Seattle, WA - OTA - Page 349 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 102Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10441 of 10472 Old 08-30-2018, 01:18 PM
Member
 
valvashon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdvegas View Post
A last minute change of plans for KVOS-12 Bellingham. That station will launch Start TV from CBS, but on their new 12.5 sub-channel. This change allows KVOS to keep Decades on 12.4. Start will also appear on KSTW 11.2. KFFV will have Decades on their 44.4.
As of today (8/30) Decades is currently on 44-4 and 11-2; that of course will probably change.

Val
rdvegas likes this.
valvashon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10442 of 10472 Old 09-28-2018, 09:31 AM
Member
 
SeattleSounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Has anyone in the Seattle area been able to receive any of the Canadian stations from Vancouver? I'm specifically interested in CBC, but interested if any OTA antennas are strong enough to pick up any signals from Canada.
SeattleSounder is offline  
post #10443 of 10472 Old 09-29-2018, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Valley of the Jolly Green Giant
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleSounder View Post
Has anyone in the Seattle area been able to receive any of the Canadian stations from Vancouver? I'm specifically interested in CBC, but interested if any OTA antennas are strong enough to pick up any signals from Canada.
doesnt look like the signal is remotely close to Seattle
https://www.rabbitears.info/contour_...0&site=0&map=Y
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10444 of 10472 Old 10-17-2018, 10:57 AM
Member
 
toomeypj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: state of WA, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I live on the Olympic Peninsula about 20 miles west of Seattle. My house is on a hill about 300' high facing Vancouver and the towers are 98 miles from my house. With a Clearstream 4V antenna and an RCA preamp, I am able to reliably receive CBC 2-1, CIVT (32-2), and CIVT-2 (17-1) as well as the French speaking channels. This is at only one hotspot location on my property on my garage roof. I only found this hotspot by walking the roof with the 4V antenna and a portable TV.
With the hill in back of me I am currently having a few dropouts with my HDB8X 8-bay antenna facing Seattle which is 28 miles east. Can't wait for the leaves to fall, then things will improve.

Antenna height is not everything though, at my son's condo in Everett (which is at an elevation of 550') has trouble receiving the Seattle stations reliably with a Clearstream 2V. The hills and trees are the worst obstacle to OTA reception in the Seattle area.
rdvegas and Panson like this.
toomeypj is offline  
post #10445 of 10472 Old 10-18-2018, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by toomeypj View Post
I live on the Olympic Peninsula about 20 miles west of Seattle. My house is on a hill about 300' high facing Vancouver and the towers are 98 miles from my house. With a Clearstream 4V antenna and an RCA preamp, I am able to reliably receive CBC 2-1, CIVT (32-2), and CIVT-2 (17-1) as well as the French speaking channels. This is at only one hotspot location on my property on my garage roof. I only found this hotspot by walking the roof with the 4V antenna and a portable TV.
With the hill in back of me I am currently having a few dropouts with my HDB8X 8-bay antenna facing Seattle which is 28 miles east. Can't wait for the leaves to fall, then things will improve.

Antenna height is not everything though, at my son's condo in Everett (which is at an elevation of 550') has trouble receiving the Seattle stations reliably with a Clearstream 2V. The hills and trees are the worst obstacle to OTA reception in the Seattle area.

Consider yourself lucky you don't live in the San Francisco market.

Yopur son must live in north Everett. Reception in South Everett is a breeze for Seattle reception and much of the BC stations as well.

Will the last subscriber leaving Dish Network please turn off the satellite.
rdvegas is online now  
post #10446 of 10472 Old 10-18-2018, 10:22 AM
Member
 
toomeypj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: state of WA, USA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdvegas View Post
Consider yourself lucky you don't live in the San Francisco market.

