Toledo, OH - HDTV - Page 67 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 2006 Old 08-18-2016, 04:19 AM
Member
 
bogart219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lot of things to consider. I now have Buckeye vip with the whole house DVR. Have four tv's. Would like to replace with something cheaper.
bogart219 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 2006 Old 08-19-2016, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogart219 View Post
Lot of things to consider. I now have Buckeye vip with the whole house DVR. Have four tv's. Would like to replace with something cheaper.
If you have coax running to all of those TVs you could implement an OTA solution easily. But I would keep one coax available for cable for your cable modem.

Other than that you would really just need a streaming solution for your TVs that aren't smart TVs like a Roku stick or Amazon Fire TV.
keysgate likes this.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #1983 of 2006 Old 08-20-2016, 05:03 AM
Member
 
bogart219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skatingrocker17 View Post
If you have coax running to all of those TVs you could implement an OTA solution easily. But I would keep one coax available for cable for your cable modem.

Other than that you would really just need a streaming solution for your TVs that aren't smart TVs like a Roku stick or Amazon Fire TV.
Thanks skat. I'm going to diagram what I have and see what you think. I'll get back here later.
bogart219 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1984 of 2006 Old 05-15-2018, 03:30 AM
Member
 
bogart219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Buckeye streaming services

Whats the scoop on this. They have two plans. Either 60/mo at 50mbps or 80/mo for 200mbps they both come with 250 GB of data.
this is for extra data
either 15/mo for an extra 150 GB or 30/mo for unlimited.
Is 50 mbps & 250 gb good enough for streaming and internet?
Confused. Any Pros and cons? Thanks!
bogart219 is offline  
post #1985 of 2006 Old 05-15-2018, 08:16 AM
Member
 
KentStater72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lambertville, MI
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used on average 200 gb/mo with sling. Two in the household and pretty big TV watchers. We did have an antenna for network TV(Tivo).
I cut it down to 150 when we got dish and still use it for some streaming like Netflix and Hulu. We now use about 100gb/mo.
KentStater72 is offline  
post #1986 of 2006 Old 05-16-2018, 03:34 AM
Member
 
bogart219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KentStater72 View Post
I used on average 200 gb/mo with sling. Two in the household and pretty big TV watchers. We did have an antenna for network TV(Tivo).
I cut it down to 150 when we got dish and still use it for some streaming like Netflix and Hulu. We now use about 100gb/mo.

Yeah, forgot about network tv and local stations. Also, I have the vip package now and use the dvr every day. Something else to consider. Thanks!
bogart219 is offline  
post #1987 of 2006 Old 10-10-2018, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mason, TN
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 18
WTVG adding a THIRD HD subchannel?!?!
They're adding the Ion network soon, and RabbitEars says it's in 720p.
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...=74150#station

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #1988 of 2006 Old 10-10-2018, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1791 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvcg66b3r View Post
WTVG adding a THIRD HD subchannel?!?!
They're adding the Ion network soon, and RabbitEars says it's in 720p.
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...=74150#station
That's interesting... ION does want to push it's presence into markets that they are currently not in, but these affiliations are usually in 480i, with ION's O&O stations operating in 720p. Two HD subchannels are doable, but three plus one SD? I hope WTVG's viewers like heavy compression artifacting.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1989 of 2006 Old 10-11-2018, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 599 Post(s)
Liked: 165
It can be done considering the networks that are there. Just because its in 720p doesnt mean you have to give it a bunch of bandwidth. Plus whats the big whoop? There are stations out there with 3 HD and multiple SD now with channel sharing. Heck KTEN in Ada, OK (Sherman, TX market) runs 3 HD (NBC, CW, ABC). WEEK in Peoria, IL runs 3 HD (BC, ABC, CW). WGEM in Quincy, Il runs FOUR HD stations. And then there is the channel sharing in Allentown, PA where you have three HD and 7 SD stations on one RF station.

If you have a good encoder the picture can look good. Conversely I have a dual HD station (KEYC Mankato) that has CBS -1 FOX -2 and there are times FOX looks like crap due to not enough bandwidth given to it.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1990 of 2006 Old 10-12-2018, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
PCTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ION network actually has some great shows.

I am in South Toledo, and just rotate my antenna North East and I watch WPXD in Southfield,MI.

You have to have a good antenna system to enjoy some TV stations.

So, if WTVG decides to bring this additional sub channel, we will take a bandwidth hit.

WPXD-TV, virtual channel 31, is an Ion Television owned-and-operated television station serving Detroit, Michigan, United States that is licensed to Ann Arbor. Owned by Ion Media Networks, WPXD maintains studios and transmitter facilities on West 11 Mile Road in Southfield. Wikipedia
PCTools is offline  
post #1991 of 2006 Old 10-12-2018, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1791 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCTools View Post
ION network actually has some great shows.
Unfortunately, there's nothing interesting that I like on ION. Way too many crime/drama shows. The network was better when it was PAX.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1992 of 2006 Old 01-20-2019, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
PCTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Rare Antennas

Garage is so full of antennas and such, it took forever to go the snowblower out.

If anyone is looking for the older type antennas, let me know - as they are crowding my garage.

Channel Master 4228 - Original - Not Chinese
Channel Master 4224 - Original - Not Chinese
PCTools is offline  
post #1993 of 2006 Old 02-06-2019, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Could one of you fine Toledo folks check and see if WMNT-CD, virtual 48.x, real 36, is on the air?


I've got a customer located about 10 miles west of their transmitter site who can't pick it up and it would be good to know if it's even up and running on 36.


