Greensboro, NC - HDTV - Page 274 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 56Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8191 of 12144 Old 03-05-2010, 03:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
FYI. Today we are turning off the channel 8 transmitter for 1 hour between 10AM and 11AM to check which cable companies are still tuned to 8 and not 35. If you are around and we go dark on your provider, give us a call at the station so I can go postal on someone!

Then Monday at 11AM we will officially "change channels" from 8 to 35 by turning off channel 8 for good.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8192 of 12144 Old 03-05-2010, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
kitfoxdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where is the tower located for the uhf signal? I am up in Eden and pick up 8 fine, but no joy on 35. Should be marginal but able to get it, I get all the other uhf signals out of the area.

Steve
kitfoxdrvr is offline  
post #8193 of 12144 Old 03-05-2010, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
uncrules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitfoxdrvr View Post

Where is the tower located for the uhf signal? I am up in Eden and pick up 8 fine, but no joy on 35. Should be marginal but able to get it, I get all the other uhf signals out of the area.

Steve

This site has that info along with the others.

http://www.triad-hdtv.org/pointing.html

uncrules is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8194 of 12144 Old 03-05-2010, 09:47 AM
Member
 
kevrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So when I put in 35 my TV automatically tunes to 8. Is it supposed to do that?
kevrol is offline  
post #8195 of 12144 Old 03-05-2010, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
kitfoxdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, UNC! Same location as the current vhf, it appears.

I wonder if the signal on 35 is at the full 1000KW? If it is, I may be watching Roanoke/Lynchburg after this weekend!
kitfoxdrvr is offline  
post #8196 of 12144 Old 03-05-2010, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevrol View Post

So when I put in 35 my TV automatically tunes to 8. Is it supposed to do that?

Yes... that means you are getting 35. It maps itself to 8.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #8197 of 12144 Old 03-06-2010, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitfoxdrvr View Post

Where is the tower located for the uhf signal? I am up in Eden and pick up 8 fine, but no joy on 35. Should be marginal but able to get it, I get all the other uhf signals out of the area.

Steve

Yes, the 35 antenna is right below the channel 8 antenna. Make sure your receiver isn't mapping 35 as 8. 99% of all the calls I have had have been that very issue.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8198 of 12144 Old 03-06-2010, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

FYI. Today we are turning off the channel 8 transmitter for 1 hour between 10AM and 11AM to check which cable companies are still tuned to 8 and not 35. If you are around and we go dark on your provider, give us a call at the station so I can go postal on someone!

Then Monday at 11AM we will officially "change channels" from 8 to 35 by turning off channel 8 for good.

Interesting results to the test. Only one call and that was from DirecTV. Seems they had the SD headend at Gallimore Dairy Rd receiving 35 and the HD headend at WFMY was receiving channel 8! They quickly fixed that.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8199 of 12144 Old 03-07-2010, 04:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitfoxdrvr View Post

I wonder if the signal on 35 is at the full 1000KW? If it is, I may be watching Roanoke/Lynchburg after this weekend!

Yes, 35 has been and still is and will continue to be 1000 kw.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8200 of 12144 Old 03-07-2010, 06:41 PM
Member
 
ncbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So, should we rescan after noon Monday?

I'm in Winston near the university and using a Winegard SS-3000 indoors can get Sauratown Mountain and everybody at Level Cross, but not you.

Any tips?

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

Yes, 35 has been and still is and will continue to be 1000 kw.

ncbill is offline  
post #8201 of 12144 Old 03-07-2010, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncbill View Post

So, should we rescan after noon Monday?

I'm in Winston near the university and using a Winegard SS-3000 indoors can get Sauratown Mountain and everybody at Level Cross, but not you.

Any tips?

You can rescan now. I suspect you will only get 35. 8's signal in Winston has been hit and miss. 35's signal is much stronger.

Have to admit that the butterflies are starting to build. It is kinda feeling like June 12th all over again.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8202 of 12144 Old 03-08-2010, 08:01 AM
Newbie
 
kitfoxdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

Yes, the 35 antenna is right below the channel 8 antenna. Make sure your receiver isn't mapping 35 as 8. 99% of all the calls I have had have been that very issue.

I'll know tonight when I go home and try to tune you guys in! I sure would miss Neil, Van and Julie!

