Traverse City, MI - HDTV - Page 32 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #931 of 1768 Old 10-05-2008, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightc2 View Post

Is anyone else having audio dropouts on ABC 29.1? Seems to be a constant issue no matter what is airing and I have had it since I started viewing OTA a few weeks ago.


Really strange, but I am getting the audio issues in a big way on my XBR4, have been non stop for a good month now. On my XBR1 the issue is totally non existent.
guffy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #932 of 1768 Old 10-05-2008, 10:12 AM
Member
 
budone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West MI
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone happen to know why WGTU (ABC) is no longer broadcasting in HD?

On top of that the picture quality we are receiving is horrible. Also, it seems they are using the, "Expand-o-vision" option as I nor anyone else I speak with can read the ESPN sports crawl on the bottom of the screen.

I also notice the commercials look much better than the live broadcast itself
budone is offline  
post #933 of 1768 Old 10-05-2008, 10:14 AM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guffy1 View Post


What a trainwreck our HD locals have become.


That sure sums up the Northern Michigan OTA situation
falcon7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #934 of 1768 Old 10-05-2008, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by budone View Post

Does anyone happen to know why WGTU (ABC) is no longer broadcasting in HD?

On top of that the picture quality we are receiving is horrible. Also, it seems they are using the, "Expand-o-vision" option as I nor anyone else I speak with can read the ESPN sports crawl on the bottom of the screen.

Its just an issue on the weekend as far as Ive seen. It appears they dont have an automated HD switching system, meaning someone has to physically turn the HD on when theres HD games on the weekend. It appears they dont have anyone dedicated to that job, as they have been having issues with their HD on every Saturday so far this football season.

I would imagine it will be back on tomorrow.
guffy1 is offline  
post #935 of 1768 Old 10-05-2008, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon7 View Post

That sure sums up the Northern Michigan OTA situation

WWTV looks pretty nice today for the Colts game. Their problems with motion/macroblocking seem like thay are pretty hit and miss these days. Some days like today the problems are minimal, other games Ive seen this season the issues have been extreme.

Maybe you are mostly referring to reception issues, not sure. When I talk about our channels being a trainwreck I am referring to the quality of the HD being shown, and the fact that WGTU is constantly failing to show available HD on the weekends.

Reception has never been an issue for me seeing as I longer deal with OTA..Its just too much effort and frustration for me. I can understand the people that are into OTA as a hobby. For people that have other options and arent into OTA as a hobby, I see it as a really impractical solution.
guffy1 is offline  
post #936 of 1768 Old 10-07-2008, 11:39 AM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With NBC Weather Plus going out of business in the next few months, guess that will open up 7.3.....maybe guffy1 will get to do his own TV show
falcon7 is offline  
post #937 of 1768 Old 10-07-2008, 01:18 PM
Member
 
CVX_GEEK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon7 View Post

With NBC Weather Plus going out of business in the next few months, guess that will open up 7.3.....maybe guffy1 will get to do his own TV show

I believe NBC bought The Weather Channel; maybe they will use that to replace weather plus?
Doesn't Bill Spenser work at The Weather Channel?
CVX_GEEK is offline  
post #938 of 1768 Old 10-07-2008, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CVX_GEEK View Post

Doesn't Bill Spenser work at The Weather Channel?

Gawd I hope not! Last I saw his ugly mug was down in Toledo. Now there's a good face for radio. http://www.wnwo.com/about/bio.aspx?id=258
Mesickstan is offline  
post #939 of 1768 Old 10-07-2008, 03:34 PM
Member
 
knightc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's Blizzard Bill! I remember back in the day when he would refer to Alberta Clippers and Northwest winter storms as Saskatchewan Screamers and Manitoba Mommas. He seemed to go out on a limb a lot in predicting storms and seemed to be more accurate than most. I think I still hear his forecasts on the radio every now and then.
knightc2 is offline  
post #940 of 1768 Old 10-08-2008, 02:44 AM
Member
 
SonyLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody heard from WGTU about their lack of HD? They were still in stretch-o-vision SD when I checked yesterday.
SonyLCD is offline  
post #941 of 1768 Old 10-08-2008, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CVX_GEEK View Post

I believe NBC bought The Weather Channel; maybe they will use that to replace weather plus?
Doesn't Bill Spenser work at The Weather Channel?

