Springfield, MA - HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1785 Old 10-25-2002, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whoa just tried channel (WWLP 22) DT-11 and it was pegged at 100 and still is at 100. Don't know why but there signal must be alot stronger then WGGB because right now WGGB 40 (DT55) all I'm getting is a signal at 14 and no picture or sound. You guy's must be getting 22 because they are sending out a very strong signal.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1785 Old 10-25-2002, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
scriabinop23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jayco59
I'm in Windsor Ct (Just North of Hartford) and I got channel 11 for a while last night and my signal meter was pegged! Since I've been struggling to get WTNH-DT (10) out of New Haven, Ct., this ABC affiliate will be a welcome addition to the digital airways!
Jay

Isn't 11 WWLP, an NBC affiliate?

Do you think I'd have any luck in Manchester? I'm pretty high up on a hill...
scriabinop23 is offline  
post #33 of 1785 Old 10-25-2002, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah WWLP is a NBC station, but WGGB is ABC and it's testing right now also.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1785 Old 10-26-2002, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
scriabinop23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ralfy1
Yeah WWLP is a NBC station, but WGGB is ABC and it's testing right now also.

I just may have to get an STB soon...
scriabinop23 is offline  
post #35 of 1785 Old 10-26-2002, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey scriabinop23 yeah it might be time. Right now I get the big 3 in digital (ABC, NBC,CBS) although CBS (WFSB) is the only one right now that does HD (passed through from the network). Both NBC (WWLP) and ABC (WGGB) hopefully will have HD by the end of the year. Not to mention I also get PBS (WBGY) multicast (4 channels) in the morning and afternoon then pure HD at night after 8pm. Yeah the time has come.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #36 of 1785 Old 10-26-2002, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guy's was wondering titan tv show WWLP showing HD as early as tommorrow. Maybe they made a mistake or what, but it shows WWLP show in HD on sunday. Let me know if anyone has heard anything new.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #37 of 1785 Old 10-26-2002, 04:27 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Newington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 116
WOW Both WWLP and WGGY's Digital signals are strong here in Newington Connecticut!

WWLP is BREAKING my Signal Meter (For some reason its ABOVE 100%)
WGGB is coming in at 82%!

I can't wait till WWLP goes HD.

Scott
SatelliteGuys.US / MultiChannel News
Scott Greczkowski is offline  
post #38 of 1785 Old 10-27-2002, 02:46 AM
Member
 
CraigD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ralfy1, bump just keeps the posting fresh on the board so more people have the opportunity to see and therefore respond. I sent emails to both stations with zero replies thus far.
CraigD is offline  
post #39 of 1785 Old 10-27-2002, 05:11 AM
Member
 
CraigD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the exact numbers for each station that your STB displays? I have 40-1, 57-1, and I cannot get 22 in digital yet...22-1?
CraigD is offline  
post #40 of 1785 Old 10-27-2002, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My STB ( Mit's SR-HD5) show's both, for ABC WGGB 40 it show's 55-1 and 40-1 for NBC WWLP 22 it also show's both 11-1 and 22-1 same for WFSB out of CT. 33-1 33-2 3-1 and 3-2. For WGBY PBS 57 I get 57-1 57-2 57-3 57-4 57-100 58-1 and 58-2. Oh thanx for letting me know about the Bump thing, never thought of that. WWLP is so rock solid right now my signal never dips below 97, but WGGB is not so good right now. They arent trully on the air yet so maybe it's just that. There Tower is on the same mountain as WGBY PBS so I should get a signal around the same as WGBY wich for me is always above 90. WGGB better hurry up and get there house in order, or we may not get the playoffs and Superbowl in HD. That would suck big time. Oh Criag D if you cant get WWLP in there is something wrong there signal is rock solid, keep trying for channel 11 it's there.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #41 of 1785 Old 10-28-2002, 03:56 AM
Member
 
CraigD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks ralfy1,

I wonder if it's my antenna? I have a channel Master 4228 UHF antenna. Here's a link to Stark's page.
http://www.starkelectronic.com/cmuhf.htm

