Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 350 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 454Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10471 of 10840 Old 12-08-2018, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Worth a try temporarily bypassing the amp ...

Even though I realize it may be a hassle ...

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10472 of 10840 Old 12-09-2018, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoTatII View Post
Worth a try temporarily bypassing the amp ...

Even though I realize it may be a hassle ...

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Took the amp out of line and went direct to a TV. All stations EXCEPT 7 are fine. 7 is still junk. Did some antenna pointing tuning using the HDHomeRun signal meter on various channels and an antenna pointing app. At this point, 7 is actually demonstrably worse. I don't even get a signal quality or modulation lock on 7 anymore via the HDHomeRun. Just a signal strength of 90-91%. I can still get a highly pixelated screen on the OLED.

I'm at a loss here. I think this is my first full winter with the antenna and HDHomeRun. Could there really be something weather related going on with cooler temps? I am behind some hills, but obviously didn't have issues until now.

I'm using this antenna in the attic:
https://www.amazon.com/RCA-Compact-O...98714187&psc=1

LG B6 65" OLED, Phillips UHD BluRay, Denon AVR-X4000, Chromecast Ultra, Roku Ultra, eD speakers and sub
jasonvr is offline  
post #10473 of 10840 Old 12-09-2018, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 4,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvr View Post
Took the amp out of line and went direct to a TV. All stations EXCEPT 7 are fine. 7 is still junk. Did some antenna pointing tuning using the HDHomeRun signal meter on various channels and an antenna pointing app. At this point, 7 is actually demonstrably worse. I don't even get a signal quality or modulation lock on 7 anymore via the HDHomeRun. Just a signal strength of 90-91%. I can still get a highly pixelated screen on the OLED.

I'm at a loss here. I think this is my first full winter with the antenna and HDHomeRun. Could there really be something weather related going on with cooler temps? I am behind some hills, but obviously didn't have issues until now.

I'm using this antenna in the attic:
https://www.amazon.com/RCA-Compact-O...98714187&psc=1
I had that antenna years ago in my closet. I also had some channels get weak and stronger. I had to adjust my antenna by moving. Pain in the butt, that was the only way for me. Can you move yours to see if it fixes your issue?
phildaant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10474 of 10840 Old 12-09-2018, 03:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
I had that antenna years ago in my closet. I also had some channels get weak and stronger. I had to adjust my antenna by moving. Pain in the butt, that was the only way for me. Can you move yours to see if it fixes your issue?
Physically move or repoint? I tried repointing today and didn't have any success. Moving it would be a lot harder as the mounting pole is bolted into the rafters. What was your ultimate solution? Replace the antenna with something better or move it to a totally different location. I was trying to avoid having to run cabling outside by putting it in the attic. It is pointed directly out a flat gable on my house where it is located. Shouldn't even be stucco there - I think t is just paneling so no chicken wire to interfere.
phildaant likes this.

LG B6 65" OLED, Phillips UHD BluRay, Denon AVR-X4000, Chromecast Ultra, Roku Ultra, eD speakers and sub
jasonvr is offline  
post #10475 of 10840 Old 12-09-2018, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 4,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvr View Post
Physically move or repoint? I tried repointing today and didn't have any success. Moving it would be a lot harder as the mounting pole is bolted into the rafters. What was your ultimate solution? Replace the antenna with something better or move it to a totally different location. I was trying to avoid having to run cabling outside by putting it in the attic. It is pointed directly out a flat gable on my house where it is located. Shouldn't even be stucco there - I think t is just paneling so no chicken wire to interfere.
I had to repoint and move mine indoor in my room. You could try another antenna like those huge CM antennae to see if that helps at all. Just be sure you can return it if it doesn't work. It seems like OTA keeps changing so it is not always the same. Annoying. Note this was years ago in my former home. Now, I can't get OTA very well due to huge hills/small mountains in the rural area I live. Even cellular is mostly blocked here.
phildaant is offline  
post #10476 of 10840 Old 12-10-2018, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvr View Post
Physically move or repoint? I tried repointing today and didn't have any success. Moving it would be a lot harder as the mounting pole is bolted into the rafters. What was your ultimate solution? Replace the antenna with something better or move it to a totally different location. I was trying to avoid having to run cabling outside by putting it in the attic. It is pointed directly out a flat gable on my house where it is located. Shouldn't even be stucco there - I think t is just paneling so no chicken wire to interfere.
Where are you located?
Distance from the tower?
This one works great for me..
Televes DATBOSS Mix UHF VHF Amplified Outdoor HDTV Antenna with LTE Filter

