Wilmington, NC - HDTV - Page 82 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 30Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 2558 Old 06-25-2019, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eastern NC, Onslow Co. Jacksonville
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Look here for any info on more channels coming on air... Just because they are listed, doesn't really guarantee they will go live though. https://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?mktid=166


Channel 12's coverage area does reach Wrightsville, so a better VHF antenna with gain to it would likely bring it in consistently. Those dipole antennas are no better than rabbit ears, and have little to no gain, and are not directional to grab more signal.


20- 25 feet is not bad at all for an antenna install, especially with open flat terrain.


I would guess that the people near Kinston are trying to watch ABC 11 WTVD from Durham? Not really a need for large VHF antennas around that area since analog went off. Maybe they were trying to watch channel 5 and 6 more than 10 years ago? Do you mean those low band antennas that look like an arrow with many long elements?


STL was indicating a "satellite". Maybe it's out of position. Satellites and microwave dishes need to be aimed just so or you will get "no signal" on the receiver. I don't know if they get the signal from Kinston since that is where they broadcast from I believe.
jspENC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 2558 Old 06-25-2019, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,912
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1696 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
STL was indicating a "satellite". Maybe it's out of position.
In the TV business, STL generally means "studio-transmitter link". That's what I thought you meant, which also seemed like a possibility.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2433 of 2558 Old 06-25-2019, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eastern NC, Onslow Co. Jacksonville
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
In the TV business, STL generally means "studio-transmitter link". That's what I thought you meant, which also seemed like a possibility.

- Trip

Oh, OK. Yep, it could be either one, but with the screen saying "No Signal", it seems like the satellite receiver has no signal from a dish. I''ve seen this happen when it rains on many of the sub channels.
jspENC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2434 of 2558 Old 06-25-2019, 02:42 PM
Member
 
tbritt2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You talking about this?


https://www.newark.com/stellar-labs/...ecSingleItem_3


And this?


https://www.newark.com/stellar-labs/...a-294357559827


There is another Stellars antenna that is larger. This one is 60 inches. Plug Clearstream antenna in UHF side and Stellars into VHF? Then cable to house and 4 tvs into Combined output? I have an amplifier plugged into an outlet in a spare room. I don't see that a cable comes with the Stellars antenna. Do you know if one does? I guess I should ask, will this work as Ive described? Probably more complicated. This seems too easy.
tbritt2112 is offline  
post #2435 of 2558 Old 06-25-2019, 02:48 PM
Member
 
tbritt2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The antennas I saw out in country otw to Kinston were similar to this.


https://www.channelmaster.com/Digita..._p/cm-3018.htm
tbritt2112 is offline  
post #2436 of 2558 Old 06-25-2019, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eastern NC, Onslow Co. Jacksonville
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbritt2112 View Post
You talking about this?


https://www.newark.com/stellar-labs/...ecSingleItem_3


And this?


https://www.newark.com/stellar-labs/...a-294357559827


There is another Stellars antenna that is larger. This one is 60 inches. Plug Clearstream antenna in UHF side and Stellars into VHF? Then cable to house and 4 tvs into Combined output? I have an amplifier plugged into an outlet in a spare room. I don't see that a cable comes with the Stellars antenna. Do you know if one does? I guess I should ask, will this work as Ive described? Probably more complicated. This seems too easy.

Yes. I have no experience with that combiner though. It is probably just fine, but you could research and see if anyone has discussed it anywhere... I use the Radio Shack gold combiner myself.



You take the combiner to your antenna pole, and use two cables to hook the two antennas directly to it, and then go out of the combiner to either an amp, grounding block or splitter from there. No cables usually come with these things, so a couple of 5 ft pieces of cable would be needed. It's no more difficult than you think it is. No cable comes with the antenna. I have this same antenna and it does work really well, but I just didn't need it here for VHF. One dipole gets WNCT and WCTI just fine.
jspENC is offline  
post #2437 of 2558 Old 06-26-2019, 01:49 PM
Member
 
