Flint, MI - HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 34Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1270 Old 05-20-2003, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Baronken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gardner, KS
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Matt L
Ken, welcome to HD! I've read a lot of good things about the 4228, and I'm using the 7778 pre-amp, I think it would be a nice combo, of course with a rotor.

As to what channels you'll get, it's a toss up. You should get 58-2 FOX 2, 45-1 WDIV 4, 41-1 WXYZ 7-2, 14-1 UPN 50, 59-1 WLNS 6-1, 36-1 WJRT 12-1, 22-1 WNEM 5-1, 30-1 WEYI 25-1. Odds are you won't get 44-1 WWJ and 43-1 WTVS. When they go on the air you should get 21-1 WDWB 20-1. I'm waiting for WKAR in E. Lansing to power up, I hope they have Hd capability I would love to see some of the PBS stuff in HD.

Use a good quality RG-6 when you do mount the antenna outside, quad shield might be overkill but it's cheap enough so it might be worth it. I use it for all my Sat. and OTA feeds, I get it from Home Depot.

On the Samsung SIR-T151, the channel designations are different. E.g. I enter 45 (WDIV-DT) and it changes to 4-1. Or if I enter 4, it changes to 4-1.

I went with the 4228/7778 combo. I have the 4228 mounted on a 5 ft mast attached to a 3 ft tripod. I can pick up all of the Detroit stations, though none of them have a signal strength past 50%. I think I will get another 5 ft mast and see if raising it another 5 ft will help.

Since Detroit has all the channels, I opted to not get a rotor at this time and just keep it pointed in Detroits' direction. I have one of those Terk wrap-around antennas that attatch to a satellite dish (works ok for local stuff) that is multi-directional, so I can pick up signals other than Detroit with it. I just need to get a switch box so I can switch between the antennas if I decide to watch something local.

My antenna cable seems kind of old, so I may run some new cable and see if that improves the signal.

Thanks for the help,
Ken

Blu won :(
No big deal, I don't buy movies anymore anyway. Time to move on.
Baronken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1270 Old 05-20-2003, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
Ken, some new cable might help but it's a toss up. You say your getting about 50% on most of the Detroit stations, are they breaking up? If the signal is steady, with a few drop outs I'd leave well enough alone. More signal won't create a better picture, just stop the drop outs.

My RCA will re-map the channels too, but I dropped that option since most of the stations don't have th PSIP set right and every time I changed the channel I would see a different time, some stations were hours off. I like to punch the display button and see how much time is left on a show. The other reason is that if I use the re-map feature I am no longer able to get 41-2, WXYZ's weather radar. Something they are doing messes with my tuner and it no longer finds the channel. That is the one feature I really miss with Sat. service, no local radar -- this fills that need.
Matt L is online now  
post #33 of 1270 Old 05-21-2003, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Baronken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gardner, KS
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting some dropping-out on a couple of channels...it happens every few minutes or so, but the signal strength for those are around 25% or less.

41-2? I'll have to see if I can figure out how to tune that one in. Hmm, what other channels are out there that aren't listed on www.TitanTV.com and www.antennaweb.org ?

Thanks,
Ken

Blu won :(
No big deal, I don't buy movies anymore anyway. Time to move on.
Baronken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1270 Old 05-21-2003, 11:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
If you get 7-1, then you should get 7-2 (41-2), it's radar all the time. There used to be a 7-3 that was a shot from the tower but they dumped it. What are you after from the Detroit stations? If it's just the Network offerings you might want to try pointing toward Lansing, they have CBS, NBC and Fox in HD and the angle might be enough to pick up 12-1 ABC. They all come in MUCH better than the Deroit stations for me. Downside no UPN/WB, though delayed WB is available on 44-1 WZPX .
Matt L is online now  
post #35 of 1270 Old 07-10-2003, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SteveZ103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to let everyone know, about 15 minutes ago I checked WEYI-HD 25-1, and there were 1080i color bars with a high pitched ringing sound. Then about ten minutes later it switched to a perfectly letterboxed 1080i signal! But then about one minute into this the picture slowly started to stretch until it was 14:9... It looks like they are still testing, so lets hope this isn't permanent
SteveZ103 is offline  
post #36 of 1270 Old 08-23-2003, 03:09 PM
Member
 
atperson100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you in Flint and are able to receive WLNS-DT:
How does the analog WLNS signal look? Are you even able to receive the channel 6 analog signal?