I can get analog ch 3 and ch8 but not DT8-1. Would I have to come up with some hybrid
to pick up DT11? I am going away for a couple days so thanks for responses in advance for I won't have internet access while I am away.
CraigD is offline  
post #42 of 1785 Old 10-28-2002, 05:25 AM
Member
 
HDTV_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also sent nice messages to both stations encouraging them to support HD broadcasting. I got a response from the WWLP VP/GM indicating that they "hope to be transmitting a high definition signal by the end of 2002." It was nice to see their proactive position,

--Marc
HDTV_fan is offline  
post #43 of 1785 Old 10-28-2002, 09:45 PM
Member
 
jasona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by CraigD
Thanks ralfy1,

I wonder if it's my antenna? I have a channel Master 4228 UHF antenna. Here's a link to Stark's page.
http://www.starkelectronic.com/cmuhf.htm

I can get analog ch 3 and ch8 but not DT8-1. Would I have to come up with some hybrid
to pick up DT11? I am going away for a couple days so thanks for responses in advance for I won't have internet access while I am away.

DTV11 seems to be just low enough on the RF scale that you'll need a VHF antenna to receive it unless your within a few miles of the tower. For CBS-3 all I needed was a clothes pin and some speaker wire to get a crystal clear display. I have the two piece version of the CM4228 as well as WineGuard VHF antenna combined with a $3 antenna combiner and I get 11/55/58 no problems (and the boston channels if I rotate the antenna's.)
I've never managed to even get a peep out of 8-1 but I do get A signal from NH, VT and Boston, I'm at/around 1400'.
jasona is offline  
post #44 of 1785 Old 10-29-2002, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wondering are you guy's getting WGGB 40 (DT55). My signal is in the low teens and I get nothing no picture no sound. Just wondering if it's only me. From what I know there tower is on the same mountain that WGBY PBS (DT58) is on. That signal is always in the high 90's but the WGGB signal sucks, shouldn't I get comparable signals.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #45 of 1785 Old 10-30-2002, 02:54 AM
Member
 
CraigD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ralfy1,

yes I am getting WGGB 40 (DT55) "loud and clear". my stb is a panasonic and it doesn't
have a signal strength meter so I cannot fill you in there.
CraigD is offline  
post #46 of 1785 Old 10-30-2002, 05:37 AM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 29,681
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2735
I just noticed that WGGB TV 40 has started thier digital broadcasts. I only got 40-1 channel.

Are there any others?

Is there a list of channels and stations you could get in the springfield area?

Other than 57-1 is there anything else I should try or should be getting?
Mfusick is offline  
post #47 of 1785 Old 10-30-2002, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know it must be the way my antenna is pointing but I get no picture for WGGB 40 (DT55). Don't have a rotor so I might be screwed until they get to full power. My STB is starting to pick up all kinds of channels now, 38-1 39-1 59-1 but cant get a picture on them yet, but man there coming in bunches now. Oh as to why we havent heard anything from WGGB 40 on there plans for HD they are owned by SINCLAIR, so they are in no rush to get things going.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #48 of 1785 Old 10-31-2002, 07:48 AM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 29,681
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2735
Quote:


Originally posted by Mfusick
I just noticed that WGGB TV 40 has started thier digital broadcasts. I only got 40-1 channel.

Are there any others?

Is there a list of channels and stations you could get in the springfield area?

Other than 57-1 is there anything else I should try or should be getting?

Mfusick is offline  
post #49 of 1785 Old 10-31-2002, 11:24 AM
Member
 
CraigD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JasonAndreas
DTV11 seems to be just low enough on the RF scale that you'll need a VHF antenna to receive it unless your within a few miles of the tower. For CBS-3 all I needed was a clothes pin and some speaker wire to get a crystal clear display. I have the two piece version of the CM4228 as well as WineGuard VHF antenna combined with a $3 antenna combiner and I get 11/55/58 no problems (and the boston channels if I rotate the antenna's.)
I've never managed to even get a peep out of 8-1 but I do get A signal from NH, VT and Boston, I'm at/around 1400'.

