Austin, TX - HDTV - Page 244 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 126Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7291 of 7330 Old 10-08-2018, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
ScottSFA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 73
No issues with UVerse.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

65" Sony A9F
ScottSFA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7292 of 7330 Old 10-10-2018, 10:15 AM
rad
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Seeing issues again today on DIRECTV and DIRECTVNow, via OTA is fine. I sent a DM to DIRECTVService Twitter account asking them to have broadcast center check.
rad is offline  
post #7293 of 7330 Old 10-30-2018, 03:02 PM
Member
 
jhvance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Last night, I discovered that KBVO had added a 3rd channel at 14.3 to join its other two -- the "HandI" network, which was running a block of episodes from each of the previous Star Trek series: TOS, TNG, DS9, Voyager and Enterprise, so that was an unexpected (and enjoyable) find. There are daytime programming blocks of individual series, and other episodic series are presented in nightly primetime and overnight. The signal quality seemed to be very good.



What's really odd is that it came unannounced (or unscanned for) on my TV (a Samsung UN5500 model) and just suddenly appeared in the built-in program listings; more disconcerting is that I cannot get this new channel to be recognized on either of my two Mag DVRs by manual methods and am waiting for better weather conditions (post-cold front) to rescan them.



On one unit (MDR867) both the original 14.1 and 14.2 "Bounce" channels are recognized and reception is good, but inputting 14.3 won't tune in at all and the unit defaults back to 14.1. On the other (MDR537), 14.1 is recognized and displays properly, but although 14.2 is seemingly recognized and the unit tunes into that channel, the video display is black and only the audio feed can be heard; this behavior has existed since 14.2 broadcasts started. I can't figure out why there are such issues in either unit's functioning, so if anyone has advice on how to resolve these particular quirks I would greatly appreciate feedback on the matter.
Cabal0 and allenj like this.

Last edited by jhvance; 11-05-2018 at 11:34 AM. Reason: correct the TV model designation
jhvance is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7294 of 7330 Old 10-30-2018, 06:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 7
It looks like KBVO (Channel 14) now has a new subchannel 14.3. It is showing the Heroes and Icon network.
allenj is offline  
post #7295 of 7330 Old 10-30-2018, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by allenj View Post
It looks like KBVO (Channel 14) now has a new subchannel 14.3. It is showing the Heroes and Icon network.
nm, I see someone already posted this.
allenj is offline  
post #7296 of 7330 Old 10-31-2018, 06:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 4
If you have a TV running the Roku TV software, you'll need to re-scan for channels to pick this one up. We only look for updates to the TVCT data during a scan, not during normal viewing.
Ben Combee is offline  
post #7297 of 7330 Old 11-05-2018, 12:11 PM
Member
 
jhvance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Thought I would follow-up with the information that re-doing the channel scan resolved the issue for the MDR867 -- all of the KBVO channels are now viewable on that unit, but 14.3 is still unavailable on the MDR537 (either audio or video) and while the audio on 14.2 is available the video is not. I've now posted a query to the KXAN station engineer and hope to hear something back in the not-too-distant future; will update this thread if and when I do.

Last edited by jhvance; 11-10-2018 at 11:32 AM. Reason: correction in the outcome
jhvance is offline  
post #7298 of 7330 Old 11-13-2018, 01:21 PM
Member
 
jhvance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Not sure why this has occurred, but all of the 62.x channels switched to the corresponding 13.x slots sometime in the evening yesterday and remain there today -- 62.x is the virtual channel, while 13.x is the RF channel so it might be due to a failure in some part of the transmitter which translates the signal fed to the tower, but only the station's engineering staff would know the true cause (if they are even aware of it). While the signal strength of the 13.x channels appears to be equally strong, hopefully they'll get it corrected by Thursday before the next group of international soccer matches begin.
jhvance is offline  
post #7299 of 7330 Old 11-14-2018, 06:23 PM
Member
 