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
phildaant likes this.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #10477 of 10840 Old 12-14-2018, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Where are you located?
Distance from the tower?
This one works great for me..
Televes DATBOSS Mix UHF VHF Amplified Outdoor HDTV Antenna with LTE Filter

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
This is a pretty good approximation
https://antennaweb.org/Stations?Addr...de=-117.800862

~33 miles

LG B6 65" OLED, Phillips UHD BluRay, Denon AVR-X4000, Chromecast Ultra, Roku Ultra, eD speakers and sub
jasonvr is offline  
post #10478 of 10840 Old 12-14-2018, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvr View Post
This is a pretty good approximation
https://antennaweb.org/Stations?Addr...de=-117.800862

~33 miles
Try FoolTV. Much more accurate.

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is online now  
post #10479 of 10840 Old 12-14-2018, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Try FoolTV. Much more accurate.

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9038c9b3956dc7

LG B6 65" OLED, Phillips UHD BluRay, Denon AVR-X4000, Chromecast Ultra, Roku Ultra, eD speakers and sub
jasonvr is offline  
post #10480 of 10840 Old 12-14-2018, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Are you possibly behind the mountain range? Puente Hills/ Brea or maybe Santa Ana?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dALLTV%26n%3d2

7.1 is borderline low VHF so susceptible to interference.

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is online now  
post #10481 of 10840 Old 12-14-2018, 07:41 PM
Member
 
EvilEuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am closer to those same hills than he is (Fullerton v. Orange) and I get great reception for KABC. Most of Orange, minus sections of Orange Hills / Villa Park, has great line of sight to Mt. Wilson, so I don't think those hills are the issue.
EvilEuro is offline  
post #10482 of 10840 Old 12-14-2018, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Are you possibly behind the mountain range? Puente Hills/ Brea or maybe Santa Ana?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...dALLTV%26n%3d2

7.1 is borderline low VHF so susceptible to interference.

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
That TVFool report is for my exact address. According to them I'm good to go with an attic antenna for ABC. And it was working for approximately 9 months until it went to [email protected] about 2.5 weeks ago.

I guess my only option is to try a bigger antenna with a preamp....

LG B6 65" OLED, Phillips UHD BluRay, Denon AVR-X4000, Chromecast Ultra, Roku Ultra, eD speakers and sub
jasonvr is offline  
post #10483 of 10840 Old 12-14-2018, 08:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilEuro View Post
I am closer to those same hills than he is (Fullerton v. Orange) and I get great reception for KABC. Most of Orange, minus sections of Orange Hills / Villa Park, has great line of sight to Mt. Wilson, so I don't think those hills are the issue.
I'm squished in between Orange Park Acres and Villa Park

LG B6 65" OLED, Phillips UHD BluRay, Denon AVR-X4000, Chromecast Ultra, Roku Ultra, eD speakers and sub
jasonvr is offline  
post #10484 of 10840 Old 12-15-2018, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Imageek2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvr View Post
That TVFool report is for my exact address. According to them I'm good to go with an attic antenna for ABC. And it was working for approximately 9 months until it went to [email protected] about 2.5 weeks ago.

I guess my only option is to try a bigger antenna with a preamp....
I had that happen with my antenna. It was working fine then suddenly I couldn't get the weaker stations. Tried re-aiming it, etc. Finally went to a bigger antenna and raised it up some and so far so good. Good luck!

When the moon is in the Seventh House
And Jupiter aligns with Mars
Then peace will guide the planets
And love will steer the stars.
Imageek2 is online now  
post #10485 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 2,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Rescan time.

KPXN moved to 24 yesterday, just after midnight.

I just got a text that KAZA/KHTV are moving today. I will check.

Edit: Confirmed. It looks like KAZA/KHTV moved between 5 and 6am today to 22.

Last edited by Falcon_77; 12-21-2018 at 09:09 AM.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #10486 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,571
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1479 Post(s)
Liked: 574
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
That signal should be a lot better than their old one.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #10487 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
That signal should be a lot better than their old one.

