Long Island, NY - OTA - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 569 Old 10-01-2008, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,719
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1567 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOLTC View Post

I don't even know what some of the new stations are.

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?mktid=1

In the sake of full disclosure, that's a link to my site. Hopefully that will help you out. =)

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 569 Old 11-08-2008, 03:45 PM
Newbie
 
briianb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I am new to this site and new to over the air digital tv. I live exit 59 south of the LIE. I recently installed the AntennasDirect 91XG antenna and PA-18 pre-amp. I have it wired with new quad-shield commscope rg6 throughout. Have one splitter sending to one room with tivohd and the other going to a dtvpal converter box. All of the major networks are coming in great (except wnet, which I read is at low power) ...most are around 70s & 80s...with WNYW-DT fox being the highest at 93 to 98 quality!

My problem is receiving the WPIX-DT signal. It comes and goes, breaks up frequently to the point where its unwatchable. Signal meter shows low 60s or less depending on the time of day. Has anyone been able to get WPIX or is there signal on low power or something? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
briianb is offline  
post #453 of 569 Old 11-08-2008, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vkristof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a couple of miles north of exit 60. I used to be able to get WPIX-DT w/o a problem. I never watched anything on it, but I used to get it.

I just had BeyondTV scan the channels and WPIX-DT shows as "0". Areas of Ronkonkoma south of 59 are higher than where I live, so you're doing better than I am.
vkristof is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #454 of 569 Old 11-10-2008, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
briianb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm...yeah when I first installed all this about a month ago, WPIX was fine. Just was looking up channels, and I'm guessing it might be interference from WFSB-DT in CT, which is on 33 like WPIX. Since you're north of the LIE the signal from CT might interfere more for you? Guess there's not much I can do about it. I'd just like to watch the morning news on cw11.
briianb is offline  
post #455 of 569 Old 11-11-2008, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
CountryJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Northport, NY
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
East Northport here, north of Jericho Tpke, Exit 53 and channel 11 comes in fine. Some others are not looking so good. Thanks for making me check. LOL
CountryJoe is offline  
post #456 of 569 Old 01-21-2009, 01:42 PM
Bix
Member
 
Bix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Long Beach, NY
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in Long Beach. At varying times in the day since I got my Tivax converter box (using an older Radio Shack amplified rabbit ears/plastic loop VHF/UHF antenna), I've been able to pick up:

WCBS-DT
WNBC-DT w/ subchannels
WNYW-DT w/ subchannel (4:3 SD WWOR-TV simulcast)
WABC-DT w/ subchannels
WLIW-DT w/ subchannels
WNYE-DT w/ subchannel
WFTY-DT

Right now, my most stable positioning picks up:

WCBS-DT
WNBC-DT w/ subchannels
WABC-DT w/ subchannels
WLIW-DT w/ subchannels

I'm very curious to see how things change after the transition.

Also, I found it interesting that WNYW-DT2 was 480x480 (as opposed to 704 or 720x480 for almost everything else) and both of WNYE's channels were a mere 352x480. I get the traffic cam channel being a lower resolution, but geez.

Bix is offline  
post #457 of 569 Old 03-20-2009, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
jzareski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Curious if anyone on Long Island can receive and watches CPTV on:

WEDH DT-45 Hartford, PSIP 24-1 & 24-2
WEDW DT-49 Bridgeport, PSIP 49-1 & 49-2
WEDN DT-9 Norwich, PSIP 53-1 & 53-2
WEDY DT-6 New Haven, PSIP 65-1 & 65-1

And report the signal level and general quality.

No activity since last post 3/21/09. Is everyone at the beach?

No, now December, I suspect they all left when V the Visitors came...

Thank you,

Z
jzareski is offline  
post #458 of 569 Old 01-24-2010, 06:34 PM
Member
 
MrKenmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I figured I would post my current reception.

I live in Kings Park, NY (11754). Using the Channel Master 4228HD with AntennaCraft 10G212 amplifier. My TV is a Panasonic 50 inch plasma purchased in 2009.