Adios Weather plus...
Check this out:
http://www.tvweek.com/news/2008/10/n...ather_plus.php
swiat is offline  
post #942 of 1768 Old 10-08-2008, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyLCD View Post

Has anybody heard from WGTU about their lack of HD? They were still in stretch-o-vision SD when I checked yesterday.

Ouch, maybe it isnt just a weekend issue anymore. For anyone thats interested they do have a prompt for engineering if you call their main line. That would probably be the best way to get to the bottom of it.
guffy1 is offline  
post #943 of 1768 Old 10-08-2008, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
swiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's going to happen to W61CR (WFQX Soo low power analog translator) in February? The TV band ends at channel 51 in 2/09 and I don't see a channel change submission in the FCC database.
swiat is offline  
post #944 of 1768 Old 10-08-2008, 01:44 PM
Member
 
budone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West MI
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyLCD View Post

Has anybody heard from WGTU about their lack of HD? They were still in stretch-o-vision SD when I checked yesterday.

I have left emails to the engineers since Sunday and have heard nothing back.


***UPDATE*** I decided at 4:45 to write the Chief Engineer at TV7&4. He replied in 15 minutes. Here is his response:

Bill,

HD on WGTU should be back as of yesterday,Tuesday 6:30PM. We were having issues since the move two weeks ago passing closed captioning on the HD side which is an FCC requirement, so we dropped back to SD until the problem was resolved. As far as “Stretch-O-Vision” AKA aspect ratio is concerned, we are working through the process the best we can. We are running some programs in 4:3 and some in 16:9. Some in HD and some in SD. Crawls, bugs and snipes look different in different formats.

We will work through these issues as soon as possible, and appreciate you hanging in there and taking the time to write.

Sincerely,
Mike Miller
Chief Engineer
WPBN / WTOM TV7&4
budone is offline  
post #945 of 1768 Old 10-13-2008, 07:19 AM
Member
 
pianomany2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houghton Lake
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
interesting channel...

In Mt. Pleasant at the moment (visiting family). Happened to flip through cable channels this morning, and found some interesting info. Not going to type the whole thing out:

CURRENT CHANNEL STATUS

TYPE DIGITAL ENC 12

There is a bunch of other info after that, but I'm not sure what this is...

Anyone know?
pianomany2k is offline  
post #946 of 1768 Old 10-15-2008, 03:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 2377
Charter has implemented S/W Version 75.59 a25p2-2.S1.r-8 for the Motorola DVRs in Northern Michigan. Nothing earth shattering, but it has an improved title search function, and "page up" and "page down" buttons now skip forward/skip back 5 minutes. These both are similar to how I remember these functions with Moxi. The longer skip is really handy for fast-forwarding through intermissions of recorded hockey games.

I couldn't find any mention of this on Charter's website (no surprise there) but here's Comcast's description of the A25 changes http://www.comcast.com/newguide/#

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye."
DocCasualty is offline  
post #947 of 1768 Old 10-16-2008, 04:01 AM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post

Charter has implemented S/W Version 75.59 a25p2-2.S1.r-8 for the Motorola DVRs in Northern Michigan. Nothing earth shattering, but it has an improved title search function, and "page up" and "page down" buttons now skip forward/skip back 5 minutes. These both are similar to how I remember these functions with Moxi. The longer skip is really handy for fast-forwarding through intermissions of recorded hockey games.

I couldn't find any mention of this on Charter's website (no surprise there) but here's Comcast's description of the A25 changes http://www.comcast.com/newguide/#

Thanks, something else I've noticed on mine is that my DVR now powers off after I shut down my other gear after a while, so I have to reprogram my remote, I tested it and it will turn on to record now when its off, but you still cant put in stand by while its recording, weird
tvb6171 is offline  
post #948 of 1768 Old 10-16-2008, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 2377
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvb6171 View Post

Thanks, something else I've noticed on mine is that my DVR now powers off after I shut down my other gear after a while, so I have to reprogram my remote, I tested it and it will turn on to record now when its off, but you still cant put in stand by while its recording, weird

I've noticed mine has been off the last couple of mornings but thought this was related to downloads from the head end, etc. You might be correct that something else is new in function, but how would the DVR know to power down? Lack of receiving commands for some time period? Interesting.