My TV likely knows what it is doing and already is on 35; I already knew it was smarter than me when I disconnected cable and got 37 channels OTA. Another hundred bucks that my wife can spend instead of Time Warner! Now, just make sure that the FCC doesn't take channel 35 away from us!!!

Steve
kitfoxdrvr is offline  
post #8203 of 12144 Old 03-08-2010, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The channel 8 transmitter was turned off at exactly 11:02:00 ET. RIP.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8204 of 12144 Old 03-08-2010, 10:17 PM
Member
 
Matt Smith-WGSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I too am in Eden. The WGHP signal on 35 is coming in well . . . . much better than even the pre-transition 35. I guess it makes us glad that all those folks in the late 50's figured out how to switch Florence, SC to 13 so that a Ch. 8 could be squeezed into High Point. Had it not been for them, there would probably be no transition now, and the third leg of the "triad" would have never been though of as more than a suburb of Thomasville. Good work and congrats to all of your engineering crew.
Matt Smith-WGSR is offline  
post #8205 of 12144 Old 03-09-2010, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
We have had very few calls over this change. Most have been either cable/sat viewers who the change didn't effect or people who didn't understand they needed to rescan their receivers. This has been a much different result than the June 12th transition. We hated to give up RF 8, but with little relief in sight, we feel we have made the right decision. There are still some things we can do to improve 35, but we are going to wait and see how this works out before spending any more money, especially in this economy.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8206 of 12144 Old 03-09-2010, 04:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
uncrules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey foxeng, I just noticed this morning that on my HR20 D* box that I have two 8.1 digital channels. The new one is listed as WGHPSTA. It shows the same stuff as the original channel. Do you know what this is?
uncrules is offline  
post #8207 of 12144 Old 03-09-2010, 05:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
It has been there for a while. The one that says WGHP-DT had been mapped to RF 8 while WGHPSTA had been mapped to RF 35. Looks like both are mapped to 35 now.

D* was a little behind on the channel change. We did a test last week turning off the channel 8 transmitter for an hour and found that D*'s SD was set to 35 and the HD was set to 8. Something happened on the HD side that the word didn't get to them so I suspect it will take a while for them to get it all straight. We have been operating with a STA on channel 35 since last June so that is where that is coming from. When the paperwork clears on all this, I would suspect that will go away and it will go back to just WGHP-DT on RF 35 for the tuner.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8208 of 12144 Old 03-09-2010, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
kitfoxdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, no luck on 35.

Matt, I am on the ridge south of the Dan off 14, wonder if my problem is height. I have a rooftop Winegard (my wife calls it an "ugly, bristly thing") that I am unsure of the model number as a "pro" installed it. What are you using?

I get 16, 20, 26, 27, 45 and 48, but no 35. Had to watch channel 2 news last night and "24" on channel 27. Too many numbers, my head hurts...

Steve
kitfoxdrvr is offline  
post #8209 of 12144 Old 03-09-2010, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,662
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitfoxdrvr View Post

Well, no luck on 35.

Matt, I am on the ridge south of the Dan off 14, wonder if my problem is height. I have a rooftop Winegard (my wife calls it an "ugly, bristly thing") that I am unsure of the model number as a "pro" installed it. What are you using?

I get 16, 20, 26, 27, 45 and 48, but no 35. Had to watch channel 2 news last night and "24" on channel 27. Too many numbers, my head hurts...

Steve

It sounds like a combo VHF/UHF. It might just need to be turned a bit, or you might want to get just a UHF antenna and have more receiving power.
jspENC is offline  
post #8210 of 12144 Old 03-09-2010, 11:48 PM
Member
 
Matt Smith-WGSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


I am on the ridge south of the Dan off 14, wonder if my problem is height. I have a rooftop Winegard (my wife calls it an "ugly, bristly thing") that I am unsure of the model number as a "pro" installed it. What are you using?

I'm using a Radio Shack 6x8 panel amplified antenna hung 8 feet off the ground on my front porch. I live on old 87 near the rec center, and get 2, 8, 12, 16, 20, 43 (61), 45, 47, and 48 with no problems. On clear, cold days, I can add 3, 4, 7, 10, 13, 21, 26, 27, 38, 40 (analog) and 50 (analog) with varying degrees of reception. I plan on erecting a 20ft. pole mount for the antenna at some point to see how much improvement I get.