I am pointed towards NYC. I still have trouble with CBS and FOX. Its SOOOOO annoying cause all the spanish language channels come in perfect HD. CBS is proving to be very tough to get in. 55% signal strength is the max I see for CBS. I used to use this rinky dink antenna from monoprice.com LINK. I actually did VERY well with this antenna. I received both CT and NYC very well. I did not get CBS or ABC 7 or 11. On the flip side I got a lot of CT stations. That means two FOX, ABC 8, two NBC.

My next move is to modify the 4228HD as I have read about online. This may give me better signal strength. Just for the heck of it, I will likely put the monoprice antenna back up with an A/B switch at the TV.

Anyone else have some updates?
MrKenmore is offline  
post #459 of 569 Old 01-24-2010, 07:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKenmore View Post

I figured I would post my current reception.

I live in Kings Park, NY (11754). Using the Channel Master 4228HD with AntennaCraft 10G212 amplifier. My TV is a Panasonic 50 inch plasma purchased in 2009.

I am pointed towards NYC. I still have trouble with CBS and FOX. Its SOOOOO annoying cause all the spanish language channels come in perfect HD. CBS is proving to be very tough to get in. 55% signal strength is the max I see for CBS. I used to use this rinky dink antenna from monoprice.com LINK. I actually did VERY well with this antenna. I received both CT and NYC very well. I did not get CBS or ABC 7 or 11. On the flip side I got a lot of CT stations. That means two FOX, ABC 8, two NBC.

My next move is to modify the 4228HD as I have read about online. This may give me better signal strength. Just for the heck of it, I will likely put the monoprice antenna back up with an A/B switch at the TV.

Anyone else have some updates?

According to TVfool you are about 40 miles away from ESB. Need a little more info. Is your antenna attic mounted or is it outside? Also how is the signal without the amp? Are you using RG6 coax?
mikepier is offline  
post #460 of 569 Old 01-25-2010, 05:13 AM
Member
 
MrKenmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Antenna is outside. I did not try the signal strength without the amp. I may try that next. All cable is RG-6. The run is very short. Probably 30 feet total. Only one TV is hooked up.
MrKenmore is offline  
post #461 of 569 Old 01-25-2010, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKenmore View Post

Antenna is outside. I did not try the signal strength without the amp. I may try that next. All cable is RG-6. The run is very short. Probably 30 feet total. Only one TV is hooked up.

Record your strentghs with and without the amp and see how they compare.
Just curious to see if the amp helps or hurts you.

Also where is the amp in relation to the antenna?
mikepier is offline  
post #462 of 569 Old 01-25-2010, 11:21 AM
Member
 
MrKenmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a split style amp like the Channel Master 7777. There is a box on the mast directly beneath the antenna and then the box that plugs in is located in the attic as soon as the cable comes in.
MrKenmore is offline  
post #463 of 569 Old 01-25-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKenmore View Post

It's a split style amp like the Channel Master 7777. There is a box on the mast directly beneath the antenna and then the box that plugs in is located in the attic as soon as the cable comes in.


Sounds like you have it where it should be. But for the heck of it try the signal strength comparisons with and without the amp.
mikepier is offline  
post #464 of 569 Old 01-25-2010, 03:11 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
responding to your queries why you dont get wpix or wnet, is cos you got uhf only antenna, xg91 is great antenna it picks up high vhf upto 20 miles but beyong that you need winegard vhf antenna like the ya1713. solidsignals carries the ya1713 for $40 I picked up 1 from them, no more breakups. I combine with xg91, I get most of the channels some from conneticut like cptv 49, 43. depending skip i get hartford tv stations sometimes boston comes in.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #465 of 569 Old 01-25-2010, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycdigital09 View Post

responding to your queries why you dont get wpix or wnet, is cos you got uhf only antenna, xg91 is great antenna it picks up high vhf upto 20 miles but beyong that you need winegard vhf antenna like the ya1713. solidsignals carries the ya1713 for $40 I picked up 1 from them, no more breakups. I combine with xg91, I get most of the channels some from conneticut like cptv 49, 43. depending skip i get hartford tv stations sometimes boston comes in.

