Boston, MA - OTA - Page 368 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 554Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11011 of 12823 Old 09-30-2016, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Channel99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjwilliams623 View Post
Someone suggested I post my problem here to see if anyone else is having this issue. I am right off Union Sq. in Somerville.


Here is the summery:




  • In WMC 38.1 came in just fine 2 months ago with W7. Then after trying out W10, I came back down to W7 and now I get "Service is unavailable" bla bla bla for 38.1
  • I am using a Hauppauge 950Q on a W7 64 bit
  • WMC correctly shows channel 38.1 in the listing, it scans signal strength at a full 6 bars, Win TV plays the channel just fine (as it did 2 months ago in WMC) but I can't get it to display now when I came back to W7 from W10 in WMC. HOW COULD THAT BE POSSIBLE????
  • I have manually reinstalled WMC, tried different zip codes, tried to manually add channels like 38.2, 39.1, etc. with no luck. WMC forces the .1 as in 39.1.
  • Under settings/tv/guide/edit channels/click on 38.1, click edit sources the channel that WMC configures shows 39.1 and 100% quality at the bottom of the screen.


I know it is not the antenna or the signal. The techs at the station and Hauppauge don't have an answer.


Any ideas?
They have added the Heroes and Icons channel as 38.2. Both 38.1 and 38.2 are working OK for me on a Samsung and a Sony TV, as well as a Zenith DTV box. It's possible they were configuring the PSIP data when you were experiencing problems.
Channel99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11012 of 12823 Old 09-30-2016, 08:16 PM
Member
 
jjwilliams623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel99 View Post
They have added the Heroes and Icons channel as 38.2. Both 38.1 and 38.2 are working OK for me on a Samsung and a Sony TV, as well as a Zenith DTV box. It's possible they were configuring the PSIP data when you were experiencing problems.
I talked to them about that but it was well after I had WMC configured. On top of that, I just reconfigured the TV Signal and still have the problem. Another strange thing is that I didn't pick up 38.2 but maybe the listing hasn't been updated for downloading.

Thanks, JJ
jjwilliams623 is offline  
post #11013 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 04:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 17,161
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjwilliams623 View Post
I talked to them about that but it was well after I had WMC configured. On top of that, I just reconfigured the TV Signal and still have the problem. Another strange thing is that I didn't pick up 38.2 but maybe the listing hasn't been updated for downloading.
Sounds like something changed in the signal when WSBK added 38-2 that WMC isn't able to handle. I've heard of this sort of thing happening before. Sending/posting an analysis of the signal should help me diagnose what it is. Quit WMC, install TSReader Lite:

http://tsreader.com/tsreader/TSReaderLite2.8.47c.exe

When you run it, choose the ATSCBDASource driver, enter channel 39. Assuming it works, (you may need to quit, hold Ctrl while launching again and choose HCWATSCSource instead) give it 10-15 seconds, then go to the Export menu, click HTML Export, check all of the boxes except for Thumbnails and EIT, and save the file. Then either post it here as an attachment or e-mail it to me. (webmaster at rabbitears dot info)

I'll be able to compare it with older data I have from WSBK and see what's different.

- Trip
jjwilliams623 likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11014 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 11:38 AM
Member
 
jjwilliams623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Sounds like something changed in the signal when WSBK added 38-2 that WMC isn't able to handle. I've heard of this sort of thing happening before. Sending/posting an analysis of the signal should help me diagnose what it is. Quit WMC, install TSReader Lite:

http://tsreader.com/tsreader/TSReaderLite2.8.47c.exe

When you run it, choose the ATSCBDASource driver, enter channel 39. Assuming it works, (you may need to quit, hold Ctrl while launching again and choose HCWATSCSource instead) give it 10-15 seconds, then go to the Export menu, click HTML Export, check all of the boxes except for Thumbnails and EIT, and save the file. Then either post it here as an attachment or e-mail it to me. (webmaster at rabbitears dot info)

I'll be able to compare it with older data I have from WSBK and see what's different.

- Trip
Thanks Trip! The ATSCBDASource seemed to do nothing so I ran the HCWATSCSource instead. Not sure I performed it correctly..I entered channel 39 but let it scan channels 2 - 69. Maybe I should have limited the scan to channel 39?


