Amazon RECAST OTA DVR formerly known as "Frank" - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 212Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 681 Old 11-13-2018, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,642
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyGBiv View Post
I think the cost difference is pretty reasonable, and the fact that there is no additional fee if you are a Prime member is a big plus for me.
I read the FAQ and didn't see any mention of related fees... what might they be if you don't have Prime? Also it keeps referencing a Fire TV is required for setup. Can you use an generic Android device to do such as in say a NVIDIA Shield TV?

125" Projection | 5.2.4 Audio | Shield TV | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Kodi Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 NAS/Server | 65" LG OLED TV | TiVo | Shield TV |
| Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K IPS Panel |
Charles R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 681 Old 11-13-2018, 09:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RoyGBiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pawtucket, RI
Posts: 1,833
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
I read the FAQ and didn't see any mention of related fees... what might they be if you don't have Prime? Also it keeps referencing a Fire TV is required for setup. Can you use an generic Android device to do such as in say a NVIDIA Shield TV?

I guess we'll know more tomorrow when people first start getting their devices. For lots of people this will be a good, easy, all in one solution to OTA recording.



I did not see what the fees were, but I did not research it very deeply since I have Prime. OTOH, I also have Plex Pass and may just buy an HD Homerun for over $100 less.


From the FAQ it appears you have to have a "fire" device, and that at least as of its release date it will not work with other Android devices. It would not surprise me, though, if apps for other Android devices quickly started showing up.



SMK
RoyGBiv is online now  
post #63 of 681 Old 11-14-2018, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 333
The below is the one thing that is disappointing for me. They are going for lowest common denominator vs detecting what Client capabilities are and streaming best capability of that client. I guess it makes sense since they are targeting amazon device ecosystem.

The Fire TV Recast stores all content to its internal hard drive as unprotected raw MPEG-2 video files in their native resolution. This is important because it means that the full 1920×1080 resolution of channels that broadcast in 1080i is maintained for all recordings. Remember, no US channels broadcast in 1080p. They all broadcast in either 1080i or 720p.

When watching content from the Fire TV Recast, whether it’s live or recorded, and regardless of whether you’re watching through a Fire TV, Echo Show, or mobile device, the raw MPEG-2 video files are transcoded to H.264 with a maximum resolution of 1440×720 at 60 frames per second. This is done to ensure compatibility with a wide range of devices, including older Fire TVs that cannot de-interlace 1080i video.

http://www.aftvnews.com/video-record...ire-tv-recast/
sjm817 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 681 Old 11-14-2018, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,743
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by IN2tvClassics View Post

Fire TV Recast delivers the most reliable video streams over Wi-Fi of any over-the-air DVR.


What are the thoughts on this?
That's an interesting statement.
Squirrel! likes this.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #65 of 681 Old 11-14-2018, 02:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,052
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2865 Post(s)
Liked: 1395
Quote:
Originally Posted by IN2tvClassics View Post
Fire TV Recast, over-the-air DVR (500 GB, 75 hours or 1 TB, 150 hours )

With 4 tuners, you can record up to 4 shows at once. Plus, store up to 150 hours of HD programming.
At the other thread, they mentioned that only the 1 TB model has four tuners. The 500 GB model only has two tuners. Thought I'd mention that before someone picks up a 500 GB Recast expecting four tuners.
Squirrel! likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #66 of 681 Old 11-14-2018, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,052
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2865 Post(s)
Liked: 1395
I sort of agree; transcoding to h.264 is fine IMO, but it should choose the best resolution for the target device vs. always converting to 720p. Ideally there should even be an option to up-convert to 1080p if your device supports it; that way, no info is lost regardless of the resolution of the original recording.

