Grand Rapids, MI - HDTV - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 8250 Old 02-15-2004, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Joe Shmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah, Thanks for the update

FWIW I do believe WMMT does a great job, those were my only complaints, but I can live with that.

When it gets warmer, I do plan on getting the Royal 17 antenna, I really miss not being able to get Alias in HD.
Joe Shmoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 8250 Old 02-19-2004, 02:02 PM
Member
 
Gr8reb8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see some primetime HD content from WXMI (17). I like it.
Gr8reb8 is offline  
post #123 of 8250 Old 02-19-2004, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ryangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: SW MI
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by Gr8reb8
I see some primetime HD content from WXMI (17). I like it.

Widescreen, yes, but not HD yet. Even though WXMI is broadcasting a 720p signal, they're just upconverting the 480p feed from FOX. FOX won't start sending 720p content to stations until later this year.

It's good to see that WXMI is already good to go for the 720p!
ryangs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 8250 Old 02-19-2004, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just curious, any other GR people getting the HD Tivo from Directv?
Kamakzie is offline  
post #125 of 8250 Old 02-19-2004, 02:39 PM
Member
 
woodenshoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plan on buying it at some point, but going to wait unitl the price comes down. $1000 is too much for me.
woodenshoe is offline  
post #126 of 8250 Old 02-19-2004, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
As bad as I want it I'm waiting for:

1) Price to come down. At lest under $600-700 before I bite.
2) Wait and see what News Corp does. They have a whole new standard set of boxes coming out this year so I want to see what direction they are going before I plop down that much money into one box.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #127 of 8250 Old 02-19-2004, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I went with Value Electronics $100 deposit/$100 off deal. Couldn't resist it, I am weak!
Kamakzie is offline  
post #128 of 8250 Old 02-19-2004, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Joe Shmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A friend of mine saw an ad or something for Comcast HD tonight, said it showed some guy, saying he was the first to recieve it? Anyone else catch this?
So if I read the previous posts right, Comcast only has two HD channels plus maybe the locals? Hmmm... there has to be more to it than that? What would be the benefit to subscribing to Comcast HD if they are really only adding 2 channels more than I have now with OTA?
Joe Shmoe is offline  
post #129 of 8250 Old 02-20-2004, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
jhnlngn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belmont, MI
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Joe Shmoe
A friend of mine saw an ad or something for Comcast HD tonight, said it showed some guy, saying he was the first to recieve it? Anyone else catch this?
So if I read the previous posts right, Comcast only has two HD channels plus maybe the locals? Hmmm... there has to be more to it than that? What would be the benefit to subscribing to Comcast HD if they are really only adding 2 channels more than I have now with OTA?

2 channels I guess.
jhnlngn is offline  
post #130 of 8250 Old 02-21-2004, 02:27 PM
Member
 
djtz31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There was an article in the GR Press Friday that said the Comcast HD channels to start are ESPN-HD, INHD, INHD2 and WZZM (ABC). Also, if you subscribe to HBO or Showtime you get HBO HD and Showtime HD.

I'm disappointed there aren't more - including DiscoveryHD, HDNet would have gotten me to sign up right away. Plus, not having the locals hurts too. Hopefully they'll add more channels quickly.

Good thing, it sounds like you don't have to have digital cable to get the HD channels. You need basic/expanded cable and then HD is $9.98 or something a month to basically rent the box...not bad if they add a few more channels.

If anyone goes for it, please give us a report on it!
djtz31 is offline  
post #131 of 8250 Old 02-21-2004, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
maingon16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Mi
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live around 68th and kalamazo and we have only in indoor antenna from radioshack, since my dad wouldnt wount one stuck to our roof. and we get FOX,ABC,NBC, and 24-1 and 35-1. But we dont get CBS. In our old house near 54th and division we didnt get cbs either.

Why is the CBS HD signal so weak?
maingon16 is offline  
post #132 of 8250 Old 02-21-2004, 09:19 PM
Member
 
foxfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Castle, DE
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This month's college hockey Beanpot, PGA Live at Pebble Beach's 7th Hole, the Westminster Dog Show, NBA All Star Skills Competition, NBA All Star Game, and the E! Live at the Red Carpet on INHD have kind of turned up the level of what one gets from being able to watch INHD.

