Marquette, MI - HDTV - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 197 Old 10-09-2009, 11:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fall 2009 HD Local HD Launches
These are the markets expected to launch over the next two months:

September
Charleston-Huntington WV
Columbia SC
Huntsville-Decatur AL
Bluefield-Beckley WV

October
Jackson MS

Updated 9/29:
November
Marquette MI
Missoula MT
Minot-Bismarck-Dickinson ND
Sherman TX-Ada OK

pulled this from satelliteguys.us. They usually are cutting edge with these announcements. So you all won't be stuck with Dish Network for locals.
swiat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 197 Old 10-09-2009, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hoser Eh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, Michigan
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Of course. Marquette has had cable since the 1960's. At first cable had ABC, CBS, and NBC and later added PBS and then WKBD out of Detroit and that was it until the late 70's. If more of the stations were OTA in Marquette we would have More OTA viewers. Cable has been entrenched too long and there were, what some say, dirty deals with it in Marquette in the early 80's.

OTA has Never really been a choice here because of the entrenchment of cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Ellis View Post

1MW wouldn't solve the problem completely, but it would help a lot.

The real issue is that 91.5 percent of households in the Marquette market have cable or satellite. (http://tvb.org/rcentral/markettrack/...ion_by_DMA.asp) With just 8.5 percent of households relying solely on over-the-air signals, broadcasters in the market don't have much need to beef up their signals.

Hoser Eh is offline  
post #123 of 197 Old 10-09-2009, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hoser Eh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, Michigan
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WZMQ still is NOT transmitting a program guide!!
Hoser Eh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 197 Old 10-12-2009, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Email Danny Hood. Go to the website http://www.wzmqtv.com/ and there is some contact link. Mention his guide isn't working over the air and on Zap2it/Tribune Media WZMQ isn't even listed!
swiat is offline  
post #125 of 197 Old 10-22-2009, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WJMN was scheduled to be full power in November, now it has been pushed into next year some time, probably spring or summer with the bad weather. Note that the temporary station broadcasts with 9.8 kW ERP, the permanent station will have 1,000 kW ERP. WJMN will be on DirecTV in November according to a press release from DirecTV. The following is from an email I received from the WJMN engineer:

WJMN-TV New Information

1. WJMN-TV has been granted a Construction Permit on July 23, 2009 to build our new permanent DTV facility at our previous site South of Trenary, MI. Projected completion date summer 2010.

2. WJMN-TV will be available on Dish Network in August 2009.
DirecTV has informed us they intend to start their local service mid 4th quarter 2009.

3. WJMN-TV is currently broadcasting DTV from a temporary site Northwest of Escanaba. This temporary facility has an approximate range of 25 miles around the city of Escanaba

4. Our signal is now on UHF channel 48 but will be indicated on your tuner as 3-1 or 3.1. The best possibility for good reception is a good quality UHF outdoor antenna. The cable from the antenna should be RG-6. If you intend to use an amplifier the best place for an amplifier is as close as possible to the antenna.

5. Until our Trenary facility is complete aim your antenna at Northwest Escanaba. After our new facility is operating you will need to re-aim your antenna to our site South of Trenary.

Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - August 12, 2009

DISH NETWORK TO PROVIDE WJMN-TV CHANNEL 3 LOCAL SIGNAL

Escanaba, MI – Starting Wednesday, August 19, WJMN-TV Channel 3’s local signal will be available on DISH Network.

“At WJMN we are pleased to provide our content to the people of Upper Michigan via our partnership with DISH Network. Along with important coverage like local breaking news, severe weather and school closings, WJMN will feature programming from the CBS Television Network, America's Most Watched Network,” said Perry Kidder, WJMN President and General Manager.

DISH Network is currently testing the WJMN signal.
swiat is offline  
post #126 of 197 Old 10-22-2009, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
deleted
swiat is offline  
post #127 of 197 Old 10-29-2009, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
from the satelliteguys.us forum:

Latest report is that we could see all of the November launches on Wed, Nov 11th.

Two more weeks...