jhvance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhvance View Post
Not sure why this has occurred, but all of the 62.x channels switched to the corresponding 13.x slots sometime in the evening yesterday and remain there today -- 62.x is the virtual channel, while 13.x is the RF channel so it might be due to a failure in some part of the transmitter which translates the signal fed to the tower, but only the station's engineering staff would know the true cause (if they are even aware of it). While the signal strength of the 13.x channels appears to be equally strong, hopefully they'll get it corrected by Thursday before the next group of international soccer matches begin.
A follow-up -- since there had been no change to the farkled channel 13.x defaults from the 62.x virtual channel lineups by midday today, I looked up the Univision-Austin listing in the most current phone book (Dec 2017) and called it. There was no live person to answer the call, just an answering machine -- so, I left a message describing the OTA channel issue, speculated that it was an equipment malfunction in their hardware which translated the signal from actual to virtual, and requested that someone look into it with hopes it would be resolved before the international soccer matches were to be broadcast later this week.


Somewhat to my surprise, by the end of the afternoon the channels had switched back to normal (and unlike the farkled situation over the past few days all of the PSIP information was available) -- it required re-scanning to lock in the 62.x signals on my TV and DVRs (since earlier scans over the past few days had locked onto the 13.x group and deleted the 62.x group), but all now seems back to normal. I'm not sure if it was the message I had left which notified their engineering department there was an OTA issue, or purely coincidental if they were already aware there was a problem and were working on the resolution, but the relevant fact is that it has been resolved.


Interestingly, in the process of re-scanning over the past several days I discovered an entirely new block of channels in the 19.x slot -- I'm not sure where they originate, but there are 5-6 of various types which don't otherwise correspond to the usual ones in the Austin market. My location is between Taylor and Granger on a high point of ground and I can receive all stations from both the Austin and Waco-Temple-Killeen markets, so now have access to somewhere in the range of 65 total OTA channels.
jhvance is offline  
post #7300 of 7330 Old 11-16-2018, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
dhett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhvance View Post
Interestingly, in the process of re-scanning over the past several days I discovered an entirely new block of channels in the 19.x slot -- I'm not sure where they originate, but there are 5-6 of various types which don't otherwise correspond to the usual ones in the Austin market. My location is between Taylor and Granger on a high point of ground and I can receive all stations from both the Austin and Waco-Temple-Killeen markets, so now have access to somewhere in the range of 65 total OTA channels.

Likely KGBS-CD RF ch 19 and virtual ch 19.
Channel lineup: https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...llsign=KGBS-CD
Coverage map: https://www.rabbitears.info/contour....a&site=1&map=Y


I hope your Stadium broadcast is much better quality than it is in Phoenix - here it's worse than an old analog station with constant audio dropouts.
Cabal0 likes this.
dhett is offline  
post #7301 of 7330 Old 11-16-2018, 01:59 PM
Member
 
jhvance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhett View Post
Likely KGBS-CD RF ch 19 and virtual ch 19.
Channel lineup: https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...llsign=KGBS-CD
Coverage map: https://www.rabbitears.info/contour....a&site=1&map=Y


I hope your Stadium broadcast is much better quality than it is in Phoenix - here it's worse than an old analog station with constant audio dropouts.
Thanks for the references -- I'm right on the fringe, which is why those 19.x channels sometimes don't lock in while at other times they will; when they do lock in, the audio doesn't seem to exhibit much dropout.
jhvance is offline  
post #7302 of 7330 Old 12-31-2018, 10:08 PM
Member
 
rodin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FYI for those who can pick up KNCT out of Waco - The station is no longer PBS and will carry CW on 46-1 in HD, MeTV on 46-2 in HD and StartTV on 46-3. Living in Leander, this gives me a few more choices with a strong signal. I will be removing the poor quality and bit starved MeTV from 7.
rodin is offline  
post #7303 of 7330 Old 01-01-2019, 07:55 AM
Member
 
csworldwide1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hope you have fun with KNCT's signal while it last.