True the 4228 is only a UHF antenna, but I was just curious why he is having trouble getting CBS and FOX.
mikepier is offline  
post #466 of 569 Old 01-25-2010, 05:52 PM
Member
 
MrKenmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 4228 claims to pick up high VHF although that really isnt my concern. I want CBS and FOX to come in perfect. I can't believe I am having trouble as they are UHF.

I did look at the 91XG. I wondered if I should have picked that up in lieu of the 4228. What I want to avoid is trying all these antennas just to find out they dont work for me.
MrKenmore is offline  
post #467 of 569 Old 04-01-2010, 02:30 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Kings Park, NY (11754). Using the Channel Master 4228HD with AntennaCraft 10G212 amplifier. My TV is a Panasonic 50 inch plasma purchased in 2009.

I am pointed towards NYC. I still have trouble with CBS and FOX. Its SOOOOO annoying cause all the spanish language channels come in perfect HD. CBS is proving to be very tough to get in. 55% signal strength is the max I see for CBS. I used to use this rinky dink antenna from monoprice.com LINK. I actually did VERY well with this antenna. I received both CT and NYC very well. I did not get CBS or ABC 7 or 11. On the flip side I got a lot of CT stations. That means two FOX, ABC 8, two NBC.

My next move is to modify the 4228HD as I have read about online. This may give me better signal strength. Just for the heck of it, I will likely put the monoprice antenna back up with an A/B switch at the TV.

Anyone else have some updates?

I read your post again from beginning, i seriously think you have multipath problems, you should get a yagi antenna . i read 4228 you have is not so good at multipath
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #468 of 569 Old 06-16-2010, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post

Unrelated, For the heck of it I e-mailed WLNY and asked them if they had any plans to broadcast any of their movies in HD. Here is their response:

"Thank you for your e-mail. It's always a pleasure to hear from our
viewers.

In response to your question, it will be several years before we
broadcast in high definition due to limited program material and
technical modifications needed.

Thanks for watching WLNY TV 55"

I just heard that WLNY TV 55 will start broadcasting in HD
( not the News @ 11pm ) in Jan/Feb 2011

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #469 of 569 Old 07-15-2010, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
ssoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Can someone a recommend an antenna to be used @ LIE exit 38, preferably in an attic. I'd like to receive as many NYC channels as possible.

Thanks a lot.
ssoul is offline  
post #470 of 569 Old 07-15-2010, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shadowcaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ditto, for Exit 50.

"Talk to me Goose"
shadowcaster is offline  
post #471 of 569 Old 07-17-2010, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
CountryJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Northport, NY
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the 91-xg and it works great. I am at exit 52 on LIE north of Jericho Tpke.

This is the site I bought it from:
http://www.antennasdirect.com/

The prices are good and service was great.

Good Luck.
CountryJoe is offline  
post #472 of 569 Old 07-17-2010, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shadowcaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks CJ ! I'm just north of Exit 50, so if it works for you, it'll work for me.

"Talk to me Goose"
shadowcaster is offline  
post #473 of 569 Old 07-17-2010, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryJoe View Post

I have the 91-xg and it works great. I am at exit 52 on LIE north of Jericho Tpke.

This is the site I bought it from:
http://www.antennasdirect.com/

The prices are good and service was great.

Good Luck.

According to the specs, thats a UHF only antenna. Sometimes you get lucky, a UHF only antenna can pick up VHF.
He needs a vhf/uhf antenna to pick up 7,11, and 13.

You could go to Radio Shack and get the basic AntennaCraft like this
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3739595

If you don't like it, just bring it back.

For Ssoul (exit 38), it should work in the attic

For Shadowcaster (exit 50), you might be asking a lot it if you put it in the attic, but give it a shot, worst case just bring it back, or try it outside.
mikepier is offline  
post #474 of 569 Old 07-17-2010, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shadowcaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Good catch Mike, I missed that.
I'm pretty high elevation so it might work for me.

