Chicago, IL - Comcast - Page 381 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 20Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11401 of 11428 Old 02-25-2020, 05:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
I wonder how many true master sites there really are now. I think most of Comcast's national feeds come from Colorado, and are probably distributed via Internet links instead of satellite these days.
andyross63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11402 of 11428 Old 02-25-2020, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I wonder how many true master sites there really are now. I think most of Comcast's national feeds come from Colorado, and are probably distributed via Internet links instead of satellite these days.


I guess they don’t have a data cap problem!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #11403 of 11428 Old 03-26-2020, 05:57 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello just a note the we channel is back on
anthony ippolito is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11404 of 11428 Old 04-25-2020, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Not sure when it was added, but noticed that Comcast has added WBBM 2.3, DABL on channel 339/1177.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11405 of 11428 Old 05-04-2020, 07:28 AM
Member
 
Spiderman865's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FYI

Effective June 30, 2020, ESPN will discontinue its Goal Line and Bases Loaded services.

Effective April 21, 2020, Cleo will be available as part of Entertainment Genre Pack and Digital Starter. It will no longer be available as part of Preferred or Digital Preferred.
Spiderman865 is offline  
post #11406 of 11428 Old 05-04-2020, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
It's May 4, and I can still get Cleo on my Digital Preferred.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11407 of 11428 Old 05-18-2020, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Hey Comcast users,

Are broadcast channels 2, 11, 20, 26, 38, 62 still on the air for you? Just curious...over-the-air, they are out due to loss of power at Willis.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #11408 of 11428 Old 05-18-2020, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
dryeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quick check and yes 2 and 11 are up on my Comcast system.
sebenste likes this.
dryeye is offline  
post #11409 of 11428 Old 05-18-2020, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryeye View Post
Quick check and yes 2 and 11 are up on my Comcast system.
Thanks! Any idea about WCIU (26), WCPX (38), or WJYS (62)? Or anyone for that matter...

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #11410 of 11428 Old 05-19-2020, 04:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Just noticed that Comcast has added WMAQ 5.3 LX as channels 342/1175.
sebenste likes this.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11411 of 11428 Old 05-21-2020, 08:02 AM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello just a note WJYS 62 Channel not working
sebenste likes this.
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #11412 of 11428 Old 05-22-2020, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
They broadcast from the Willis (Sears) Tower, which still has no power. Apparently, it's the only one that Comcast doesn't have an alternate feed for.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11413 of 11428 Old 05-22-2020, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Looks like power has been restored. Reports that the stations are back OTA, and WJYS is back on Comcast.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11414 of 11428 Old 06-09-2020, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Noticed that my latest Comcast bill dropped by a little over $2. Turns out they have lowered the broadcast fee by $2, plus that made the franchise fee drop a bit, too.
giomania likes this.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11415 of 11428 Old 06-09-2020, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,987
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4570 Post(s)
Liked: 4222
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
Noticed that my latest Comcast bill dropped by a little over $2. Turns out they have lowered the broadcast fee by $2, plus that made the franchise fee drop a bit, too.
Did your Comcast area system drop a broadcast channel that might have been included in the broadcast fee?
Keenan is online now  
post #11416 of 11428 Old 06-09-2020, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
No obvious channel drops that I know of. In fact, we have gained DABL (via WBBM) and LX (via WMAQ) over the past few months.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11417 of 11428 Old 06-09-2020, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,987
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4570 Post(s)
Liked: 4222
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
No obvious channel drops that I know of. In fact, we have gained DABL (via WBBM) and LX (via WMAQ) over the past few months.
Wow, that's interesting, probably the first I've heard of Comcast lowering a broadcast fee.
Keenan is online now  
post #11418 of 11428 Old 06-10-2020, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Wow, that's interesting, probably the first I've heard of Comcast lowering a broadcast fee.
I posted this on DSL Reports, and some people from Michigan have also reported price drops of $1-$1.50.
https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r32...-broadcast-fee
andyross63 is offline  
post #11419 of 11428 Old 06-10-2020, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,987
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4570 Post(s)
Liked: 4222
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
I posted this on DSL Reports, and some people from Michigan have also reported price drops of $1-$1.50.
https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r32...-broadcast-fee
Thanks for the link. It looks like it's connected to whatever is happening with your franchise contract.
Keenan is online now  
post #11420 of 11428 Old 06-16-2020, 06:23 PM
Member
 
anthony ippolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello Just a note today channel ID is up and running
anthony ippolito is offline  
post #11421 of 11428 Old 06-17-2020, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
I have preferred and never lost it, as far as I know. I don't remember ever watching it, although I do think I may have accidentally clicked on it once or twice.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11422 of 11428 Old 07-02-2020, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Welcome to July and the resumption of our data cap.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #11423 of 11428 Old 07-03-2020, 06:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
But at least there are some changes: Cap is now 1.25T. Max overage fee is $100 (was $200). Unlimited option is now $30/month (was $50). But, you only get one 'free' month instead of two.
giomania likes this.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11424 of 11428 Old 07-03-2020, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyross63 View Post
But at least there are some changes: Cap is now 1.25T. Max overage fee is $100 (was $200). Unlimited option is now $30/month (was $50). But, you only get one 'free' month instead of two.


Thank you for the information. I had no idea, since I use e-billing and never look at them any longer.

Mark


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #11425 of 11428 Old 07-03-2020, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Thank you for the information. I had no idea, since I use e-billing and never look at them any longer.
Not reviewing your bill is a VERY bad and dangerous habit. Too often I see complaints about channel or billing changes that are usually listed in a bill a month or two before, but too many people no longer even look at the bottom line, much less the detailed bill anymore.
andyross63 is offline  
post #11426 of 11428 Old 07-03-2020, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 918 Post(s)
Liked: 730
I monitor the price monthly and it never changes except in January

I’m just slightly over $110 because I own my own equipment and have the least expensive video package


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #11427 of 11428 Old 07-07-2020, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
ncsercs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Huntley, IL
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Hi,

I live in an apartment and have Comcast.

Service is digital starter but none of the channels is in HD.

They are all in SD (480i) and the picture is OK at best.

Cable comes from the wall into a 3" x 5" box and then goes into the TV.

In Chicago area 60142 zip.

Is this 'quality' normal?

Thanks!

Nick

Every day I beat my own previous record for the number of consecutive
days I've stayed alive. - George Carlin - 1996
ncsercs is offline  
post #11428 of 11428 Old 07-08-2020, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Depending on your package, HD is a $10/month fee. The tiny box seems to be just a basic DTA? Does it even have an HDMI port? Do you have channels 187 (ABC), or 188 (NBC) as a test?
andyross63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off