Thanks for your input JasonAndreas:

I am in West Springfield and couldn't get DTV11 to come in with a roof installed UHF CM4228 w/rotator. I took your advice and for kicks tried my old "rabbit ears" placed in my basement where my home theater is located and voila I got DTV11. Today I went out and bought a combiner. Presently I receive DTV11 (22-1), DTV55 (40-1), DTV33 (3-1, 3-3 [HDTV]), and
DTV58 (57-1[HDTV]) but no Boston or NH stations. I am not sure of my elevation. Little tips can go a long way, thanks again....now if we can only get WGGB and WWLP to broadcast in HDTV...
CraigD is offline  
post #50 of 1785 Old 11-01-2002, 07:36 AM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 29,681
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2735
Quote:


Originally posted by CraigD
....now if we can only get WGGB and WWLP to broadcast in HDTV...

Mfusick is offline  
post #51 of 1785 Old 11-03-2002, 11:38 AM
Member
 
CraigD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
CraigD is offline  
post #52 of 1785 Old 11-08-2002, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I'm locking on to channels but not getting a picture on WGGB 40 WCTX UPN38. Hopefully they will increase there power just a bit to let more people get the stations.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #53 of 1785 Old 11-08-2002, 06:28 PM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 29,681
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2735
What are the station numbers or channels?
Mfusick is offline  
post #54 of 1785 Old 11-08-2002, 09:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WGGB DT channel 55 remaps to 40-1
WCTX DT 39 remaps to 59-1
WSBK DT 39 I just found out WCTX is stronger but WSBK might be messing with my chance of getting WCTX both have the same DT channel 39

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #55 of 1785 Old 11-09-2002, 06:16 PM
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 29,681
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 2735
When is WWLP and WGGB going High Def?

Digital is good... But I really want High def.
Mfusick is offline  
post #56 of 1785 Old 11-09-2002, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well WWLP has said they hope to be passing through HD by the end of this Year. WGGB has not replied to anyone here so it's anyones guess. I hope soon, I'm glad WFSB out of CT does HD and the signal is good enough at 58 to stay stable all day.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #57 of 1785 Old 11-11-2002, 06:03 PM
Member
 
jayco59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Windsor, Ct
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ralfy1
I'm glad WFSB out of CT does HD and the signal is good enough at 58 to stay stable all day.

I've never seen anything but digital SD 4x3 with no DD5.1 out of DT-33! Can anybody confirm they have ever seen 16x9 HD out of WFSB? If your not 16x9 and at least 720P and DD audio then you ain't HD (IMO).
Jay
jayco59 is offline  
post #58 of 1785 Old 11-11-2002, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ralfy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah 33-1 is SD but 33-3 is HD, it's HD almost everynight. Tonight the whole primetime is HD. It's HD and it's 16 by 9. Never got DD5.1 out of WFSB but it's HD.

X-Box 360 Gamer Tag
Red Dawn
ralfy1 is offline  
post #59 of 1785 Old 11-12-2002, 09:47 AM
Member
 
jayco59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Windsor, Ct
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ralfy1
Yeah 33-1 is SD but 33-3 is HD, it's HD almost everynight.

Thanks for the reply, but something isn't making sense to me...My understanding of the ATSC setup is you can broadcast using the entire digital signal bandwidth 1 HD signal or you can share the bandwidth and transmit up to 4 SD signals. It is not possible to send an HD signal on one subchannel and SD on others, there just isn't the bandwidth to do that. Maybe you can use 3/4 of the bandwidth for an "HD like quality" signal and the other 1/4 for the SD signal? I will try to see if there are any subchannels for DT-33 tonight, I thought I tried this and didn't get anything, but I'll give it another go.

Jay
jayco59 is offline  
post #60 of 1785 Old 11-12-2002, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Such's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is definately what they are doing at WFSB. It's my understanding that an HD signal is 12Mb and SD's can vary depending, but 4Mb is plenty for an SD signal. The entire channel is 19Mb/s.
Such is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off