- Trip
Strange though Trip;

Not that I really care about them mind you , but subchannels 27-1 to 5 are apparently not in KHTV/KAZA's TS stream, at least so far.

Only receiving 54-1 (METV) and 54-2 (DECADES) on the new RF channel at present.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is offline  
post #10488 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoTatII View Post
Strange though Trip;

Not that I really care about them mind you , but subchannels 27-1 to 5 are apparently not in KHTV/KAZA's TS stream, at least so far.

Only receiving 54-1 (METV) and 54-2 (DECADES) on the new RF channel at present.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
What's the codec on the RF channel?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is online now  
post #10489 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 10:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
What's the codec on the RF channel?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
After re-scanning on both my OTA TIVO and the TV set's ATSC tuner. Neither detects 27-1 to 5 in KHTV/KAZA's broadcast stream any longer.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is offline  
post #10490 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Could Weigel have bought out the entire station and eliminated the former KHTV Spanish programming?

I can certainly live with that ...

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is offline  
post #10491 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoTatII View Post
After re-scanning on both my OTA TIVO and the TV set's ATSC tuner. Neither detects 27-1 to 5 in KHTV/KAZA's broadcast stream any longer.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
So it's h265?

I'm still not understanding.



Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is online now  
post #10492 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I'm not sure what you mean by the "codec"

Naturally it would be the MPEG-2 codec of the ATSC tuners used by the OTA TIVO, the TV set, and now I just checked the AM21 OTA tuner module connected to my DIRECTV receiver after a rescan just now, and it can no longer find KHTV's former subchannels 27-1 to 27-5 in the stream either.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is offline  
post #10493 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Unless you think I'm looking at KHTZ/KAZA's stream through a TS Reader. No I'm not doing that, but simply infering that those subchannels are no longer in the broadcast stream since none of my ATSC tuners here can detect them any longer.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is offline  
post #10494 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 344
I just checked. Those are part of my manually disabled channels anyhow so I don't get them. What's on them?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is online now  
post #10495 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
I just checked. Those are part of my manually disabled channels anyhow so I don't get them. What's on them?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
Mostly Spanish (Mexico and Central Amer.) programming. Except for Arabic-religious on the "AL Karma" on channel 27-5.

And "Jewelry TV" shopping on channel 27-3.

Like I said, I certainly don't care about them.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is offline  
post #10496 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 344
That's why I disabled them! I still get MeTV and Decades..

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is online now  
post #10497 of 10840 Old 12-21-2018, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
oc-rdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
KNSD (NBC) in San Diego has a test pattern on 17.2. It is a stronger signal than real channel 40.
oc-rdx is offline  
post #10498 of 10840 Old 12-22-2018, 09:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 68
And of course the usual problem occurs on my OTA TiVo where TiVo/Rovi is naturally behind these repack movements. So the guide data is now wrong and still points to the now vacated former RF channels resulting in a just a blank screen with a V52 or V53 error message if I try and tune to MeTV or the DECADES channel on 54-1 and -2. As is KPAX 30-1 and all its secondary subchannels as well.

I can manually force the TIVO to scan for new channels to discover where the new channels moved to and then add them to the guide. But theyll have no guide info. other than just the station "Short Name" IDs.

With nothing but continuous time blocks of "Title not available" for the program descriptions.

Sign ... ...

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is offline  
post #10499 of 10840 Old 12-22-2018, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
oc-rdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
XHBJ Gala TV is now on real channel 27, virtual 45.1. I only got it occasional when it was on real channel 44.
oc-rdx is offline  
post #10500 of 10840 Old 12-26-2018, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 2,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc-rdx View Post
KNSD (NBC) in San Diego has a test pattern on 17.2. It is a stronger signal than real channel 40.
Interesting. I see something on RF17 on the remote. I will have to turn my stack to check when I get home. Looking at Rabbit Ears, it's a better signal than the one on 40. Lower UHF channel, more power, elliptical and higher. All of that should help us in South OC.

It also helps that 17 is a protected channel in LA (just like 19 from SD is now), due to it being adjacent to Land Mobile. This works in our "DX" favor to receive KNSD.

Last edited by Falcon_77; 12-26-2018 at 05:06 PM.
Falcon_77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
ch 2.1 , ch 43.1 , grand wega , kcbs , pasadena ca

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off