Hartford, CT - OTA - Page 258 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7711 of 7747 Old 06-12-2019, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansky212 View Post
Nice. Any word on how long it takes to get this turned on? I'm hoping they put a usable signal into northeastern NJ.
I assume this will happen when WEDW/WZME repack to RF channel 21 sometime during phase four. They should have a tower crew ready from when they planned on moving their transmitter to Stamford.
Brian in CT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7712 of 7747 Old 06-12-2019, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
I assume this will happen when WEDW/WZME repack to RF channel 21 sometime during phase four. They should have a tower crew ready from when they planned on moving their transmitter to Stamford.
That would make sense. I guess we'll find out over the next 2 months. Is it known if they will be using the main mast on top of ESB or installing a new side mount?
ansky212 is online now  
post #7713 of 7747 Old 06-12-2019, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansky212 View Post
That would make sense. I guess we'll find out over the next 2 months. Is it known if they will be using the main mast on top of ESB or installing a new side mount?
Z, how about an update on WEDW?
100/40 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7714 of 7747 Old 06-12-2019, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Bring me up to speed: WEDW-TV (PBS) channel 49 will move to Stamford for its city of license? Does their transmitter move, too?
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #7715 of 7747 Old 06-12-2019, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
Bring me up to speed: WEDW-TV (PBS) channel 49 will move to Stamford for its city of license? Does their transmitter move, too?
Their DTS application was approved today. That means they will be running 2 transmitters - the existing one from Trumbull and the new transmitter from Empire in NYC.
ansky212 is online now  
post #7716 of 7747 Old 06-12-2019, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Forgive my ignorance...but how can a TV station run two different transmitters?
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #7717 of 7747 Old 06-12-2019, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
Forgive my ignorance...but how can a TV station run two different transmitters?
WMBC in NJ currently does it. They have one transmitter in Montclair, NJ and another atop ESB in NYC.
I'm sure Trip could provide more insight into the technical aspects of it.
ansky212 is online now  
post #7718 of 7747 Old 06-13-2019, 02:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,459
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1408 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
This should help, though the "individual broadcasters" section is very outdated. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Distri...mission_system

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #7719 of 7747 Old 06-13-2019, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
I assume this will happen when WEDW/WZME repack to RF channel 21 sometime during phase four. They should have a tower crew ready from when they planned on moving their transmitter to Stamford.
That assumes that they had planned to actual transmit from Stamford, as opposed to proposing to transmit from Stamford as a ruse to change their community of license to Stamford and then use Stamford as the reference point for the DTS application.

I suspect that their top priority is to transmit on RF 21 from Trumbull using a temporary antenna. After that is done by the deadline August 2, 2019, they can start work on replacing the temporary antenna at Trumbull with a permanent one (and remove the current RF 49 antenna).

A suitable antenna may already be available on the Empire State Building.
logger-a is offline  
post #7720 of 7747 Old 06-13-2019, 10:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Wedw needs to drop wzme and broadcast pbs programming in 1080 like years before, or nobody is gonna tunein to 480 regardless what is being shown imho
Useeme1234 is offline  
post #7721 of 7747 Old 06-20-2019, 01:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Useeme1234 View Post
Wedw needs to drop wzme and broadcast pbs programming in 1080 like years before, or nobody is gonna tunein to 480 regardless what is being shown imho
What should happen in the near future is that WTXX will transmit its own over-the-air signal instead of being a temporary channel sharing guest of WEDW. For more information see https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...65b470742a0b07
logger-a is offline  
post #7722 of 7747 Old 06-25-2019, 08:50 AM
Member
 
pauldow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Suffield, CT
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WGBY says they will be changing frequency on July 19.
I believe they're moving from UHF channel 22 to VHF channel 13.


https://wgby.org/tvrescan

Paul
pauldow is offline  
post #7723 of 7747 Old 06-25-2019, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 44
How can they be on the same channel as WPRI in Providence? Are they going to switch on the same day? They have a large overlap in coverage area.
John

