Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 379 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11341 of 11370 Old 12-07-2018, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Anyone know what happened to MeTVFM on 877?

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11342 of 11370 Old 12-07-2018, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 86
https://www.facebook.com/MeTVFM/
MeTV FM Radio

December 3 at 10:00 AM ·Comcast/Xfinity TV has discontinued carrying MeTVFM as of December 1. Let them know you miss hearing the station on Channel 877. In the meantime, you can still find us on your TV (on Channel 6) and on the radio at 87.7FM.
dishrich is offline  
post #11343 of 11370 Old 12-10-2018, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Merry Christmas from Comcast! Check your latest bill for price increases. Some examples: broadcast fee from $7.75 to $10.00, sports fee from $6.75 to $8.25, DTA from $5.99 to $6.99 and modem rental from $10 to $13. Some double play packages are going up too as well as other misc. fee increases and also a few decreases.
giomania likes this.
Spiderman865 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11344 of 11370 Old 12-18-2018, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 118
FS2 is now available on channel 409/1209. It's currently only SD. It's on my main box, but not my DTA, so may require Preferred or higher.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11345 of 11370 Old 12-18-2018, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another brilliant move by Comcast. It's 2018, time to stop adding the SD versions and not the HD version of channels.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #11346 of 11370 Old 12-18-2018, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 3,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 363
At this point there should be no SD channels only HD.
Spiderman865 likes this.

The best way to listen to music is in 5.1 imho.
kevin j is online now  
post #11347 of 11370 Old 12-21-2018, 05:34 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello just a note today channel 385 and channel 386 was removed from comcast channel lineup
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #11348 of 11370 Old 12-21-2018, 08:57 PM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A couple new HD news channels showed up tonight. 1115 Newsmax & 1118 i24.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #11349 of 11370 Old 12-21-2018, 10:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman865 View Post
A couple new HD news channels showed up tonight. 1115 Newsmax & 1118 i24.

Are you on X1, or a legacy box? Asking because it appears from other reports, these 2 new channels are ONLY available via X1 boxes, as they are IP-based only:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/34-hd...20-2018-a.html
dishrich is offline  
post #11350 of 11370 Old 12-22-2018, 05:36 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I’m on X1. I did notice some lag when I tuned in so I would presume they are IP delivered.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #11351 of 11370 Old 01-01-2019, 07:08 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Just a note new channel 483 AFRO
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #11352 of 11370 Old 01-02-2019, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Fuse is currently not available due to a retrans dispute.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11353 of 11370 Old 01-02-2019, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman865 View Post
I’m on X1. I did notice some lag when I tuned in so I would presume they are IP delivered.

They are...you should also be getting another IP-only channel 1495, Z-living HD.
dishrich is offline  
post #11354 of 11370 Old 01-02-2019, 01:26 PM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yep. Got that as well.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #11355 of 11370 Old 01-02-2019, 02:34 PM
Member
 
MGOMRJSURF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 13
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Z_Living but is been shut down at end of Month.
MGOMRJSURF is offline  
post #11356 of 11370 Old 01-03-2019, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGOMRJSURF View Post
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Z_Living but is been shut down at end of Month.
I think I read that may be the 'broadcast' version, but that it will remain a streaming network. Presumably, the IP version is the streaming network?


Also see this:
https://www.multichannel.com/news/z-...nel-in-january

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11357 of 11370 Old 01-08-2019, 07:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone noticed the ****ty audio tonight on Comcast's feed of the ABC network? Lots of static on the right channel. It sounds horrible! I had to use the WatchABC app in order to get better sound.
Creative Producer is offline  
post #11358 of 11370 Old 01-08-2019, 07:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creative Producer View Post
Anyone noticed the ****ty audio tonight on Comcast's feed of the ABC network? Lots of static on the right channel. It sounds horrible! I had to use the WatchABC app in order to get better sound.
And while we are on this topic.. When will Comcast eliminate the inferior AC3 audio signals on the SD only networks and replace them with the true AAC feed from the networks themselves?
Creative Producer is offline  
post #11359 of 11370 Old 01-09-2019, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I watched "The Kids are Alright" and "black-ish", and didn't notice anything.


Also, for the SD feeds, Comcast passes on the original HD audio (usually 5.1) on the stations still in HD MPEG2 (CBS, WGN, WFLD, WPWR). For those that were converted to MPEG4 (ABC, NBC, PBS), the SD audio is now plain stereo (the SD video is still MPEG2).

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11360 of 11370 Old 01-09-2019, 08:32 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creative Producer View Post
Anyone noticed the ****ty audio tonight on Comcast's feed of the ABC network? Lots of static on the right channel. It sounds horrible! I had to use the WatchABC app in order to get better sound.
Noticed it last night on my X-1 DVR during ABC World News and also later on during prime time. Are you using X-1 or legacy boxes?
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #11361 of 11370 Old 01-09-2019, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman865 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creative Producer View Post
Anyone noticed the ****ty audio tonight on Comcast's feed of the ABC network? Lots of static on the right channel. It sounds horrible! I had to use the WatchABC app in order to get better sound.
Noticed it last night on my X-1 DVR during ABC World News and also later on during prime time. Are you using X-1 or legacy boxes?
Wouldn't say it's legacy since it displays the H264 video but at the same time, it's not X1. The Xfinity stream TV app had the same issue with the audio.
Creative Producer is offline  
post #11362 of 11370 Old 01-09-2019, 12:57 PM
Member
 
windomearle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creative Producer View Post
Anyone noticed the ****ty audio tonight on Comcast's feed of the ABC network? Lots of static on the right channel. It sounds horrible! I had to use the WatchABC app in order to get better sound.
Yes. Definitely noticed it during "black-ish".
windomearle is offline  
post #11363 of 11370 Old 01-09-2019, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Funny thing, wife didn't notice it. Thought I was crazy until I told her that it was brought up here as being an issue.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #11364 of 11370 Old 01-10-2019, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 118
After watching some recordings, it's hard to tell for me about the ABC noise. It does sound a bit sibilant at times, as if maybe they have some treble boost? Has anyone checked it against OTA to see if it's Comcast or WLS? A few years ago, they seemed to have some external microphone leaking in that caused traffic sounds to be heard.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11365 of 11370 Old 01-12-2019, 05:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 118
New CLEO channel 491/1624 added. It's a normal QAM channel.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #11366 of 11370 Old 01-12-2019, 11:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
After watching some recordings, it's hard to tell for me about the ABC noise. It does sound a bit sibilant at times, as if maybe they have some treble boost? Has anyone checked it against OTA to see if it's Comcast or WLS? A few years ago, they seemed to have some external microphone leaking in that caused traffic sounds to be heard.

It's definitely Comcast because it was also apparent in the Stream app but wasn't on the WatchABC app.
Creative Producer is offline  
post #11367 of 11370 Old 01-24-2019, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 61
For the last few days my X1 cloud DVR has been flaky -- audio dropouts, a/v pauses, skips, etc.

A "restart" did not help.

Am I alone? Any solutions? How to register the complaint / issue?
R Johnson is online now  
post #11368 of 11370 Old 01-24-2019, 10:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 86
dishrich is offline  
post #11369 of 11370 Old 01-25-2019, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 61
As of this morning, I found that the DVR was back to normal functioning.
R Johnson is online now  
post #11370 of 11370 Old 01-26-2019, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone having issues with their X-1 service tonight? Legacy boxes working fine but X-1 DVR and X1 box not working.
Spiderman865 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off