Boston, MA - OTA - Page 419 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 506Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12541 of 12586 Old 01-21-2020, 05:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Grafton, MA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red MC View Post
I started having problems with WGBH on Dec 22. At first, it just went black. My HDHomeRun tuner was reporting the same 95% signal strength on RF5 that it did before, but zero signal quality and no data. It was weird, as if they were broadcasting a carrier with nothing on it. The next day, I saw a little lower signal strength than usual, around 90%, but the tuner was getting data, albeit with constant drop-outs that made it unwatchable. Ever since then, WGBH reception has been fluctuating. Sometimes, it's solid as a rock like it was before. Other times, I get dropouts.

I wish I knew what was going on.
I agree.

I've posted before about signal reception in Grafton. Back when the repack occurred, I lost all Boston stations GBH, WBZ, CVB and the side channels. Providence stations seemed to be fine. Over the past 6 months, sometimes WBZ 4.1 would come in in time for a Patriots game but gone the next day. Unfortunately, my TVs lost the channels in my lineup with each rescan and none of them allow me to add one at a time back, and only one allows me to go to 33 to tune in channel 5.1. It's all or nothing using a scan.

So each week, I check 2.1 and 5.1 and they've been dark since August. I got lax and stopped checking then all of a sudden, yesterday, my wife tells me she watched 4.1. I checked 5.1 and lo and behold, it was back! I did nothing to my setup but now it's back as clear as it was before August. Sine GBH is on 5, I can't simply hit '5' on the remote and I'm loathe to rescan because I don't think I'll get it and screw up other channels in the process.

I wish I knew what was going on...
bb56 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12542 of 12586 Old 01-21-2020, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
tveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: southern NH
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Cold dry air is probably why reception has been great in recent days.

Last week, the now absent Snow on trees probably contributed to bad reception.
tveli is offline  
post #12543 of 12586 Old 01-21-2020, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb56 View Post
I can't simply hit '5' on the remote and I'm loathe to rescan because I don't think I'll get it and screw up other channels in the process.

I wish I knew what was going on...
Rescan will lose channels if the signal is not strong enough during the rescan that the TV's decoding circuitry can't maintain channel without pixelation.

You might have VF 5 now, but chances are it will go out again in the near future...my guess is you're right on the edge of Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR) for your TV...unfortunately a number of TV don't show SNR, but if your's does you generally need an SNR of 20+ to ensure trouble free viewing.

https://thewirecutter.com/blog/hdtv-...-choppy-image/
tveli likes this.
bac522 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12544 of 12586 Old 01-24-2020, 04:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Grafton, MA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by tveli View Post
Cold dry air is probably why reception has been great in recent days.

Last week, the now absent Snow on trees probably contributed to bad reception.
Well today WBZ and CVB are totally gone again. It's 22 degrees now. Maybe too much snow melted?
Great reception foe several days anyway.

Still don't know what's going on.
bb56 is offline  
post #12545 of 12586 Old 01-24-2020, 05:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Did a scan this morning on the HDHomeRun and see that there is a new sub channel on VF 38.5 called Circle...jeez...guess we can expect even more compression on their other sub channels now that they are up to 5 VF channels.

Also picked up the following, but signal is weak, might be atmospheric skipping through as I'm also picking up Rhode Island stations this morning here in New Hampshire. Not sure what the station is, does anyone else know? Is it new or something I'm picking up from a distance?

RF 30
VF 31.1 ITV

bac522 is offline  
post #12546 of 12586 Old 01-24-2020, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,948
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1721 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by bac522 View Post
Also picked up the following, but signal is weak, might be atmospheric skipping through as I'm also picking up Rhode Island stations this morning here in New Hampshire. Not sure what the station is, does anyone else know? Is it new or something I'm picking up from a distance?
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=wcrn

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #12547 of 12586 Old 01-24-2020, 05:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Thanks, I must remember to check rabbitears in the future.
bac522 is offline  
post #12548 of 12586 Old 01-24-2020, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,948
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1721 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by bac522 View Post
Thanks, I must remember to check rabbitears in the future.
Something specific you may find helpful in cases like this: https://www.rabbitears.info/search.php

Second item down is the "PSIP Search." If you enter ITV 31 there, WCRN-LD comes up. If I have data on the PSIP of a station, you should be able to locate it through that tool if you happen across it and the ID isn't obvious.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #12549 of 12586 Old 01-24-2020, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,543
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by bac522 View Post
Did a scan this morning on the HDHomeRun and see that there is a new sub channel on VF 38.5 called Circle...jeez...guess we can expect even more compression on their other sub channels now that they are up to 5 VF channels.