Last edited by ctdish; 06-25-2019 at 05:10 PM.
ctdish is offline  
post #7724 of 7747 Old 06-26-2019, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Never once did I get a hint of channel 57 in the south end of New Britain. I did get WGGB-TV (ABC) channel 40 in. One lone time. I never received a blip from WWLP-TV (NBC) channel 22 whatsoever. The only Rhode Island digital signal I ever received was WPXQ-TV (ION) channel 69 of Block Island/Providence. That was likely due to their transmitter being in Exeter, RI, close to the Connecticut border.
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #7725 of 7747 Old 06-26-2019, 09:35 AM
Member
 
terminal_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colebrook, CT
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctdish View Post
How can they be on the same channel as WPRI in Providence? Are they going to switch on the same day? They have a large overlap in coverage area.
John

WPRI's rescan date for their change to channel 7 isn't until Aug 2.
https://www.wpri.com/news/local-news...ansmitter/amp/
terminal_man is offline  
post #7726 of 7747 Old 07-01-2019, 10:11 AM
Member
 
terminal_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colebrook, CT
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There was a crawl on WFSB 3 this morning announcing their rescan date as August 1
terminal_man is offline  
post #7727 of 7747 Old 07-02-2019, 05:08 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Understanding I have tree problems, yesterday I lost WFSB 3 completely. Unusual for me. Anyone else have problem?
100/40 is online now  
post #7728 of 7747 Old 07-02-2019, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Unless I'm reading something wrong, I'm seeing WFSB-TV channel 3 listed as using channel 36. Is that going to be their new repack channel number? I thought they've been on channel 33?
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #7729 of 7747 Old 07-02-2019, 05:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,459
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1408 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 100/40 View Post
Understanding I have tree problems, yesterday I lost WFSB 3 completely. Unusual for me. Anyone else have problem?
https://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/sig...3B/tuner0/WFSB

Looks like it dropped a lot yesterday. My guess is repack work. They have an STA for 20 kW side-mounted facility rather than their usual 1000 kW top-mount.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #7730 of 7747 Old 07-02-2019, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
https://www.rabbitears.info/tvdx/sig...3B/tuner0/WFSB

Looks like it dropped a lot yesterday. My guess is repack work. They have an STA for 20 kW side-mounted facility rather than their usual 1000 kW top-mount.

- Trip
Thank you Trip!
100/40 is online now  
post #7731 of 7747 Old 07-09-2019, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Exclamation

The Frontier service is being removed from where I am on the Berlin/Newington town line. I got caught off guard, only have an old Radio Shack indoor VHF/FM antenna with two rods. Normally, Rattlesnake Mountain would be fine from here (I'm near the tri-point where Berlin, Newington and Rocky Hill all meet, actually). All I could get was channel 30 and its "channel 19" subchannels. Channels 20 and 24 (and "WEDY") popped in. No channel 3,18, 8/59 or 61. I have no other old antenna lying around here. Damn!

Last edited by KEVINL71; 07-09-2019 at 05:51 AM.
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #7732 of 7747 Old 07-09-2019, 06:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
The Frontier service is being removed from where I am on the Berlin/Newington town line. I got caught off guard, only have an old Radio Shack indoor VHF/FM antenna with two rods. Normally, Rattlesnake Mountain would be fine from here (I'm near the tri-point where Berlin, Newington and Rocky Hill all meet, actually). All I could get was channel 30 and its "channel 19" subchannels. Channels 20 and 24 (and "WEDY") popped in. No channel 3,18, 8/59 or 61. I have no other old antenna lying around here. Damn!
You can go to Best Buy on the Berlin Tpke. They should have some antennas to choose from. If not, there is always Amazon.
ansky212 is online now  
post #7733 of 7747 Old 07-09-2019, 03:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
The Frontier service is being removed from where I am on the Berlin/Newington town line. I got caught off guard, only have an old Radio Shack indoor VHF/FM antenna with two rods. Normally, Rattlesnake Mountain would be fine from here (I'm near the tri-point where Berlin, Newington and Rocky Hill all meet, actually). All I could get was channel 30 and its "channel 19" subchannels. Channels 20 and 24 (and "WEDY") popped in. No channel 3,18, 8/59 or 61. I have no other old antenna lying around here. Damn!
Frontier is removing their plant? Huh? You could go to Comcast if you want pay TV.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7734 of 7747 Old 07-09-2019, 05:01 PM
Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
The Frontier service is being removed from where I am on the Berlin/Newington town line.
Being removed? Do you live in a condo/apartment complex? Frontier paid big $$$ to AT&T for its Connecticut infrastructure. They can't be discontinuing service in your whole neighborhood, can they?
Brian in CT is offline  
post #7735 of 7747 Old 07-10-2019, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The relative I'm staying with has to leave their apartment at month's end. A different relative had the Frontier services cut on Monday (TV, phone and internet). That's all. Nothing to do with Frontier or Comcast's relationship with the complex we're in. It's the Berlin side of the town line...barely. The occasional mail offer in the mail box comes from Comcast, not Cox (which is Newington and Rocky Hill).


