Flint, MI - HDTV - Page 37 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 28Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1247 Old 10-14-2010, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Pagoona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WNEM is now doing news in 16:9 SD.
Pagoona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1247 Old 10-23-2010, 09:37 PM
Member
 
P-Town's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone lose about 20 points on their signal in the last few days ?
P-Town is offline  
post #1083 of 1247 Old 10-26-2010, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
justtravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone let Comcast in Flint, MI know that Channel 761, TEAM HD, is part of the NBA League Pass? It's frustrating to not receive that channel when I pay for it. The HD channel should be included with the other 10 channels!
justtravis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1084 of 1247 Old 12-27-2010, 02:36 PM
Member
 
MonkeyWrench32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chesaning, MI
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Cool TV is now live on WSMH 66-2.

Info about the programming: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TheCoolTV
MonkeyWrench32 is offline  
post #1085 of 1247 Old 12-29-2010, 06:34 PM
Member
 
P-Town's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyWrench32 View Post

The Cool TV is now live on WSMH 66-2.

Info about the programming: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TheCoolTV

Thanks! I'll have to re-scan when I get home.
P-Town is offline  
post #1086 of 1247 Old 12-29-2010, 07:14 PM
Newbie
 
folsomlqxdf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can read their extension letter in PDF format on the fcc website. If you search for DTV and MI, they are the last one to file. In this request they break down their problems in excruciating detail. I didn't get the PM, they seem to take a while to get to me.
Great!
folsomlqxdf is offline  
post #1087 of 1247 Old 12-31-2010, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Bozzmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Which station are you speaking of?
Bozzmonster is offline  
post #1088 of 1247 Old 01-03-2011, 11:30 AM
Member
 
KKoepp31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comedy Central HD has been added on Charter in the Saginaw area. I was hoping for a larger batch of HD additions, much like the six new ones we got about this time last year, but so far Charter seems happy to be well behind the competition.
KKoepp31 is offline  
post #1089 of 1247 Old 02-15-2011, 09:15 AM
Member
 
itsloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I can't for the life of me get my Windows Media Center 7 to tune in WSMH HD. During the scan it shows up, but before the scan is over, it disappears. I have tried 2 tuners, a AverTV Duet, and a Hauppauge 2250, same issue with both.

Both my TV's in the house pick it up at 66.1. If I try to manually tune it in on WMC 7, there is no signal. Get 66.2 no problem.

This is on Charter btw.

No one?
itsloud is offline  
post #1090 of 1247 Old 03-11-2011, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Gene Bosetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Madison Heights. Michigan & Pt Austin, Michigan
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Talked to my neighbor up in Pt Austin and was told that Comcast is going all digital. Evidently if you have a digital set (with Qam) a rescan will give you the existing channels. If the set is analogue an adapter is needed. From what I heard this will be effective in April
Gene Bosetti is offline  
post #1091 of 1247 Old 06-02-2011, 07:54 AM
Newbie
 
MVanDam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Lapeer, MI
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone having issues with WEYI 25? I am getting a black screen on 25-1 but showing a signal strength in the upper 80's. This is both directly from antenna to TV as well as through my TiVo HD.
MVanDam is offline  
post #1092 of 1247 Old 06-02-2011, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Bozzmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The WEYI transmitter was struck by lightning during this past weekend's storms. They suggest rescanning. See link below.

http://www.connectmidmichigan.com/ne...aspx?id=623710
Bozzmonster is offline  
post #1093 of 1247 Old 06-03-2011, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
MVanDam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Lapeer, MI
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. I will rescan later.
MVanDam is offline  
post #1094 of 1247 Old 06-10-2011, 12:49 AM
Member
 
P-Town's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody been able to get any NBC programming? 46.1 CW seems fine but that's it for me, no 30.3.

Edit: 25.2 is in HD currently.
P-Town is offline  
post #1095 of 1247 Old 07-13-2011, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Bozzmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Looks like WEYI completed their repairs yesterday. 25.1 (WEYI featuring NBC programming) and 25.2 (WEYI CW) are showing up in their normal places. Both are in 720p.
Bozzmonster is offline  
post #1096 of 1247 Old 09-27-2011, 01:12 PM
Member
 
otafreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody up in the Flint area able to pull in CBET 9-1 DT since their conversion on September 1st? Down here in the Holly area I'm getting them at 7/10 bars on my Samsung...
otafreak is offline  
post #1097 of 1247 Old 02-25-2012, 05:35 PM
Member
 
P-Town's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otafreak View Post

Anybody up in the Flint area able to pull in CBET 9-1 DT since their conversion on September 1st? Down here in the Holly area I'm getting them at 7/10 bars on my Samsung...

