Time Warner Cable Navigator - Page 650 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 372Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19471 of 19495 Old 04-07-2019, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by WayneW View Post
It is my suspicion that my DVR (legacy BrightHouse Cisco 8742 in Florida) drops series that haven't had any activity in more than a year (guessing at the time frame).


I noticed that my series for "The Amazing Race" is gone from both of my DVRs and there is no way that I would have deleted it myself. (Last aired: Feb 21, 2018 Next airing April 17, 2019)



I suspect the same would be true for any Game Of Thrones viewers (last aired: July 23, 2017 next airing April 14, 2019).


So, don't trust your DVR and remember to manually confirm if your series request still exists when your shows come back from any sort of hiatus or scheduling weirdness.
Ditto. Even with OTA and PC's DVRs. I just don't trust electronics anymore. Always review and compare to online sources.
phildaant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19472 of 19495 Old 04-09-2019, 01:28 AM
Senior Member
 
therealjustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oneida, New York
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
My 8742HDC was updated to 9.0 this morning and took about an hour to complete. Not much different visually, but the performance improvement is noticeable.

The "resolution bug" is still present I see. Having to switch output resolutions from 1080i to 720p and back to correct the interlaced lines bug is ridiculous. I first reported it years ago and nothing.

Cisco 8742HDC - 7.2.0_5 ODN | Panasonic UT50 | Panasonic P46U1
therealjustin is offline  
post #19473 of 19495 Old 04-09-2019, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,436
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by therealjustin View Post
The "resolution bug" is still present I see. Having to switch output resolutions from 1080i to 720p and back to correct the interlaced lines bug is ridiculous. I first reported it years ago and nothing.

Hmmm... I've got an 8742HDC and have never run into that. I normally have it set to output both 720p and 1080i based on source resolution (which may circumvent your issue), but I've also used it locked at 1080i for an extended period and have never come across any issues like that. Makes me wonder if the issue is with whatever sink device your box is connected to, or at least some type of handshaking issue between them.

I agree that the laggy performance has been greatly improved with 9.0, but it's been about a month now and I do still get "not available" messages often enough to be annoying. This especially ticks me off when it's looking for pretty pictures and descriptions for shows that I've recorded locally... I know what those are and just want to watch them without seeing "not available, try again later" for something that is sitting right there on the box's own hard drive.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
Spectrum/TWC-Charlotte, 8742HDC/ODN 9
jcalabria is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19474 of 19495 Old 04-24-2019, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Navigator 9.0 rolled out last night in Wisconsin:


One Search Bug- The error message that appears when action is taken on a Sports Teams Search:

"Currently Unavailable" Try again later. The error is 2E2.


Otherwise guide is faster. There was no mention of the guide update in ODN Navigator Guide Diagnostics.


Download showed a message about new software downloading, and not to unplug the power to the box. Process in clock display alternated between the clock and a "CD "Two Numbers." The firmware update process has changed.


The only critique that I have aside from the Sports Teams keyboard search results "Not Available" error, is that the confirmation boxes are HUGE.


Other notables:


On Demand Start Up has this cool little logo on the screen.


And Now if Fast-Forward doesn't work for VOD, it will show up as a big message as if it was part of a film if you were in a movie theater before the program starts.


Satch
phildaant likes this.

Cisco 9865HDC DVR with Spectrum Navigator Guide
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin

Last edited by Satch Man; 04-24-2019 at 01:57 PM.
Satch Man is offline  
post #19475 of 19495 Old 04-24-2019, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Rebooted the box and the search is down, like it needs to repopulate the data from the cloud. We will see if that changes the issue.

Satch

Cisco 9865HDC DVR with Spectrum Navigator Guide
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #19476 of 19495 Old 04-24-2019, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satch Man View Post
Rebooted the box and the search is down, like it needs to repopulate the data from the cloud. We will see if that changes the issue.

Satch

Search is still down.