Anyway, here are the results. I could not post the html so I put it in a Text file..
Attached Files
File Type: txt SI Parsing by TSReader 2_8_47c.txt (4.8 KB, 28 views)

Thanks, JJ
jjwilliams623 is offline  
post #11015 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 11:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 17,161
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjwilliams623 View Post
Thanks Trip! The ATSCBDASource seemed to do nothing so I ran the HCWATSCSource instead. Not sure I performed it correctly..I entered channel 39 but let it scan channels 2 - 69. Maybe I should have limited the scan to channel 39?


Anyway, here are the results. I could not post the html so I put it in a Text file..
It was hard to read but fortunately very easy to spot the problem. Talk to the station, and tell them their TSID is wrong. It's supposed to be 1367 (0x557) but instead they set it to 1357 (0x54D). WMC is expecting it to be 1367 which is why you can't see it.

- Trip
jjwilliams623 likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #11016 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 12:02 PM
Member
 
jjwilliams623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
It was hard to read but fortunately very easy to spot the problem. Talk to the station, and tell them their TSID is wrong. It's supposed to be 1367 (0x557) but instead they set it to 1357 (0x54D). WMC is expecting it to be 1367 which is why you can't see it.

- Trip

WOW!! That is incredible Trip!! I have tried various forums with all sorts of techs chiming in and you are the only one that came up with that tool and spotted the problem!!


Why would Win TV be able to play that channel and why would WMC show a 6 bar strength but not show It?


If it helps, here is a 2nd run where I confined the scan to just 39. I also provided a jpeg of the last screen as I didn't' think it would show well in the text file.


THANK YOU SO MUCH!! This has been an ongoing problem for 2 weeks now!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot of last page - 2nd try of SI Parsing by TSReader 2_8_47c.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	282.9 KB
ID:	1694809  
Attached Files
File Type: txt 2nd try of SI Parsing by TSReader 2_8_47c.txt (4.8 KB, 18 views)

Thanks, JJ
jjwilliams623 is offline  
post #11017 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 12:13 PM
Member
 
jjwilliams623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Sounds like something changed in the signal when WSBK added 38-2 that WMC isn't able to handle. I've heard of this sort of thing happening before. Sending/posting an analysis of the signal should help me diagnose what it is. Quit WMC, install TSReader Lite:

http://tsreader.com/tsreader/TSReaderLite2.8.47c.exe

When you run it, choose the ATSCBDASource driver, enter channel 39. Assuming it works, (you may need to quit, hold Ctrl while launching again and choose HCWATSCSource instead) give it 10-15 seconds, then go to the Export menu, click HTML Export, check all of the boxes except for Thumbnails and EIT, and save the file. Then either post it here as an attachment or e-mail it to me. (webmaster at rabbitears dot info)

I'll be able to compare it with older data I have from WSBK and see what's different.

- Trip
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
It was hard to read but fortunately very easy to spot the problem. Talk to the station, and tell them their TSID is wrong. It's supposed to be 1367 (0x557) but instead they set it to 1357 (0x54D). WMC is expecting it to be 1367 which is why you can't see it.

- Trip
Trip, am I reading this wrong? In the file I see: TSID: 1367 (0x0557) NTSC: 38 ATSC: 39 MA BOSTON

Thanks, JJ
jjwilliams623 is offline  
post #11018 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 17,161
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjwilliams623 View Post
WOW!! That is incredible Trip!! I have tried various forums with all sorts of techs chiming in and you are the only one that came up with that tool and spotted the problem!!


Why would Win TV be able to play that channel and why would WMC show a 6 bar strength but not show It?


If it helps, here is a 2nd run where I confined the scan to just 39. I also provided a jpeg of the last screen as I didn't' think it would show well in the text file.


THANK YOU SO MUCH!! This has been an ongoing problem for 2 weeks now!
Most tools, like the WinTV software just pass along whatever the stations send out. WMC, however, only shows channels which exist in its guide. It matches up the guide data to the signal it's receiving by matching the TSID. If the TSID doesn't match, it assumes it's seeing the wrong signal and doesn't show anything.

