Amazon RECAST OTA DVR formerly known as "Frank" - Page 26 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 235Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 790 Old 04-17-2020, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT01 View Post
What ethernet adapter are you using? The Amazon adapter should work and there are some after-market Gigabit adapters that work, but there are other after-market adapters that don't work or are very unreliable, probably due to chipset incompatiblities.

I am using the Amazon adapter on three of my Firesticks. They are all the same model 4K sticks. Only one seems to be having issues connecting via ethernet however.
ncted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 790 Old 04-18-2020, 05:11 AM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncted View Post
I am using the Amazon adapter on three of my Firesticks. They are all the same model 4K sticks. Only one seems to be having issues connecting via ethernet however.

They all should work. Have you tried a different ethernet cable with the non-working FS?
JT01 is offline  
post #753 of 790 Old 04-18-2020, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT01 View Post
They all should work. Have you tried a different ethernet cable with the non-working FS?

Yeah, and I've tried switching the ethernet adapters around, and the one firestick still cannot via ethernet. Whatever. Not that big a deal. Just annoying.
ncted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #754 of 790 Old 04-25-2020, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
mishmosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncted View Post
Yeah, and I've tried switching the ethernet adapters around, and the one firestick still cannot via ethernet. Whatever. Not that big a deal. Just annoying.
That happened to me. Turns out, I was using a cheap micro USB cable... not the original cable.

I've also had a Firestick randomly reboot. Traced that to using the USB power adapter--bought a more powerful AmazonBasics one and no reboots.
wizwor and danlshane like this.
mishmosh is offline  
post #755 of 790 Old 04-30-2020, 04:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ 925' elevation, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 353
If someone finds the Recast is on sale again at Amazon or elsewhere please bring it to our attention on this forum. I missed the last sale and probably now in the market to give it a try.
LenL is offline  
post #756 of 790 Old 04-30-2020, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15,047
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3306 Post(s)
Liked: 1530
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenL View Post
If someone finds the Recast is on sale again at Amazon or elsewhere please bring it to our attention on this forum. I missed the last sale and probably now in the market to give it a try.
Camel Camel Camel site will send you an email when the price drops:
https://camelcamelcamel.com/product/...context=search
wizwor likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #757 of 790 Old 05-03-2020, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by danlshane View Post
Well, the only limitation is the supplied adapter, not the Firestick itself, and it's easily and cheaply fixed. I had plenty of extra adapters laying around anyway, so replacing both of mine didn't cost me anything.

And Amazon used to supply 1.2a adapters with its older devices, so maybe they changed vendors to manufacture their current adapters and chose poorly. They've had plenty of grief about it on the Web, but they're probably too big to care anymore.

I love my Firestick 4K and its integration with the Recast, so I live with these occasional anomalies that are fairly easily addressed.

Hey, just wanted to say thanks. I ran into some problems with using Roku remotes to control volume on certain TVs and causing WiFi interference, so I decided to try your suggestion of replacing the power adapter with a more powerful one, and it seems to have done the trick. I ordered a few 1.8A adapters to replace all the 1A adapters I am using on my other Firesticks as well. Hopefully that results in better reliability across the board.
ncted is offline  
post #758 of 790 Old 05-04-2020, 05:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
danlshane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Okolona, KY
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncted View Post
Hey, just wanted to say thanks. I ran into some problems with using Roku remotes to control volume on certain TVs and causing WiFi interference, so I decided to try your suggestion of replacing the power adapter with a more powerful one, and it seems to have done the trick. I ordered a few 1.8A adapters to replace all the 1A adapters I am using on my other Firesticks as well. Hopefully that results in better reliability across the board.
That's great news. Thanks for verifying the easy fix. Too bad Amazon makes this necessary, but at least it's not difficult.

--
Dan Shane
LG 65EF9500 & LG 65UH8500

God gave us two eyes for a reason.
danlshane is online now  
post #759 of 790 Old 05-24-2020, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,086
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1031 Post(s)
Liked: 486
Looks like the price is pretty low, now. I wonder if Amazon is getting ready for ATSC 3.0 tuners?

