Wilkes Barre, PA - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 799 Old 06-28-2019, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Can you pick up WQMY's Williamsport signal where you are? I wonder if they upgraded 53-1 to HD at the same time they upgraded 56-3 to HD. If they didn't yet, you can try contacting WOLF to see if they haven any plans to.



Checking your previous posts you said you were in Eastern Centre county, it looks like that's too far out of the contour of WOLF for the FCC to do anything about WJAC's channel 22 translator. Now if it were causing interference closer to Williamsport, which is in the contour, that would be another story.


Sadly the FCC doesn't appear to really care about these in between areas where these issues arise, especially this time of the year where atomospheric boost is common. If they did they would have never allowed WPIX/WBRE, WNET/WYOU, WSWB/WPPX/WPXN and WQPX/WPSG to be on the same RF numbers.
pvdigital likes this.
KyL416 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 799 Old 06-28-2019, 01:29 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
Can you pick up WQMY's Williamsport signal where you are? I wonder if they upgraded 53-1 to HD at the same time they upgraded 56-3 to HD. If they didn't yet, you can try contacting WOLF to see if they haven any plans to.



Checking your previous posts you said you were in Eastern Centre county, it looks like that's too far out of the contour of WOLF for the FCC to do anything about WJAC's channel 22 translator. Now if it were causing interference closer to Williamsport, which is in the contour, that would be another story.


Sadly the FCC doesn't appear to really care about these in between areas where these issues arise, especially this time of the year where atomospheric boost is common. If they did they would have never allowed WPIX/WBRE, WNET/WYOU, WSWB/WPPX/WPXN and WQPX/WPSG to be on the same RF numbers.
Thanks for the quick reply. Despite the Williamsport 53.1 being 40 miles closer to me, the terrain makes it a weaker signal and one I do not receive. I'll probably end up moving to a 2-tuner solution instead of combining both markets into one.

I was under the impression Sept is when all (16.1, 22.1, 28.1, 56.1) were moving so it's interesting WNEP and WVIA are moving early. By the way, that channel sharing agreement really took a bite out of WVIA picture quality, as I'm sure many have noticed.
pvdigital is offline  
post #723 of 799 Old 06-28-2019, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
The Wilkes Barre/Scranton UHF's are all in Phase 4, their deadline is August. The construction permits for them all expire August 2.

The VHF stations are in Phase 9. 28.1 isn't moving, only 22.1 is. WYOU's construction permit expires on May 1, 2020. It and WNET in NYC are moving from RF 13 to RF 12, while WHYY/WMCN in Philly is moving from RF 12 to RF 13.


WNEP's and WVIA's translators along with the Waymart translators have their own timelines and don't have to wait for a specific phase, most of them already moved. The ones that haven't moved yet have CPs that expire in 2021, but will likely move much sooner than that. (Although WQPX's Waymart translator is on channel 49 and has yet to file for a move)


WQMY isn't moving, but they have a pending application to boost their power.

Last edited by KyL416; 06-28-2019 at 02:00 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #724 of 799 Old 06-28-2019, 02:02 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
The Wilkes Barre/Scranton UHF's are all in Phase 4, their deadline is August. The construction permits for them all expire August 2.

The VHF stations are in Phase 9. 28.1 isn't moving, only 22.1 is. WYOU's construction permit expires on May 1, 2020. It and WNET in NYC are moving from RF 13 to RF 12, while WHYY/WMCN in Philly is moving from RF 12 to RF 13.


WNEP's and WVIA's translators along with the Waymart translators have their own timelines and don't have to wait for a specific phase, most of them already moved. The ones that haven't moved yet have CPs that expire in 2021, but will likely move much sooner than that. (Although WQPX's Waymart translator is on channel 49 and has yet to file for a move)


WQMY isn't moving, but they have a pending application to boost their power.
Great information, thank you KyL416. Curious if (when?) WQMY gets their request granted if that helps me here signal-wise.

Any concerns about WYOU and WBRE being channel adjacent when WBRE switches to 12?
pvdigital is offline  
post #725 of 799 Old 06-28-2019, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
WYOU and WBRE are diplexed and transmit from the same antenna, there shouldn't be any issues there.


You can see the contour for WQMY boost here, but no idea when (or if) that application will get approved.
pvdigital likes this.
KyL416 is offline  
post #726 of 799 Old 06-28-2019, 06:24 PM
Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
Sadly the FCC doesn't appear to really care about these in between areas where these issues arise, especially this time of the year where atmospheric boost is common. If they did they would have never allowed WPIX/WBRE, WNET/WYOU, WSWB/WPPX/WPXN and WQPX/WPSG to be on the same RF numbers.
In the NTSC era, TV stations on co-channels had to be at least 160 miles apart. Many broadcasters before 1980 (when UHF was starting to become profitable) that wanted to "short space" a VHF station in a spot closer than that would have to go through a number of hoops with the FCC before they might get their site approved.

