Wilkes Barre, PA - HDTV - Page 26 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 799 Old 08-14-2019, 10:45 PM
Member
 
captaink5217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 30
So in Summit Hill, PA I just rescanned with my LCC and all of a sudden able to pick up 15.1 and 21.1 cbs 21.2 and 21.3 I think the sub chs are my tv and cw, signal strength is in the upper 30’s and 40’s but they come in clear when viewing, I think those channels come from central, PA somewhere.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
captaink5217 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 799 Old 08-14-2019, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Yeah, those are from WHP on RF 32. When the atmospheric conditions are right they occasionally come in locally.
KyL416 is offline  
post #753 of 799 Old 08-15-2019, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
rcodey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Orange,NJ and Naples, Fl
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes, tonight was a good night for reception in the Northeast . I received WNEP very strongly tonight in New Jersey .
rcodey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #754 of 799 Old 08-26-2019, 02:35 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If I only needed one channel blocked (RF 22) and wanted all of RF 15,24,26,27 and 31 to pass through which device would I need?
pvdigital is offline  
post #755 of 799 Old 08-26-2019, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Someone else could point you where to get one, but it would be a notch filter for that specific channel number. You would likely want one good enough to only reject RF 22 though since some of the cheaper ones might also affect the surrounding frequencies including RF 24.
pvdigital likes this.
KyL416 is offline  
post #756 of 799 Old 08-27-2019, 08:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I can now scan Ch 38 WSWB and its subs here in Candor NY.. It almost never scanned before.. It skips in and out[mostly out], but I should be able to pick it up better this winter..

It only came in on the highest hilltops around here.. I could not get it and i am at 1100 feet ASL... The nearby hills at 1300-1400 feet ASL got it ok...

I contacted the station manager as to why the signal was better, and he was kind enough to reply to me.. They have a new transmitter that he described as "more robust".. Although the power output has not changed, and they transmit the same power levels they always have, the new transmitter is evidently more efficient.. I don't need the station, but its nice to have it there anyway... bob
steel guitar guy is offline  
post #757 of 799 Old 09-09-2019, 07:38 AM
Member
 
captaink5217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Apparently WOLF lost their transmitters, I called them and they said they blew so until their fixed looks like no WOLF for me since my indoor antenna can’t pick up the ones they’re on temporarily.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
captaink5217 is offline  
post #758 of 799 Old 09-09-2019, 10:47 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by captaink5217 View Post
Apparently WOLF lost their transmitters, I called them and they said they blew so until their fixed looks like no WOLF for me since my indoor antenna can’t pick up the ones they’re on temporarily.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Curious if this will speed up the rf 22 switch. Not sure what all it would take to fix the current ones.
pvdigital is offline  
post #759 of 799 Old 09-09-2019, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 18
RE: WOLF-TV... Did weather mess up their transmitters or was it electrical? It's the first I'm hearing about it.
KEVINL71 is online now  
post #760 of 799 Old 09-09-2019, 06:16 PM
Member
 
captaink5217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Wilkes Barre, PA - HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
RE: WOLF-TV... Did weather mess up their transmitters or was it electrical? It's the first I'm hearing about it.


That I do not know, I didn’t get anymore details other than they blew and have to be replaced so now I can’t even pick up the standard def version of CW on the wolf transmitters since my indoor antenna isn’t strong enough to pickup 38 further out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
captaink5217 is offline  
post #761 of 799 Old 09-12-2019, 10:37 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
New update

UPDATE: 9/12/19

If you receive FOX56 on channel 45 via antenna, you will need to rescan the channels on your digital receiver on or after September 25th in order to continue receiving the signal over the air.

If you receive FOX56 via cable or satellite, your signal will not be affected.


That update I pulled from the fox56.com website.

Reads to me that they are going to install their RF 22 transmitter.
pvdigital is offline  
post #762 of 799 Old 09-13-2019, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
WNEP is testing their RF 16 signal again
KyL416 is offline  
post #763 of 799 Old 09-17-2019, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
WOLF filed for their reduced power STA and provided details about what happened:
Quote:
The Station is operating at reduced power because the station’s high voltage power supply failed, and the station is now operating at reduced power of approximately 20% using the station’s low power transmitter to feed the station’s pre-repack antenna. The station’s post-repack permanent top-mounted antenna has already been installed, and the station plans to install its post-repack permanent two cabinet transmitter beginning on September 16, 2019. A tower crew is scheduled to arrive between September 19 through September 23 in order to relocate the station’s current transmission line to feed the station’s post-repack antenna. Once this work is completed, the station plans to resume full power operations on its post-repack channel permanent facilities. Based on discussions with Media Bureau Staff, the station will be filing a Legal STA to move from Phase 7 to Phase 6 in order to simultaneously complete the necessary power supply repairs and begin operating on its post-repack channel at full power.
KyL416 is offline  
post #764 of 799 Old 09-17-2019, 12:15 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
All still set for firing up RF 22 on 9/25?
pvdigital is offline  
post #765 of 799 Old 09-17-2019, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
As long as the tower crew isn't delayed they should be done on time. The current forecast for those days looks good too, so there shouldn't be any weather delays.
pvdigital likes this.
KyL416 is offline  
post #766 of 799 Old 09-24-2019, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Latest update, it's been delayed:
https://fox56.com/news/local/fox56-o...-signal-update
Quote:
UPDATE 9/24/19: Our new transmitter is currently being installed, however it is not going as quickly as we had hoped. We will NOT be going live tomorrow (9/25) like we were originally planning; at this point it will likely be at least another week, if not more, before we are up.
KyL416 is offline  
post #767 of 799 Old 09-24-2019, 01:17 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
There's a shocker.