Also picked up the following, but signal is weak, might be atmospheric skipping through as I'm also picking up Rhode Island stations this morning here in New Hampshire. Not sure what the station is, does anyone else know? Is it new or something I'm picking up from a distance?

RF 30
VF 31.1 ITV

Circle has been on air for a few weeks now.

31.1 ITV is a simulcast of France 24 news in English as seen here: https://www.france24.com/en/live. It's in SD and letterboxed and has some overlay for local news. It looks terrible.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.80 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #12550 of 12586 Old 02-01-2020, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any Amazon Recast users in the Boston area? Curious if you see 2.1 (WGBH-HD) on it? I just finally switched my antenna from home built Mclapp-4 to a Winegard YA7000C with Winegard LNA-200 to try to grab 2.1, only to discover that there seems to be a bug in the Recast.

For what it's worth, 2.1 is coming in very strong inside Boston using the Winegard setup (attic mounted). I get a great signal now using Tablo and a basic OTA Tuner. The bug in the Recast is stopping my ultimate success though.

Some more info here in my other post in Recast sub (sorry, not enough post count to link directly) :
Code:
/forum/42-hdtv-recorders/2997032-amazon-recast-ota-dvr-formerly-known-frank-24.html#post59185558
nathan4321 is offline  
post #12551 of 12586 Old 02-01-2020, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Channel99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
Circle has been on air for a few weeks now.

31.1 ITV is a simulcast of France 24 news in English as seen here: https://www.france24.com/en/live. It's in SD and letterboxed and has some overlay for local news. It looks terrible.
WCRN-LD is operating under an STA at less than half their licensed on what they referred to in the FCC app as an "owned" transmitter. It may have some limitations.

There is new transmitter on order, or which will be ordered, when they are re-reimbursed for the Repack move costs:

https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...6ea90def524126

WCRN-LD was originally licensed to Providence, but is now in the Boston market. Here they requested a correction:

https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...6ea83599603889

Last edited by Channel99; 02-01-2020 at 05:28 PM.
Channel99 is offline  
post #12552 of 12586 Old 02-02-2020, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,543
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel99 View Post
WCRN-LD is operating under an STA at less than half their licensed on what they referred to in the FCC app as an "owned" transmitter. It may have some limitations.

There is new transmitter on order, or which will be ordered, when they are re-reimbursed for the Repack move costs:

https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...6ea90def524126

WCRN-LD was originally licensed to Providence, but is now in the Boston market. Here they requested a correction:

https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...6ea83599603889




LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.80 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #12553 of 12586 Old 02-02-2020, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 104
The problem is that's how France 24's North American C-band feed originates. Locally here in Eastern PA, WLVT 39.3 is clearly cropping the letterboxed SD feed to make it 16:9
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WLVTDT3.png
Views:	42
Size:	374.5 KB
ID:	2679406  
KyL416 is offline  
post #12554 of 12586 Old 02-02-2020, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Channel99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
The problem is that's how France 24's North American C-band feed originates. Locally here in Eastern PA, WLVT 39.3 is clearly cropping the letterboxed SD feed to make it 16:9
Does the C-band feed occasionally switch to French for periods of roughly 30 minutes, after brief pauses, perhaps meant for local ad insertion. Either that, or WCRN-LD has a strange automation config. The news banner running across the screen is a repeating loop of weeks-old news, that probably isn't coming from France 24.
Channel99 is offline  
post #12555 of 12586 Old 02-02-2020, 08:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyL416 View Post
The problem is that's how France 24's North American C-band feed originates. Locally here in Eastern PA, WLVT 39.3 is clearly cropping the letterboxed SD feed to make it 16:9
Actually, from the looks of the "oval" PBS icon, that station is stretching a 4:3 picture into 16:9. Either way, I don't like when they do this. The stretching especially looks bad in close-ups.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #12556 of 12586 Old 02-02-2020, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Switching between French and English might be intentional on WCRN's part if it happens every half hour. Unfortunately they never bothered telling any of the listings providers the change in programming, so Gracenote/Zap2it still has the listings for AMGTV for 31.1 WCRNLD. If you want to, you can try contacting the station's operators through the form here:
http://www.intriguemusic.com/contact-1

That logo distortion is because of how WLVT overlays their logos, the actual France 24 programming is coming in at the correct ratio and isn't distorted. Originally the channel was 4:3 letterboxed before they cropped the letterboxing and made it 16:9, but they never adjusted the logo dimensions when they switched the encoder's setting from 4:3 to 16:9. The PBS 39 logo on 39.2 Create is stretched too and has been that way ever since Create switched to a widescreen presentation a few years ago:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WLVTDT2.png
Views:	30
Size:	362.3 KB
ID:	2679540  
Brian in CT likes this.