With ATSC 1.0, the FCC has been squeezing co-channels to as close as 90 miles apart. And like you said, any small atmospheric enhancement can have TV stations cancelling out each other. I live midway between WCBS & WFSB (both CBS affiliates on RF channel 33), and they kill each other off at my place about 20 nights a year. Not good.

Last edited by Brian in CT; 06-29-2019 at 07:18 AM.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #727 of 799 Old 06-29-2019, 11:34 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
I live midway between WCBS & WFSB (both CBS affiliates on RF channel 33), and they kill each other off at my place about 20 nights a year. Not good.
Dang, that's frustrating.

My Altoona-Johnstown UHF (they are all UHF which is nice) move in the same phase as the Scranton UHF channels move. Once all are done I'll get to play around with two antennas and see what works best. Right now I have a UHF/VHF channel master directional pointed at Scranton and a CM 4228HD pointed at Altoona.

My list looks/ will look like this:
NBC WBRE (Scranton) RF 11
CBS WYOU (Scranton) RF 13 (moves to 12)
PBS WPSU (Altoona) RF 15
NBC WJAC (Altoona) RF 22
ABC WATM (Altoona) RF 24 (moves to 31)
FOX WWCP (Altoona) RF 24.2 (moves to 31.2)
NBC WJAC (State College) RF 26 ( I don't even need RF 22 as this comes in just as strong)
MYN WHVL (State College) RF 27 (their translator is NW of me while the other channels in the market are SW, station comes and goes)
CBS WTAJ (Altoona) RF 32 (moves to 24)
FOX WOLF (Scranton) RF 45 (moves to 22, same channel as one source of WJAC)
CW WSWB (Scranton) RF 45.2 - not in HD
MYN WQMY (Williamsport) RF 45.3 - in HD - moves along with the two above)
ABC WNEP (Scranton) RF 50 (moves to 16, will be stronger)
PBS WVIA (Scranton) RF 50.2 (moves to 16.2)

Right now I pick up everything above well except for WHVL due to it's direction. The post repack will take away one NBC HD, one Fox HD, and one MYN HD thanks to all being on RF 22.

Quirks:
1) No CW in HD available at my location. The scranton 38.1 is too weak and State College/Altoona do not have a CW in market. Johnstown receives Pittsburgh's CW but that's too far away for us. Subchannel 56.2 is not in HD.
2) Have to figure out how to block WJAC RF 22 as I receive WJAC RF 26 and...
3) Fox 56 will be on RF 22 and has a better picture than Fox in Johnstown as that is a channel share. Also WQMY shows more sports than WHVL, which I cannot reliably get currently.
4) Both markets of ABC share HD channels.

I know there is some sort of antenna joiner where you can designate it to cut out or accept (not sure) a certain channel. I think TRIP has mentioned it before. Probably the route I'll need to take.

Last edited by pvdigital; 06-29-2019 at 11:49 AM. Reason: correction
pvdigital is offline  
post #728 of 799 Old 06-29-2019, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
WBRE isn't moving to RF 12, WYOU is


Also if you want to be technical, WVIA is on 50.6:
50.3 = 16.1
50.4 = 16.2
(50.5 was 16.3 but was dropped prior to spectrum sharing)
50.6 = 44.1
50.7 = 44.2
50.8 = 44.3

Last edited by KyL416; 06-29-2019 at 11:49 AM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #729 of 799 Old 06-29-2019, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post
I know there is some sort of antenna joiner where you can designate it to cut out or accept (not sure) a certain channel. I think TRIP has mentioned it before. Probably the route I'll need to take.
If you want to go old school, try to find an A/B switch. Radio Shack was still selling them into the early 2010's, so there has to be some still around. When your two antenna lines are correctly connected into this device, and the device is connected to your television, you would push "A" to use one antenna, or "B" to use the other. You just have to make sure that any A/B switch you get uses coaxial terminals and not twin-lead ones.

Of course, what Trip would have in mind is a 21st century technology that I've never heard of. As for me, I use one dual band antenna with a rotor.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #730 of 799 Old 06-29-2019, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,867
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 704
You can get single-frequency joiners, but they're very expensive and work best if there's nothing on an adjacent channel, so in a number of cases they will be of limited use to a lot of people who might otherwise benefit. Moreover, I've never used one and can't speak personally of the quality.