For now, I'm well satisfied with what I'm getting digitally. I know where you live, generally. There seem to be a lot of pine trees up on that ridge. Do you have your antenna above the treeline? Sometimes getting it up another 5-10 feet can do you a world of good. I'm wondering too if you get us on 47.

Later . . . .
Matt
Matt Smith-WGSR is offline  
post #8211 of 12144 Old 03-10-2010, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
kitfoxdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Smith-WGSR View Post

I'm wondering too if you get us on 47.

Later . . . .
Matt

Matt:

Clear as a bell! If my mother in law had her way, that would be the only channel we need!!!

Steve
kitfoxdrvr is offline  
post #8212 of 12144 Old 03-10-2010, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
kitfoxdrvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am probably going to set my dad up with a new antenna and I am considering a UHF only Channel Master 4228. Are any of the Greensboro/High Point/Winston Salem/Roanoke/Lynchburg stations really still on VHF? Specifically, 2, 7, 10, 12 and 13 (I think the 4228 will be fine on 10, 12 and 13, but probably not 2 and 7). I need to stay on his good side and lot's of channels would help! Losing WFMY2 would be bad.

If this antenna works well, it may be my solution for 8/35.

Thanks all!

Steve

Thanks!
Steve
kitfoxdrvr is offline  
post #8213 of 12144 Old 03-10-2010, 03:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,287
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1302 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
WSET-13 is on VHF.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #8214 of 12144 Old 03-10-2010, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
WSET-13 and WTVD-11 are the only VHFs in the region now. Everyone else is UHF now.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8215 of 12144 Old 03-10-2010, 09:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,287
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1302 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
foxeng:

Looks like your construction permit has now been issued.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #8216 of 12144 Old 03-11-2010, 04:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

foxeng:

Looks like your construction permit has now been issued.

- Trip

"And there was much rejoicing (YAH!)" Monty Python and the Holy Grail

(I love that movie!)

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8217 of 12144 Old 03-11-2010, 04:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 80
On a different note, AT&T's U-verse must be getting ready to launch. They touched base with us yesterday about running fiber to their headend.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #8218 of 12144 Old 03-11-2010, 07:04 AM
Member
 
kevrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^Best news I've had all month.
kevrol is offline  
post #8219 of 12144 Old 03-11-2010, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
SVTarHeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

AT&T's U-verse must be getting ready to launch.

I agree that this is good to hear. Before I moved back to the Triad a couple of years ago, I lived for a few months with some friends outside of Dallas who had Verizon FiOS. It'd be great to have options here...
SVTarHeel is offline  
post #8220 of 12144 Old 03-11-2010, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
uncrules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVTarHeel View Post

I agree that this is good to hear. Before I moved back to the Triad a couple of years ago, I lived for a few months with some friends outside of Dallas who had Verizon FiOS. It'd be great to have options here...

Don't confuse U-Verse with FiOS. FiOS runs it's fiber all the way to your house which brings the best PQ in the business and no video stream limitations. U-Verse on the other hand only runs fiber to the VRAD box in your neighborhood. Then from that box they only run copper to your house. Because of that there is limited bandwidth available which means a limited number of active video streams which IIRC, is only 4. It can be either 2 HD and 2 SD or 1 HD and 3 SD.

Which means if you have a HD DVR, then you can't have another HDTV and watch separate programming from the first HDTV. Also you're limited with the total number of TVs and DVRs you can have active. In my situation, 5 TVs (2 of those HDTV) and five DVRs (2 of those HD DVRs) U-verse wouldn't work. I realize that my needs are more than most would need, but even lesser needs couldn't be handled. If you want 2 DVRs, then you couldn't have a 3rd TV.

Having read reviews on PQ, the limited bandwidth available (IIRC 25 mbps) means that there are issues there too. SD PQ is suppose to be great and the HD PQ is good on smaller HDTVs. But if you have like 55 inch and above, the PQ is less than desired. Less than say Directv, and definitely less than the best which is FiOS. The PQ gets worse if you have Internet from U-Verse since it comes from the same source of bandwidth that the TV signals comes from.

But in U-Verse's defense, they have a great HD channel lineup. Better than TWC, Dish or Directv. IIRC, FiOS is equal or better. Now sometime in late April Directv will start adding channels again and the have enough capacity coming online soon that if used properly, should put them back on top in the HD channel race.
uncrules is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off