Greenville, SC - HDTV - Page 407 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 101Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12181 of 12661 Old 04-09-2018, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,207
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcy919 View Post
I never thought of that. It would be nice if they could both broadcast in 720p, but I wonder if any CBS affiliates do that?
it can be downconverted. There are some affiliates that are doing it.
an example is KVLY in Fargo, ND (Gray does have CBS in 1080i on a low powered station there too)
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=kvly
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12182 of 12661 Old 04-09-2018, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
My guess is they didn’t because so much programming crosses over between WSPA and WYCW (news, etc). It likely would complicate their production and other operations to deal with one 1080i and one being 720p. Personally I’d rather see both be 720p than the current setup
I think they could still transmit WSPA and WYCW at 1080i and 720p without major issue. They would just set their equipment to downconvert the 7News to 720 when it is transmitted on 62. I remember when WJZY carried WBTV News in 720 after receiving the 1080i feed from WBTV. It was no major problem before FOX began their own news on 46.

And I really like CBS-HD video quality, so I would prefer they keep WSPA in 1080i. Just increase the bandwidth like it was before.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12183 of 12661 Old 04-09-2018, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I can see a difference in the WSPA feed. But I don't watch CBS that much. Only the News and The Price is Right. I'm just happy to finally be able to get WYCW programming reliably. I was never able to get the analog signal and the digital signal was iffy for me.

Last edited by rtripboy; 04-09-2018 at 11:46 AM.
rtripboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12184 of 12661 Old 04-09-2018, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
dubber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
unless they reduce WYCW from 1080p to 720 or 480 or switch to the ASTC 3 they won't have any more bandwidth to add anything to the 7.2 or 62.2 we problem won't see any more new sub channels on WSPA unless ASTC 3 give them more Bandwidth the current bandwidth is 6

I wished they haven't sold the WYCW RF 45 spectrum

Agreed, I now cannot receive CBS, CW or Get TV OTA since I live in towards the southern fringe area of WSPA. Only a huge antenna and preamp (which is impractical) will allow me even occasional reception of RF 7 WSPA.

I wish the FCC would have forced stations to have public comment before they could simply sell off their rights to broadcast over the air on RF 45.

As far as I am concerned they should have been forced to continue broadcasting on RF 45 until that frequency was no longer allowed to be used.
dubber is offline  
post #12185 of 12661 Old 04-09-2018, 10:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubber View Post
Agreed, I now cannot receive CBS, CW or Get TV OTA since I live in towards the southern fringe area of WSPA. Only a huge antenna and preamp (which is impractical) will allow me even occasional reception of RF 7 WSPA.

I wish the FCC would have forced stations to have public comment before they could simply sell off their rights to broadcast over the air on RF 45.

As far as I am concerned they should have been forced to continue broadcasting on RF 45 until that frequency was no longer allowed to be used.
The truth is: The Spectrum auction should have never happened. The US government owns vast amounts of spectrum. More than it will ever need for the military. If they had sold a little of that spectrum the money could have gone in the government's coffers, not the bank accounts of greedy broadcasters.

Last edited by rtripboy; 04-10-2018 at 09:01 AM.
rtripboy is offline  
post #12186 of 12661 Old 04-10-2018, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Eddie_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Stellar Labs 30-2475 High VHF antenna or 30-2476 larger version. Sold by Newark/element 14 or other vendors. RCA preamp will allow separate input for VHF and UHF antennas but you have to flip the switch.
Newark/element 14 gives good service. For this area they ship from Gaffney. I ordered the 30-2476 online Sunday night and it arrived this afternoon (Tues). It will be a few days before I get it up to my son's place to try it.
Eddie_T is offline  
post #12187 of 12661 Old 04-10-2018, 07:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie_T View Post
Newark/element 14 gives good service. For this area they ship from Gaffney. I ordered the 30-2476 online Sunday night and it arrived this afternoon (Tues). It will be a few days before I get it up to my son's place to try it.
Where is the location you want to use it? What county? And you may need to try a preamp but depends on signal.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12188 of 12661 Old 04-11-2018, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Eddie_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
CBS:All Access