Because the station applied to move its antenna to KWTX's tower on RF 17, post repack.
csworldwide1 is online now  
post #7304 of 7330 Old 02-03-2019, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 7
It appears that channel 20.1 (KADF-LP) is now broadcasting the Antenna TV line up. Up until last June Antenna TV had been broadcast on 19.6 (KGBS-CD).
allenj is offline  
post #7305 of 7330 Old 03-27-2019, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,703
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 270
KXAN continues to be poor quality via antenna. Often pixelated. I recently contacted them, but they never responded. I have DirecTV, and that does get a good signal.

Anybody know why?

I now have stopped watching them. If there is a NBC show I need, I just get the .mkv file off the net the next day. No ads is a bonus.
grittree is offline  
post #7306 of 7330 Old 03-28-2019, 04:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
KXAN continues to be poor quality via antenna. Often pixelated. I recently contacted them, but they never responded. I have DirecTV, and that does get a good signal.

Anybody know why?

I now have stopped watching them. If there is a NBC show I need, I just get the .mkv file off the net the next day. No ads is a bonus.
Well, I hate to tell you this, but DirecTV uses an antenna as well for its KXAN signal. I believe their reception point is on Ben White Boulevard, SE of downtown. I'm in central Austin and have no issues with them as well, with an antenna pointed due west through a grove of trees.

This indicates the issue would be with your antenna setup. I understand their reception point is on Ben White Boulevard, south of downtown. Where are you located?

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://www.austinpetsalive.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national

Last edited by austinsho; 03-28-2019 at 04:13 AM.
austinsho is offline  
post #7307 of 7330 Old 03-28-2019, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,703
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I'm 8 mi SW of the towers. But next door 2 story house is directly in the path.

I show 100% strength on all stations except KRLU & KXAN. They usually vary in the 50-80% range. Funny, those two are adjacent freqs, 22 & 21.

I don't see any pattern as to when the signal is good or bad. Seems random.
grittree is offline  
post #7308 of 7330 Old 03-28-2019, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
I'm 8 mi SW of the towers. But next door 2 story house is directly in the path.

I show 100% strength on all stations except KRLU & KXAN. They usually vary in the 50-80% range. Funny, those two are adjacent freqs, 22 & 21.

I don't see any pattern as to when the signal is good or bad. Seems random.
If the signal's jumping around from 50-80, I'd bet you have multipath issues. When digital signals bounce off and/or around buildings, crazy readings like that can result. In the analog universe, that caused ghosting/double images. In the digital world, breakup.

Wish I had better news for you. I don't suppose there's any way at all to get a clear shot?

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://www.austinpetsalive.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #7309 of 7330 Old 03-28-2019, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,703
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 270
The 50-80% isn't at one time. The antenna has been unchanged for 8 years. Problem with KXAN started about a year ago.

Only KXAN show I need to use D* on is SNF.
grittree is offline  
post #7310 of 7330 Old 03-31-2019, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bill C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm not sure if KEYE is explicitly up to anything, but 42.2 (Telemundo)'s feed has been coming up as 43.2 for me since sometime on Thursday. Other than screwing with one recurring TiVo recording, it doesn't seem to have done anything else.

EDIT: and as of this morning Telemundo's feed is back up on 42.2. The only side effect is that the channel ID comes up as "T-Mundo" instead of "KEYEDT2."

...and I need your sweet love, Latina T-Mobile girl!


Last edited by Bill C.; 04-01-2019 at 07:43 AM.
Bill C. is offline  
post #7311 of 7330 Old 04-08-2019, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 7
According to the FCC spectrum repack both KEYE and KNVA, are supposed to be complete their move on June 21, 2019 with testing starting in April. Has anyone heard anything about this?
Supposedly KEYE moves from RF 42 to RF 34, and KNVA from RF 49 to RF 23. I checked these new RF channels and do not see any indication yet of testing.
Cabal0 likes this.
allenj is offline  
post #7312 of 7330 Old 04-08-2019, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
WSZsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by allenj View Post
According to the FCC spectrum repack both KEYE and KNVA, are supposed to be complete their move on June 21, 2019 with testing starting in April. Has anyone heard anything about this?
Supposedly KEYE moves from RF 42 to RF 34, and KNVA from RF 49 to RF 23. I checked these new RF channels and do not see any indication yet of testing.
If yoou have a Tivo, the fix is in the works. Should be corrected within 72 hrs and back to normal. Tivo jumped the gun.