tbritt2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would this antenna be good for my location from the New Bern area? According to TV Fool, Im about 68 miles from that tower. Are there other stations in that direction I will be getting in addition to WCTI? Its hard to tell from the pic of the antenna, but Im guessing the antenna has a female port for the coax cable?
tbritt2112 is offline  
post #2438 of 2558 Old 06-26-2019, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eastern NC, Onslow Co. Jacksonville
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I doubt you would get anything else from New Bern or Greenville with any consistency. You might get WNCT 9 (10) since it is VHF also, and in the same direction, but it probably will only come in at night and in the morning (tower is a few miles further away). They have Get TV, CW HD, CBS. Either the smaller or larger version would be much better than a dipole. It has a built in balun box, so no balun is necessary. Screw on fitting.
jspENC is offline  
post #2439 of 2558 Old 06-26-2019, 02:23 PM
Member
 
tbritt2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok. But I should get WCTI with no problem? I know there are 5 or 6 stations there. I know one is an ABC station and the other I remember is COMET. There are a couple more but I don't remember what they are.
tbritt2112 is offline  
post #2440 of 2558 Old 06-26-2019, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eastern NC, Onslow Co. Jacksonville
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbritt2112 View Post
Ok. But I should get WCTI with no problem? I know there are 5 or 6 stations there. I know one is an ABC station and the other I remember is COMET. There are a couple more but I don't remember what they are.

I don't have a crystal ball, all you can do is try it. There are stations I have issues with that are only 40 some miles away. 12 has Comet, Movies! and TBD.
jspENC is offline  
post #2441 of 2558 Old 06-27-2019, 07:54 AM
Member
 
tbritt2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man the tv waves were coming in from all over early this morning. I was getting WRAL, WCTI, WFXB, WITN, I was getting a couple channels in the 2's (2.1) 28.2, 25.4, 22.1, 21.7, 9.2, 7.1 also. It was crazy. Wonder what was goin on?

Anyway, I'll try that antenna sometime in the near future.
tbritt2112 is offline  
post #2442 of 2558 Old 06-27-2019, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eastern NC, Onslow Co. Jacksonville
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbritt2112 View Post
Man the tv waves were coming in from all over early this morning. I was getting WRAL, WCTI, WFXB, WITN, I was getting a couple channels in the 2's (2.1) 28.2, 25.4, 22.1, 21.7, 9.2, 7.1 also. It was crazy. Wonder what was goin on?

Anyway, I'll try that antenna sometime in the near future.

Funny you could get WITN! I couldn't!


Tropospheric ducting. It happens quite often near the coast. If you enjoy scanning, and finding more channels, you could get a rotor. I've found that it just takes turning an antenna an inch to find different channels in these conditions.
jspENC is offline  
post #2443 of 2558 Old 06-27-2019, 08:11 AM
Member
 
tbritt2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My GF put me on to this early this morning. She has an indoor antenna and did a scan to find that she was getting channels she usually doesnt. She was right as the joint was jumping this morning. Several of the channels were gone by the time I left for work.

I think I will try the larger of the antennas we spoke about. One is 60 inch and the other is 80 I believe. Would be cool to get the Greenville channels. Those are the same direction as New Bern?
tbritt2112 is offline  
post #2444 of 2558 Old 06-27-2019, 01:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eastern NC, Onslow Co. Jacksonville
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Both towers for 9 and 12 are northeast of you. They do have workers climbing those towers for the upcoming changes in September, so they will be running at reduced power sometimes... so if you install, expect some periods of no signal, especially as far out as New Hanover.
jspENC is offline  
post #2445 of 2558 Old 06-28-2019, 05:29 PM
Member
 
mans147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbritt2112 View Post
Would this antenna be good for my location from the New Bern area? According to TV Fool, Im about 68 miles from that tower. Are there other stations in that direction I will be getting in addition to WCTI? Its hard to tell from the pic of the antenna, but Im guessing the antenna has a female port for the coax cable?
FYI... I am 68 miles from the Wilmington tower and receive WWAY and WECT with about 99 percent reliability. I would think that WCTI is definitely worth a shot for you. With the right antenna setup, that is.
jspENC likes this.
mans147 is offline  
post #2446 of 2558 Old 07-16-2019, 05:09 AM
Member
 
tbritt2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WPXU was back on the air for a short time. I saw them on Sunday when I did a rescan. The signal wasn't good as it wasn't coming in very well. They seem to be back off the air now. Or, broadcasting at a reduced power.
tbritt2112 is offline  
post #2447 of 2558 Old 07-16-2019, 08:09 AM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I am down at Ocean Isle, and have been having problems with WILM-TV . Looks like the tropo effects have the opposite effect on them as it does for distant stations in that it gets 'clobbered' during the morning. What is interesting is that their signal tends to straighten itself out by around 10 am. This lets me pickup Matlock on MeTV(10.2) in the mornings, but miss the hillbillies, and etc since they are earlier in the morning! :-)