Yopur son must live in north Everett. Reception in South Everett is a breeze for Seattle reception and much of the BC stations as well.
Nope, my son lives in south Everett, near Airport Road and I-5. The Clearstream 2V is in a 3rd floor condo; but I tried using it outside on the deck and still had problems with some Seattle channels. He gets about 8 channels, I get over 50 channels (many are duplicates and some I don't watch).
toomeypj is offline  
post #10447 of 10472 Old 11-02-2018, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,



I live in Bothell and have an attic mounted clearstream 2v antenna. I have been having this for about a year now and have received all the local channels fine. KCPQ was the lowest in signal strength and it appears twice on the channel list. Initially, the first occurrence had a better signal around registering 70% and the second one (RF 22?) around 60%. About 6 months back, the signal strength on the first instance dropped to < 50% and now for the last two weeks or so, the second instance on 13.1 has dropped to <10% with it appearing mostly as loss of signal.



Does anyone know if something changed for 13.1? Anyone else experiencing issues as well?


Thanks!
rajeshk is offline  
post #10448 of 10472 Old 11-04-2018, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajeshk View Post
Does anyone know if something changed for 13.1?
Both have seemed stable here. Line of sight here, however.
rndmize is offline  
post #10449 of 10472 Old 11-13-2018, 09:53 AM
Member
 
valvashon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
As far as I know there has been no power drop at the Gold Mountain transmit location, where the KCPQ RF 13 signal comes from (the "first instance" of your 13.1 signal). Since is was weaker anyway there may have been some change in your antenna system or some new tree or vegetation growth between you and Gold Mountain.

For the second instance of your 13.1 signal (the KCPQ-LP signal on RF 22 from Capitol Hill) we experienced a failure of our transmitter about two weeks ago. It was being physically moved within the building to accommodate the new equipment being brought in to facilitate the channel re-pack next year. When powered back up, the transmitter failed and would only put out about 40% of the power it was supposed to. It had not been powered down in many years and this shut down caused it to fail. We brought in a replacement transmitter from one of our translator sites but discovered that transmitter had a failed touch screen, meaning that we were unable to do any adjustments on it. The support for this transmitter from the manufacturer is weak at best; the replacement touch screen we had built (everything is custom made now; there are no off the shelf parts still available) was defective so that has been sent back. Once that screen comes in we can properly configure the spare transmitter and put it on the air at 100% power, bringing us back up to the rated ERP (effective radiated power) of 15 KW.

After that we will send back the defective board for the original transmitter and put that back on the air when it gets repaired. We are expecting to be at full power with the KCPQ-LP signal at RF 22 by next week at the latest. Thank you for your patience.

Val
rdvegas and rndmize like this.
valvashon is offline  
post #10450 of 10472 Old 11-15-2018, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Antenna install in Puyallup, attic, 25-30ft height

Hi guys. I've been doing OTA with basic "antenna" for the past decade. None of the gimmicky antennas ever seemed to do well. I've had better luck with filing down the end of a coat hanger and popping it into the jack, or just using a basic fm antenna that came with my old Sony receiver.

But now I live within 30-50 miles of the majority of the towers, can install in my attic and don't really have to compete with hills or mountains. My location is 98373. I cannot get tvfool to load today, I know you guys like to have that. I'll update when possible.

As you might notice, there is less than 90 degrees difference in direction between towers. 294-17 degrees. I get the stations at 17degrees no problem with a Mohu Leaf that i have set in my west facing window.

I'm wondering what type of antenna would best fit my application. I'll have it in the attic, then going to a splitter/distribution block in the master closet, roughly 7-20 feet away (7 feet if I mount right above closet, 20 feet if i mount antenna the furthest north possible). The furnace is in the attic, so there may be power up there if I need to run an amp. I've been reading a bit on here and am seeing amps are not always needed and can reduce channels due to overload--Definitely don't want that.
clk1986 is offline  
post #10451 of 10472 Old 11-15-2018, 01:09 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,590
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2084 Post(s)
Liked: 3962
Might start by reading the posts at the top that say "Read Before Posting." Especially this one we put up there for all antenna help requests:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hd...-1st-post.html

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #10452 of 10472 Old 11-15-2018, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,140
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Welcome to the forum, clk1986
I can't get TVFool to do a report either today. If you give me your address in a PM to protect your identity, I can do a more accurate report. Meanwhile, here are two reports from other sites based on your zip code in
Puyallup, WA 98373





Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	clk1986AVSmap.JPG
Views:	292
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	2483444   Click image for larger version

