 hrs recorded in various modes.
Can these files avc/h.264 that are AVCHD files be burned to disc?? when in rec mode DR are the files avc/h.264?

MickinCT

Last edited by mickinct; 10-14-2015 at 01:31 PM.
mickinct is online now  
post #90 of 1181 Old 10-14-2015, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
sunnycrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickinct View Post
Can these files avc/h.264 that are AVCHD files be burned to disc?? when in rec mode DR are the files avc/h.264?
They may be AVCHD files but as I said in the previous post, you're not able to do a file copy to DVD like the high speed mode in previous machines. You're doing a real time transcoded dub to one of the mpeg modes on DVD. If you're willing to live with the limits of the closed option of a farm of external drives, you can store a lot of HD material. 8 drives of up to 6TB (one at a time). 48TB can store a lot of video. If the files are directly accessible over the network, then you might be able to get them out of device and its supporting external drives, but the manual does not indicate this possible. The network function is described as a means to play a recording on a tablet or phone in the network using a downloadable app. I think this all points to the continuing opposition by the industry to getting high resolution files in the open.
sightsandsounds likes this.

I have seen enough to know I have seen too much. (A League of Their Own)
sunnycrest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off