You might be thinking of someone else, though I'm not sure who.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #731 of 799 Old 06-29-2019, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,301
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post
I know there is some sort of antenna joiner where you can designate it to cut out or accept (not sure) a certain channel. I think TRIP has mentioned it before. Probably the route I'll need to take.
There is a guy on Ebay from Slovakia that sells customized combiners. You select the channel. I used one in Minneapolis when I lived in an apartment. For some reason KSTP (RF35) and KSTC (RF45) worked better when my antenna was about a foot from the deck floor instead of 10 feet up. So I got one that would work for RF35, RF45 and RF30 (KSTC is moving to RF30). Worked great and if you have adjacent channels it mostly worked. I had a RF34 (PBS) and the signal stayed steady when adding the combiner

Here is the one for one station (can be VHF or UHF). So everything would come off one antenna except for the "cut" channel
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Selective-U...wAAOSwJFhbnnuS
If it doesnt show up go to ebay and enter item 123730547984

He also has one that will do 2 channels off one antenna and a different one for 3 antennas
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Selective-U...4AAOSwtHZbgm90
item 123730548896

One for 4 separate antennas or up to 3 chanenls off 2nd antenna (the one I have)
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Selective-c...sAAOSwplBbgm2x
123578343046

4 channels on 3 antennas (2 for 2nd antenna, 2 for 3rd)
https://www.ebay.com/itm/UHF-combine...IAAOSwDjFbg9q-
123540762062

This is a UHF only option with up to 2 separate channels
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Selective-c...MAAOSwfjVbxMvo
1235786050368

Shipping was between 2 and 2 1/2 weeks if I recall. In the notes when you pay you can tell him what channels you need (RF number)

Last edited by unclehonkey; 06-29-2019 at 07:36 PM.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #732 of 799 Old 06-29-2019, 11:28 PM
Senior Member
 
rcodey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Orange,NJ and Naples, Fl
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
WOLF ( FOX ) ran a promo today that on August 2nd over the air viewers using channel 45 will have to rescan their televsion .
rcodey is online now  
post #733 of 799 Old 07-01-2019, 09:10 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcodey View Post
WOLF ( FOX ) ran a promo today that on August 2nd over the air viewers using channel 45 will have to rescan their televsion .
Thanks for the information Trip and Uncle. I'll look into that here in Aug once I verify I have no other option.

Brian, what I might do is run one antenna to my tivo and another to the TV coax in.
pvdigital is offline  
post #734 of 799 Old 07-02-2019, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
WVIA (and WNEP) changed the date, now it's August 1st at 10am:
http://www.wvia.org/blogs/pressroom/...to-rescan-tvs/
KyL416 is offline  
post #735 of 799 Old 07-15-2019, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
WNEP is testing their RF 16 signal right now

EDIT: As of 5:30pm it's now off air


WOLF has been doing work in recent days, you might have noticed them at a reduced power while the crew was on the tower. They can't test on RF 22 early though unless they come to an interference agreement with WNJS where any testing would be late at night.

I'm on the wrong side of the mountain for WSWB and WQPX, too much interference from WPPX, WPXN and WPSG. I'm hoping their post-repack boost will be enough to help, but I'm not holding my breath.

Last edited by KyL416; 07-15-2019 at 04:09 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #736 of 799 Old 07-18-2019, 06:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,867
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 704
Is there anyone here who can confirm whether or not WYLN-LP has made their move to RF 26?


- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #737 of 799 Old 07-30-2019, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,867
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 704
Two things.

1) Can anyone verify that WSWB made its move at 10AM as scheduled?

2) WNEP has been moved into Phase 7 and will not transition on August 1.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #738 of 799 Old 07-30-2019, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I am picking up a stronger than normal signal on RF 34, but it's still too weak to be decoded here. (It helps that WCAU is currently at reduced power from their Aux antenna) So even if I went up into my attic in this heat and rotated the UHF antenna to point more towards Scranton, I'll probably lose any chance of getting it once WPXN and WPPX also move to RF 34 in 2 days, and complete their final CPs a few months from now.


For those who don't know, WNEP got a complaint about their RF 16 tests interfering with NYPD's land mobile use. Not sure how they can resolve it besides WNEP reducing their power, or the NYPD investing in better quality radios if they cut costs over the past decade after WNEP turned off their analog signal.

Last edited by KyL416; 07-30-2019 at 12:43 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #739 of 799 Old 07-30-2019, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
WOLF just filed to change to Phase 7 too citing delays in getting crews. Their contractor ended up getting a crew from South America but Visa delays arose that have since been resolved, however because of that delay crews are already booked solid for Phase 5 and 6.

So as of now it looks like only WYLN, WSWB and WQPX have made (or will make in WQPX's case) the transition on time. Luckily WNEP and WOLF are in the 600 MHz range so it won't cause problems to other stations like WYLN, WSWB or WQPX would if they didn't move in time.