Maybe those that went dark in the WSPA CBS marketplace should make a plea for free CBS:All Access online streaming.
Eddie_T is offline  
post #12189 of 12661 Old 04-11-2018, 08:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie_T View Post
Maybe those that went dark in the WSPA CBS marketplace should make a plea for free CBS:All Access online streaming.
You can watch the most current episodes for free. And the CW is totally free. That won't get yoy ION or Get Tv though.
rtripboy is offline  
post #12190 of 12661 Old 04-11-2018, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie_T View Post
Maybe those that went dark in the WSPA CBS marketplace should make a plea for free CBS:All Access online streaming.
I am in Greenville County and get 2 very strong CBS signals from both WSPA and WBTV. No problem here. I think the problem may be more in parts of Western NC where folks may have watched the WSPA simulcast on the old 62.2 which is now gone.
Eddie_T likes this.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12191 of 12661 Old 04-11-2018, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Neil Griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
I am in Greenville County and get 2 very strong CBS signals from both WSPA and WBTV. No problem here. I think the problem may be more in parts of Western NC where folks may have watched the WSPA simulcast on the old 62.2 which is now gone.
In the SC portion of the market, the problem is indoor antennas and VHF. Prior to the signoff of 49 and 62, all major networks, except ABC were easily viewable with an inexpensive indoor antenna. The average consumer who goes to the store to buy one doesn't know which band (VHF-LO, VHF-HI, or UHF) their stations are on and which ones the antenna covers. All they see is the appearance and the hype on the box. Stores like Walmart are going to sell whatever comes in on the truck, and not the ones that would be best suited for a particular area.
Eddie_T and Frostyboy115 like this.
Neil Griffin is offline  
post #12192 of 12661 Old 04-11-2018, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
dubber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Anyone else noticed WYFF4.1 and 4.2 DT OTA off the air at about 9:48 PM EDT tonight?
dubber is offline  
post #12193 of 12661 Old 04-11-2018, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm watching Will & Grace on Cozi TV and it appears they've switched their feed to widescreen. A couple of days aga when I turned past them it was still 4 x 3.
rtripboy is offline  
post #12194 of 12661 Old 04-11-2018, 09:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Griffin View Post
In the SC portion of the market, the problem is indoor antennas and VHF. Prior to the signoff of 49 and 62, all major networks, except ABC were easily viewable with an inexpensive indoor antenna. The average consumer who goes to the store to buy one doesn't know which band (VHF-LO, VHF-HI, or UHF) their stations are on and which ones the antenna covers. All they see is the appearance and the hype on the box. Stores like Walmart are going to sell whatever comes in on the truck, and not the ones that would be best suited for a particular area.
Near Mauldin I get very a strong signal from WSPA and SCETV with just rabbit ears. Even pick them up with a UHF antenna. So they seem to have a strong signal in my area. But WLOS is more problematic on 13, although I can still get it. But what some folks don't realize is the flat panel antennas don't always receive VHF, despite the hype on the box at Walmart. But the RCA Platinum antenna 1560 and the Slivr antenna do receive 7 and 13 at my location, so that seems to be a pretty good antenna at Walmart. It also gets WBTV long distance from Charlotte so it does good. But it does depend upon location, and often for VHF rabbit ears work best, or an outside antenna may be necessary.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12195 of 12661 Old 04-12-2018, 03:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtripboy View Post
I'm watching Will & Grace on Cozi TV and it appears they've switched their feed to widescreen. A couple of days aga when I turned past them it was still 4 x 3.
Never mind on this comment. Cozi reverted back to 4x3. The later episodes of Will & Grace must have been shot in HD.
rtripboy is offline  
post #12196 of 12661 Old 04-15-2018, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,549
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2993 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
What’s the story on WNGS channel 50 (RF 33). I’ve never been able to receive this channel until now and didn’t know it existed. Was pleased to get Retro TV. It’s apparently been around for years. Did it move in the repack or get more power?
mdavej is offline  
post #12197 of 12661 Old 04-15-2018, 08:19 AM
Member
 
Eddie_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
We found a problem with the coax we were using with the test dipole in the Cedar Mountain, NC area. The Stellar Labs 30-2476 antenna did the trick and real Ch 7 as well as real Ch 2 translator (WSPA Brevard area, a surprise for a VHF-hi pointed some 90 degrees away from tower) scanned into the HDTV set.

