Dish Hopper 3 not getting 4K from Netflix - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 09-29-2017, 11:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Dish Hopper 3 not getting 4K from Netflix

I play a 4K Netflix title such as Grace and Frankie on the Hopper to my Epson 5040 projector which accepts 4K signals but the projector's info screen shows 1080p. Download broadband speed is 250 mbps.

In the Hopper TV settings I have it set to the option that includes 4K. I have a premium 4K certified cable from my Hopper to my Denon X6300H a/V receiver then premium 4K cable from Denon to projector.

I also own a Sony UBP-X800 player connected to my Denon using exact same 4K HDMI cable as the Hopper. The Sony includes a Netflix 4K streaming app and it feeds the projector 4K just fine.

Regarding winter Olympics coming up I want to make sure I can get 4K out of the Hopper but I'm off to a bad start. I am not aware of any other 4K content the Hopper provides to try. Is there any?

Thoughts?
WynsWrld98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 09-30-2017, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post
I play a 4K Netflix title such as Grace and Frankie on the Hopper to my Epson 5040 projector which accepts 4K signals but the projector's info screen shows 1080p. Download broadband speed is 250 mbps.

In the Hopper TV settings I have it set to the option that includes 4K. I have a premium 4K certified cable from my Hopper to my Denon X6300H a/V receiver then premium 4K cable from Denon to projector.

I also own a Sony UBP-X800 player connected to my Denon using exact same 4K HDMI cable as the Hopper. The Sony includes a Netflix 4K streaming app and it feeds the projector 4K just fine.

Regarding winter Olympics coming up I want to make sure I can get 4K out of the Hopper but I'm off to a bad start. I am not aware of any other 4K content the Hopper provides to try. Is there any?

Thoughts?
Channel 540 has live 4k events such as the Fox College Football game in 4k each week
osu1991 is online now  
post #3 of 14 Old 09-30-2017, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by osu1991 View Post
Channel 540 has live 4k events such as the Fox College Football game in 4k each week
Thanks, so I just went into DishAnywhere in the guide and type in channel 540 in the 'Hop to Channel' box and it says there are no program results, I change the date to every day over the next week and it says the same thing. So how does one go about finding out when CH 540 is actually on the air??
WynsWrld98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 09-30-2017, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
They're trying to keep this thread at satguys updated with that info going forward.. The Nebraska / Illinois game last night was a 4K broadcast, not sure if any of todays games were.

https://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/thr...events.371794/
osu1991 is online now  
post #5 of 14 Old 10-03-2017, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheddarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post
I play a 4K Netflix title such as Grace and Frankie on the Hopper to my Epson 5040 projector which accepts 4K signals but the projector's info screen shows 1080p. Download broadband speed is 250 mbps.

In the Hopper TV settings I have it set to the option that includes 4K. I have a premium 4K certified cable from my Hopper to my Denon X6300H a/V receiver then premium 4K cable from Denon to projector.

I also own a Sony UBP-X800 player connected to my Denon using exact same 4K HDMI cable as the Hopper. The Sony includes a Netflix 4K streaming app and it feeds the projector 4K just fine.

Regarding winter Olympics coming up I want to make sure I can get 4K out of the Hopper but I'm off to a bad start. I am not aware of any other 4K content the Hopper provides to try. Is there any?

Thoughts?
You need to make sure to upgrade your NetFlix subscription to the 4K level, costs $11.99 per month.
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 10-03-2017, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
You need to make sure to upgrade your NetFlix subscription to the 4K level, costs $11.99 per month.
Already done and works fine 4K with Sony XBP-800 streaming Netflix 4K and Amazon 4K. I don't get CH 540 with Dish and when set Dish Guide up to show all channels incl those I don't subscribe to still no CH 540 even after paging day by day thru guide.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 10-05-2017, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Next 4K broadcast

Dish 4K channel 540
Saturday October 7th 7pm Eastern / 6pm Central
NCAA Football from Fox on FS1
Kansas St at Texas
osu1991 is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 10-05-2017, 07:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by osu1991 View Post
Next 4K broadcast