I already made plans with a buddy of mine for re-aiming, re-cutting coax and adding the notch filter which I purchased a few weeks ago to block WJAC RF 22 from Johnstown for this weekend. Guess we'll go ahead and do everything but fine-tune the antenna aimed for Scranton.
pvdigital is offline  
post #768 of 799 Old 09-26-2019, 10:42 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
New target date for RF 22 going live is Oct 10.
pvdigital is offline  
post #769 of 799 Old 10-09-2019, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
It looks like RF 45 is off air completely today, I'm not getting any trace of a signal on it. The narrative did say they are reusing the existing transmission line, so we might be at the final steps before RF 22 goes live tommorow.
KyL416 is offline  
post #770 of 799 Old 10-09-2019, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
RF 22 is now on the air testing

EDIT: It's off air now, hopefully they don't wait until tommorow and put it back on air before primetime tonight.

EDIT2: It's back on the air

Last edited by KyL416; 10-09-2019 at 02:39 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #771 of 799 Old 10-10-2019, 08:52 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
RF 22 is now on the air testing

EDIT: It's off air now, hopefully they don't wait until tommorow and put it back on air before primetime tonight.

EDIT2: It's back on the air
Looking forward to picking it up this weekend with Danny Hodges "ultimate tv antenna". I was able to successfully block WJAC RF 22 thanks to a notch filter from Jan Jenga (might be misremembering the name) so I'm optimistic this will work.
pvdigital is offline  
post #772 of 799 Old 10-11-2019, 09:45 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are WNEP/WVIA and WBRE moving before Jan 2020?
pvdigital is offline  
post #773 of 799 Old 10-11-2019, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
WBRE isn't moving, WYOU is and they're in Phase 9, so the earliest they can move is on March 14th. They need to coordinate with WHYY for their move (who also needs to coordinate with WNET along with WJZ and WBAL who also need to coordinate with WWPX), so they'll probably all move at the same time in a simultaneous mid-atlantic-northeast switch.

WNEP hasn't announced a rescan date. They are in Phase 7 and the earliest they can move is on October 19th, but they still need to resolve the interference issue with NYC land mobile use on RF 16 before they can move. If they don't get it resolved by the January 17th deadline, or if the resolution involves them needing to make major modifications to the already finished post-repack site, they can request to be moved to a later phase.
pvdigital likes this.

Last edited by KyL416; 10-11-2019 at 12:38 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #774 of 799 Old 10-13-2019, 03:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 8
New to the forum, hoping to learn and get some help on an issue.

About 2 months ago I had an RCA 3036 installed on my roof. I am only about 7-8 miles from Penobscot but home sits in a bit of a valley. For the last 2 months I have had no issues picking up the following channels

16 (and all sub channels)
22 (and all subs)
28 (and all subs)
56 (and all subs) -- until they had their issue in early Sept, but have them back now.

I also picked up 44 (and subs) when I scanned, but never really checked to see how the picture was bc it didn't matter to me.

All of sudden lat Monday (10/7) or so I lost 16. I also then noticed that 44 was not coming in either too (but not sure if that is new or not). I got in touch with WNEP and they said nothing changed on their end. I have a few friends even closer to Penobscot than me who are having the same issue -- but most friends have not experienced the problem.

I went up on the roof and confirmed (via compass and a phone app) that the antenna is still pointing in the right direction.

All other channels were unaffected.

Anyone else experiencing this or have any suggestions?
Joe Zone is online now  
post #775 of 799 Old 10-13-2019, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
WNEP (and WVIA) did have an issue on Friday afternoon, but they were back a little after 2pm. I'm getting it just fine right now 26 miles away in Monroe county.
KyL416 is offline  
post #776 of 799 Old 10-13-2019, 04:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
WNEP (and WVIA) did have an issue on Friday afternoon, but they were back a little after 2pm. I'm getting it just fine right now 26 miles away in Monroe county.
Yeah, I heard about that. This issue started several days earlier and persists. I don't understand why this problem would just suddenly happen (to multiple people) so close to the tower.
Joe Zone is online now  
post #777 of 799 Old 10-13-2019, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Can you do a search for the location of your antenna on rabbitears and post the study_id number?
https://www.rabbitears.info/searchmap.php

I wonder if you are in an area where one of WVIA or WNEP's translators are available and your tuner saved that instead of the main RF 50 signal. Or if T-Mobile recently launched a 600 MHz site on a nearby tower.
KyL416 is offline  
post #778 of 799 Old 10-13-2019, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 8
LAT: 41.034531687304806
LON: -75.78309059143068

Study ID = 19059

My antenna is pointing at 323 though. I got that from Antennas Direct using my Zip
Joe Zone is online now  
post #779 of 799 Old 10-13-2019, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Sry, use Study ID 19062
Joe Zone is online now  
post #780 of 799 Old 10-13-2019, 06:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Rabbit ears says I should be pointing to 336, not 323.
Joe Zone is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off