I had a couple of other indoor antennas at my old place in New Britain's south end. They would've been better for UHF reception. Again, the antenna I'm using now is an ancient Radio Shack VHF/FM antenna with two telescoping rods. I see no elements on it for UHF whatsoever. With the rods folded in, the UHF got a tiny bit better. At first, channel 20 showed up, but only as a blank screen, with the TV displaying 20-4 to 20-6. At last check, I'm getting channel 20 and its subchannels, along with channel 30 and it's "channel 19" subchannels of Telemundo and Telexitos.



It was the first time I even had my relative's TV on, in any fashion, since late March. Since I have to leave within three weeks, there's no point to get another antenna now. Nearly all I've watched since has been with my laptop. I don't stream any TV shows. Just the occasional youtube clip and checking forums like this and the Radio Discussions site.



I assume the other reason I couldn't see channel 24 (PBS) or 61 (FOX) is due to the tower work and the channel repacking mess. Normally (and especially in New Britain), the Rattlesnake Mountain stations were always rock solid.
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #7736 of 7747 Old 07-10-2019, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
The relative I'm staying with has to leave their apartment at month's end. A different relative had the Frontier services cut on Monday (TV, phone and internet). That's all. Nothing to do with Frontier or Comcast's relationship with the complex we're in. It's the Berlin side of the town line...barely. The occasional mail offer in the mail box comes from Comcast, not Cox (which is Newington and Rocky Hill).
Why are they cutting services? That makes no sense, even for Frontier. Here in Wethersfield, I have been fighting with them for 4 months to wire my building for POTS service as is required by law (which will also bring 70mbps or faster VDSL in since the VRAD is right down the street). Frontier doesn't want to follow the law that says they have to wire it if anyone wants POTS, PURA doesn't feel like doing their job and forcing them to do it, so nothing gets done. They just keep playing hot potato with it, while Frontier is like "HUH?" "WHAT?" "DURRRRR". It's sad because the front-line techs at Frontier are very talented and knowledgeable, but the management is completely incompetent. I swear if they just fired the whole management and let the CWA guys run the show the company would make way more money and the service would be way better.
Brian in CT likes this.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7737 of 7747 Old 07-10-2019, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by KEVINL71 View Post
The relative I'm staying with has to leave their apartment at month's end. A different relative had the Frontier services cut on Monday (TV, phone and internet)
Geez. Your relative couldn't wait to cut service until you vacated the property? If it were me, this person would be out of the will.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #7738 of 7747 Old 07-10-2019, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 7
WLNY is running a scroll this evening indicating that they will be changing to their new RF assignment on July 24th at 1pm.
ansky212 is online now  
post #7739 of 7747 Old 07-11-2019, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,273
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
Geez. Your relative couldn't wait to cut service until you vacated the property? If it were me, this person would be out of the will.
Oh, I re-read that, I guess it was the relative. It sounded like Frontier cut the service off the first time I read it.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7740 of 7747 Old 07-15-2019, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes, the Frontier service was cut to the apartment. The two TVs the place had are now gone, leaving only the s----y VHF/FM indoor antenna behind (won't work for most UHF anyways). With the rods folded in, I picked up a little of channel 20 and 30. It REALLY sucks with no internet now! (My cell phone browser won't work either, on top of the phone not having a working number since March of 2018.)



Meanwhile, while in his work place's break room, my brother said channel 3 had their crawl running across the top of the screen. It was their reminder about the rescan on either July 31st or August 1st.
KEVINL71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off