November
Marquette MI
Missoula MT
Minot-Bismarck-Dickinson ND
Sherman TX-Ada OK
swiat is offline  
post #128 of 197 Old 11-12-2009, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now available on DirecTV:
WLUC (NBC), WBUP (ABC), and WJMN (CBS) in HD
WBKP (CW), WLUC-DT2 (FOX), WZMQ (MYT), WNMU (PBS), WNMU-DT2 in SD
swiat is offline  
post #129 of 197 Old 11-16-2009, 05:20 AM
Member
 
whitepelican's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiat View Post

Now available on DirecTV:
WLUC (NBC), WBUP (ABC), and WJMN (CBS) in HD
WBKP (CW), WLUC-DT2 (FOX), WZMQ (MYT), WNMU (PBS), WNMU-DT2 in SD

Does WLUC-DT2 (FOX) 6.2 broadcast in HD? Or is that only a SD channel over the air, too?
whitepelican is offline  
post #130 of 197 Old 11-17-2009, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SD over the air and on satellite. Better than nothing.
swiat is offline  
post #131 of 197 Old 02-01-2010, 12:32 PM
Member
 
mmmason23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have any idea when dish network will get the locals in HD? I signed up for dish network not knowing they were only sd, if I had known I would have gone with directv instead. Anyway, anyone have any info? I find this unacceptable especially with the superbowl coming up.
mmmason23 is offline  
post #132 of 197 Old 02-24-2010, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmason23 View Post

Anybody have any idea when dish network will get the locals in HD? I signed up for dish network not knowing they were only sd, if I had known I would have gone with directv instead. Anyway, anyone have any info? I find this unacceptable especially with the superbowl coming up.

I just heard from Dish... "when pigs fly"

kidding, sort of.
swiat is offline  
post #133 of 197 Old 07-11-2010, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hoser Eh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, Michigan
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news on WJMN and the Trenary tower? I call the 800 number and get ignored. It would be nice to be able to use my converter boxes again as WZMQ went off the air about a month ago and has not come back on so I am stuck with analog channel 7 and thats it.

Yep, 2010 and all I get is analog.
Hoser Eh is offline  
post #134 of 197 Old 07-22-2010, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
yoopersknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WJMN-TV website now says the transmitter is going to be installed in mid-August,will be working around mid-September.it's great to know WJMN people were on the ball and got this done in a very timely way isn't it.
yoopersknow is offline  
post #135 of 197 Old 07-26-2010, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoser Eh View Post

Any news on WJMN and the Trenary tower? I call the 800 number and get ignored. It would be nice to be able to use my converter boxes again as WZMQ went off the air about a month ago and has not come back on so I am stuck with analog channel 7 and thats it.

Yep, 2010 and all I get is analog.

You can't even get WNMU? either you live in the deepest part of the MQT bowl or you have a very poor antenna system. Do you have an outdoor VHF/UHF antenna with a preamp and RG6 coax? If not, try those.
swiat is offline  
post #136 of 197 Old 07-26-2010, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoopersknow View Post

WJMN-TV website now says the transmitter is going to be installed in mid-August,will be working around mid-September.it's great to know WJMN people were on the ball and got this done in a very timely way isn't it.

on the bright side it will be the most powerful transmitter in the U.P. once/if it is up an running... they will put WLUC to shame.

sad it is more than a year after the transition and they are still running more or less a digital translator as a station.
swiat is offline  
post #137 of 197 Old 07-28-2010, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hoser Eh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, Michigan
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiat View Post

You can't even get WNMU? either you live in the deepest part of the MQT bowl or you have a very poor antenna system. Do you have an outdoor VHF/UHF antenna with a preamp and RG6 coax? If not, try those.

I am in an apartment and using rabbit ears. I used to get all the major networks except ABC (which I got until they took the channel 28 (10) transmitter off the air.

I got channel 13 PBS analog in stereo on my circa 2004 Samsung and mono on my circa 1983 RCA.

Yes there is one cable company here but it has become expensive, bloated and clunky. I liked it better when they had 36 decent channels for $8.95 per month but that was the previous cable company (Bresnan). Cable has been around here since the 1960's and most people knuckle under and buy it because the "local" stations don't care about their signal coverage in Marquette.

Channel 13 PBS is actually the only station in Marquette but they don't broadcast their signal into here.

Channel 35/6/7 has a 25 watt transmitter in town which is what I am getting.
7 used to get stomped from time to time by a station in Sudbury Ontario from their tower in Wawa Ontario. So during the transistion there were times that I could not get a local station but I could get channel 7 out of Sudbury/Wawa(depending on propagation of course).

