Traverse City, MI - HDTV - Page 33 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 1768 Old 10-27-2008, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHuibregtse View Post

Definitely HD. Wheel of Fortune is so clear and colorful it looks like a cartoon! Apparently since moving WGTU to M72, they've spent some money!

Well, they dropped RTN and CW, so maybe they did have some money to spend on their bread and butter channels.
Mesickstan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 1768 Old 10-28-2008, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Noticed channel 9.2 - WFQX-DT on the air. Is this the beginnings of moving digital FOX from Kalkaska to Cadillac?
Mesickstan is offline  
post #963 of 1768 Old 10-28-2008, 06:44 PM
Member
 
CVX_GEEK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesickstan View Post

Noticed channel 9.2 - WFQX-DT on the air. Is this the beginnings of moving digital FOX from Kalkaska to Cadillac?

Thanks for that info. I had not seen that yet. Anyone else compare the video from 9-2 at 480i and 33-1 at 720P? My wife did not see a difference; What did you think?
CVX_GEEK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #964 of 1768 Old 10-28-2008, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CVX_GEEK View Post

Thanks for that info. I had not seen that yet. Anyone else compare the video from 9-2 at 480i and 33-1 at 720P? My wife did not see a difference; What did you think?

TSReader on my laptop says bitrate of 33-1 is 18.5 Mbps and 9-2 is 4.1 Mbps. Motion in a show should reveal a difference.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #965 of 1768 Old 10-28-2008, 07:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,479
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesickstan View Post

TSReader on my laptop says bitrate of 33-1 is 18.5 Mbps and 9-2 is 4.1 Mbps. Motion in a show should reveal a difference.

Can you e-mail me a new capture?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #966 of 1768 Old 10-28-2008, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Word. On its way...
Mesickstan is offline  
post #967 of 1768 Old 10-28-2008, 07:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,479
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1422 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesickstan View Post

Word. On its way...

I'm impressed, they're doing widescreen 480i, and giving it a decent amount of bandwidth, with a very small decrease from what 9-1 used to have (from 15.4 down to 14.4). I'd bet it looks pretty good.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #968 of 1768 Old 11-02-2008, 06:15 PM
Member
 
tufamc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
Has anyone had trouble receiving 9-1 last couple of days, all my other locals are fine, but 9-1 keeps scanning 0% on my DirecTv hr22 w/am21 OTA. All other's are in the 90%+ range, Thanks
tufamc is offline  
post #969 of 1768 Old 11-02-2008, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tufamc View Post

Hello,
Has anyone had trouble receiving 9-1 last couple of days, all my other locals are fine, but 9-1 keeps scanning 0% on my DirecTv hr22 w/am21 OTA. All other's are in the 90%+ range, Thanks

My Dad lives just west of TC and is having trouble receiving 9-1 (and now 9-2), lately. He gets a signal, but not enough for a picture. I'm in Mesick and get 90% signal on a Tivo HD DVR. 7-1 has been breaking up the last few weeks for me, though. Signals were supposed to get better once the leaves dropped. My take is we'll be experiencing a lot of anomalies until next Feb. and probably after as station engineers make changes.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #970 of 1768 Old 11-03-2008, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tufamc View Post

Hello,
Has anyone had trouble receiving 9-1 last couple of days, all my other locals are fine, but 9-1 keeps scanning 0% on my DirecTv hr22 w/am21 OTA. All other's are in the 90%+ range, Thanks


I just checked my Mom's 32" Toshiba CRT with ATSC tuner as it wasn't getting 9-1. A signal check said it was there, but no display or audio. After a channel scan, 40-3 and 40-4 showed up in place of 9-1 and 9-2. Looks like a PSIP miscommunication between the transmitter and this TV. Might be worth doing a channel scan on your tuner.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #971 of 1768 Old 11-04-2008, 05:04 PM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is tentative.... but looks like DirecTV will start sending stations in HD effective this Thursday 11/6. Will still need OTA for the sub channels, but its a step forward for those of us with satellite.
falcon7 is offline  
post #972 of 1768 Old 11-06-2008, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JHuibregtse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard a commercial on the radio this morning for Directv saying that all four networks are now available in HD.

"I've been ruminating. And by ruminating, I mean pondering. Not chewing my cud."
JHuibregtse is offline  
post #973 of 1768 Old 11-06-2008, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JHuibregtse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well that commercial may be incorrect. According to Directv's website, CBS is not available. Why would Fox be available but not CBS?

"I've been ruminating. And by ruminating, I mean pondering. Not chewing my cud."
JHuibregtse is offline  
post #974 of 1768 Old 11-06-2008, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, no WWTV according to reports over at DBS.
guffy1 is offline  
post #975 of 1768 Old 11-07-2008, 10:00 AM
Member
 
knightc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think that PBS is missing as well...
knightc2 is offline  
post #976 of 1768 Old 11-08-2008, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I havent been able to pick up FSD-HD (104.2) on QAM for a good 3 days now. Just wondering if anyone else is getting it over QAM on 104.2 lately? Did they take it down or give it a new channel #?
guffy1 is offline  
post #977 of 1768 Old 11-09-2008, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guffy1 View Post

I havent been able to pick up FSD-HD (104.2) on QAM for a good 3 days now. Just wondering if anyone else is getting it over QAM on 104.2 lately? Did they take it down or give it a new channel #?