Satch

Cisco 9865HDC DVR with Spectrum Navigator Guide
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #19477 of 19495 Old 04-24-2019, 09:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Yep! I was also able to reproduce this problem too with Arris DCX3510M DVR when I tried to search "Los Angeles Clippers" as shown in my uploaded https://imgur.com/a/987VP5i screen captures. Nice find, Satch!
Satch Man likes this.

Last edited by phildaant; 04-24-2019 at 09:28 PM.
phildaant is offline  
post #19478 of 19495 Old 04-25-2019, 12:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Yep! I was also able to reproduce this problem too with Arris DCX3510M DVR when I tried to search "Los Angeles Clippers" as shown in my uploaded https://imgur.com/a/987VP5i screen captures. Nice find, Satch!

Yea,


Search is back up! Except both Ant and me cannot search for any specific sports teams either on his Arris DCX 3510M or my Cisco 9865. We get the exact same screen and error code in Ant's above URL link. Spectrum, via Twitter, as usual, wants to roll out a tech! This is a software listing error. And it is likely that everyone who searches for Sports Teams in ODN-Navigator 9 will find the same result.


Satch
phildaant likes this.

Cisco 9865HDC DVR with Spectrum Navigator Guide
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #19479 of 19495 Old 04-25-2019, 12:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satch Man View Post
Yea,


Search is back up! Except both Ant and me cannot search for any specific sports teams either on his Arris DCX 3510M or my Cisco 9865. We get the exact same screen and error code in Ant's above URL link. Spectrum, via Twitter, as usual, wants to roll out a tech! This is a software listing error. And it is likely that everyone who searches for Sports Teams in ODN-Navigator 9 will find the same result.


Satch
It would be great if others try to reproduce it so we can get Spectrum to see how wide spread this issue is. So, please try it and tell us which cable TV box brands and models.
Satch Man likes this.
phildaant is offline  
post #19480 of 19495 Old 04-25-2019, 12:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
It would be great if others try to reproduce it so we can get Spectrum to see how wide spread this issue is. So, please try it and tell us which cable TV box brands and models.

How to Report The Missing Sports Team Keyboard Search Data Bug Found on Navigator ODN-9


I think I got Twitter's @ask Spectrum people to understand what this bug is about. They have forwarded this feedback. Here is a detailed description of the bug. Please view Antdude's URL link for the photos that detail this issue: (Post# 19477)

In the ODN 9 Navigator Guide, (Version number can be found in Settings/Guide Diagnostics) type in "Brewers" "Clippers" "Bucks" in the B-button keyboard search. Next, look for anything that says "Team" in the search results, and selecting that listing will produce the the above error indicated in the photos. But this only applies on the boxes running the ODN-Navigator Guide software.

New Spectrum Guide does not have this bug. The City of the team does not have to be there. Now, just for an example, if there was a movie in the search called "Happy Brewers" indicated as a movie, series, or TV show, that would come up just fine. Searching for people and events also works fine. It are only the sports team searches that show the above data error.

Like I said, "I can search MLB Baseball results fine, and see for example "Milwaukee Brewers vs. Los Angeles Dodgers in the search results." That also comes up fine. It is only when we start a B-button search query (on the ODN Navigator 9.0 software )looking for the name of any Sports Team, indicated as a Sports Team in the search results and selecting the listing that my friend in California on his Arris 3510 box and me in Wisconsin with my Cisco 9865 box get the listing error.

We believe that all users who get updated to ODN Navigator 9.0 will have this Sports Team search listing bug until it gets resolved. Spectrum needs a minimum of three people with an issue to escalate it to High Priority Status.

I would request that when you get Navigator 9.0, please search for any specific sports team and take a screenshot of your results. Than do the following:

1.) Get a Twitter account or login to Twitter
2.) Follow the Ask Spectrum Page here: »twitter.com/ask_spectrum?lang=en
3.) Send a Direct Message (DM or Private Message) with your account information and descriptions about the ODN 9 Navigator Sports Team search problem. Give the make and model of your box.
4.) Include screenshots of the issue. (Thanks Ant, I included yours!)

The more people who report this, the greater likelihood that this will be fixed!

Thanks in advance,

Satch
phildaant likes this.