Don't worry about sending the file again; we've spotted the problem, that's all that matters here really. I post HTML captures from TSReader on RabbitEars so people can see what stations are doing from a technical data point of view. That's what made this so easy; my HTML output from 2013 had the 1367 TSID while yours had 1357. At that point, I checked against what the FCC database said the TSID is supposed to be and confirmed which one was right. (If you want to provide TSReader data for all the stations to help me keep my collection updated, I am certainly not opposed! But I need it in HTML form, which you would have to send via e-mail.)

It's one of those things that if you've seen it before, like I have, it's plain as day obvious. If you haven't, it's very easy to miss. I live in the DC area and can see the Baltimore stations. I have had to talk to three different stations in this area since I moved here in 2013 about the TSID value being wrong.

- Trip
jjwilliams623 likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #11019 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 17,161
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjwilliams623 View Post
Trip, am I reading this wrong? In the file I see: TSID: 1367 (0x0557) NTSC: 38 ATSC: 39 MA BOSTON
The TSID appears in two places, once in the TVCT, which is where you're looking, and again in the PMT (look at the very top of the file). You'll see it's wrong in the PMT.

Actually, I hadn't caught that--good eye. That actually means there are a number of TV sets, not just WMC, that will also fail to receive WSBK right now. If those TSID values disagree, it causes all kinds of headaches for certain receivers.

EDIT: You'll need to specify that it's the TSID in the Program Map Table that's wrong. They may not know how to set that and may have to talk to the vendor of their equipment, though it somehow got set wrong in the first place having been correct before. If they give you trouble, get an e-mail address and I can write something up to send them.

- Trip
jjwilliams623 likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"


Last edited by Trip in VA; 10-01-2016 at 12:19 PM.
Trip in VA is online now  
post #11020 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 12:30 PM
Member
 
jjwilliams623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Most tools, like the WinTV software just pass along whatever the stations send out. WMC, however, only shows channels which exist in its guide. It matches up the guide data to the signal it's receiving by matching the TSID. If the TSID doesn't match, it assumes it's seeing the wrong signal and doesn't show anything.

Don't worry about sending the file again; we've spotted the problem, that's all that matters here really. I post HTML captures from TSReader on RabbitEars so people can see what stations are doing from a technical data point of view. That's what made this so easy; my HTML output from 2013 had the 1367 TSID while yours had 1357. At that point, I checked against what the FCC database said the TSID is supposed to be and confirmed which one was right. (If you want to provide TSReader data for all the stations to help me keep my collection updated, I am certainly not opposed! But I need it in HTML form, which you would have to send via e-mail.)

It's one of those things that if you've seen it before, like I have, it's plain as day obvious. If you haven't, it's very easy to miss. I live in the DC area and can see the Baltimore stations. I have had to talk to three different stations in this area since I moved here in 2013 about the TSID value being wrong.

- Trip
Sounds good Trip, thanks again!


I would be more than happy to send you that data. What do I specify in the various screens to get you all the channels?

Thanks, JJ
jjwilliams623 is offline  
post #11021 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 17,161
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjwilliams623 View Post
Sounds good Trip, thanks again!


I would be more than happy to send you that data. What do I specify in the various screens to get you all the channels?
One of the downsides of TSReader Lite is that you have to do it one station at a time. So you'd enter 39 for example, let it load up, run for 10-15 seconds, make sure there aren't too many TEI Errors, then do the export, quit the software, restart from the beginning with a different channel.

And, of course, when they fix WSBK, I'd love an update to show the correction.

- Trip
jjwilliams623 likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #11022 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 12:53 PM
Member
 
jjwilliams623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
One of the downsides of TSReader Lite is that you have to do it one station at a time. So you'd enter 39 for example, let it load up, run for 10-15 seconds, make sure there aren't too many TEI Errors, then do the export, quit the software, restart from the beginning with a different channel.

And, of course, when they fix WSBK, I'd love an update to show the correction.

- Trip
I will talk to them bright and early Monday morning and follow up with an export and update to you!


Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Thanks, JJ
jjwilliams623 is offline  
post #11023 of 12823 Old 10-01-2016, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
wizwor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Danville, NH
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Post a TVFool.com report. It's fall, the leaves are full of moisture, blowing in the wind, and it's raining. Chances are this is environmental.
wizwor is offline  
post #11024 of 12823 Old 10-02-2016, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Any update on the new NBC affiliate in Boston/Worcester saga? Is it going to that new WTMU-LD or whatever the station's call letters are?
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #11025 of 12823 Old 10-02-2016, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chitchatjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence MA
Posts: 3,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
Any update on the new NBC affiliate in Boston/Worcester saga? Is it going to that new WTMU-LD or whatever the station's call letters are?
That looks like the ticket NBC Boston WBTS
I wouldn't doubt it is Comcast promotes it as NBC Boston 19 (THE Comcast ch for the current Ch 60)
chitchatjf is online now  
post #11026 of 12823 Old 10-02-2016, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chitchatjf View Post
That looks like the ticket NBC Boston WBTS
I wouldn't doubt it is Comcast promotes it as NBC Boston 19 (THE Comcast ch for the current Ch 60)
If WTMU-LD (what is WBTS?) becomes NBC Boston, but WNEU stays Telemundo - what would the PSIP for WTMU-LD become?

Perhaps WNEU and WTMU would both be 60, Telemundo or NBC on 60-1 and the other on 60-2 on each station and then fiddle with subchannels as needed.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11027 of 12823 Old 10-02-2016, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chitchatjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence MA
Posts: 3,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 136
WBTS looks like the new call letters for the new station.

WTMU will probobly be just a repeater

60.1 would be NBC 60.2 would be Telemundo and I would have 60.3 as Cozi
chitchatjf is online now  
post #11028 of 12823 Old 10-03-2016, 01:55 PM
Member
 
jjwilliams623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Sounds like something changed in the signal when WSBK added 38-2 that WMC isn't able to handle. I've heard of this sort of thing happening before. Sending/posting an analysis of the signal should help me diagnose what it is. Quit WMC, install TSReader Lite:

http://tsreader.com/tsreader/TSReaderLite2.8.47c.exe

When you run it, choose the ATSCBDASource driver, enter channel 39. Assuming it works, (you may need to quit, hold Ctrl while launching again and choose HCWATSCSource instead) give it 10-15 seconds, then go to the Export menu, click HTML Export, check all of the boxes except for Thumbnails and EIT, and save the file. Then either post it here as an attachment or e-mail it to me. (webmaster at rabbitears dot info)

I'll be able to compare it with older data I have from WSBK and see what's different.

- Trip
You are a genius Trip!!!


Literally hundreds of people including myself could not figure it out. I called the station this morning and BANG, now I finally have 38.1 in WMC!


Thank you so much. I wish there was a way to give you more credit than just a like!


I will include the new file as you requested.


I will acknowledge your fix on other forums.


Thanks again!
Attached Files
File Type: txt After the fix - SI Parsing by TSReader 2_8_47c.txt (52.7 KB, 31 views)

Thanks, JJ
jjwilliams623 is offline  
post #11029 of 12823 Old 10-03-2016, 01:58 PM
Member
 
jjwilliams623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to everyone else for trying to help me figure this out!

Thanks, JJ
jjwilliams623 is offline  
post #11030 of 12823 Old 10-03-2016, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 17,161
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1855 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjwilliams623 View Post
You are a genius Trip!!!


Literally hundreds of people including myself could not figure it out. I called the station this morning and BANG, now I finally have 38.1 in WMC!


Thank you so much. I wish there was a way to give you more credit than just a like!


I will include the new file as you requested.


I will acknowledge your fix on other forums.


Thanks again!
You're most welcome. Have a great one!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #11031 of 12823 Old 10-03-2016, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chitchatjf View Post
WBTS looks like the new call letters for the new station.