Name:	clk1986AVSreportRE.JPG
Views:	294
Size:	200.4 KB
ID:	2483448   Click image for larger version

Name:	clk1986AVSreportFCC.jpg
Views:	303
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	2483450  
Panson likes this.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 11-15-2018 at 05:28 PM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #10453 of 10472 Old 11-16-2018, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,140
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by clk1986 View Post
But now I live within 30-50 miles of the majority of the towers, can install in my attic and don't really have to compete with hills or mountains. My location is 98373. I cannot get tvfool to load today, I know you guys like to have that. I'll update when possible.
As you might notice, there is less than 90 degrees difference in direction between towers. 294-17 degrees. I get the stations at 17degrees no problem with a Mohu Leaf that i have set in my west facing window.
Looks like the reports that I did were a little off for your location. We will not be able to give you good advice without a better idea of your location.

Are those directions True or Magnetic?
TVFool is still down.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 11-16-2018 at 07:42 AM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #10454 of 10472 Old 11-16-2018, 11:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleSounder View Post
Has anyone in the Seattle area been able to receive any of the Canadian stations from Vancouver? I'm specifically interested in CBC, but interested if any OTA antennas are strong enough to pick up any signals from Canada.
I haven't gotten CBC since I lived on Whidbey, in an area called "Rolling Hills" with pretty good line of sight, but even then it wasn't great reception.
clk1986 is offline  
post #10455 of 10472 Old 11-16-2018, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
curtisb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Western WA
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 75
FYI 9.4 has recently shown up. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_(TV_channel).
HDHR's guide doesn't have any info nor does Plex though it is now showing on antennaweb.org with data so titantv guide data is available.
curtisb is offline  
post #10456 of 10472 Old 11-16-2018, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,140
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Thank you for the additional information by PM. Here are two new reports that should be more accurate,





Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	clk1986AVSmap2.JPG
Views:	284
Size:	151.3 KB
ID:	2483840   Click image for larger version

Name:	clk1986AVSreportFCC2.jpg
Views:	289
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	2483842   Click image for larger version

Name:	clk1986AVSreportRE2.JPG
Views:	279
Size:	196.0 KB
ID:	2483844  

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 11-16-2018 at 03:35 PM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #10457 of 10472 Old 11-16-2018, 03:55 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,590
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2084 Post(s)
Liked: 3962
Merged with existing Seattle thread.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #10458 of 10472 Old 11-16-2018, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,140
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by clk1986 View Post
.....I live within 30-50 miles of the majority of the towers, can install in my attic and don't really have to compete with hills or mountains. My location is 98373.

As you might notice, there is less than 90 degrees difference in direction between towers. 294-17 degrees. I get the stations at 17degrees no problem with a Mohu Leaf that i have set in my west facing window.
Those directions must be magnetic, because the magnetic declination in your area is about minus 15 degrees.
Quote:
I'm wondering what type of antenna would best fit my application. I'll have it in the attic, then going to a splitter/distribution block in the master closet, roughly 7-20 feet away (7 feet if I mount right above closet, 20 feet if i mount antenna the furthest north possible).
The only antenna that I know of with a beanwidth that wide is the Antennas Direct C2V. The signal loss in an attic is difficult to predict, you must make some tests with just one TV before splitting.
Quote:
The furnace is in the attic, so there may be power up there if I need to run an amp. I've been reading a bit on here and am seeing amps are not always needed and can reduce channels due to overload--Definitely don't want that.
Make sure the furnace isn't in front of the antenna and blocking the signals. Try it without a preamp first. If you need a preamp, you don't have to have AC in the attic, the preamp power can be fed up the coax downlead from the preamp power inserter down below.

If the dipole for the VHF-High channels, real channels 7-13, isn't sufficient, you can add a VHF antenna and combine it with the C2V using a UVSJ. If the antenna doesn't work in the attic, you will have to put it outside.

There are many channel changes coming because of UHF Repack by the FCC:
https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...h=&lss=&status=

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 11-16-2018 at 06:53 PM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #10459 of 10472 Old 11-17-2018, 07:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,140
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by clk1986 View Post
But now I live within 30-50 miles of the majority of the towers, can install in my attic and don't really have to compete with hills or mountains. My location is 98373. I cannot get tvfool to load today, I know you guys like to have that. I'll update when possible.

