Hartford, CT - OTA - Page 248 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7411 of 7747 Old 11-21-2017, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauldow View Post
This frequency changing got me wondering. Don't the antennas need to be sized for a particular frequency? I would think that any station moving between UHF and VHF would be even more affected. I'm guessing the transmitters can have some relatively minor adjustments done to them, unless it's a UHF <-> VHF change too.

Do people have to get back up on the towers to make some type of adjustment?
Stations that voluntarily move from UHF to VHF (nobody was forced to move to VHF) is getting compensation from the FCC along with money for a new antenna (the way I understand it)
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7412 of 7747 Old 11-22-2017, 01:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
If they are moving frequencies, they need a new antenna, if one just goes offline and shares with another, the one that's sharing already has the antenna, although they may need some encoder upgrades if they don't have modern high-efficiency encoders that can cram two HD channels on one 8VSB channel and have it look only semi terrible.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7413 of 7747 Old 11-23-2017, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
If they are moving frequencies, they need a new antenna, if one just goes offline and shares with another, the one that's sharing already has the antenna, although they may need some encoder upgrades if they don't have modern high-efficiency encoders that can cram two HD channels on one 8VSB channel and have it look only semi terrible.
I can't see a UHF to VHF without a new transmitter as well as antenna. There should perhaps be a power savings with the swap.
100/40 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7414 of 7747 Old 11-23-2017, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100/40 View Post
I can't see a UHF to VHF without a new transmitter as well as antenna. There should perhaps be a power savings with the swap.
Good point. I wasn't considering the transmitter. I'd think those would need to be replaced for frequency changes within UHF as well, at least with the first generation transmitters.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7415 of 7747 Old 11-23-2017, 06:39 PM
Member
 
OTAzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: north central CT
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Surprisingly, the VHF dipole kit I have on the roof (off an AntennasDirect C2V kit), running thought an RCA preamplifier, picked up Channel 7 out of Albany tonight (virtual 23-1 through 23-4) for about 20 minutes. Over 90 miles away and 2 edge.

Last edited by OTAzak; 11-23-2017 at 06:50 PM.
OTAzak is offline  
post #7416 of 7747 Old 11-24-2017, 08:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTAzak View Post
Surprisingly, the VHF dipole kit I have on the roof (off an AntennasDirect C2V kit), running thought an RCA preamplifier, picked up Channel 7 out of Albany tonight (virtual 23-1 through 23-4) for about 20 minutes. Over 90 miles away and 2 edge.
WOW. That's amazing. My C2v is pretty lousy. I'm getting 8 now in Madison, but we're rather close to New Haven.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7417 of 7747 Old 12-04-2017, 04:26 PM
Member
 
terminal_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colebrook, CT
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just noticed that WCCT-20 has added another sub-channel at 20.4 "Stadium" which is some sort of sports channel.
terminal_man is offline  
post #7418 of 7747 Old 12-04-2017, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I haven't checked TV with an antenna for a while now. Is CPTV Sports still available over-the-air through WEDH-TV channel 24?
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #7419 of 7747 Old 12-04-2017, 10:31 PM
Member
 
terminal_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colebrook, CT
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
I haven't checked TV with an antenna for a while now. Is CPTV Sports still available over-the-air through WEDH-TV channel 24?
It's gone. They replaced it with something called "Spirit."
https://cptv.org/about/cptv-spirit/
terminal_man is offline  
post #7420 of 7747 Old 12-05-2017, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Something is up with 61 today. It's very weak compared to normal. Might just be the weather.

Why on earth is 3 broadcasting their main feed in BOTH 1080i and 480i? That's completely redundant and a waste of bandwidth! It probably messes with the stat mux too, since they are the exact same content, and they seem to be closely synced.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7421 of 7747 Old 12-05-2017, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,454
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1407 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Why on earth is 3 broadcasting their main feed in BOTH 1080i and 480i? That's completely redundant and a waste of bandwidth! It probably messes with the stat mux too, since they are the exact same content, and they seem to be closely synced.
My understanding is that it's not a simulcast. 3-4 supposedly has different commercials targeted at Fairfield County.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #7422 of 7747 Old 12-05-2017, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
My understanding is that it's not a simulcast. 3-4 supposedly has different commercials targeted at Fairfield County.

- Trip
What? Who in their right mind is going to watch a crappy 480i feed? I could see feeding cable companies different versions, since they can get different fiber feeds. And it still messes with the stat mux, since it's the same shows when not on commercials...
BiggAW is offline  
post #7423 of 7747 Old 12-06-2017, 11:12 AM
Member
 
pauldow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Suffield, CT
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
What? Who in their right mind is going to watch a crappy 480i feed? I could see feeding cable companies different versions, since they can get different fiber feeds. And it still messes with the stat mux, since it's the same shows when not on commercials...
As I understand it, there are rules that give a broadcast station an advantage of being carried on cable vs. other channels. The cable companies do get a HD feed, but this way they can push back on NYC stations, plus take advantage of the local advertisers. WTNH does the same thing in Danbury with their 8-3 feed.

