South Bend, IN - HDTV - Page 132 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 38Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3931 of 3965 Old 09-15-2018, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Valley of the Jolly Green Giant
Posts: 2,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
I did a channel scan this morning and found that it appears that This TV could be returning to WCWW on 25.3. The channel came up when I scanned this morning but there isn't anything broadcasting on it yet. However the channel ID is indeed This TV. I have my fingers crossed for the 16x9 feed.
What is on 25-2? Rabbitears shows ThisTv on 25-2
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=wcww
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3932 of 3965 Old 09-15-2018, 04:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,342
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
What is on 25-2? Rabbitears shows ThisTv on 25-2
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=wcww
Er, refresh your page. It's shown Start TV on 25-2 for weeks.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3933 of 3965 Old 09-15-2018, 05:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Valley of the Jolly Green Giant
Posts: 2,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 126
My mistake. I saw THIS under the callsign and combined with "TV" in the actual channel I mistoke it for ThisTV
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3934 of 3965 Old 09-17-2018, 09:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: South Bend
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
I see you posted this on the 14th. I think 69-1 worked fine for me then. However today they changed frequencies so you'll need to rescan anyways.
I don't know what the problem was but it could've been the Tivo's guide data? I got it again when they moved to 33. I am getting ThisTV on 25.3 now and it looks like they finally turned up the volume on 25.1 lol.
Koto19 is offline  
post #3935 of 3965 Old 09-18-2018, 02:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Er, refresh your page. It's shown Start TV on 25-2 for weeks.

- Trip
WCWW 25 removed This TV on the 3rd to launch Start TV on 25.2 in its place. Start TV was supposed to replace This TV on all of the Wiegel owned stations as I understand it. Saturday when I did a scan I saw 25.3 appear as This TV. It's as it was on 25.2 currently without any guide data. I don't understand why they didn't just add Start TV to 25.3 if they didn't intend on removing This TV. I don't like not having guide data when they shuffle stations like that. WHME 46 is a bad offender in doing that. When 46 did it, they moved Light TV to a different subchannel when they added 3 others. It took like a few weeks for the right guide data to show up.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3936 of 3965 Old 09-18-2018, 03:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,342
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
I don't understand why they didn't just add Start TV to 25.3 if they didn't intend on removing This TV.
Likely so Start TV would have instant cable carriage, versus This TV that Weigel no longer owns.

- Trip
Phoenixfury likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3937 of 3965 Old 10-23-2018, 02:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
South Bend WCWW, WBND, WMYS late 22Oct18 no reception

WCWW (VC 25), WBND (VC 57), and WMYS (VC 69) in South Bend yesterday late afternoon and evening all seemed to be "out of service", although I could see the programming information but otherwise no signal. Since I had just made a change to my antenna system, this was somewhat disconcerting and other South Bend channels had slightly lower signal strengths.

This morning at 5:00 a.m. all three stations seem to be back in service.

I had the same thing happen to a single South Bend station (don't remember which one) two to three weeks ago.

Did anyone else experience this and does anyone know the reason it occurred?

(I live in southwest Michigan very close to Lake Michigan and use two identical HDB91X Yagi UHF/VHF antennas pointing towards South Bend and Chicago with a Winegard CC-7870 combiner: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/25-hd...cago-help.html)

Last edited by budh9534; 10-23-2018 at 03:37 AM.
budh9534 is offline  
post #3938 of 3965 Old 10-23-2018, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Neil Griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's quite likely that your Chicago antenna was picking up some co-channel signals from that market or Milwaukee. Your combiner was mixing that signal with the South Bend signals, rendering the channels undecodable. There are channel specific combiners that help eliminate this sort of problem. If you only need one or two Chicago channels, that might be an option. Not as practical if you were wanting all of the full powers in that market (you'd be essentially creating your own cable system at that point).
Neil Griffin is offline  
post #3939 of 3965 Old 10-23-2018, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Valley of the Jolly Green Giant
Posts: 2,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Since all 3 are owned by same people (Weigel) and same tower maybe some maintenance work being done?
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3940 of 3965 Old 10-27-2018, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This post is for fellow users of Silicondust's HDHomerun products concerning WCWW 25.3 This TV. I contacted tech support through Silicondust's community forums to let them know their guide software hasn't been getting data for 25.3. They were pretty quick as I sent them the request to correct 25.3's guide data and they fixed it late this afternoon. I'm happy I can finally see what's on This TV now!

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3941 of 3965 Old 10-30-2018, 07:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Since all 3 are owned by same people (Weigel) and same tower maybe some maintenance work being done?
Yes, I suspect it was not a coincidence that those particular three stations were out of service simultaneously!


It likely was not a co-channel issue.
budh9534 is offline  
post #3942 of 3965 Old 11-04-2018, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Brent A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Anyone else having drop outs on WNDU today? They only last a 1-2 seconds and it's rare to go more than 3 minutes before it happens again.
Brent A is offline  
post #3943 of 3965 Old 11-08-2018, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: South Bend
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
This post is for fellow users of Silicondust's HDHomerun products concerning WCWW 25.3 This TV. I contacted tech support through Silicondust's community forums to let them know their guide software hasn't been getting data for 25.3. They were pretty quick as I sent them the request to correct 25.3's guide data and they fixed it late this afternoon. I'm happy I can finally see what's on This TV now!