As you might notice, there is less than 90 degrees difference in direction between towers. 294-17 degrees. I get the stations at 17degrees no problem with a Mohu Leaf that i have set in my west facing window.
TVFool is up this morning; here is your report:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90383dc05b455f

In case it doesn't stay up, here is an image:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	clk1986AVSreportNewS.JPG
Views:	275
Size:	233.1 KB
ID:	2484028  
Panson likes this.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 11-17-2018 at 07:06 AM.
rabbit73 is online now  
post #10460 of 10472 Old 11-18-2018, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
Indycanard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just moved from the "big city" to the sticks. As is no cable service etc. I could go satellite, but thinking of cutting the cord (as if there is a cord to cut now). I'm in Lake Stevens, specifically Frontier Airpark (near intersection of 120th St NE and 125th Ave NE, Lake Stevens 98258). Ground elevation is appx 470ft. I've been told by the locals that HDTV reception is difficult/impossible, but I thought before giving up, I'd get some advice. I'd like to get the Seattle HDTV sources.

Do I have a chance up here? If yes, what type of antennas would give me the best shot. I'll mount at the top of my hangar, maybe 50ft off the ground total.

Thanks for the help.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9038a167ca72b4

Last edited by Indycanard; 11-18-2018 at 07:37 PM.
Indycanard is offline  
post #10461 of 10472 Old 12-13-2018, 05:55 AM
Member
 
valvashon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajeshk View Post
Hi,



I live in Bothell and have an attic mounted clearstream 2v antenna. I have been having this for about a year now and have received all the local channels fine. KCPQ was the lowest in signal strength and it appears twice on the channel list. Initially, the first occurrence had a better signal around registering 70% and the second one (RF 22?) around 60%. About 6 months back, the signal strength on the first instance dropped to < 50% and now for the last two weeks or so, the second instance on 13.1 has dropped to <10% with it appearing mostly as loss of signal.



Does anyone know if something changed for 13.1? Anyone else experiencing issues as well?

Thanks!
As of yesterday (12/12/18) afternoon the KCPQ LP/RF 22 (13.1) signal is back to full licensed power from our Capitol Hill tower site. Our transmitter engineer was finally able to get the correct parts and get our spare transmitter in working order and up to full power. The delays were caused by the poor support for this transmitter from what is left of the manufacturer. It seems as if some replacement parts or repairs are being made by former employees in their basement shop for some spare cash. Really. So now we are sending the part that failed from the original transmitter and will put that back into service when it is ready. I would imagine that some weekday afternoon in the future the signal will disappear for a couple of hours as the transmitters are switched out.

Val
rdvegas likes this.
valvashon is offline  
post #10462 of 10472 Old 12-13-2018, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by valvashon View Post
As of yesterday (12/12/18) afternoon the KCPQ LP/RF 22 (13.1) signal is back to full licensed power from our Capitol Hill tower site. Our transmitter engineer was finally able to get the correct parts and get our spare transmitter in working order and up to full power. The delays were caused by the poor support for this transmitter from what is left of the manufacturer. It seems as if some replacement parts or repairs are being made by former employees in their basement shop for some spare cash. Really. So now we are sending the part that failed from the original transmitter and will put that back into service when it is ready. I would imagine that some weekday afternoon in the future the signal will disappear for a couple of hours as the transmitters are switched out.

Val

Thanks much for the update, I will check tonight to see if signal has improved.
rajeshk is offline  
post #10463 of 10472 Old 02-26-2019, 03:01 PM
Member
 
valvashon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
KONG- with Bounce?

I noticed that the Titan TV listings show now show Bounce on KONG 16.2 but I don't see it on either of my TV's. I will do a rescan on the big one to make sure, but usually new subchannels just show up (or disappear) without having to do that.


Is this supposed to be coming on or does somebody have their wires crossed?


Val
valvashon is offline  
post #10464 of 10472 Old 02-27-2019, 03:16 PM
Member
 
valvashon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
KONG- now with Bounce!