Thanks for all the comments.
Eddie_T is offline  
post #12198 of 12661 Old 04-15-2018, 02:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Adjacent to the aromatic Reedy River
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
What’s the story on WNGS channel 50 (RF 33). I’ve never been able to receive this channel until now and didn’t know it existed. Was pleased to get Retro TV. It’s apparently been around for years. Did it move in the repack or get more power?
It's been on in Asheville for years. The translator on Paris Mountain of the Upstate was just powered up a couple of weeks ago. There had been an FCC CP for the translator a couple of months back. Signal was terrible for a day or two, but it's been great since Trip asked some folks he knows at WNGS' parent company to do some troubleshooting.
mdavej likes this.
OldDevildog is offline  
post #12199 of 12661 Old 04-15-2018, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldDevildog View Post
It's been on in Asheville for years. The translator on Paris Mountain of the Upstate was just powered up a couple of weeks ago. There had been an FCC CP for the translator a couple of months back. Signal was terrible for a day or two, but it's been great since Trip asked some folks he knows at WNGS' parent company to do some troubleshooting.
Yes their translator signal on Paris Mtn . for WNGS is strong and reliable. Should be same for WLOS translator on Paris Mtn. but they are way too low power and problematic. They need stronger signal for WLOS like WNGS to better serve 13 reception in the Upstate. Because the long awaited RF31 translator for WLOS has been a disappointment. Too low power to be of benefit.
OldDevildog likes this.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12200 of 12661 Old 04-15-2018, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Also WSPA translator RF10 on Paris Mtn. is too weak. But I get main RF7 very strong as well as WBTV so no issue.
OldDevildog likes this.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12201 of 12661 Old 04-15-2018, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 20
My signal strength
3- 33 dB
4- Tryon Peak 20 db
4.-Greenville 21 dB
7 & 62 27 dB
9-9 & 64.9- 24 dB
13- 25 dB
14- 18-20 dB
21- 20 dB
33- 27 dB
36- 30 dB
38- 20 dB
40- 17 dB
46 33db
55- 32 db
realoldman is offline  
post #12202 of 12661 Old 04-16-2018, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by realoldman View Post
My signal strength
3- 33 dB
4- Tryon Peak 20 db
4.-Greenville 21 dB
7 & 62 27 dB
9-9 & 64.9- 24 dB
13- 25 dB
14- 18-20 dB
21- 20 dB
33- 27 dB
36- 30 dB
38- 20 dB
40- 17 dB
46 33db
55- 32 db
Very good. Especially 9.9 which is much lower power for long distance. But do you get SCETV 29 or 49 which is RF9?
tylerSC is offline  
post #12203 of 12661 Old 04-16-2018, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Eddie_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How do you guys get signal strength readings? My TV only gives me signal quality and the converter box unexplained numbers. If you're using a meter which one? I'm OK now but when experimenting with antennas it would be nice not to have to scan so many times.
Eddie_T is offline  
post #12204 of 12661 Old 04-16-2018, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie_T View Post
How do you guys get signal strength readings? My TV only gives me signal quality and the converter box unexplained numbers. If you're using a meter which one? I'm OK now but when experimenting with antennas it would be nice not to have to scan so many times.
Depends on TV brand. Samsung TVs have 1 to 10 bars, and a Signal Noise Ratio measurement. You want to be above 20 db for decent signal, although signal will decode down to 15db. 10 bars is strongest signal.

LG TVs have both signal strength and signal quality measurements in percentage. The higher the numbers, the stronger the signal.