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, Emotiva E1 sides,
LSiC CH, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #760 of 790 Old 05-24-2020, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15,047
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3306 Post(s)
Liked: 1530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
Looks like the price is pretty low, now. I wonder if Amazon is getting ready for ATSC 3.0 tuners?
I hope so. But it's been lower, $180 last Xmas.
mdavej is offline  
post #761 of 790 Old 05-25-2020, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,086
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1031 Post(s)
Liked: 486
In one forum, the opinion was that sales for the Recast were lower than Amazon's expectations and the future was not bright. I hope not. I've kept this device on my Amazon "List" because, once the external hard drive capability was added, it was pretty much everything I wanted. What kept me back was thinking that a "final" improvement would be to allow 1080p recording v. 720p. ATSC 3.0 enables 4K Codecs and high quality audio, so if Amazon added a pair of ATSC 3.0 tuners and 4K recording, the device would be ideal. If sales have indeed been slow, perhaps it's because other people, like me, thought it was behind the technology curve, a little bit. I'd pay more for an ATSC 3.0 device. I hope Amazon is seeing a big potential market for this device for those of us with 4K TV's without an ATSC 3.0 tuner. That's pretty much all of them, to date. I'm not going to leave behind my Sammy 82Q90R just because it doesn't have ATSC 3.0 tuners. I'd buy a Fire TV recast with ATSC 3.0 tuners in a heartbeat and I bet there is a substantial market for people like me.
Chuck666 likes this.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, Emotiva E1 sides,
LSiC CH, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #762 of 790 Old 05-25-2020, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,868
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 912
Behind the curve? There is virtually no ATSC 3.0 content for 99% of the population (nor will there be anytime soon). And even if there was I'm pretty sure they would beat the image quality down to SD levels. Not to mention the expense of ATSC 3.0 tuners would put it into another price market (altogether) and if they were as bad as the current model's tuners I couldn't even get the channels I do with other devices.

I used one for several weeks (posted an extended review at TiVo's forum) and it ended up being returned for a number of reasons. Surprisingly image quality wasn't one of them.

| JVC RS2000 125" Projection - Denon 5.2.4 Audio - Shield TV PRO / 65" LG OLED TV - TiVo - Fire TV 4K |
| ODROID-N2 Ubuntu Media Server | Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K IPS Panel |
Charles R is offline  
post #763 of 790 Old 05-26-2020, 08:13 AM
Rgb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 8,690
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 1106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
In one forum, the opinion was that sales for the Recast were lower than Amazon's expectations and the future was not bright. I hope not. I've kept this device on my Amazon "List" because, once the external hard drive capability was added, it was pretty much everything I wanted. What kept me back was thinking that a "final" improvement would be to allow 1080p recording v. 720p. ATSC 3.0 enables 4K Codecs and high quality audio, so if Amazon added a pair of ATSC 3.0 tuners and 4K recording, the device would be ideal. If sales have indeed been slow, perhaps it's because other people, like me, thought it was behind the technology curve, a little bit. I'd pay more for an ATSC 3.0 device. I hope Amazon is seeing a big potential market for this device for those of us with 4K TV's without an ATSC 3.0 tuner. That's pretty much all of them, to date. I'm not going to leave behind my Sammy 82Q90R just because it doesn't have ATSC 3.0 tuners. I'd buy a Fire TV recast with ATSC 3.0 tuners in a heartbeat and I bet there is a substantial market for people like me.
Even though I ordered an HDHR ATSC3 tuner (Quatro 4K) on the Kickstarter, I too believe its too early "for most people". But long time AVS-ers are not "most people"

Obviously ATSC3 will be in early adopter/techie phase for a few years from this point in time. With 4K stream content, OTA will be a tough sell, but a lot of people are tired of paying for and managing too many services, stream or local providers (cable). So if OTA ATSC3 accelerates, more people might opt for antenna and TV's with new tuners preinstalled, or add on DVR boxes like the eMatic 103's of the world. Could see those kinds of generic ATSC3 boxes faster this time around vs the ATSC1 transition and gubmint subsidized boxen.
Ted99 likes this.
Rgb is online now  
post #764 of 790 Old 05-26-2020, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,086
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1031 Post(s)
Liked: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
Behind the curve? There is virtually no ATSC 3.0 content for 99% of the population (nor will there be anytime soon). And even if there was I'm pretty sure they would beat the image quality down to SD levels. Not to mention the expense of ATSC 3.0 tuners would put it into another price market (altogether) and if they were as bad as the current model's tuners I couldn't even get the channels I do with other devices.

I used one for several weeks (posted an extended review at TiVo's forum) and it ended up being returned for a number of reasons. Surprisingly image quality wasn't one of them.
Of course you are right. Supposed to be country-wide ATSC 3.0 rollout next year. Will the stations dumb it down? Perhaps. One good thing about the Olympics being postponed to 2021 is that they will be a 4K feed from Japan and the existence of ATSC 3.0 could push the Networks/broadcast stations to actually have a 3.0 signal. One can only put past experience with the networks/stations aside and hope.
Rgb and tveli like this.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, Emotiva E1 sides,
LSiC CH, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #765 of 790 Old 05-26-2020, 01:44 PM
Rgb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 8,690
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 1106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
Of course you are right. Supposed to be country-wide ATSC 3.0 rollout next year. Will the stations dumb it down? Perhaps. One good thing about the Olympics being postponed to 2021 is that they will be a 4K feed from Japan and the existence of ATSC 3.0 could push the Networks/broadcast stations to actually have a 3.0 signal. One can only put past experience with the networks/stations aside and hope.
Great points.