I just rescanned my tv Friday and I dont get it either, must have took it down
tvb6171 is offline  
post #978 of 1768 Old 11-09-2008, 07:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvb6171 View Post

I just rescanned my tv Friday and I dont get it either, must have took it down

Ouch, I really needed that via QAM seeing as I moved my Directv service to Green Bay and I dont get FSDHD via Directv anymore.

Looks like another service address move is in order, dammit.
guffy1 is offline  
post #979 of 1768 Old 11-09-2008, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is everyone still getting FSDHD from Charter that has an HD cable box or Cable Card?

Just wanting to make sure its not a sysyem wide FSD HD problem with Charter right now.
guffy1 is offline  
post #980 of 1768 Old 11-09-2008, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JHuibregtse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting the usual test pattern on FSDHD on Charter through the DVR, so it's working.

"I've been ruminating. And by ruminating, I mean pondering. Not chewing my cud."
JHuibregtse is offline  
post #981 of 1768 Old 11-09-2008, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JHuibregtse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like WLLZ is becoming a My Network TV affiliate soon according to their website. Hopefully this will get them a better place in the lineup on Charter than channel 202!

"I've been ruminating. And by ruminating, I mean pondering. Not chewing my cud."
JHuibregtse is offline  
post #982 of 1768 Old 11-10-2008, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHuibregtse View Post

I'm getting the usual test pattern on FSDHD on Charter through the DVR, so it's working.

Tx for the info J...Sounds like they just quit sending in the clear for QAM users. Bummer
guffy1 is offline  
post #983 of 1768 Old 11-12-2008, 03:40 PM
Member
 
budone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West MI
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went to watch the Evening news and on 107.1 I have the NBC HD Video, but ABC's news audio.

Am I it??? I knew I never should have re-scanned.
budone is offline  
post #984 of 1768 Old 11-13-2008, 08:03 AM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes...they were having some real problems last night.....not sure what was going on..... but the engineering for 7/4 - 29/8 is having some real problems getting things squared away. It took me a minute to believe that I was getting 29/8 audio on 7/4
falcon7 is offline  
post #985 of 1768 Old 11-17-2008, 05:24 PM
Member
 
pianomany2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houghton Lake
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is with 7&4 lately? Sometimes 4 is in 'stretch-o-vision', other times not, and for a brief period of time today, I think it was stretched vertically.
pianomany2k is offline  
post #986 of 1768 Old 11-18-2008, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Mesickstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pianomany2k View Post

what is with 7&4 lately? Sometimes 4 is in 'stretch-o-vision', other times not, and for a brief period of time today, I think it was stretched vertically.

They did a report a few weeks back saying they were experimenting with different formats. It was mentioned that 14:9 is what they settled on which would stretch the picture, but only a little. Must be they got positive feedback from Stevie Wonder and Third Eye Blind.
Mesickstan is offline  
post #987 of 1768 Old 11-18-2008, 08:23 AM
Member
 
knightc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it even legal to broadcast in 14:9 ratio after the switch over? I tried to do a little research on this but the FCC web site is terrible to navigate and search on. I thought that after the switch, stations had to broadcast a digital signal using the ATSC standard. As far as I can tell the standard does not list 14:9 as an accepted ratio. Anyone know anything about this?
knightc2 is offline  
post #988 of 1768 Old 11-18-2008, 08:00 PM
Member
 
knightc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to 47 C.F.R. 73.682(d):

(d) Digital broadcast television transmission standard. Transmission
of digital broadcast television (DTV) signals shall comply with the
standards for such transmissions set forth in Advanced Television
Systems Committee (ATSC) Doc. A/52, ATSC Standard Digital Audio
Compression (AC-3), December 20, 1995 and ATSC Doc. A/53B, Revision B,
with Amendment 1, ATSC Digital Television Standard, August 7, 2001,
except for Section 5.1.2 (``Compression format constraints'') of Annex A
(``Video Systems Characteristics'') and the phrase ``see Table 3'' in
Section 5.1.1 Table 2 and Section 5.1.2 Table 4. This incorporation by
reference was approved by the Director of the Federal Register in
accordance with 5 U.S.C. 552(a) and 1 CFR part 51. Copies may be
inspected at the Federal Communications Commission, 445 12th St., SW,
Washington, DC 20554 or at the Office of the Federal Register, 800 N.
Capitol St., NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC.

This references the ATSC standard as I suspected. After reviewing the ATSC standard A/53 Part 4, table 6.11, it does mention that a 4:3 source aspect ratio can display a 14:9 letterbox image and a 16:9 source aspect ratio can display a 14:9 pillarbox image.

So I guess 14:9 is an 'acceptable' display ratio at least according to the FCC.
knightc2 is offline  
post #989 of 1768 Old 11-19-2008, 06:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Over on DBSTalk, Satelliteracer (DirecTV insider) is reporting that your CBS station will launch in HD later this week. Prolly Friday he says.

Linky

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
post #990 of 1768 Old 11-20-2008, 04:56 PM
Member
 
falcon7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
7&4 continues to have serious lip sync problems, had to switch back to SD tonight from HD.
falcon7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off