I never understood why it wasn't set up to record in standby mode to begin with. I'll have to try this out at some point.

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye."
DocCasualty is offline  
post #949 of 1768 Old 10-17-2008, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocCasualty View Post

I've noticed mine has been off the last couple of mornings but thought this was related to downloads from the head end, etc. You might be correct that something else is new in function, but how would the DVR know to power down? Lack of receiving commands for some time period? Interesting.

I never understood why it wasn't set up to record in standby mode to begin with. I'll have to try this out at some point.

Mine has stopped doing that now, really weird, sure like the 5 minute skip though
tvb6171 is offline  
post #950 of 1768 Old 10-19-2008, 06:00 AM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Directv as well as ota. My guide now no longer has 7-1 and switches the digital to 7-2. Only problem is that the switch has not been made, so cannot watch 7 & 4 ota until they get this corrected. The reassignment of channels with this digital switch continues.....will it ever end
falcon7 is offline  
post #951 of 1768 Old 10-19-2008, 10:07 AM
Member
 
budone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West MI
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon7 View Post

I have Directv as well as ota. My guide now no longer has 7-1 and switches the digital to 7-2. Only problem is that the switch has not been made, so cannot watch 7 & 4 ota until they get this corrected. The reassignment of channels with this digital switch continues.....will it ever end

Come Feb 19th it will. Sorry I had to say it.
budone is offline  
post #952 of 1768 Old 10-20-2008, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
jbontrager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know who to contact about the WPBN tower between Kalkaska and Mancelona in leetsville?
jbontrager is offline  
post #953 of 1768 Old 10-21-2008, 04:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbontrager View Post

Does anyone know who to contact about the WPBN tower between Kalkaska and Mancelona in leetsville?

Mike Miller
Chief Engineer
WPBN / WTOM TV7&4
[email protected]
Mesickstan is offline  
post #954 of 1768 Old 10-24-2008, 08:08 PM
Member
 
pianomany2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houghton Lake
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed this morning that everything on WTOM-TV was in letter-box format.

Found that rather odd.
pianomany2k is offline  
post #955 of 1768 Old 10-25-2008, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pianomany2k View Post

I noticed this morning that everything on WTOM-TV was in letter-box format.

Found that rather odd.


Same with WPBN. It wasn't HD; looks like they zoomed in as the tops of heads were cut off. At least they straightened out WGTU as the U-M vs. State game looks good. Edit: game looked good if you're an MSU fan...
Mesickstan is offline  
post #956 of 1768 Old 10-26-2008, 05:45 AM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes indeed....it looked very very good
falcon7 is offline  
post #957 of 1768 Old 10-27-2008, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JHuibregtse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WPBN and WGTU are now passing through syndicated stuff in HD. I watched Wheel of Fortune on WPBN and The Insider on WGTU and both looked great.

"I've been ruminating. And by ruminating, I mean pondering. Not chewing my cud."
JHuibregtse is offline  
post #958 of 1768 Old 10-27-2008, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHuibregtse View Post

WPBN and WGTU are now passing through syndicated stuff in HD. I watched Wheel of Fortune on WPBN and The Insider on WGTU and both looked great.

Is it really HD or are they just zooming in SD to fill a 16x9 screen? What I saw over the weekend was zoomed in SD, but it was much better than the "stretch-o-vision".
Mesickstan is offline  
post #959 of 1768 Old 10-27-2008, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by CVX_GEEK View Post

I believe NBC bought The Weather Channel; maybe they will use that to replace weather plus?

Nope, expect to find Universal Sports replacing Weather Plus on most all NBC affiliates.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #960 of 1768 Old 10-27-2008, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JHuibregtse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Definitely HD. Wheel of Fortune is so clear and colorful it looks like a cartoon! Apparently since moving WGTU to M72, they've spent some money!

"I've been ruminating. And by ruminating, I mean pondering. Not chewing my cud."
JHuibregtse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off