Yamaha TSR-7850 Receiver
Polk Audio RTI A1 & A3 Bookshelf Speakers
Boston Acoustic VR10 Center
Energy ESW-310 Subwoofer
Samsung NU8000 4k TV
WSZsr is offline  
post #7313 of 7330 Old 04-09-2019, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 4
According to TVTechnology.com, Austin made the list of 40 markets that will start to get ATSC 3.0 broadcasts this year. I suspect the first broadcaster to start transmissions will be KEYE-TV since they're owned by Sinclair, the broadcaster that's pushing hardest for the new technology. The FCC has said that any station moving to ATSC 3.0 has to simulcast in some way in the market for at least five years on ATSC 1.0.
allargon and Cabal0 like this.
Ben Combee is offline  
post #7314 of 7330 Old 05-12-2019, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Cabal0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For anyone using SiliconDust HDHomeRun hardware and getting consistent drop-outs every 30 seconds on KVUE (ABC) despite good signal, SiliconDust finally released a firmware update last month to fix it on the HDHR5-*US models: https://forum.silicondust.com/forum/...?f=113&t=70166


This was previously an issue on the HDHR3-US and had a supposed workaround (http://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun...s_solution.pdf), but I was never able to get it to work correctly via the /sys/8vsb_override command. I did not try rolling back to an old (20130117) firmware, though.

Last edited by Cabal0; 05-13-2019 at 06:18 AM.
Cabal0 is offline  
post #7315 of 7330 Old 05-25-2019, 07:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 29
KXAN is making major changes at its tower on Sunday. Signal strength will vary throughout the day. Come Monday, it will be interesting to see if those of us who have had issues with 36 in the past still have them.
Cabal0 likes this.

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://www.austinpetsalive.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #7316 of 7330 Old 05-28-2019, 09:15 AM
rad
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 32
FYI, KEYE is running a scroll on their news shows saying that on 6/21 you're going to need to rescan if you use OTA to receive them. Must be repack time.
rad is offline  
post #7317 of 7330 Old 05-30-2019, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,703
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 270
KXAN signal has not improved here. Was what they did supposed to improve their signal?
grittree is offline  
post #7318 of 7330 Old 06-01-2019, 07:22 AM
Member
 
John Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
KXAN signal has not improved here. Was what they did supposed to improve their signal?
KXAN tech by the name of Mark replied a couple of days ago that new equipment install via helicopter would be done by June 1, today. https://www.kxan.com/news/local/aust...nal/2015630969

I live 13 miles north of Fredericksburg, am aiming due east at the antenna farm using a CM 4228 with pre-amp, 30' high, and have been getting almost a complete loss of signal from KXAN. HOWEVER, am also now having problems getting non-pixelated service with a DISH OTA adapter on a DISH Hopper3/Joey setup. Used to get 54 channels when it was first installed. Now almost all the OTA channels are the pits. Looks like we'll have to pay the $12/mo. for locals.
John Frank is offline  
post #7319 of 7330 Old 06-01-2019, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,703
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 270
John Frank, how did you find that story?

If I paste your link, without the final story ID, that story doesn't appear. The link to the section is https://www.kxan.com/news/local/austin

I tried calling KXAN, but they never responded.

Last edited by grittree; 06-01-2019 at 03:28 PM.
grittree is offline  
post #7320 of 7330 Old 06-03-2019, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Cabal0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know when Austin channels affected by the repack will actually move? I believe June 21 is just the deadline, it could be any time in the next 3 weeks.


It looks like KEYE and KNVA are the only big ones affected:


https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...=&lss=&status=
Cabal0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off