WTMU will probobly be just a repeater

60.1 would be NBC 60.2 would be Telemundo and I would have 60.3 as Cozi
As long as satellite doesn't lose Telemundo Boston in HD, I personally don't care what the order is. I would love to see Cozi go back to WMFP, but that will probably never happen.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11032 of 12823 Old 10-05-2016, 08:14 AM
Member
 
Andrea Circle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Still worried, won't get it

I'm still worried that if NBC goes to ch 60.1, I won't receive it. I simply don't receive ch 60 (and substations). I certainly don't want to lose NBC.
Andrea Circle is offline  
post #11033 of 12823 Old 10-05-2016, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Channel99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrea Circle View Post
I'm still worried that if NBC goes to ch 60.1, I won't receive it. I simply don't receive ch 60 (and substations). I certainly don't want to lose NBC.
In another post you gave your location as Winchester. You should be well within the coverage area of WTMU:
http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php?appid=2003793
Channel99 is offline  
post #11034 of 12823 Old 10-06-2016, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Andrea Circle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel99 View Post
In another post you gave your location as Winchester. You should be well within the coverage area of WTMU.

It would seem that way but it doesn't come in at all. We live at a very low elevation and there is a hill behind us (although that hill really shouldn't be between the transmitter and our house). We have 2 antennas sitting in the rafters of our attic that I got specially installed by a professional when I cut the cord. Channel 60 scans but "Signal is too weak" is all that we actually see.

We have another antenna pointed towards WBIN and it really one works very spottily in the dead of winter. It's too bad because I like that station.

In yet another post, someone commented that they think that NBC will go to another station, not just chennel 60, but I don't hear any news about that.

I'm thinking maybe I can upgrade my TV to one that has better apps on it and maybe I can get an NBC app on the TV or something. I *hate* comcast and wouldn't want to sign up!
Andrea Circle is offline  
post #11035 of 12823 Old 10-06-2016, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
wizwor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Danville, NH
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Yeah!
Quote:
Mr. Mullen,

Thanks, for your email.
The [Heroes and Icons] program information is in the process of being activated.
It shouldn’t be much longer.

Paul Pabis
wizwor is offline  
post #11036 of 12823 Old 10-06-2016, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Andrea Circle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizwor View Post
Yeah!
Wizwor,
thanks for checking on H&I, I was wondering this myself.
Andrea Circle is offline  
post #11037 of 12823 Old 10-07-2016, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Here is a recent article that doesn't shed anything new on the topic, but does confirm what has been speculated here. WTMU/WBTS LP for Boston and WNEU for NH and north of Boston.

https://www.bostonglobe.com/business...8CK/story.html
wizwor likes this.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #11038 of 12823 Old 10-13-2016, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I'm hoping someone can advise on determining cause of signal interference, and was advised to also post on Boston OTA.

Many times a week, between 6pm and 7pm, I lose broadcast signal for WGBH's 2.1 and 2.1, anywhere from a few minutes to half an hour. Is there some device I can use to determine how/why this is? I live in a rural setting and my vicinity neighbors mainly use cable, dish or don't watch TV at all, so polling the neighbors wouldn't be of much help. This is in Brookline, NH.

Thank you for any advice, information or direction you may have.
AmyInNH is offline  
post #11039 of 12823 Old 10-14-2016, 06:07 AM
Member
 
DocSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmyInNH View Post
Hello,

I'm hoping someone can advise on determining cause of signal interference, and was advised to also post on Boston OTA.

Many times a week, between 6pm and 7pm, I lose broadcast signal for WGBH's 2.1 and 2.1, anywhere from a few minutes to half an hour. Is there some device I can use to determine how/why this is? I live in a rural setting and my vicinity neighbors mainly use cable, dish or don't watch TV at all, so polling the neighbors wouldn't be of much help. This is in Brookline, NH.

Thank you for any advice, information or direction you may have.
Are you certain it is only between 6pm and 7pm? Or is that just the primary time you watch 2.1? Because most interference issues are not time sensitive. You have trees and buildings and hills between yourself and the broadcast towers 24/7. And when you lose 2.1 are other stations from the same direction and towers coming in okay? How is your WBZ 4.1 and WCVB 5.1 reception? They come from the same location as 2.1

Please, if you have time, go to www.tvfool.com and input your location information. This site will give you a nice picture of the channels you should be receiving at your exact location. If you post the result here then others on this board will likely chime in with advice.
DocSmith is offline  
post #11040 of 12823 Old 10-14-2016, 06:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
WGBH 2.1 and 2.2

Yes, only WGBH's 2.1 and 2.2. All other channels are fine.
Spoke with local fire chief this morning.
He said their "system" does a nightly test at 6:15. And that sometimes, TV comes across on his radios.
AmyInNH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off