Thanks!

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #1994 of 2006 Old 02-09-2019, 09:32 AM
Member
 
statmanmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi ADTech,

Apparently nobody is answering your Toledo request to check on WMNT-CD. I'm too far way to have any hope to ever receive their signal.

I am noticing that WMNT-CD filed their License to Cover the move to RF36 on 1/28/2019, and the FCC granted it on 2/6/2019.

Perhaps your customer was trying for it on the days when the signal from RF48 was offline and before RF36 came alive?

Cheers, Statmanmi

Kent County, MI
statmanmi is offline  
post #1995 of 2006 Old 02-11-2019, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Statmanmi,


Thanks for your comments. I was hoping someone in the immediate Toledo area would see and respond, but it doesn't appear as if much activity takes place within this thread.


Yes, I saw the LTC filing. The customer made his inquiries over the course of several days, all after the 26th when the channel *should* have been on the air. However, I've dealt with plenty of incidents with low-lower broadcasters who filed their LTC app but either had technical or other issues thereafter that resulted in them either not being on the air or their sending out a signal that wasn't set up correctly causing it to be ignored.


Still hoping someone in Toledo will stop by, see this and respond.


Thanks!

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #1996 of 2006 Old 02-11-2019, 05:57 PM
Member
 
statmanmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're welcome ADTech.

The Michigan Buzzboard has some postings in a thread about the woes with reception of WMNT-CD because of their transition:

https://www.mibuzzboard.com/phpBB3/v...hp?f=9&t=46324

Take care,
Statmanmi

Kent County, MI
statmanmi is offline  
post #1997 of 2006 Old 02-12-2019, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Thanks so much for that link! It confirms my suspicion that the issue is at the station.


Best regards!

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #1998 of 2006 Old 09-17-2019, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1791 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Wtol 11.2

Heads up... MeTV on WTOL 11.2 is being replaced by the Justice Network starting October 1st. No word yet on a new affiliate.

https://www.wtol.com/article/enterta...2-b6adeb9807e7

Too cheap to launch a .4 subchannel? I suppose that will be reserved for Quest. The downside is that I will no longer be able to compare WTOL 11.2 with WOIO 19.2.


UPDATE: WTVG will be picking up the MeTV affiliation on 13.4, replacing ION. Very interesting as WTVG is owned by Gray Broadcasting, and they were required to sell off WTOL when they bought Raycom. I suppose MeTV would have stayed on WTOL if Gray choose to sell off WTVG instead. Anyhow, I can receive WTVG along with WTOL when weather conditions are right, so that's good news.

Newer is not always better.

Last edited by snowdog 88; 09-28-2019 at 07:11 PM.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #1999 of 2006 Old 09-30-2019, 09:54 PM
Newbie
 
Tbear626's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WTVG adds 2 mor subs.

WTVG added 2 more subs.


13.1 ABC 720p
13.2 CW 720p
13.3 Test 480i
13.4 MeTV480i
13.5 Ion 480i
13.6 WX 480i
Tbear626 is offline  
post #2000 of 2006 Old 10-01-2019, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1791 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tbear626 View Post
WTVG added 2 more subs.

13.1 ABC 720p
13.2 CW 720p
13.3 Test 480i
13.4 MeTV480i
13.5 Ion 480i
13.6 WX 480i
13.3 Test? Sounds like they are in the process of picking up another network soon. DABL?

Surprised that they are still keeping the 24/7 weather channel. With all the smart devices out there today, most stations have abandoned their localized weather channel in favor for other networks.

Hope they have good encoders for 2 HD and 4 SD subs. WOIO here in Cleveland shares its frequency with sister station WUAB for a total of 2 HD and 2 SD subs, and even the picture quality is iffy at best. I've seen stations with 2 HD's and 3 SD's with somewhat acceptable picture quality, but I surely wouldn't push it with a third SD sub. At least they dropped HD from ION, which probably was almost equivalent to 3 SD subs.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #2001 of 2006 Old 10-01-2019, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
Tbear626's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think they did PQ looks better then before. It was a surprise that Weather Nation was still on.
Tbear626 is offline  
post #2002 of 2006 Old 10-02-2019, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1791 Post(s)
Liked: 251
MeTV is coming to WTVG!

The above article from WTVG mentions additional programming to be named later on 13.3.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is offline  
post #2003 of 2006 Old 10-04-2019, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
Tbear626's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WTOL adds new sub Quest.

WTOL added a new sub 11.4 Quest.
snowdog 88 likes this.
Tbear626 is offline  
post #2004 of 2006 Old 11-20-2019, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Any word on when WUPW is moving off of RF 46? I know that phase 8 of the repack is expected to wrap of by mid-March but I'm hoping that T-Mobile can turn on their 600Mhz signal in the area sooner rather than later.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #2005 of 2006 Old 11-20-2019, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,864
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1661 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Stations in Phase 8 cannot transition until, at earliest, January 18.

- Trip
skatingrocker17 likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #2006 of 2006 Old 11-30-2019, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
fullwave2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perrysburg, OH
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple questions. Considering switching over to Buckeyebroadband’s whole house TiVo system. Currently have 4 Pace Micro Dallas boxes. Anyone have success in adding an external hard drive to the TiVo system? If so, what model and how large? My wife records a ton. The 4 DVRsw gives me 2 TB. The current Buckeye whole house system has only one TB.
Second question is can the WiFi on the whole house system be disabled? I’m currently using Ubiquiti Unifi access points with a lot of success.
Thanks.
fullwave2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off