If the cable company would let me buy only the channels that I want I would sign up tommorow but that taint gonna happen.
Hoser Eh is offline  
post #138 of 197 Old 07-28-2010, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Charter is a large enough company that they are required to offer a basic package that only includes the local channels, public access, home shopping, and a few others. They don't advertise it because they don't make much money on it. It's not really that cheap, though...with taxes it'd probably run $20-$25/month and you'd only get about 20 channels, half of it public access and home shopping.
Jon Ellis is offline  
post #139 of 197 Old 07-29-2010, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
iowegian3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: southern Colorado
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiat View Post

on the bright side it will be the most powerful transmitter in the U.P. once/if it is up an running... they will put WLUC to shame.

sad it is more than a year after the transition and they are still running more or less a digital translator as a station.

Just like Citadel TV are blockheads for continuing to run their two low-banders on low-band (4 Quad Cities, 5 Central IA), the folks at Barrington that own WLUC aren't far behind. At least their low-banders went to UHF, but they seem content to leave transmitter power output about that of a toaster and a couple of hair dryers for WLUC and its other low-bander in MO.
iowegian3 is offline  
post #140 of 197 Old 08-02-2010, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoser Eh View Post

I am in an apartment and using rabbit ears. I used to get all the major networks except ABC (which I got until they took the channel 28 (10) transmitter off the air.

Well, rabbit ears are only really any good for VHF. You may try putting a $30 amplifier in line to pull in WNMU. If you can't get that, then maybe your walls are lined with some sort of steel mesh.

Amplifier: get a low noise type such as the Channel Master 7777, 7778, or Winegard AP-8700. I know it's an outdoor preamp type, but it will work fine indoors and the noise level is like 5 dB lower than the crappy Radio Schmuck ones.

Antenna: for UHF, maybe try the Antennas Direct DB2 (could put on porch or it may be small enough inside... basically, you need something better for UHF...), just go here and browse:
http://www.solidsignal.com/cview.asp...=TV%20Antennas

See if you can put an antenna near a window or on an apartment porch. Rabbit ears only work when you are nearby pretty strong stations... and mostly VHF stations
swiat is offline  
post #141 of 197 Old 08-02-2010, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iowegian3 View Post

Just like Citadel TV are blockheads for continuing to run their two low-banders on low-band (4 Quad Cities, 5 Central IA), the folks at Barrington that own WLUC aren't far behind. At least their low-banders went to UHF, but they seem content to leave transmitter power output about that of a toaster and a couple of hair dryers for WLUC and its other low-bander in MO.

WTOM (NBC) Cheboygan (also a Barrington station) is just as bad. You can't get it in the Eastern U.P. or in Gaylord. It's so pathetic they have to broadcast NBC on a tower (WGTQ) 20 miles across the lake.
swiat is offline  
post #142 of 197 Old 08-02-2010, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hoser Eh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, Michigan
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiat View Post

See if you can put an antenna near a window or on an apartment porch. Rabbit ears only work when you are nearby pretty strong stations... and mostly VHF stations

Not worth the hassle. Why go through all that only to find that the signals really are not there. They were there when analog was around but with these great new digital signals they are broadcasting to the back of their eyelids.

Oh BTW I have been using a bowtie on both sets all along also.

ABTW Channel 19 is on cable so that leads me to assume that they lowered their transmitter power after they went off the air about 2 months ago.
Hoser Eh is offline  
post #143 of 197 Old 08-02-2010, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If you look at the maps on TVFool.com you can see that he's right. WZMQ is the only digital station delivering a signal to Marquette that is strong enough to be received with an indoor antenna. Unfortunately, poor transmitter placement and low power levels have made broadcast irrelevant in Marquette. I was not even able to receive WBUP-10 when I camped at Van Riper State Park a few weeks ago, just 6 and 13 - with breakup.
Jon Ellis is offline  
post #144 of 197 Old 08-05-2010, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Ellis View Post

If you look at the maps on TVFool.com you can see that he's right. WZMQ is the only digital station delivering a signal to Marquette that is strong enough to be received with an indoor antenna. Unfortunately, poor transmitter placement and low power levels have made broadcast irrelevant in Marquette. I was not even able to receive WBUP-10 when I camped at Van Riper State Park a few weeks ago, just 6 and 13 - with breakup.

Doesn't help that Marquette is a sharp 300' drop below the ground level where the transmitters are at. Indoor antennas are a thing of the past for over the air in the rough terrain of the NW'rn UP now. Guess you're S.O.L.
swiat is offline  
post #145 of 197 Old 08-05-2010, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Duluth has a similar topographical challenge. However, they placed the transmitters on the edge of the hill in Duluth. In Marquette, they placed the transmitters inland in an effort to provide a better signal to Iron Mountain and Escanaba. They could kind of get away with that in the analog era, but digital is less forgiving. Not to mention the low power levels.
Jon Ellis is offline  
post #146 of 197 Old 08-10-2010, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Ellis View Post

Duluth has a similar topographical challenge. However, they placed the transmitters on the edge of the hill in Duluth. In Marquette, they placed the transmitters inland in an effort to provide a better signal to Iron Mountain and Escanaba. They could kind of get away with that in the analog era, but digital is less forgiving. Not to mention the low power levels.

