WNCN (Raleigh, NC) problems with DISH 6000? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-10-2002, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DaveL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The NBC17 (WNCN) signal has been hosed on my DISH 6000 receiver since around the time of the last DISH software update. The picture is only available as a stretched SD signal, even when the network is broadcasting HD content (Leno). There are also lip sync problems and a general lack of quality on the non-HD programs.

I figure one of the following has occurred:

1. My Receiver is broke (not likely as everything else works)
2. The latest 6000 software update is broke (complain to DISH)
3. The station has misconfigured their transmission facility in some way (complain to WNCN).

Is anyone else with a DISH 6000 having a similar problem? How about DTV\\HiPix users?
DaveL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-11-2002, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I happened to try to watch Leno last night and noticed somehting similar. Horrible, out of sync audio and what was surely SD quality but in a 4:3 frame. I will try to call them this morning to see what is up.

Got to be ready for the new season, ya know.

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman
Lee L is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-11-2002, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I just received an email from someone in engineering at WNCN (don't want to use his name without permission) saying that it appears that the 6000's are locking onto the 17.2 SD channel. (news to me that they even have one as my 6000 has always just shown the 17.1 HD channel) The RCA HD receivers they have at the station were showing Leno just fine last night.

They have temporarily turned the secondary feed off so if you re-scan you should get the HD feed.

They have a new encoder coming that should fix the compatibility issues with the 6000.

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman
Lee L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 09-11-2002, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DaveL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm that "turning off the second feed" has cleared up the problems I was having.
DaveL is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-12-2002, 05:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 43
How about the sound? Last night on the Tonight Show, I had garbled sound and no 5.1.

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman
Lee L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off