I wish! Too far away
P-Town is offline  
post #1098 of 1247 Old 07-25-2013, 03:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Essexville, MI
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone else in the Great Lakes Bay Area lose their Clear QAM channels on Charter? A couple of rescans didn't work...Cablecard works OK.

- Jim

-- Jim
jmallory is offline  
post #1099 of 1247 Old 07-26-2013, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Eckerput's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have mine in Midland, MI.
Eckerput is offline  
post #1100 of 1247 Old 07-27-2013, 06:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Essexville, MI
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eckerput View Post

I still have mine in Midland, MI.

Interesting...I have done several scans on several televisions plus my HDHomerun and have yet to to find them (I may have to try it again). I did pick up a Cablecard Self-Install kit from the Bay City office and have an InfiniTV6 ETH on the way so either way I am back to having more than four tuners by Tuesday.

-- Jim
jmallory is offline  
post #1101 of 1247 Old 07-29-2013, 11:11 AM
Member
 
Eckerput's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If this happens in Midland, I may have to finally go over the air for my locals, otherwise I'll lose 4 of my 7 tuners.
Eckerput is offline  
post #1102 of 1247 Old 09-22-2013, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge (Lower Michigan)
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I sent a request to WNEM 5 to see if they'd put Antenna Tv http://antennatv.tv/ on 5-3, since there's never been anything on that sub carrier. They just said there were no plans to do so. WXMI which carries AntennaTv, is 93 miles from here, and I'm surrounded by 90ft trees I have no hope of ever shooting over the top of.

I know this thread basically appears to be dead, but I'm hoping some others in this area might also like to see AntennaTv, and would place a request with WNEM or one of the other stations to see if we can get them to carry it. Maybe if enough people request it, they'd consider it. Our DMA really doesn't have much in the way of older programming t shows, and it's time they do so.

Anybody else willing to request this along with me?

Here's the contact info I used:
Quote:
Contacting Specific Departments

Programming: For questions or comments about any program (excluding news) on WNEM TV5, contact our Creative Service Director at [email protected]

Thanks!
Primestar31 is offline  
post #1103 of 1247 Old 12-22-2013, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Essexville, MI
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if Charter added the additional HD channels they put in last month's bill or the current channel lineup on the web page? There were a fair number of adds. No NHL Network HD though....the last one I really, really, want.

-- Jim
jmallory is offline  
post #1104 of 1247 Old 12-22-2013, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Essexville, MI
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Add a big channel realignment as well...

-- Jim
jmallory is offline  
post #1105 of 1247 Old 12-23-2013, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
oriolesmagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Charter is adding tons of HD channels as they do their digital conversions, and Michigan has been one of the earlier markets, starting in Saginaw. For some reason, while so many things are being added, NHL Network is not one that is. Since it's carried in SD through most of Charter's footprint, it's one of the more likely ones to come I think.

As Charter goes digital in Mt. Pleasant, they're getting 10 additional HD channels that Saginaw didn't get. I would figure they'll go back and get those channels to previously converted markets as new deals are made. The goal of what will ultimately be called Charter Spectrum is to have 200 HD channels. Nobody has got there yet, so there's another 15-20 HD channels that will be added somewhere. And I would think NHL Network, considering its already carried status, is at the top of that list.
oriolesmagic is offline  
post #1106 of 1247 Old 01-27-2015, 02:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge (Lower Michigan)
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I see this thread is still pretty dead.

Wjrt 12 recently added MeTv to 12.2. Great channel and classic shows!
Primestar31 is offline  
post #1107 of 1247 Old 03-26-2015, 10:38 AM
Member
 
jcapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Byron, MI
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone still here???

I am not in the Byron Area.. Trying to get a new antenna up and tower..