Cisco 9865HDC DVR with Spectrum Navigator Guide
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #19481 of 19495 Old 04-27-2019, 01:56 PM
Member
 
WayneW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
One issue I noticed recently is that a recording in progress no longer show up in the iOS app. It used to be that prior to the start of the program, it would show up under "scheduled" and once the recording started it would show up under "my recordings". Now it seems to not show up under "my recordings" until the program is finished. So, while it is actually recording, it is invisible, which makes you wonder if it really is recording if you are not close enough to the DVR to see the red light.

I do not know if this is an iOS bug or if it is related to the recent Navigator update (thanks Satch, and kudos to Spectrum for FINALLY sending out planned maintenance email updates).

The Spectrum guide in the PC browser still works the old way (a recording in progress is shown under "My Recordings"). Therefore I suspect it is an iOS app bug.

---

Speaking of the Spectrum DVR manager in a PC browser, does anybody else have the problem that "scheduled" recordings get all jumbled up between week#1 and week#2? For example, on April 30, I am apparently recording NCIS S16E21 AND S16E22, both at 8 PM (an impossibility). And my schedule stops on Sunday May 5th, as everything after that date is apparently mangled back up into week#1. On the iOS app and on the Spectrum boxes themselves, I can properly see out (nearly) two weeks and I can see that NCIS is actually scheduled for 2 different weeks. So this appears to be a bug in the PC browser app software.
Satch Man likes this.
WayneW is offline  
post #19482 of 19495 Old 05-08-2019, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 89
The Sports Team B-button keyboard search issue is fixed.


Satch

Cisco 9865HDC DVR with Spectrum Navigator Guide
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #19483 of 19495 Old 05-17-2019, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
G1Ravage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Queens, New York, USA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm still on my old 8300HD, but not for much longer. I'll be moving into a new building soon, so I'll be starting anew. Will have to make a decision soon to either stick with Spectrum and see what new stuff is coming down the pike, or give Fios a shot.

Anyway, as part of the Spectrum settlement here in New York, we're currently getting three months of HBO for free. But the HBO onDemand on my 8300HD is...ancient. It doesn't even have all of the same shows that my mother's much newer box has in the living room.

Time Warner Cable - New York City - Flushing, Queens
Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD
Formerly Passport Echo 2.6.002
MDN 3.3.0-9-ptv (3.Dev)
G1Ravage is offline  
post #19484 of 19495 Old 05-18-2019, 10:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 1212
Couldnt you keep your 8300 if ya wanted buddy??





When you stop watching what they want you to watch you stop thinking what they want you to think.. Then you see a world that is nothing like they tell you it is.
Dude111 is offline  
post #19485 of 19495 Old 05-21-2019, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by G1Ravage View Post
I'm still on my old 8300HD, but not for much longer. I'll be moving into a new building soon, so I'll be starting anew. Will have to make a decision soon to either stick with Spectrum and see what new stuff is coming down the pike, or give Fios a shot.

Anyway, as part of the Spectrum settlement here in New York, we're currently getting three months of HBO for free. But the HBO onDemand on my 8300HD is...ancient. It doesn't even have all of the same shows that my mother's much newer box has in the living room.

Hey G1,


Sup? If that is a non-C SA-8300 DVR, you may have the world record for the oldest box still in the field! No, when you move, you cannot take equipment with you to your new location. You can contact Spectrum and a moving specialist will help you with service transfers. Spectrum does ask that you give them at least ten days heads-up before you move. I would make it at least two weeks to make sure that there aren't any "bumps" in the road.



It is certainly time for an equipment update for you anyway. Also, you MIGHT be able to register for a new account under another resident's name in the household, and would than POSSIBLY qualify for new customer pricing. But it is their name that has to be on the account. You'll be on new customer pricing with Fios for that first year.


Satch

Cisco 9865HDC DVR with Spectrum Navigator Guide
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #19486 of 19495 Old 05-22-2019, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 1212
Why Satch??


If the box works buddy why not hold on to it??