But I sort of understand too: real-time transcoding requires a lot of CPU horsepower, and transcoding to 1080p or even 1080i may have just been too much to ask of the hardware.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #67 of 681 Old 11-14-2018, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Old Town Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Luke over at Cord Cutter News has posted his review of the Recast.

https://youtu.be/fNjyBDPWhQg

I always trust his opinions, and he is really detailed with his reviews of ROKU products. I think this will be a big seller, but It is primarily for the Amazon Fire TV Eco-system. Luke agrees that most homes have a combination of devices, and that is most likely the only downside.
merman9393 is offline  
post #68 of 681 Old 11-14-2018, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,832
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3919 Post(s)
Liked: 3185
Well I'm just thrilled to have the live TV and DVR so cleanly integrated with my FireTV and mobile devices. I don't think the PQ is quite as good as watching live channels on my TV, but its good enough. Streaming live TV to mobile dives over my home network works very well, couldn't be happier with that.


Channel setup was a bit fiddly and finicky, the tuner in this box wants a pretty strong signal. Again I get better performance from my TVs onboard tuner. The available channel signal strength indicator is inadequate. We need more than "weak" and "Good" indications. What's wrong with an actual meter display? If you have a portable TV with a decent antenna setup routine you might want to use it to position your antenna.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #69 of 681 Old 11-14-2018, 10:32 PM
Member
 
kent2174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 32
First impression is good. Glad there is a red lamp on front of device to let you know it’s recording something.
Thank god the FF button is set up with 30 second increments.

Only stumbling block was setting up iPhone app to recognize Recast.
Called support, they had me delete and reinstall. All good.

Also requested some enhancements.
Ability to proceed faster in guide, ie 24 hour increments.
Ability to view documented new episodes in guide.
Some testing I did with recording options indicates the data base knows if show has previously aired. So the option to record new only seems to work. But needs more time to know for sure.

Ability to view in any room and mobile makes all my dreams.

Certainly no need for Stream+ which I rarely used due to its clunky ness.

Recast is smooth. Alexa channel 9!!! And it works.
kent2174 is online now  
post #70 of 681 Old 11-14-2018, 11:58 PM
Senior Member
 
fpileggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Williston, Vt
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Have to agree with an above statement that the picture is not sharp as the built-in tuner on my LG C7. As for the channels they don't seem to be in order from top to bottom but rather as they were detected. Annoying. I think I may just mount another antenna and use both the the LG's internal detected channels and the Recast channels just for recording. Glad I now have the option to record though.
fpileggi is online now  
post #71 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 12:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm curious what the framerate is. is it 60fps ? Good for sports for example?
JenniferG is offline  
post #72 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 12:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
IN2tvClassics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Capital District Area (Troy, NY)
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 43
@ JoeKusta & JHBrandt

All the information I posted came straight from the Amazon product link I posted.

Hopefully people would at least notice that there are two different models.
IN2tvClassics is offline  
post #73 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 01:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Squirrel!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Could be interesting. It seems though, that their "mobile App" is only compatible with my sons fire tablet, and not my daughters iphone? Just me or an actual issue?

Main: Mitsubishi 73736|OTA|fireTV|Sony BDP-S1100|Denon AVR4311CI|MartinLogan Preface|Phantom|MartinLogan Encore TF|1-1000watt & 1-500watt DIY 12" Subs|2 Bass Shaker|APC H15 Power Conditioner|Harmony Hub|Sennheiser RS 160|SMSL B1 BT Rx|Linksys SE2500
MBR: Vizio VF550M|OTA|fireTV3|Sony BDP-S1100|Denon AVR-X1000|Chane A1rx-c|Dayton SAT-BK|MartinLogan Dynamo 300|Belkin PF30|Harmony 550
Squirrel! is offline  
post #74 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,743
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by IN2tvClassics View Post
@ JoeKusta & JHBrandt
All the information I posted came straight from the Amazon product link I posted.
Hopefully people would at least notice that there are two different models.
Thanks. I should have posted it's one of the most interesting "marketing" statements I've seen in a while. I have a Fire TV so I follow Amazon and it's consumer products. This should be an interesting product to watch.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #75 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,832
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3919 Post(s)
Liked: 3185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squirrel! View Post
Could be interesting. It seems though, that their "mobile App" is only compatible with my sons fire tablet, and not my daughters iphone? Just me or an actual issue?
It works on my iPad, but I had to sign out of the FireTV app and sign back in to get it working. Just make sure you have the FireTV app and not one of the other Amazon apps. Its sometimes called the "FireTV Remote".
Squirrel! likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #76 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 11:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Old Town Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I'm interested in more details regarding transcoding. I have read that it reverts to lower PQ than necessary, even if you have your Fire TV at 4K, to support Fire TV devices that can't handle that stream quality.