Just turned the kitchen TV on and found that 16-2 is now Bounce. Not sure if it's in SD or HD, haven't checked the big TV yet.


Update- 16.1 is still in 1080i and 16.2 is in 720p. The program guide or listings or whatever you want to call it are correct on my little tube SD TV in the kitchen but on the big HDTV 16.2 still shows the same listing as 16.1.


It's and LG, is there anything I need to do to update the guide?



Val

Last edited by valvashon; 02-27-2019 at 07:33 PM.
valvashon is offline  
post #10465 of 10472 Old 03-09-2019, 07:57 AM
Member
 
valvashon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
There oddly appears to be some previous responses to my guide question (by others) missing. It was suggested that zap2it.com was being used by my LG as the basis for program information; their info comes from Gracenote and was incorrect on their website (16.2 was shown as a mirror of 16.1). They may have responded to my inquiry about 16.2 or may have figured it out for themselves, but now 16.2 has the Bounce schedule in the guide on the TV.



Thanks for that tip- I didn't know that guide info sometimes came from the internet!

Val
valvashon is offline  
post #10466 of 10472 Old 04-16-2019, 10:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Google searchs suggest seattle dma might get sinclair atsc 3.0 in 2019 or 2020. Will it require a new rooftop antenna for atsc 3.0 ? I am in unincorporated lynnwood 98036 brier near hilltop elementary north of bothell. Is there anything in picture quality improvements in atsc 3.0 for a consumer to look forward to ?
LHenton is offline  
post #10467 of 10472 Old 04-16-2019, 10:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I should probably add that i have been reading about atsc 3.0 since 2016. Am aware of the hypotheticals. Wondering if the 20 dma's in first batch of sinclair atsc 3.0 might get 1080p at considerable bit rate ? Or. Is it all about ads ? Any hope for 2160p ? Any forecast for seattle area design implementation of ota atsc 3.0 ?
LHenton is offline  
post #10468 of 10472 Old 04-17-2019, 05:50 AM
Member
 
Chris Arnesen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LHenton View Post
Google searchs suggest seattle dma might get sinclair atsc 3.0 in 2019 or 2020. Will it require a new rooftop antenna for atsc 3.0 ? I am in unincorporated lynnwood 98036 brier near hilltop elementary north of bothell. Is there anything in picture quality improvements in atsc 3.0 for a consumer to look forward to ?
ATSC 3.0 utilizes the same frequencies in the VHF and UHF bands that ATSC 1.0 currently uses, so no new antenna is needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LHenton View Post
I should probably add that i have been reading about atsc 3.0 since 2016. Am aware of the hypotheticals. Wondering if the 20 dma's in first batch of sinclair atsc 3.0 might get 1080p at considerable bit rate ? Or. Is it all about ads ? Any hope for 2160p ? Any forecast for seattle area design implementation of ota atsc 3.0 ?
Initially the focus will be providing the same services (TV channels) that you currently watch -- most likely in the same resolution. ATSC 3.0 allows broadcasters to encode in HEVC (H.265) and the standard supports up to 2160p, so yes there could be 4K UHD content in the future.

--Chris, KU7PDX
Chris Arnesen is offline  
post #10469 of 10472 Old 04-17-2019, 05:57 AM
Senior Member
 
dhett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 98
ATSC 3.0 will not require a new antenna, as it still broadcasts via radio waves, just like ATSC 1.0, and just like NTSC (analog). However, I'm sure that antenna manufacturers will try to dupe the public into thinking they need a new antenna, just as they did with the digital conversion (although there was a smidgin of truth there, as broadcasters formerly on VHF, especially low VHF, were moving to UHF, and a lot of viewers had VHF-only antennas).


The conversion to ATSC 3.0 will occur on existing channels. Broadcasters will collaborate to share signals on ATSC 1.0 stations and on ATSC 3.0 stations. It should be, for the most part, imperceptible to the general public.
rdvegas likes this.
dhett is offline  
post #10470 of 10472 Old 04-17-2019, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Thanksfor the information. Hope something good comes from voluntary atsc 3.0 ota in a few years.
LHenton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
antenna , puyallup , tacoma

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off