Paul
pauldow is offline  
post #7424 of 7747 Old 12-06-2017, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by pauldow View Post
As I understand it, there are rules that give a broadcast station an advantage of being carried on cable vs. other channels. The cable companies do get a HD feed, but this way they can push back on NYC stations, plus take advantage of the local advertisers. WTNH does the same thing in Danbury with their 8-3 feed.
But then why have it on the OTA feed? It's retransmission consent anyway, not must carry, so having it OTA doesn't benefit anyone.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7425 of 7747 Old 12-11-2017, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Something is seriously wrong with WTIC's signal. Back in 2011, I could get it with a small indoor antenna, and it was the only channel that I could receive. Today, in the same location, with a Clearstream 2v mounted in the attic, another 10' up, I can reliably pick up 3, 8, 20, 24, 30, and 59, but 61 is not reliable. Today it is cutting in and out, and reading out as the weakest signal on my TiVo.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7426 of 7747 Old 12-11-2017, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
But then why have it on the OTA feed? It's retransmission consent anyway, not must carry, so having it OTA doesn't benefit anyone.
Cable companies use OTA as a backup to the fiber feed. Some small companies don't get a fiber feed and use the OTA as their sole feed. Also the station may be downconverting for the small cable companies rather than provide them equipment for SD downconversion.
nyctveng is offline  
post #7427 of 7747 Old 12-12-2017, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
Cable companies use OTA as a backup to the fiber feed. Some small companies don't get a fiber feed and use the OTA as their sole feed. Also the station may be downconverting for the small cable companies rather than provide them equipment for SD downconversion.
Who carries it? Altice, Comcast, Charter, Frontier, and Verizon? Not exactly small companies. Pretty sure they could all figure out how to get it via fiber.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7428 of 7747 Old 12-12-2017, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Who carries it? Altice, Comcast, Charter, Frontier, and Verizon? Not exactly small companies. Pretty sure they could all figure out how to get it via fiber.
There are small MSO's around CT:
http://www.ct.gov/pura/lib/pura/catv...anchisemap.pdf

There's also numerous hotels, SMATV systems and others that you may not know about. The stations do it for a reason.
nyctveng is offline  
post #7429 of 7747 Old 12-12-2017, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
There are small MSO's around CT:
http://www.ct.gov/pura/lib/pura/catv...anchisemap.pdf

There's also numerous hotels, SMATV systems and others that you may not know about. The stations do it for a reason.
Cox isn't in Fairfield County, but they still have like 5M customers. The only truly small cable company in CT is TVC, in Groton, which is at the opposite end of the state. This seems pretty lazy/stupid on WFSB's part, to even have the channel in the first place, much less waste OTA bandwidth on it. SMATV systems get their signals from another company, be it DirecTV (who doesn't carry subchannels), or a cable company.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7430 of 7747 Old 12-12-2017, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Who carries it? Altice, Comcast, Charter, Frontier, and Verizon? Not exactly small companies. Pretty sure they could all figure out how to get it via fiber.
I wanted to add that many local stations use the same mux encoder to feed the fiber to MVPDs and OTA. Small percentage of stations use 2 different mux encoders. ION comes to mind as one of the few that use a separate mux encoder for cable fiber feeds because the OTA contains some encrypted mobile DTV.
BiggAW likes this.
nyctveng is offline  
post #7431 of 7747 Old 12-12-2017, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
I wanted to add that many local stations use the same mux encoder to feed the fiber to MVPDs and OTA. Small percentage of stations use 2 different mux encoders. ION comes to mind as one of the few that use a separate mux encoder for cable fiber feeds because the OTA contains some encrypted mobile DTV.
True, but they could send out another feed for the Fairfield County WFSB. They could just replace the whole feed if they sent one out in HD, or a totally different mux with a different 3-1....
BiggAW is offline  
post #7432 of 7747 Old 12-14-2017, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Neil Griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WTNH and WFSB are probably taking advantage of the significantly viewed rules that allow cable system to carry stations outside the market (NYC in the case of Danbury and Fairfield County) that have a history of being viewed over the air. The 480i feeds qualify as over the air, even if the station feeds a higher quality signal to the cable company.
Neil Griffin is offline  
post #7433 of 7747 Old 12-19-2017, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Hi, all.

Anyone have any tips on being able to haul in all four of the major networks?

My setup is that I am using an AntennasDirect DB8e antenna that's installed in my attic. My house is a ranch style (one story, so the antenna is roughly 15' above ground level) and elevation for my address is 842' above sea level. I'm using quad shield RG6 to directly connect my antenna to a SiliconDust HDHomeRun Extend (dual tuner with transcoding capability built in).

Up until today, I was getting a lot of macroblocking and pixelation on CBS (channel 3) but I managed to correct that by re-orienting my antenna to more accurately "point" toward the CBS tower.

When I run a channel discovery on the HDHR device, it will find channel 8.1 (ABC) but I can't actually tune it in. NBC30 comes in nicely, and I honestly don't know if Fox is currently coming in or not.