Any one have a way to verify if there is a way to totally bypass transcoding.
merman9393 is offline  
post #77 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 12:36 PM
Member
 
kent2174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 32
When watching ON NOW and recorded episodes, curious if the fire sticks in various rooms are receiving wifi signal from from the actual Recast device, or from my ATT BGW210 router?
I am guessing the signals to fire sticks are coming from router, just like it does the streaming for apps.

While testing Recast last night, noticed Alexa voice is very very very loud compared to content. Resolution for that?
kent2174 is online now  
post #78 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpileggi View Post
Have to agree with an above statement that the picture is not sharp as the built-in tuner on my LG C7. As for the channels they don't seem to be in order from top to bottom but rather as they were detected. Annoying. I think I may just mount another antenna and use both the the LG's internal detected channels and the Recast channels just for recording. Glad I now have the option to record though.
You don't need another antenna, just splitter on the one you currently use.
JHBrandt likes this.
b1g_bake is offline  
post #79 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 02:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Amazon is goofy. I ordered the 2 tuner for $230 YESTERDAY, they announced today it gets a $50 TGiving discount (Sunday?). My Recast hasnt arrived so I chatted and asked for a $50 partial refund. They reused and told me to send the Recast back ,and then re-order at the discount price FOR THE SAME ITEM in a couple of days.

So much for saving time, effort, and the environment.
JHBrandt likes this.
JH64 is offline  
post #80 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 03:06 PM
Member
 
bonchien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Agreed, it's weird Amazon wouldn't just credit you the difference. At $179.99, the 500 GB Recast looks a little more enticing. I'm a bit curious if other OTA DVRs will also be discounted for BF.
bonchien is offline  
post #81 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonchien View Post
Agreed, it's weird Amazon wouldn't just credit you the difference. At $179.99, the 500 GB Recast looks a little more enticing. I'm a bit curious if other OTA DVRs will also be discounted for BF.
The 4 tuner will also be discounted to $219, but I can't think of why I would need 4 tuners for OTA programming. 2 seems plenty - for me. I guess the 500 gb of extra space (1TB total) may be worth the extra $, especially as I was OK paying $230 for the 2 tuner, which I will now be sending back . So for $10 less than I was paying, I would get an extra 2 tuners and 500 gb.
JH64 is offline  
post #82 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,052
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2865 Post(s)
Liked: 1395
$180 is a good price for the 2-tuner model. The AirTV BB is (regularly) $120 (don't know if AirTV will have a BF sale) but you have to add your own HDD, so it comes out about the same.

$220 for the 4-tuner model is even better. As for the need, I guess it depends on your TV viewing patterns.

For me, two tuners is enough 95% of the time, and three would cover at least 99%, maybe 100%. But if you're a heavier TV viewer and all the shows you like happen to be on at the same time, you might really need four tuners.
JH64 likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #83 of 681 Old 11-15-2018, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 7,052
Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2865 Post(s)
Liked: 1395
Quote:
Originally Posted by IN2tvClassics View Post
@ JoeKusta & JHBrandt
All the information I posted came straight from the Amazon product link I posted.
Hopefully people would at least notice that there are two different models.
Yes, it's clear there are two models. I already knew that one has 500 GB of storage, and the other has 1 TB and costs $50 more.