I noticed on: http://www.cbs.com/info/hdtv/
That they didn't put an asterisk next to WNEM (signifying standard def only). Is WNEM-DT still a 480i only station?

Is anyone able to receive WJBK-DT with a small antenna? (Say, a silver sensor outside)

Thanks!
atperson100 is offline  
post #37 of 1270 Old 08-23-2003, 10:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
WLNS puts out a killer signal, I'd almost bet you could get it with a coat hanger. WNEM is not HD, and from some of the snarky comments the GM made I doubt it ever will be. WJBK is a little harder to get you'll need a decent antenna.

Where are you located? If you're in the southern areas you might be able to get by with SS.
Matt L is online now  
post #38 of 1270 Old 08-23-2003, 10:56 PM
Member
 
atperson100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am located near N Chevrolet and W Court St... Thats near the river..

Outdoor roof really isnt an option for me, as this is just a temporary setup... So I hope a Silver Sensor facing south on the second floor will do =)
Detroit stations are approx 45mi away.. WLNS is around 40mi. I tried an analog tv and a bunnyear/loop antenna, and I was able to get WWJ-TV62 with LOTS of snow.. WDWB-TV20 fairly clearly.. WXYZ-TV7 with snow.. No sign of WLNS-TV6 though, but I hope their DTV signal has a better coverage than analog... But I wasn't even probing for signal then..And the latter two stations I mentioned were on VHF.. But I guess with a Silver Sensor, the signal should be much cleaner than with a loop antenna for our DTVs on the UHF...

Is there hope for me?

Thanks!
atperson100 is offline  
post #39 of 1270 Old 08-24-2003, 08:30 PM
Member
 
atperson100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And I'm guessing WSMH-DT is still a no-show...

Are there any other lansing stations that put out good signals?

Thanks
atperson100 is offline  
post #40 of 1270 Old 08-24-2003, 10:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
How about a Channel Master 8 bay bow-tie antenna, it may be a little on the large size but you will get better reception. If you're in an apartment It may be too big, but if your putting it in an extra room upstairs it shouldn't be a problem.

If your asking about Ch. 66 it is one of the notorious Sinclair stations, there is a massive thread over in the HD programming forum about how they are fighting going digital, and tried to stop the whole process for the entire country because they didn't want to put up the money. Now that they have to go digital they are dragging their feet and putting out tiny power levels where they can get away with it. So don't look for much, soon...

Well I'm by the river too, just out Flushing way. Luckily I'm on a hill and get great reception. I've been watching Lansing stations more than Detroit since I get a little more signal from them. There is a strong (for me...) Fox station from Lansing on 37-5 , yes 5 -- it should remap to ?. WILX is on 57-1 for NBC from Lansing too, but it may too weak for you to get. I watch WXYZ -Dt not WJRT for ABC for the simple reason that WJRT seems to think I want/like my not HD stuff stretched, I will boycott them until they realize otherwise.

Have you tried WEYI on 30-1? On my RCA unit I get a black screen on their Hd feed but the Std. signal comes in fine on 30-2, I haven't tried them in a month or so , so I don't know what they are up to.
Matt L is online now  
post #41 of 1270 Old 08-25-2003, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
GenoV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: College Station
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Matt L
WLNS puts out a killer signal, I'd almost bet you could get it with a coat hanger. WNEM is not HD, and from some of the snarky comments the GM made I doubt it ever will be.