When you stop watching what they want you to watch you stop thinking what they want you to think.. Then you see a world that is nothing like they tell you it is.
Dude111 is offline  
post #19487 of 19495 Old 05-22-2019, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Why Satch??


If the box works buddy why not hold on to it??





It will work, but the SA's are so slow due to hardware/memory limitations.


Satch

Cisco 9865HDC DVR with Spectrum Navigator Guide
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #19488 of 19495 Old 05-24-2019, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dude111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 1212
Ahh I see..... I remember when we had SARA my 3250 was quite fast!! (The fastest box they had)

When they went Navigator it was slow as hell and I didnt like it @ all........

Navigator is a complete OS in a sense while SARA is a basic platform which is why I think it was fast on my 3250...




phildaant likes this.

When you stop watching what they want you to watch you stop thinking what they want you to think.. Then you see a world that is nothing like they tell you it is.

Last edited by Dude111; 05-25-2019 at 04:44 PM.
Dude111 is offline  
post #19489 of 19495 Old 05-24-2019, 01:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Ahh I see..... I remember when we had SARA my 3250 was quite fast!! (The fastest box they had)

When they went Navigator is was slow as hell and I didnt like it @ all........

Navigator is a complete OS in a sense while SARA is a basic platform which is why I think it was fast on my 3250...




I remember when Spectrum messed up its software upgrade, and our cable boxes were in safe/basic mode (only live viewings and no other features). Woah, it was SO fast. https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31...boot-and-break for my thread with details.
phildaant is offline  
post #19490 of 19495 Old 06-06-2019, 12:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 4,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Now I see banner ads again like old iGuides in my Navigator guide like this http://oi66.tinypic.com/2mmu6c5.jpg.
phildaant is offline  
post #19491 of 19495 Old 06-06-2019, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,436
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Now I see banner ads again like old iGuides in my Navigator guide like this http://oi66.tinypic.com/2mmu6c5.jpg.

Yeah... they started that shortly after the last upgrade here in Charlotte as well. Very annoying.

Seems like the only ads they've run here are for their original programing, like the L.A.'s Finest ad shown in your pic. Almost seems like an interesting show but I'm refusing to watch in protest of the ads. (LOL... Like they really care)
phildaant likes this.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
Spectrum/TWC-Charlotte, 8742HDC/ODN 9
jcalabria is offline  
post #19492 of 19495 Old 06-06-2019, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdgcss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salisbury,NC
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
Yeah... they started that shortly after the last upgrade here in Charlotte as well. Very annoying.

Seems like the only ads they've run here are for their original programing, like the L.A.'s Finest ad shown in your pic. Almost seems like an interesting show but I'm refusing to watch in protest of the ads. (LOL... Like they really care)
Charter at the OBX would often take the lower 2 channels on the guide and display an ad for a local lawyer, plumber...
phildaant likes this.
rdgcss is offline  
post #19493 of 19495 Old 06-06-2019, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,436
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgcss View Post
Charter at the OBX would often take the lower 2 channels on the guide and display an ad for a local lawyer, plumber...

Same with Charter at Carolina/Kure Beach. It's much worse than what's on current version of Navigator, for both the content and the fact that the ads are so darned big and ugly (it's still an SD guide).
rdgcss likes this.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
Spectrum/TWC-Charlotte, 8742HDC/ODN 9
jcalabria is offline  
post #19494 of 19495 Old 07-14-2019, 04:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I'm real tired of Spectrum's new black channel banner on the bottom of the screen. It covers up anything you're trying to read under it. I do have it set to short duration, but it's still really annoying. I wish there was something we could do about it. The previous transparent banner was not a problem at all.
rdgcss likes this.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #19495 of 19495 Old 09-27-2019, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
G1Ravage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Queens, New York, USA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any new Spectrum technology coming down the 'pike? Is their cloud DVR service available everywhere?
phildaant likes this.

Time Warner Cable - New York City - Flushing, Queens
Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD
Formerly Passport Echo 2.6.002
MDN 3.3.0-9-ptv (3.Dev)
G1Ravage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off