Last edited by KyL416; 07-30-2019 at 03:02 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #740 of 799 Old 07-31-2019, 11:16 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Fitting. phase 7 ends in the middle of January. Now I'll get to play on a ladder atop my roof in the heart of winter instead of the summer.
pvdigital is offline  
post #741 of 799 Old 07-31-2019, 04:33 PM
Member
 
captaink5217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Wilkes Barre, PA - HDTV

I live in Summit Hill, carbon county and pick up 16, 22, 28, 44 and 56 and all the sub channels all with great signals anywhere from 80-100 signal strength with a mohu curved 50 indoor amplifier antenna. Allentown locals do tune but they break up too much like WFMZ. Can’t pick up 38. I’m gonna try one more indoor amplified antenna, channel master smartenna + just to see if I can get the Allentown locals a little stronger and maybe pick up 38. I have Directv and getting all of those to come through on the local channel connector device.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by captaink5217; 07-31-2019 at 04:40 PM.
captaink5217 is offline  
post #742 of 799 Old 07-31-2019, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
WSWB's on the same frequency as WPPX in Philly and WPXN in NYC and it transmits from a location further up north closer to Scranton instead of Penobscot. You might have a chance to get it at first since both of them will be at a reduced power while they finish their build out, but don't hold your breath since WPPX's final CP shows their signal covering the Summit Hill area.

You should try a classic pair of rabbit ears for the Allentown signal and see if you can find a sweet spot that can get you both the Allentown RF 9 and the Wilkes-Barre VHFs on RF 11 and 13. They do put out a signal over there and it's almost the same distance away from you as the Wilkes-Barre stations, but those Mohu antennas aren't really optimized for VHF reception the lower the channel number.

Last edited by KyL416; 07-31-2019 at 04:53 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #743 of 799 Old 08-02-2019, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
rcodey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Orange,NJ and Naples, Fl
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Did WQPX make the switch to channel 33 ?
rcodey is online now  
post #744 of 799 Old 08-02-2019, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
It doesn't appear so yet, I'm getting nothing on 33 and a decent reading on RF 32.
KyL416 is offline  
post #745 of 799 Old 08-02-2019, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
rcodey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Orange,NJ and Naples, Fl
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
It doesn't appear so yet, I'm getting nothing on 33 and a decent reading on RF 32.
Thanks . When they switch to 33 I will try DXing them in Northern New Jersey . Right now WNEP ( and WVIA ) and WOLF ( from channel 45 ) are the only NE Pennsylvania stations that I get occasionally pull in .
rcodey is online now  
post #746 of 799 Old 08-02-2019, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Don't hold your breath. WQPX and WSWB originate from Bald Mountain near Scranton instead of Penobscot near Wilkes-Barre, with a much reduced coverage area because of the need to protect WPSG, WPXN and WPPX. I'm in Monroe county PA and I have never been able to decode the PSIP for either station, even under good DX conditions, but I have occasionally gotten WPXN, WPPX and WPSG depending on the direction the boost is favoring.


Some background for people newer to the area. Scranton's Fox affiliate used to be a tricast where WSWB was WOLF and the main station "Fox 38", what's now WOLF was a weaker signal WWLF that broadcasted closer to Hazleton, while what's now WQMY out in Williamsport was WILF. The WB affiliation was with WYLN-LP and its network of translators. After they were able to move WWLF to Penobscot where the big 3 and PBS broadcast from, it became the new WOLF Fox 56 and the old WOLF became WB WSWB (with select UPN programming on Saturday nights) and WILF simulcasted that station. They are well aware of the limited coverage area of WSWB, especially post digital where it was using the same RF number as WPXN and WPPX, which is why a simulcast of WSWB was added to 56-2. Fast forward to the WB/UPN merger, WSWB became CW, and WILF became MyNetworkTV WQMY with a simulcast on 56-3.

Last edited by KyL416; 08-02-2019 at 02:21 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #747 of 799 Old 08-02-2019, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
WQPX just lit up on RF 33 at 6pm
rcodey and Trip in VA like this.
KyL416 is offline  
post #748 of 799 Old 08-05-2019, 06:55 AM
Member
 
captaink5217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Wilkes Barre, PA - HDTV

I don’t know what all these changes mean, but will cw wswb go to a new tower that’s in a terrain easier to get the HD version instead of the retransmitted SD version?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by captaink5217; 08-05-2019 at 07:15 AM.
captaink5217 is offline  
post #749 of 799 Old 08-05-2019, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
dhett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Unfortunately, WSWB is not changing location. It is moving to a new frequency and increasing power, but if terrain was an issue before, it will likely remain an issue. NEPA's ridges and steep, narrow valleys make OTA television a challenge under the best of circumstances.
dhett is offline  
post #750 of 799 Old 08-05-2019, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Since WSWB is on the same frequency as WPPX in Philly and WPXN in NYC, it can't move further south to Penobscot.

WQPX on the otherhand did switch towers because of Ion's dispute with American Towers, but since they are on the same frequency as WPSG in Philly they also couldn't move to Penobscot, so they are now on the tower that WWRR 104.9 (The River) comes from.

Last edited by KyL416; 08-05-2019 at 02:02 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off