Last edited by KyL416; 02-02-2020 at 09:51 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
post #12557 of 12586 Old 02-03-2020, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I happened to notice that WMFP 62 on Directv is no longer showing SBN programming. At the top and bottom of the hour, it shows RNN logo and the station ID at the top of the hour. The rest of the time it is just infomercials. I thought they might be switching WWDP 46 with it but it is not ShopLC and WWDP 46 is correct. And if they were swapping it, the station ID wouldn't be right. However, the guide data is still SBN on WMFP 62. Does anyone receive this wimpy station OTA to confirm? They are channel sharing on a VHF south of Boston. Does anyone know what is going on here? Personal preference is neither infomercials nor SBN, but that is just me...
ejb1980 is offline  
post #12558 of 12586 Old 02-03-2020, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post
I happened to notice that WMFP 62 on Directv is no longer showing SBN programming. At the top and bottom of the hour, it shows RNN logo and the station ID at the top of the hour. The rest of the time it is just infomercials. I thought they might be switching WWDP 46 with it but it is not ShopLC and WWDP 46 is correct. And if they were swapping it, the station ID wouldn't be right. However, the guide data is still SBN on WMFP 62. Does anyone receive this wimpy station OTA to confirm? They are channel sharing on a VHF south of Boston. Does anyone know what is going on here? Personal preference is neither infomercials nor SBN, but that is just me...
rabbitears shows infomercials on 62-1 and Sonlife on 62-2
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=wmfp

edit: Trip updated the listings today so its probably a recent change and listings havent been updated yet
ejb1980 likes this.

Last edited by unclehonkey; 02-03-2020 at 08:49 AM.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #12559 of 12586 Old 02-03-2020, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
rabbitears shows infomercials on 62-1 and Sonlife on 62-2
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=wmfp
Good old Trip is on top of things. I did check rabbit ears when I noticed that they were showing infomercials, but it was not updated yet. I admit I didn't re-check this morning before posting.

They probably changed on the 1st... It was definitely SBN on Friday and I noticed the infomercials on Saturday for the first time.
ejb1980 is offline  
post #12560 of 12586 Old 02-03-2020, 11:21 AM
Member
 
alg2468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wlne

Rabbit ears shows a change for WLNE, it looks like they have increased their STA power from 200 to 294 Kw, and their constriction permit for an increase to its full power of 465kW has been granted.



https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WLNE
alg2468 is offline  
post #12561 of 12586 Old 02-03-2020, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Channel99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by alg2468 View Post
Rabbit ears shows a change for WLNE, it looks like they have increased their STA power from 200 to 294 Kw, and their constriction permit for an increase to its full power of 465kW has been granted.


https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WLNE
They may have been able to increase their current temporary power somewhat, and refiled the STA. However I believe the construction permit is still the original, but with at least 2 extensions.

This whole situation is very strange. Clearly a huge error was made. However only WLNE was left to run at reduced power - WJAR is running its full licensed 1000 kW power. Whether WLNE could run more power if WJAR reduced their power has not been mentioned. WLNE's choice to refer to WJAR only as the "shared station" or the "tower owner" adds a little mystery.
Channel99 is offline  
post #12562 of 12586 Old 02-05-2020, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
hirochi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WGBH's plan to increase transmission power.


Received this email from WGBH yesterday.

[email protected] <[email protected]>
To:

Feb 4 at 1:03 PM

Dear Viewer,

I'm writing you with an update about WGBH's broadcasting frequency project. WGBH is still hard at work, and we are moving forward with a frequency upgrade ?of the "over-the-air" signal from 6.9kW to 34.5kW as promised.

I received word today that a critical part in the production process has been delayed. The ?necessary hardware is expected to arrive within 3-4 weeks, pushing our estimated completion date to mid-March.

I know that the wait for improved reception quality has been a long one and I'm sure that many share my feelings of disappointment. Still, we deeply appreciate your efforts to help make this possible. You took time out of your day tocontribute to a successful petition for improved signal to the FCC - and won!

Thank you for your support, patience, and generosity. I'll continue to provide updates as soon as I learn anything new. In the meantime, please feel free to touch base with the Audience & Member Services team at [email protected] or (617) 300 3300 with questions ?you may have.

Best Regards,
Zack Finn
Associate Director of Development - Audience and Member Services
1 Guest St. Boston MA 02135
KyL416 likes this.
hirochi is offline  
post #12563 of 12586 Old 02-06-2020, 07:47 AM
Member
 
N1ZZN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hanson, MA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We have another new channel now on the air, WLEK-LD on RF 31, virtual 22 from the 93.7 tower in Peabody, sending most signal south. 22.1 is Azteca, 2 and 3 have infomercials, 4 has color bars.

