Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 362 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 482Likes

post #10831 of 11001 Old 07-27-2019, 02:27 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by adream8 View Post
Hello LA OTA gang.

Newbie here. Just cut the cord.

I live in the Hollywood Hills just north of the Sunset Strip.

Put an RCA ANT751E Yagi antenna (70 mile range, no amp) on my roof. Pointed directly at MT. Wilson (64% true from my spot). Ran a quality 100ft Mediabridge RG6 coax down to the latest generation AirTv dual tuner black box.

To watch programming via WiFi, I'm using the Sling app (paid subscription version) on both my TV (Roku streaming stick Plus) and my iPhone (iOS). Also have a new WD MyPassport 2TB portable hard drive plugged into my AirTV box for recording OTA.

I have 1-2 mountain crests between me and Mt. Wilson. This is verified by my TVFool report.

(Apparently, since I'm new here, and my post count is less than 5, I can't yet post a link to my TVFool report, but I will when I am able.)

On the bright side, I'm getting good solid consistent (2-3 of 5 bars) reception on all the major networks. CBS2, NBC4, KTLA5, ABC7, KCAL9, and KCOP13 are all coming in clearly and seldom pixilate or drop out. I'm quite happy about this considering I'm in the hills without a direct line of sight to Mt. Wilson.

On the down side, I'm having trouble getting in the PBS stations (which I really love and want), and some of the better secondary stations (which would be fun to have).

Interestingly, if do a rescan several times a day, over a period of several days, the tuner on the AirTV box will occasionally pick them up, I guess depending on the right weather and troposphere conditions. But even if I leave the scan in place, once that "ideal weather window" closes, I get a 'no signal' message on those channels.