"Talk to me Goose"
shadowcaster is offline  
post #475 of 569 Old 07-28-2010, 10:08 AM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Good catch Mike, I missed that.
I'm pretty high elevation so it might work for me. posted by shadowcaster

how far out are you from esb? can you get the ct stations from your location ?
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #476 of 569 Old 08-02-2010, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
ssoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I couldn't get the HBU22 locally so I ended up with a ANT751 which based on antennaweb.org I pointed to 290° with a compass.

I'm getting most channels with a signal strength between 60% and 80% but I can't get NBC at all.

Should I use a signal booster?
Thanks.
ssoul is offline  
post #477 of 569 Old 08-02-2010, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssoul View Post

I couldn't get the HBU22 locally so I ended up with a ANT751 which based on antennaweb.org I pointed to 290° with a compass.

I'm getting most channels with a signal strength between 60% and 80% but I can't get NBC at all.

Should I use a signal booster?
Thanks.

If the antenna is in the attic, you are going to have to find that "sweet spot" to get Ch 4. I remember when I had my Radio Shack vu-75 in my attic, I was having issues with some channels until I decided to put it outside, then every channel was pegged on the signal meter.

That particular antenna you have can be easily mounted on a wall. I would test it outside first. You will probably pick up a few more channels out of state, like in NJ, I now pick up WNJN and WNJB ( both the same programming).

If you want to leave it in the attic, and think an amp might help, a good test is to take a small length of coax from the antenna and plug it into a tuner or tv in the attic. If you still can't get NBC, an amp will not help since you can't get it close to the antenna to begin with.
mikepier is offline  
post #478 of 569 Old 08-22-2010, 10:38 AM
Member
 
MrKenmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on getting CBS (Channel 2) out on Long Island? Comes in very very intermittently for me with my CM 4228.

Looking at maybe replacing my 4228 with a CM 2020. Any thoughts? The CM 2020 still has VHF for channel 7 - 13.
MrKenmore is offline  
post #479 of 569 Old 10-13-2010, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
hammond eggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've recently moved to Selden and am trying to get some television going! With smaller antennas (and even the monoprice one), I am only getting the three closest channels (spanish, and tv55), as warned by antennaweb.org. I've tried indoor, attic, and rooftop mounting and the Panasonic 42" HDTV's antenna tuner is not picking up any readings.

tvfool.com offered more optimistic results, and I feel as though I can get the right equipment and procure a few more stations. I am thinking of getting a CM 7777 Pre Amp and seeing if that alone helps. If not, I'm going to have to go with one of those antennas I keep reading about: Either the CM 4228HD or the 91XG. In either case, I gotta get something going for about 50 miles to get the standard networks based in Manhattan!

Does anyone have any pearls of wisdom before I continue to buy equipment that doesn't work for me? Many thanks.
hammond eggar is offline  
post #480 of 569 Old 10-13-2010, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammond eggar View Post

I've recently moved to Selden and am trying to get some television going! With smaller antennas (and even the monoprice one), I am only getting the three closest channels (spanish, and tv55), as warned by antennaweb.org. I've tried indoor, attic, and rooftop mounting and the Panasonic 42" HDTV's antenna tuner is not picking up any readings.

tvfool.com offered more optimistic results, and I feel as though I can get the right equipment and procure a few more stations. I am thinking of getting a CM 7777 Pre Amp and seeing if that alone helps. If not, I'm going to have to go with one of those antennas I keep reading about: Either the CM 4228HD or the 91XG. In either case, I gotta get something going for about 50 miles to get the standard networks based in Manhattan!

Does anyone have any pearls of wisdom before I continue to buy equipment that doesn't work for me? Many thanks.

Those are UHF only antennas. You are going to need a HI-VHF-UHF combo antenna to get Channels 7,11, and 13.
I would hold off on the pre-amp until you can see what you get with a new antenna.
You most probably have to mount it outside to get something 50 miles away.
What do you have now? Is it outside?
mikepier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off