Here is a link to the tropo maps:


http://www.dxinfocentre.com/tropo.html


This time of year, they are very colorful off the coast!
jr3us is offline  
post #2448 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 06:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eastern NC, Onslow Co. Jacksonville
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbritt2112 View Post
WPXU was back on the air for a short time. I saw them on Sunday when I did a rescan. The signal wasn't good as it wasn't coming in very well. They seem to be back off the air now. Or, broadcasting at a reduced power.

WGWG 4 from Charleston is on channel 34 like WPXU, and I was picking them up earlier at 70%. I've never picked it up before. It just overrun ION.
jspENC is offline  
post #2449 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 06:56 AM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post
WGWG 4 from Charleston is on channel 34 like WPXU, and I was picking them up earlier at 70%. I've never picked it up before. It just overrun ION.

tropospheric effect for the win!


As an aside, what would be the channel 15(real) that is overrunning WILM at the delco tower?


When WILM was using channel 40, there was some station up in VA beach I believe that overran it.


Regards
jr3us is offline  
post #2450 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 07:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,912
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1696 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Right now, WRPX in Rocky Mount is probably the main culprit. After the repack, WRAZ in Raleigh will be.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2451 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 07:07 AM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thanks for the info. I figured there was a 15 around somewhere that was messing with it.
jr3us is offline  
post #2452 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 07:14 AM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Speaking of repack, I believe I saw on antennaweb that the local stations in Wilmington were moving to new channels by September. When WILM moved from 40 to 15, There was no notification on WILM that things were going to change.

Will the other stations give some notice before they switch and will they all switch on the same day?



Regards
jr3us is offline  
post #2453 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Retspin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 28
WILM is going to have a tougher time with WRAZ, RAZ will be a stronger signal than WRPX.
Retspin is offline  
post #2454 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm surprised Capitol did that to WILM.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #2455 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 09:24 AM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
I'm surprised Capitol did that to WILM.

I think they have been letting WILM fade away since they lost CBS. They haven't really changed their scheduling since CBS dropped them in Wilmington and I can't believe they have much of a share in the wilmington area.



I think WILM's only hope is to get MyNetwork or maybe CW from WWAY since CW is currently only in 480i.
jr3us is offline  
post #2456 of 2558 Old 07-17-2019, 05:33 PM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Well, I take back what I said earlier regarding announcements. I saw an announcement on wway that they were changing real channel numbers on September 6 at 12:01am.


They did not indicate what their new real channel would be, just that you need to rescan.
jr3us is offline  
post #2457 of 2558 Old 07-18-2019, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by jr3us View Post
Well, I take back what I said earlier regarding announcements. I saw an announcement on wway that they were changing real channel numbers on September 6 at 12:01am.


They did not indicate what their new real channel would be, just that you need to rescan.

It would cause more confusion in the public and a rescan is all they need to do.
Trip in VA, unclehonkey and jr3us like this.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #2458 of 2558 Old 07-18-2019, 07:00 AM
Member
 
jr3us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post
It would cause more confusion in the public and a rescan is all they need to do.

Very true! I am just glad they are starting to announce the changes.
jr3us is offline  
post #2459 of 2558 Old 07-18-2019, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by jr3us View Post
Very true! I am just glad they are starting to announce the changes.
FCC requirement.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #2460 of 2558 Old 07-18-2019, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,326
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndThenScottSays View Post
I'm surprised Capitol did that to WILM.
The FCC is the one who decided what station is moving where. But in this case Capitol allows it to happen even though WILM caused more interference to WRAZ than is allowed (cant be more than .5%)
https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...6243a967c80267
unclehonkey is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off