What wasn't clear was how many tuners each had. Before your post, I had assumed both had two tuners, which of course was incorrect.

When I saw your post, it sounded like both had four tuners - but it turns out that's also incorrect. The 500 GB model has two and the 1 TB model has four.

That actually makes the price difference make more sense. There's not much difference in cost between 500 GB and 1 TB, but two extra tuners would make the 1 TB model more expensive.

Speaking of cost, the BF prices for the Recast have been announced: $180 and $220 respectively. Those prices sound much better than the regular prices!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #84 of 681 Old 11-16-2018, 12:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
IN2tvClassics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Capital District Area (Troy, NY)
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 43
This is the part that concerns me.





To use Fire TV Recast to watch and record over-the-air TV, you’ll need the following (sold separately):
  • An HD antenna—specific channel availability and reception varies by location. Learn more
  • A Fire TV streaming media player or Echo Show.
  • Access to the free Fire TV app on a Fire tablet (5th Gen or above), or an iOS 10 (or above) or Android 4.4 (or above) mobile device.




I have my HD Antenna & Amazon Fire TV. Do I really need to have the Fire TV app on a Fire tablet?
IN2tvClassics is offline  
post #85 of 681 Old 11-16-2018, 05:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,832
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3919 Post(s)
Liked: 3185
Quote:
Originally Posted by IN2tvClassics View Post

I have my HD Antenna & Amazon Fire TV. Do I really need to have the Fire TV app on a Fire tablet?
Mainly just for setup. Any phone with the FTV app will do.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #86 of 681 Old 11-16-2018, 05:05 PM
Member
 
bonchien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It seems the media really likes the Recast:

https://www.cnet.com/reviews/amazon-...t-2018-review/
https://www.theverge.com/2018/11/14/...treaming-alexa

I'm interested in hearing the pros and cons from regular users. I may take the dive next week if it is as good as it's cracked up to be.
Squirrel! likes this.
bonchien is offline  
post #87 of 681 Old 11-16-2018, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonchien View Post
It seems the media really likes the Recast:

https://www.cnet.com/reviews/amazon-...t-2018-review/
https://www.theverge.com/2018/11/14/...treaming-alexa

I'm interested in hearing the pros and cons from regular users. I may take the dive next week if it is as good as it's cracked up to be.
Mine's just arrived and Im stopping myself from opening the box. Amazon won't "price match" with the sale price on Sunday - $50 off. Back it goes and then reorder at 12:01 AM on Sunday - so silly.
Frostyboy115 likes this.
JH64 is offline  
post #88 of 681 Old 11-16-2018, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Old Town Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The times I really need 4 tuners, is when there is an overlap due to padding. If I'm recording 2 Prime Time network shows from 9:00 to 10:02, then also recording 2 from 10:00 to 11:03, I use 4 tuners during the 2 minute overlap.
merman9393 is offline  
post #89 of 681 Old 11-17-2018, 04:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
IN2tvClassics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Capital District Area (Troy, NY)
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonchien View Post
It seems the media really likes the Recast:

https://www.cnet.com/reviews/amazon-...t-2018-review/
https://www.theverge.com/2018/11/14/...treaming-alexa

I'm interested in hearing the pros and cons from regular users. I may take the dive next week if it is as good as it's cracked up to be.
I don't get the setup based on the first link you posted. The picture shows four connections on the rear: Antenna, USB (non functional yet), Ethernet, Power.

You can connect your antenna to the Recast, but how do you get the signal to your tv?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rear of Amz Recast.png
Views:	37
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	2483960  
videobruce likes this.
IN2tvClassics is offline  
post #90 of 681 Old 11-17-2018, 06:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by IN2tvClassics View Post
I don't get the setup based on the first link you posted. The picture shows four connections on the rear: Antenna, USB (non functional yet), Ethernet, Power.

You can connect your antenna to the Recast, but how do you get the signal to your tv?
You need a FireTV device. It goes over the network.
Squirrel! likes this.
sjm817 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off