With so many quality low cost 4K HDR (HDR10/HLG at min) panels like 50-60" TCL refurbs/B stock for $200-$400, just about anyone without a 4K HDR panel can afford a decent one now.

The nickel and diming from OTT providers and cable/sat providers will never, ever end, and too many people are sick of it.

I just rotate free weeks/months among the CBS AA's, Netflix's and similar of the world. Only one I've had for years is Amazon Prime just because its been part of shipping package, though that may change some day if Amazon splits or tiers Prime services, since Bezos needs another couple billion $

I think 4K HDR Olympics could be a big push for ATSC3, unless everyone is content with OTT streaming (ISP or cell provider) of 4K Olympics, or is fine with OTA ATSC1 1080i.
tveli and Ted99 like this.

Last edited by Rgb; 05-29-2020 at 07:02 AM.
Rgb is online now  
post #766 of 790 Old 05-29-2020, 07:04 AM
Rgb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 8,690
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 1106
Bonus for ATSC3 OTA Olympics would be immersive audio (lossy Atmos)- icing on the ATSC3 cake
Rgb is online now  
post #767 of 790 Old 06-05-2020, 10:17 AM
Rgb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 8,690
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 1106
Anyone record the Artist Formerly Known as Prince on their DVR Formerly Known as Frank?
Garrett Adams likes this.
Rgb is online now  
post #768 of 790 Old 06-08-2020, 05:59 AM
Rgb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 8,690
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 1106
re: early adopter phase for ATSC3

To put things in perspective for those too young to remember going through the ATSC1 rollout/transition, many of us AVS'ers started receiving and watching ATSC1 broadcasts as early as Fall 1999, some even earlier.
But the "official" transition and analog cutoff didn't happen for many years later, ie when the subsidized boxes hit the Best Buys and Circuit City's of the world in the late 2000's.

I received ATSC1 with an early Hauppuage WinTV-D card in a Win98 PC, then got an RCA DTC100 receiver late 1999 or early 2000 with roof antenna. Govt boxes weren't available until 2007-2008 or so
Rgb is online now  
post #769 of 790 Old 06-08-2020, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15,047
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3306 Post(s)
Liked: 1530
... and for those too young to remember the NTSC color rollout, many of us started receiving and watching those broadcasts in 1953 even though it really didn't take off until 1965.
Rgb and DanPackMan like this.
mdavej is offline  
post #770 of 790 Old 06-20-2020, 07:26 PM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 33
FWIW, today I had one of those (mercifully) few and far between moments with my Recast. Went to watch a recording - none were there. Rebooted Firestick 4k - still no recordings. Rebooted Recast - still no recordings. Tried another Firestick 4k on another TV in another part of the house - nothing. Rebooted that Firestick - nothing. Finally decided to unpair the Recast from Firestick 4k #2 and pair it again - that finally brought back the recordings. Then unpaired the Recast from Firestick #1 and paired it again - all is well. I've had a Recast since November 2018 and never had to do that before - any ideas why this problem cropped up so suddenly? Thanks in advance for all replies.
JT01 is offline  
post #771 of 790 Old 06-20-2020, 10:26 PM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Well, I may have spoken too soon about how few and far between the above problems are. The recordings disappeared again on Fire Stick 4k #2 - had to unpair the Recast and pair again to get them back. Has there been an update to the Recast or the Fire Stick 4k that is being problematic? There was a FS 4k update yesterday - maybe there will be a fix soon if the update is causing this problem.
JT01 is offline  
post #772 of 790 Old 06-21-2020, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,137
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4098 Post(s)
Liked: 3410
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT01 View Post
FWIW, today I had one of those (mercifully) few and far between moments with my Recast. Went to watch a recording - none were there. Rebooted Firestick 4k - still no recordings. Rebooted Recast - still no recordings. Tried another Firestick 4k on another TV in another part of the house - nothing. Rebooted that Firestick - nothing. Finally decided to unpair the Recast from Firestick 4k #2 and pair it again - that finally brought back the recordings. Then unpaired the Recast from Firestick #1 and paired it again - all is well. I've had a Recast since November 2018 and never had to do that before - any ideas why this problem cropped up so suddenly? Thanks in advance for all replies.
I had the same experience. FTV phone support was useless. Re-pairing fixed it for now. Live TV was not affected, just recordings.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #773 of 790 Old 06-21-2020, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Happened to me, too, over the last couple of days. Went to my recordings and there was only one there (there should have been about eight different shows with multiple episodes each. I restarted the stick, watched the one show that was there, and then the others came back, but it was weird. Will be curious to see what happens today when I fire it up.
Flickpal is offline  
post #774 of 790 Old 06-21-2020, 08:27 AM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I did some experiments and found that the FS 4k loses the recordings approximately an hour after you leave the DVR menu item and maybe sooner. Unpairing and pairing again brings them back, but having to do that every time I want to watch a recording is ridiculous. The fact that this problem cropped up in the last few days, as others mention above, points to the last FS 4k firmware update, which I installed about 2 days ago. Is there any reliable way to contact Amazon or are we SOL until they wake up?