They don't do any HD at all? Looks like I'll be pointing north to WWTV for my CBS HD.
GenoV is offline  
post #42 of 1270 Old 08-25-2003, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
GenoV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: College Station
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Matt or anyone, question:

Does WJRT-DT 36 pass DD 5.1 for Monday Night Football and/or anything else that's encoded as such?
GenoV is offline  
post #43 of 1270 Old 08-25-2003, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SteveZ103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GenoV,

Yep, WJRT-DT passes a 720p hdtv signal wth 5.1 sound when available. I'm watching MNF right now too, so I can confirm that they are broadcasting 5.1 sound. As for WNEM-DT... right now they aren't even on the air, and it will be years before they do hdtv, so your best bet would be to go with WWTV; that's what I do.

Steve
SteveZ103 is offline  
post #44 of 1270 Old 08-25-2003, 09:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
Sorry, had a typo, the Fox station in Lansing is on 38-5, not 37-5.
Matt L is online now  
post #45 of 1270 Old 08-26-2003, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
GenoV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: College Station
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Steve, could I ask how far you are from the WWTV tower there in Midland? I ask because I was wondering how well I'd be able to pull it in, but if you're receiving it in Midland, I should be golden over here north of Mt. Pleasant.
GenoV is offline  
post #46 of 1270 Old 08-26-2003, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
GenoV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: College Station
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got an email response from the WWTV people stating that they currently are at 175kw of power, 700 ft. up on the tower. They stated that if you can receive WFQX (33 analog FOX) with any picture at all, 40 digital should be no problem. Looks like I'm all set for a CBS HD station!

By the way, their (WWTV) construction permit is for 1000' at 800+ kw, so they should be covering nicely when they go full power.
GenoV is offline  
post #47 of 1270 Old 08-26-2003, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SteveZ103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm around 60 miles from the WWTV tower. The funny thing is that I am about the same distance from the WLNS tower, but I can't get anything even though they put out a better signal. Their analog channel 6 comes in with only a small amount of snow with the UHF antenna I use, so i'm thinking they might have reduced the power or tower hight of their digital signal.
SteveZ103 is offline  
post #48 of 1270 Old 08-26-2003, 08:11 PM
Member
 
sjhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Midland, MI , USA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SteveZ,
Have you been monitoring 30.1 and 30.2
I tuned in yesterday for the first time in a while and got signal on both but no channel identifier or picture ....

Steve H
sjhenry is offline  
post #49 of 1270 Old 08-26-2003, 08:20 PM
Member
 
atperson100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hehe, actually, I'm not at the temporary location in Flint yet..
Currently in the Bay Area, CA so for now I can watch HDTV without any problems. (I am using a Silver Sensor 40mi from the towers though).

Does WLNS show the "It's all here" promo?
atperson100 is offline  
post #50 of 1270 Old 08-26-2003, 09:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
No.

Now that's some relocation! There is no way I'd do that! I bet it has something to do with Kettering, correct?
Matt L is online now  
post #51 of 1270 Old 08-26-2003, 09:58 PM
Member
 
atperson100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL! How'd you guess?
I actually go there.

I'm probably one of the few in that place with HDTV capabilities.
Too bad the Campus Village counts the patio as common area though, otherwise I'd probably have the biggest antenna on there I can find along with a dish!

I got tired of the bad quality cable feed.. Kettering basically runs their own cable service with DirecTV.. WKBD from an antenna atop the building is a bit ghosty, but fairly clear.. and WSMH likes to go out often.
atperson100 is offline  
post #52 of 1270 Old 08-26-2003, 10:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
Hmmm, you might want to try is the amplified Winegard "wing" antennas. I've go one on my mini antenna farm and it does a good job of pulling in some distant stations. It's about 3' long and 8" wide so you might be able to tuck it in somewhere. It's broadband, and I get a decent signal from most of the Detroit analog stations, I really haven't tried it with my HD unit, I've got 2 other antennas for that, but I think it would work quite well in your situation.
Matt L is online now  
post #53 of 1270 Old 08-27-2003, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SteveZ103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Steve H,

