Reception of ".4" channels - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-20-2019, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Reception of ".4" channels

Hello

New here and found lots of useful information so thought I would put this question out for anyone who may have run into a similar situation.

I am currently running a headend in Central WI. I have two providers who's multicast feeds we have been airing for many years. For example 9.1, 9.2, 9.3, etc. However the provider is adding a .4 subchannel now and I'm having a difficult time getting the channel to air on our system.

The architecture is OTA antenna to Harmonic encoder and broadcast to customer homes via Media Room middleware and Calix transport.

I have no alarms on my encoder and can see the channels clearly on the VLAN out of my video router in my headend via VLC and TS Reader.

Not sure what other info I can provide, just looking to see if any other people working in this field have seen similar issues. Thanks
Csolarus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-20-2019, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Metro-Detroit
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Does the encoder's tuner auto-rescan or are you supposed to do it manually?
Frank Fantin is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-20-2019, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Fantin View Post
Does the encoder's tuner auto-rescan or are you supposed to do it manually?
No rescan, the encoder will auto detect the streams as they are activated, each sub channel appears with it's own MPEG ID. You than drag the MPEG ID for the correct stream to a corresponding output socket. The output socket is where you determine the Multicast address that you are sending to the system.
Csolarus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 06-20-2019, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Csolarus View Post
No rescan, the encoder will auto detect the streams as they are activated, each sub channel appears with it's own MPEG ID. You than drag the MPEG ID for the correct stream to a corresponding output socket. The output socket is where you determine the Multicast address that you are sending to the system.
Frank Fantin, it's interesting that I see you commented on Court TV elsewhere in your posts. That is the channel that the local broadcaster is trying to add as .4 service that I'm having issues with. They say they are going to go to HD eventually (July 1 I think) but for now it's SD in 480i.
Csolarus is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-20-2019, 09:23 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,787
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2186 Post(s)
Liked: 4091
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/45-lo...e-posting.html

no new threads are allowed in this section without moderator approval. Please PM me with your location and MPVD company to continue. I'll get you to the right place for assistance.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off