This particular antenna has two "halves" that can be oriented differently from each other, and I'm wondering if I should orienting half of it towards one of the ABC towers to get it to come in while leaving the other half oriented in the direction of the other networks. Or, is there a better way to do it with a second antenna?

I'm basically putting the last pieces in place to "cut the cord" (I have a Plex media server with DVR capabilities), so it's important that I can get all four of the major networks up and running since I'm adding tuners with an HDHomeRun Quattro (four tuner).
meburdick is offline  
post #7434 of 7747 Old 12-20-2017, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Where in the area are you?

3 and 18 - Avon Mountain on Avon/West Hartford line
8 and 59 - Madmere Mountain in Hamden
20, 24, 30 and 61 - Rattlesnake Mountain in Farmington
26 - Montville
53 - Bozrah

From my old place in New Britain's south end, the Rattlesnake stations were perfect, being barely 5 miles from the site. Channel 3 was good nearly all the time. Had many problems with channel 18. Channel 26 was in most of the time. Channel 8 was in and out (being on VHF doesn't help) and 59 wasn't that reliable. Channel 53 was rare, but sometimes popped up along with WPXQ-TV (ION) channel 69 from Block Island/Providence (their tower is close to the CT border).
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #7435 of 7747 Old 12-20-2017, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 364
NW hills.

Couldn't care less about 18.x, but they do come in fine. 3.x (CBS) is fine now as well (since moving the antenna). 30.1 (NBC) comes in great. 61.1 (Fox) is also very good. These stations are generally between E and ESE for me, and that's the general direction I have the antenna pointed.

8.x used to be identified in a channel scan (no longer is since moving the antenna).

40.x hasn't ever shown up from what I recall.

40.1 (ABC) is NNE from me and doesn't show up on a scan. Since it's UHF, it would seem that would be more likely for me to be able to tune than 8.1 (ABC) which is VHF and almost due South.

Since my antenna has "two halves" that can be independently pointed, I'm wondering if orienting one of the halves North would get me ABC while I could continue to get the other three major networks by leaving the other half of the antenna pointing in the ESE direction.
meburdick is offline  
post #7436 of 7747 Old 12-20-2017, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would give 40 a try. At least aim that way and see what happens. I think 57 is on the same site as 40. You may see 22 also. I'm just south of Hartford and Springfield stations are strong. If you get those stations you could try the split for the Hartford region and dump 8.
100/40 is offline  
post #7437 of 7747 Old 12-20-2017, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 364
I've been thinking along the same lines since 40 is UHF and -should- have the potential for an overall more stable signal than 8 which is VHF.

Guess I'll try rotating the antenna and see if I can get 40. If that works, then I'll try split-aiming the antenna to see if I can combine everything all together.
meburdick is offline  
post #7438 of 7747 Old 12-20-2017, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Griffin View Post
WTNH and WFSB are probably taking advantage of the significantly viewed rules that allow cable system to carry stations outside the market (NYC in the case of Danbury and Fairfield County) that have a history of being viewed over the air. The 480i feeds qualify as over the air, even if the station feeds a higher quality signal to the cable company.
They're under retransmission consent anyway, not must-carry, so I'm not sure what effect on anything having an OTA signal would matter for making a customized feed for Fairfield County.

Quote:
Originally Posted by meburdick View Post
Hi, all.

Anyone have any tips on being able to haul in all four of the major networks?
1. The DB8e is about as good of a UHF antenna as you can get.

2. Pretty much all of our UHF stations are near Hartford, so air your DB8e for those.

3. The DB8e is not a VHF antenna, so get a VHF antenna for Channel 8, point that at New Haven, and combine the UHF and VHF antennas with a combiner.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7439 of 7747 Old 12-20-2017, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
They're under retransmission consent anyway, not must-carry, so I'm not sure what effect on anything having an OTA signal would matter for making a customized feed for Fairfield County.



1. The DB8e is about as good of a UHF antenna as you can get.

2. Pretty much all of our UHF stations are near Hartford, so air your DB8e for those.

3. The DB8e is not a VHF antenna, so get a VHF antenna for Channel 8, point that at New Haven, and combine the UHF and VHF antennas with a combiner.
Der! Thanks for reminding me of this. lol

The DB8e uses a combiner to "blend" the two halves together. Should I use an additional two-port combiner to bring the DB8e together with the VHF antenna? Or, should I get a larger (3 or possibly 4 port) combiner and blend all of the original signals with just one device? The engineer in me says single combiner to minimize signal loss.....

Any recommendations product-wise for either the antenna or the combiner?
meburdick is offline  
post #7440 of 7747 Old 12-20-2017, 07:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 364
I should add that I will be combining UHF and VHF at the antennas, and I will then need a splitter at the opposite end to allow me to connect the signal to two -different- HDHomeRun boxes (one with two tuners, and one with four). If this impacts equipment choices, so be it.

Total RG6 length is somewhere around 40-50' from antenna (attic) to HDHR boxes (basement).
meburdick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off