Dish 4K channel 540
Saturday October 7th 7pm Eastern / 6pm Central
NCAA Football from Fox on FS1
Kansas St at Texas
Thanks, how do you find out about these? Does CH 540 show up all the time in your program guide? I set mine to all channels incl unsubscribed and still see no CH 540 so not sure if doesn't show up until hours before something is actually broadcast on the channel?
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 10-05-2017, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Attached is what I get when I try to find CH 540 in the Guide even when I'm set to the time it should be on (I'm in P.S.T.) and set to All Channels. The box in the upper corner says 'Hop to Channel' when empty. When I try it on my actual Hopper DVR with its onscreen guide and set to ALL channels even unsubscribed I get the same result, no recognition of CH 540.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dish CH540.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	2293374  
WynsWrld98 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 10-05-2017, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
osu1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
What package do you have? You will need to be subscribed to FS1. It’s in the guide and the channel is uplinked to both arcs on 110w and 61.5w. Its using an entire transponder for the 4k channel. It’s in the thread I posted earlier at satelliteguys. Thats the best place to ask about Dish equipment and programming. It usually shows in the guide after the Wednesday uplinks and the H3s take their nightly guide update.
osu1991 is online now  
post #11 of 14 Old 04-27-2020, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheddarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by hearrean View Post
I haven't posted here in quite some time & hopefully I'm posting this in the correct section/thread, but here goes. We were recently displaced due to a home fire, so all my equip. had been packed away & in storage for about 4 months. In re-hooking everything, I've run into an issue being able to get my OTA locals via the Dish OTA Dongle attached to my Hopper 3. I'm sure this is likely a minor glitch with the manner I've hooked that section up (cables going to the wrong inputs, etc). My set-up is basic; I have the Hopper 3 with OTA Dongle, 4K AVR, 4K BD Player, Roku & my 4K Display. I have all components going into the AVR & (1) HDMI out of the Denon into the display. I believe my problem though has to do with the proper connections in & around the Hopper & OTA Dongle. The problem is that I get SAT just fine, but no OTA channels. The way I have it hooked up is the OTA antenna lead & the SAT lead go into a switcher (or whatever that's actually called) in the attic & then (1) lead coming down the wall to the back of the units. From there what should be the proper connection for my Dish OTA Dongle, a small white plastic splitter & the Hopper itself? I feel like it's something in the connections of these (3) components. So when I go to any of my pre-scanned locals in the EPG, I just get the error message that says "OTA signals have been lost, please check antenna, etc.," but all SAT channels are fine. Prior to having to unhook everything when we left, it all worked beautifully & normally I have all my interconnects labeled, but this time, most had fallen off. Any advice would certainly be appreciated.

Thanks,
Ken
Make sure your USB dongle is in the correct USB port, it will only work in one.


Try asking question about your Hopper3 here, lots of experts there.


https://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/for...port-forum.10/

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 04-27-2020, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cheddarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 798 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by hearrean View Post
There's (2) USB ports on the back of the Hopper 3; I wasn't aware that the USB from the dongle would only work into one specific input so I never thought of that, but definitely worth a try. Don't tell me we have an Occam's Razor thing...?

Thanks,
Ken
Never mind on a required USB port that was for the SNAP accelerator you can get for the older Hopper's


Do you have the newer dual-tuner that Dish released? Supposedly it fixes many issues that users of the old dongle had.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 04-27-2020, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by WynsWrld98 View Post
I play a 4K Netflix title such as Grace and Frankie on the Hopper to my Epson 5040 projector which accepts 4K signals but the projector's info screen shows 1080p. Download broadband speed is 250 mbps.

In the Hopper TV settings I have it set to the option that includes 4K. I have a premium 4K certified cable from my Hopper to my Denon X6300H a/V receiver then premium 4K cable from Denon to projector.

I also own a Sony UBP-X800 player connected to my Denon using exact same 4K HDMI cable as the Hopper. The Sony includes a Netflix 4K streaming app and it feeds the projector 4K just fine.

Regarding winter Olympics coming up I want to make sure I can get 4K out of the Hopper but I'm off to a bad start. I am not aware of any other 4K content the Hopper provides to try. Is there any?

Thoughts?
I have the Hopper 3 as well. I have watched ALL Bosch and Jack Ryan seasons on 4K HDR with DD+ via Amazon Prime Video.

"Feels great, baby." SF 49ers QB Jimmy G.
Transistorious is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 04-27-2020, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WynsWrld98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 3,126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transistorious View Post
I have the Hopper 3 as well. I have watched ALL Bosch and Jack Ryan seasons on 4K HDR with DD+ via Amazon Prime Video.
I was told by Dish to get any 4K content you have to have a certain tier of programming. I pay $98/month but Dish stupidly says I don't pay enough for them to turn on 4K for anything.
WynsWrld98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off