Good signal on the south shore aimed north.
N1ZZN is offline  
post #12564 of 12586 Old 02-06-2020, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RoyGBiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Pawtucket, RI
Posts: 1,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirochi View Post
WGBH's plan to increase transmission power.


Received this email from WGBH yesterday.

[email protected] <[email protected]>
To:

Feb 4 at 1:03 PM

Dear Viewer,

I'm writing you with an update about WGBH's broadcasting frequency project. WGBH is still hard at work, and we are moving forward with a frequency upgrade ?of the "over-the-air" signal from 6.9kW to 34.5kW as promised.

I received word today that a critical part in the production process has been delayed. The ?necessary hardware is expected to arrive within 3-4 weeks, pushing our estimated completion date to mid-March.

I know that the wait for improved reception quality has been a long one and I'm sure that many share my feelings of disappointment. Still, we deeply appreciate your efforts to help make this possible. You took time out of your day tocontribute to a successful petition for improved signal to the FCC - and won!

Thank you for your support, patience, and generosity. I'll continue to provide updates as soon as I learn anything new. In the meantime, please feel free to touch base with the Audience & Member Services team at [email protected] or (617) 300 3300 with questions ?you may have.

Best Regards,
Zack Finn
Associate Director of Development - Audience and Member Services
1 Guest St. Boston MA 02135
I have been a big contributor to WGBH for more than 30 years and also wrote to the station and FCC regarding increasing their power and have heard nothing. Thanks for the update I should have gotten from WGBH.

SMK
RoyGBiv is offline  
post #12565 of 12586 Old 02-06-2020, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Tschmidt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milford, NH
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Just to nitpick a little, what is a frequency upgrade? Are they moving to a different RF channel or just increasing power on RF5?

Moot point for us as we do not have a VHF-lo antenna and our VHF-hi antenna is pointing to WMUR and WENH. Since WENH and WGBH are now joined at the hip due to NH funding problems several years ago not much unique on WGBH compared to WENH. Doesn't look like we are missing much not being able to receive WFXZ Bix-TV.
wizwor likes this.
Tschmidt is offline  
post #12566 of 12586 Old 02-06-2020, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 104
They're increasing their power on RF 5 from 6.7 kW to 34 kW, this will be their new coverage map:
https://www.rabbitears.info/contour....d&site=1&map=Y

In the core of Boston it will help overcome the ambient noise issues that affect VHF-lo, while people in areas further away with a VHF-lo capable antenna should be able to get it better. (i.e. locally in Eastern PA after WPVI/6 and WDPN/2 got similar upgrades I can pick them up 70+ miles away with an antenna in my attic, while those closer to the towers in the Philly area have been able to pick them up reliably with indoor antennas)
wizwor likes this.
KyL416 is offline  
post #12567 of 12586 Old 02-17-2020, 11:03 AM
Member
 
rm00k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone know of any transmitter work or low power changes lately on the WBZ,WCVB,WBTS,WSBK antenna? All day yesterday (sun) and today all those channels are gone for me. Those normally are my strongest channels. I've had some cutting in/out occasionally (airplanes?) but never for this long. Odd that WHDH and WLVI are good, but they are on a different tower.
rm00k is offline  
post #12568 of 12586 Old 02-17-2020, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rm00k View Post
Anyone know of any transmitter work or low power changes lately on the WBZ,WCVB,WBTS,WSBK antenna? All day yesterday (sun) and today all those channels are gone for me. Those normally are my strongest channels. I've had some cutting in/out occasionally (airplanes?) but never for this long. Odd that WHDH and WLVI are good, but they are on a different tower.

Experiencing the same here in northern Essex county for days...
NCC1701F is offline  
post #12569 of 12586 Old 02-17-2020, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Channel99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by rm00k View Post
Anyone know of any transmitter work or low power changes lately on the WBZ,WCVB,WBTS,WSBK antenna? All day yesterday (sun) and today all those channels are gone for me. Those normally are my strongest channels. I've had some cutting in/out occasionally (airplanes?) but never for this long. Odd that WHDH and WLVI are good, but they are on a different tower.
The WGBX (WBTS, etc.) transmitter was off the air early Sunday morning and the WUNI transmitter later in the day. Others could have been off, too. It is possible work is being done on the Cabot St. facilities.
Channel99 is offline  
post #12570 of 12586 Old 02-17-2020, 04:13 PM
Member
 
protivakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will I ever get WCVB again?

Anyone have a status from the tower work? Since August of last year I have not been able to get WCVB (ABC Boston) other than a couple times. NBC Boston has also been spotty at best. When I mentioned this last fall some thought the stations might still be on a temporary antenna.
protivakid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off