Last edited by JT01; 06-21-2020 at 11:16 AM.
JT01 is offline  
post #775 of 790 Old 06-21-2020, 10:58 AM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Found another issue with the FS 4k - deleting a recording will not work the first time. The thumbnail will just sit there after deleting until I do another delete. Then the thumbnail will disappear and the "deletion failed" message will appear. Go figure.

Also noticed that the recordings disappeared again - this time when I went back to the DVR menu after watching 2 recorded episodes. Does Amazon test these updates before inflicting them on us?
JT01 is offline  
post #776 of 790 Old 06-21-2020, 07:49 PM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT01 View Post
Found another issue with the FS 4k - deleting a recording will not work the first time. The thumbnail will just sit there after deleting until I do another delete. Then the thumbnail will disappear and the "deletion failed" message will appear. Go figure.

Also noticed that the recordings disappeared again - this time when I went back to the DVR menu after watching 2 recorded episodes. Does Amazon test these updates before inflicting them on us?
On a more positive note, I've found Alexa can be used to bring up the recordings, even when they don't show up on the DVR menu. I just say "Alexa, show my recordings" and the all recordings menu shows up. At least I don't have to unpair and pair the FS 4k everytime I want to watch a recording.
Flickpal likes this.
JT01 is offline  
post #777 of 790 Old 06-22-2020, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT01 View Post
On a more positive note, I've found Alexa can be used to bring up the recordings, even when they don't show up on the DVR menu. I just say "Alexa, show my recordings" and the all recordings menu shows up. At least I don't have to unpair and pair the FS 4k everytime I want to watch a recording.
Thanks. I'll try that today.

Last night, I went to the DVR setting to watch Grantchester which had started recording about fifteen minutes before. The thumbnail was nowhere to be seen (no thumbnails were there), and I didn't want to restart since that would interrupt the recording I assumed was taking place. I went to the channel guide, switched to the local PBS station that was showing it and went there, and I was then dumped into the middle of the recording. I just reran back to the beginning and began watching, but it was A LOT of trouble.
Flickpal is offline  
post #778 of 790 Old 06-22-2020, 10:14 AM
Member
 
JT01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flickpal View Post
Thanks. I'll try that today.

Last night, I went to the DVR setting to watch Grantchester which had started recording about fifteen minutes before. The thumbnail was nowhere to be seen (no thumbnails were there), and I didn't want to restart since that would interrupt the recording I assumed was taking place. I went to the channel guide, switched to the local PBS station that was showing it and went there, and I was then dumped into the middle of the recording. I just reran back to the beginning and began watching, but it was A LOT of trouble.
If you have Alexa or another voice command system compatible with the FS environment, just tell it to bring up your recordings and all your recordings should be there, including those in progress. Good luck.
Flickpal likes this.
JT01 is offline  
post #779 of 790 Old 06-22-2020, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,137
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4098 Post(s)
Liked: 3410
My recordings keep vanishing too. I am able to just watch a moment of live TV and they all come right back again. Doesn't matter what I watch as long as its a broadcast channel.


The FTV/Recast forum is full of this bug. Some folks have it worse than others:


https://www.amazonforum.com/s/topic/...fire-tv-recast

Last edited by rdgrimes; 06-22-2020 at 07:08 PM.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #780 of 790 Old 06-23-2020, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT01 View Post
If you have Alexa or another voice command system compatible with the FS environment, just tell it to bring up your recordings and all your recordings should be there, including those in progress. Good luck.
I do want to thank you so much for this suggestion because it worked like a charm. Once I asked Alexa to show my recordings, they came right up. I shut the Fire Stick down around 4 p.m. and did other things until about 7. When I turned things back on, the programs were gone again but another request once again brought them right back up, so I guess I'll just do this until the bug gets fixed.
Flickpal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off