Anyone know of any place to get a cheap tower? I have tried craigslist, but never seems to pan out.
jcapone is offline  
post #1108 of 1247 Old 04-04-2015, 01:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge (Lower Michigan)
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 92
WNEM tv 5 just started broadcasting Cozi Tv (retro-programming) on their .3 subchannel! Yep, the subchannel they've been broadcasting dead-air on for years! Unfortunately, they either aren't providing guide data to Dish Network, or Dish Network is not passing through that guide date to their subscribers with dvr's. That makes it hard to easily record shows. This way, you have to set manual timers for everything.

http://www.cozitv.com/

I sent and email to Wnem, asking if they could contact Dish and request them to pass that guide data through. If others here have Dish Network with the OTA module that can get OTA channels and want guide data on their Dish receiver, perhaps they also would be willing to contact Wnem to see if they can get Dish to do it?

My email went to these two people, and I got these addresses right off of wnem.com webpage, so they are public:
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

Last edited by Primestar31; 04-04-2015 at 01:46 AM.
Primestar31 is offline  
post #1109 of 1247 Old 08-08-2015, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge (Lower Michigan)
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Wakey, wakey, eggs and bac-ey!


Is nobody in the Flint-Saginaw-Bay City DMA alive out there, except for me?


I'm up in Sanford, and I've got all the OTA local channels locked and working pretty well, with the exception of WJRT-12 VHF, which is only about 39 miles away from me. I want to dump Dish Network and go OTA, plus some streaming. I'm using a separate Y10-7-13 VHF antenna for 12 and that's up about 35', into a uvsj with a HDB91x UHF antenna (91xg clone) into the other side of the uvsj. That runs down to an FM filter, and then into a Kitztech kt-200-coax amplifier. Without that amp, I lose half the stations. Here's my TvFool: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e03701cb62a56 though my signals are probably far less than what that shows, due to the heavy tree cover this time of year. Channel 5 and 19 are by FAR my strongest signals, I wish all were as good as these two.


I'm in the woods, and surrounded by 85-90' trees, including pines. I have no hope of getting above or around the trees anywhere on my property. I have very strong FM stations fairly close, in fact WPRJ is only about 6 miles away, and is pretty much at the exact opposite magnetic heading that my VHF antenna is pointed at. So that station is trouble for sure without that FM filter, as my antenna is probably picking that up from the back and it's a harmonic for VHF 12.


Anyway, something still is going on with my reception of VHF 12 (even with the FM filter), and I'm just not sure what it is. It's NOT 100% of the time, it doesn't seem to happen only when the trees move in the breeze, and I just am not sure what's left to try. The video and audio breaks up and pixelates at random. My TIVO Roamio basics diagnostics, shows RS Uncorrected errors, and that climbs higher at these times. My LG tv set (which runs off the same antennas, split through a high quality 2-way splitter) shows the "quality" jumping up and down from 100% to maybe 45%, then maybe 14%, then back up to 100% at the same time that the Tivo is showing errors and pixelating. However, the "strength" never varies more than 3 points up or down at this same time. This could go on for hours, or suddenly quit for a while.


Yesterday (Friday 8/7) was pretty bad, but then the rain started later in the evening, and the problem settled down and got better as the night went along and the signal level came up 5-8 points. It just beats me as to what's going on here. I'd think if it was some sort of multipath, that it wouldn't be quite so intermittent.


Anybody have any ideas? I did try TWO FM filters in series, but it didn't seem to make a difference. I thought about some sort of electrical issue, but if it's that, I don't know what could be doing it, and why it would be intermittent. I don't have access to a spectrum analyzer that could check this, though I wish I did.

Last edited by Primestar31; 08-08-2015 at 09:41 PM.
Primestar31 is offline  
post #1110 of 1247 Old 08-10-2015, 05:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge (Lower Michigan)
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I may have cured this issue with VHF 12 above by unplugging my Harbor Freight Cen-tech $20 battery charger that was running in my garage. That thing puts out horrible RFI, and I could detect it well over 200 + feet away from my garage. I'll know more in a few days.

Ok, unplugging the charger above did help with radio reception for sure, as well as replacing a Dell Latitude E6410 90watt laptop power supply that was causing my tv's antenna "quality" to jump all over on VHF Wjrt-12. This would happen if the charger was plugged into the wall AND the laptop, while the laptop was booted and running. If I unplugged the power supply from the laptop, the quality signal would immediately settle down and go to 100%.

This issue is cured, even though I still want to get my antenna signals UP a little higher, for better "fade margin" during bad weather days.

Last edited by Primestar31; 08-11-2015 at 05:53 PM.
Primestar31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off