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
I still have no guide data for 25.3 ThisTV on the Tivo Roamio.
Koto19 is offline  
post #3944 of 3965 Old 11-09-2018, 02:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koto19 View Post
I still have no guide data for 25.3 ThisTV on the Tivo Roamio.
You may need to contact TiVo support.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Last edited by Phoenixfury; 11-09-2018 at 02:40 AM.
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3945 of 3965 Old 11-09-2018, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Valley of the Jolly Green Giant
Posts: 2,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koto19 View Post
I still have no guide data for 25.3 ThisTV on the Tivo Roamio.
do a lineup request at tivo.com/lineup

List the channel number and what network it should be and they usually get it fixed within a couple days
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3946 of 3965 Old 11-14-2018, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: South Bend
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
do a lineup request at tivo.com/lineup

List the channel number and what network it should be and they usually get it fixed within a couple days
Thanks, I'll try that.


Antenna 16.2 no longer has that annoying writing on the side of the screen. It looks much better now.
Koto19 is offline  
post #3947 of 3965 Old 11-24-2018, 03:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
TIVO finally fixed the 25-3 guide info. It seems they are getting slower on correcting their guide conflicts as I had sent them an update request on that channel on 9/28/18.
lwman1 is offline  
post #3948 of 3965 Old 12-19-2018, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I've been having severe reception issues with WCWW 25 for the past several days. I'm not sure if my antenna got whacked or if CW 25 is really having issues. For me it is pretty much dead. I'm in Elkhart.
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3949 of 3965 Old 12-29-2018, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
I've been having severe reception issues with WCWW 25 for the past several days. I'm not sure if my antenna got whacked or if CW 25 is really having issues. For me it is pretty much dead. I'm in Elkhart.
Nevermind. I don't know what changed but unplugging my signal amp brought 25 back in for me but I lost channel 18 Daystar.. I don't watch 18 much anyways so it's an acceptable loss.
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3950 of 3965 Old 12-29-2018, 09:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
Nevermind. I don't know what changed but unplugging my signal amp brought 25 back in for me but I lost channel 18 Daystar.. I don't watch 18 much anyways so it's an acceptable loss.
Sounds like your antenna moved, or the signal multipath was bring amplified to the point where it was causing issues.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #3951 of 3965 Old 12-30-2018, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Definitely a possibility that the antenna may have moved as it has been hit a couple of times by tree branches. However I hadn't seen any loose branches on the ground lately so not so sure it's that. I suspect you're right on about the multipath though. I want to replace my antenna someday but I need to have the tree limb hanging over my garage (and apparently my antenna) first. I'm not sure why my signals are better without the amp now but my new metal roof we just had installed this past summer might be helping in that department.
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3952 of 3965 Old 01-05-2019, 05:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anybody else been having problems with WBND channel 57? I'm about 20 miles south of the transmitter and the signal has been weak for a couple of weeks and I have not been getting a watchable signal for a couple of days. I don't understand why this channel is so much weaker than other channels transmitting from the same location.
lwman1 is offline  
post #3953 of 3965 Old 02-13-2019, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I see WBND ABC 57 is now appearing on WCWW 25.4 and it's even in HD. I wonder what Weigle is up to.
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3954 of 3965 Old 02-15-2019, 01:25 PM
Member
 
alesch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Middlebury IN
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
I see WBND ABC 57 is now appearing on WCWW 25.4 and it's even in HD. I wonder what Weigle is up to.
I'm guessing the reason is that Channel 33 in Fort Wayne moved to RF 34, the same as WBND. I can no longer get either WBND or 33 Fort Wayne, so I assume 25.4 is meant for us people in the eastern part of the area who are effected by this.
alesch1 is offline  
post #3955 of 3965 Old 02-16-2019, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Valley of the Jolly Green Giant
Posts: 2,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by alesch1 View Post
I'm guessing the reason is that Channel 33 in Fort Wayne moved to RF 34, the same as WBND. I can no longer get either WBND or 33 Fort Wayne, so I assume 25.4 is meant for us people in the eastern part of the area who are effected by this.
WBND has a construction permit to move to channel 35 but they cant until WNIT PBS moves from RF35 to RF31 which is in phase 6 which is in September-October 2019. So WBND is kinda stuck right now
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3956 of 3965 Old 04-29-2019, 01:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I see WNIT 34 is picking up PBS Kids on 34.3 and 34.4. I noticed their sd feed on 34.2 is now 16x9.

I also found through an article on Cord Cutters News that Court TV is coming to WSJV 28.4. Looks like they are picking up some subs!
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3957 of 3965 Old 04-29-2019, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I scanned today after work and saw all of these sub channels pop up for WSJV 28. However non of them are live yet as they just show the channel name coming soon on each one. 28.1 H&I is showing in SD rather than HD. I hope they switch it back to HD.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3958 of 3965 Old 04-29-2019, 04:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: South Bend
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
I also found through an article on Cord Cutters News that Court TV is coming to WSJV 28.4. Looks like they are picking up some subs!
I hope it doesn't take tivo too long to update the new lineup.

28.1 H&I
28.2 Justice
28.3 Escape
28.4 Court TV
28.5 Quest
28.6 Bounce
Koto19 is offline  
post #3959 of 3965 Old 04-30-2019, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Valley of the Jolly Green Giant
Posts: 2,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 551 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koto19 View Post
I hope it doesn't take tivo too long to update the new lineup.

28.1 H&I
28.2 Justice
28.3 Escape
28.4 Court TV
28.5 Quest
28.6 Bounce
send an update to www.tivo.com/lineup so they are informed. Tivo usually doesnt know about this unless either the station or viewers notify them
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3960 of 3965 Old 04-30-2019, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
send an update to www.tivo.com/lineup so they are informed. Tivo usually doesnt know about this unless either the station or viewers notify them

And even THEN, you may be waiting into eternity for updates; after sending an email WEEKS ago, STILL waiting for 25.4 in Peoria IL to get updated...
dishrich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off