When checking your antenna, just go by the highest reading, whether it says signal strength or signal quality.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12205 of 12661 Old 04-16-2018, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by realoldman View Post
My signal strength
3- 33 dB
4- Tryon Peak 20 db
4.-Greenville 21 dB
7 & 62 27 dB
9-9 & 64.9- 24 dBu
13- 25 dB
14- 18-20 dB
21- 20 dB
33- 27 dB
36- 30 dB
38- 20 dB
40- 17 dB
46 33db
55- 32 db
Very good. Especially 9.9 which is much lower power for long distance. But do you get SCETV 29 or 49 which is RF9?
No I get SCETV on 38 greenwood. I thinking of adding on a small antenna to pick up parris mnt.

Last edited by realoldman; 04-16-2018 at 02:19 PM.
realoldman is offline  
post #12206 of 12661 Old 04-16-2018, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie_T View Post
How do you guys get signal strength readings? My TV only gives me signal quality and the converter box unexplained numbers. If you're using a meter which one? I'm OK now but when experimenting with antennas it would be nice not to have to scan so many times.
My Samsung tv, very pleased with it. It does bars and signal.
realoldman is offline  
post #12207 of 12661 Old 04-18-2018, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
I see WSPA cancel Scene On 7 and add more newscast 7:30.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12208 of 12661 Old 04-18-2018, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
I see WSPA cancel Scene On 7 and add more newscast 7:30.
From look of their Facebook their Last Show was Last Friday April 13 their facebook said they Scene on 7 crew still on Your Carolina it wouldn't surprises me that Nextstar will problem cancelled Your Carolina before too long and problem add a 10am-11am Newscast or replace it with either a Game show or add another episode of Judge Judy or People court to those time if they ever Cancelled Your carolina I think Jack Roper be better off going back doing Weather or doing commercials all time. I think old Media General Managerment Did wrong after they shifted Jack Roper from weather to that Your Carolina after he spent alot time going school getting his Meteorologist Degree. and only be able use it short time after he receive that degree.

btw that Weekend Night Anchor on the news on channel 7 he used to be a Morning News Anchor with Fox carolina 21 WHNS before he left fox carolina WHNS and went to another station then he ended up at WSPA Channel 7
LMckin is offline  
post #12209 of 12661 Old 04-19-2018, 04:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1189 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
From look of their Facebook their Last Show was Last Friday April 13 their facebook said they Scene on 7 crew still on Your Carolina it wouldn't surprises me that Nextstar will problem cancelled Your Carolina before too long and problem add a 10am-11am Newscast or replace it with either a Game show or add another episode of Judge Judy or People court to those time if they ever Cancelled Your carolina I think Jack Roper be better off going back doing Weather or doing commercials all time. I think old Media General Managerment Did wrong after they shifted Jack Roper from weather to that Your Carolina after he spent alot time going school getting his Meteorologist Degree. and only be able use it short time after he receive that degree.

btw that Weekend Night Anchor on the news on channel 7 he used to be a Morning News Anchor with Fox carolina 21 WHNS before he left fox carolina WHNS and went to another station then he ended up at WSPA Channel 7
I liked Jack Roper doing the weather he was entertaining but they decided more serious approach.
tylerSC is offline  
post #12210 of 12661 Old 04-19-2018, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 43
If I had to guess I'd say WSPA's next move will be clearing the 4pm hour so they can go head to head with WYFF's 4pm newscast. They could move "Wendy Williams" to the "Your Carolina" time slot in the mornings, and then move Judge Judy to 3pm. I don't see them moving Judge Judy to the morning. Her ratings are too good to show at a time when very few people are home in the early morning hours to watch it. Expanding their morning news doesn't make much sense. They already repeat the same thing until 7am on WSPA, and then do two hours from 7-9 on WYCW which of course is on the same frequency now. I guess they could get a jump on the others with an 11am newscast, but that would mean messing with "The Price is Right" and I don't see that happening.
cpalmer2k is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
fox giving me trouble too. , i must be experiencing atmospheric block out

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off