I've been watching both 30.1 and 30.2 for a while now, and so far only the 480i channel has had anything for more than a day. When they first came on the air, 30.1 was a black 1080i signal with no audio. Then about 1 1/2 months ago they had a really nice looking letterboxed 1080i channel, but the audio had problems. The next morning I checked there was a black signal. A couple days after that, there was absoultly nothing on the channel: a 0x0i signal according to my reciever. Then after the big power outage in New York, when channel 30 came back on there was a black 1080i signal on 30.1, but this time it had audio. It's been like that ever since. I'm not really sure when they will be able to do hdtv, so I plan on e-mailing them soon to ask.
SteveZ103 is offline  
post #54 of 1270 Old 08-27-2003, 01:11 PM
Member
 
atperson100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the antenna suggestion.
Luckly, I chose the apartment on the southern most part. (everyone else who was deciding with me was wondering why I was so eager to choose the south and not the other one on the north ).. At least I eliminated some local obstructions.. So hopefully that will help a little... Unfortunately, to the West are the Campus buildings which are around 3-5 stories tall. So I hope that doesnt block WLNS from getting to me...

I'll be sure to post my signal findings here when I arrive.
atperson100 is offline  
post #55 of 1270 Old 09-10-2003, 08:36 AM
Member
 
Jitterbug050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Harrison MI
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by atperson100

Does WLNS show the "It's all here" promo?

WWTV does the "It's all here" thing. After a while you get tired of seeing it as they use it at every spot where the local is to insert their own ad's.
I live north of Harrison and the signal goes 100% for me with a Televes DAT-75, rotor, 7777 amp, quad RG-6 with T&B connectors. I get WEYI DT with this equipment.
Some people kill me. They buy a high dollar TV and STB, then go cheap on the antenna and cable. Is that not like buying a performance car and then want to stick in the cheap gas....then wonder why it does not go as fast as it should.
If there has to be WAF, then there better be a HAF.
Jitterbug050 is offline  
post #56 of 1270 Old 09-16-2003, 07:39 AM
Member
 
tropicaldreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay City,Michigan
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone with E* entered a zip code that allows local channels, although you live in an area that doesn't? I know of people that do it and still receive their bill at home and can then receive the HD content from another area of the state. I think this may work until the locals are available in our area.
tropicaldreamer is offline  
post #57 of 1270 Old 09-16-2003, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
You can do that, but all you're going to get in HD is CBS. E* and CBS have an agreement to allow this in cities with O&O stations as Detroit is. You will never see NBC, ABC and others allowing this.

Best advice, get the best antenna you can afford, a great pre-amp, and enjoy free OTA.
Matt L is online now  
post #58 of 1270 Old 09-17-2003, 05:57 AM
Member
 
tropicaldreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay City,Michigan
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not true. A friend of mine lives in Saginaw and gave them a Detroit area zip code and gets ABC,CBS,GOX,NBC,PBS,UPN,WB,IND..all on the E*system. He pays the fee for locals for the Detroit market.
tropicaldreamer is offline  
post #59 of 1270 Old 09-17-2003, 06:55 AM
Newbie
 
rnctheba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Grand Blanc, MI.
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Not true. A friend of mine lives in Saginaw and gave them a Detroit area zip code and gets ABC,CBS,GOX,NBC,PBS,UPN,WB,IND..all on the E*system. He pays the fee for locals for the Detroit market."

Matt didn't say you would not receive these stations. He said that only CBS is offered in HD.

On another subject.
I live in Davison and for the first time last night I was able to receive the Detroit Fox station (58 2-1 and 2-2). Did anyone else notice an increase in their signal.
rnctheba is offline  
post #60 of 1270 Old 09-17-2003, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,147
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
rnctheba, correct -- you can get SD stations form Detroit on E*, I've been doing that for years. As I said on CBS-HD from Detroit is available on E*. You also have to know while the SD stations are available on E* as they are on D, the quality is somewhat lacking. They tend to be a bit more compressed, causing a "blocky" or "soft" look depending on your provider. Don't get me wrong -the quality isn't that bad, but it in no way compares to a good OTA signal. I use the locals since I have a DTiVo and it makes it easy to record, but my OTA quality(analog) blows the sat. delivered stations away.
Matt L is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off