You've really hit the nail on the head. WLUC at 83kW was operating 100kW analog VHF. Comparable UHF digital for full powered stations is 1MW, similar to WFRV/WGBA/WBAY and what we'll see from WJMN by this fall. WBUP chose to go to channel 10.. not totally stupid, not really smart either. WWUP is up at 25kW from Goetzville. The close proximity keeps WBUP from increasing their power to 30+kW what WOOD/WWTV are running for VHF digital. WNMU-DT is only running 15.4 kW ERP, WBUP-DT is only running 9kW!

The Republic area is a good area for many transmitters due to the high terrain. The problem is that there are many hills between Republic and Marquette. I think we'd see better signal levels if the VHF stations in the area were on the order of 25kW and the UHF stations were 300kW or greater.

But, they can't afford it so that's how it is.
swiat is offline  
post #147 of 197 Old 08-15-2010, 11:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
FYI

Topic added to main US list of markets. At long last.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #148 of 197 Old 08-16-2010, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hoser Eh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, Michigan
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correction-
They used to have a strong enough signal. They went off the air sometime in June and when they came back on cable the OTA signal was gone. Either they changed their antenna or lowered their power or both.

That means I am only getting analog channel 7 and have been since June.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Ellis View Post

If you look at the maps on TVFool.com you can see that he's right. WZMQ is the only digital station delivering a signal to Marquette that is strong enough to be received with an indoor antenna. Unfortunately, poor transmitter placement and low power levels have made broadcast irrelevant in Marquette. I was not even able to receive WBUP-10 when I camped at Van Riper State Park a few weeks ago, just 6 and 13 - with breakup.

Hoser Eh is offline  
post #149 of 197 Old 08-16-2010, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
itsthemultipath!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiat View Post

You've really hit the nail on the head. WLUC at 83kW was operating 100kW analog VHF. Comparable UHF digital for full powered stations is 1MW, similar to WFRV/WGBA/WBAY and what we'll see from WJMN by this fall. WBUP chose to go to channel 10.. not totally stupid, not really smart either. WWUP is up at 25kW from Goetzville. The close proximity keeps WBUP from increasing their power to 30+kW what WOOD/WWTV are running for VHF digital. WNMU-DT is only running 15.4 kW ERP, WBUP-DT is only running 9kW!

The Republic area is a good area for many transmitters due to the high terrain. The problem is that there are many hills between Republic and Marquette. I think we'd see better signal levels if the VHF stations in the area were on the order of 25kW and the UHF stations were 300kW or greater.

But, they can't afford it so that's how it is.


The stations broadcast from those inland transmitter sites (WLUC, WBUP and WNMU are also on a plateau) because they are closer to being equidistant to the three places in the Central U.P. where people actually live - Marquette, Iron Mountain and Escanaba, where they can get theoretical coverage of all three cities.
If those cities are in the blue circle, cable has to carry them. It does not matter that MQT and Esky are in bowls, Iron Mountain is behind an iron mountain, and they can't really be seen well over the air (and could not when they were analog - WLUC on 6 may have been seen in MQT okay decades ago, but not since they moved to their current site).

This is why they have/used to have translators in those cities when everything was analog.
itsthemultipath! is offline  
post #150 of 197 Old 08-17-2010, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Cable/satellite must-carry rules are based on market assignment, not actual coverage area. If the station is in the market, it can invoke must-carry status for any cable system and satellite provider serving the market. Coverage area is irrelevant.

WLUC is the only Marquette-market station with translators, and only in Marquette and Escanaba. WBKP did have a translator in Marquette for a few years until WBUP signed on. As far as I know WJMN and WNMU never had translators. (The Green Bay FOX affiliate has a translator in Escanaba.)

The theoretical coverage of Marquette is about as strong as the Chicago stations' theoretical coverage of Milwaukee, if that says anything. Here is a direct link to WLUC's coverage area:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...&q=call%3dwluc (It should be noted that the area in purple is pretty much useless unless you have your own tower.)

Hopefully this doesn't come across as confrontational, just trying to set the record straight...
Jon Ellis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off