3 games per week of MLB on INHD is also pretty intriguing.
foxfire is offline  
post #133 of 8250 Old 02-22-2004, 04:47 AM
 
grizzledbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,790
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2886 Post(s)
Liked: 1334
I live off of w. leonard near BK. My CBS (wwmt-hd) signal is actually stronger than my NBC (wood-dt). Have roof top antenna pointed toward gun lake.
grizzledbiker is offline  
post #134 of 8250 Old 02-22-2004, 11:11 AM
Newbie
 
maingon16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Mi
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to get upn so could watch angel and smallville in HD. But i dont seem to get it, if you get an outdoor antenna do you have to drill a hole for the cable or can you splice it into you satilite? cause i seen an outdoor antenna at Best buy that allows you to hook it up to you satilite cable then have a spliter inside..
maingon16 is offline  
post #135 of 8250 Old 02-22-2004, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kamakzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Smallville and Angel are on the WB, which locally is on Pax 43 (Digital 44) which last I heard has no interest in providing HD content.

Quote:


Originally posted by maingon16
I want to get upn so could watch angel and smallville in HD. But i dont seem to get it, if you get an outdoor antenna do you have to drill a hole for the cable or can you splice it into you satilite? cause i seen an outdoor antenna at Best buy that allows you to hook it up to you satilite cable then have a spliter inside..

Kamakzie is offline  
post #136 of 8250 Old 02-22-2004, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Yea, we have no full time WB station. WB programming is carried at off hours on PAX 43 as Kamakzie said. PAX itself has no HD programming to carry as is so they certainly won't upgrade just to pass on WB programming in HD.

Besides, Angel is cancelled anyway so no more Angel (HD or otherwise) from the WB.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #137 of 8250 Old 02-22-2004, 09:39 PM
Member
 
pax43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A small point, we carry the full schedule of WB they are not a full time network, we carry the kids feed live and delay the prime by 22 hours.

I'm not a real engineer, but I play one in TV :)
pax43 is offline  
post #138 of 8250 Old 02-25-2004, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Gr8reb8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ryangs
Widescreen, yes, but not HD yet. Even though WXMI is broadcasting a 720p signal, they're just upconverting the 480p feed from FOX. FOX won't start sending 720p content to stations until later this year.

It's good to see that WXMI is already good to go for the 720p!


What I saw from WXMI looked as good as any CBS/NBC/ABC/HDNET etc. HD broadcast. It was not like the upconverted ESPN-HD and other upconvert/fakeHD stuff I see.
Gr8reb8 is offline  
post #139 of 8250 Old 02-26-2004, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Jeff HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings to all from west michigan! I have lurked these forums on and off for the past couple of years. It's great to see a local thread especially one dedicated to HD. I am very hopful that HD will become more and more mainstream sooner rather than later. My name is Jeff and I'm located on the northwest side of Grand Rapids. I will be venturing into HD within the next couple of week with any luck. Thanks
Jeff HT is offline  
post #140 of 8250 Old 02-26-2004, 06:10 PM
Member
 
djtz31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Welcome Jeff! Glad you found this thread. HD is great...you won't regret getting into it. We are still at the forefront but the experience and progress is great!
djtz31 is offline  
post #141 of 8250 Old 02-26-2004, 08:37 PM
Newbie
 
vyachts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kentwood, Michigan
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just started reading this West Michigan forum - it's great to find some helpful local HD information!

I have a Samsung TS160 w/ an OTA and have been accessing local digital stations by doing a digital channel scan. Tonight I tried entering my zip code into the local networks and it pulled up the full list of West Michigan stations, except for WGVU & WTLJ. I don't think it's a signal-strength issue - WZPX shows up on the list even though there's 0% signal strength. Any ideas why they're not there?

I live in Kentwood near Kalamazoo & 60th and get pretty good OTA reception with a Terk antenna clipped on my dish (it was cheap!). I only get 30-45% on WWMT, so will attempt to hook up an antenna that's in my attic.

Thanks for any help!
Doug
vyachts is offline  
post #142 of 8250 Old 02-27-2004, 10:38 PM
Newbie
 
maingon16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Mi
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I tried that Trek antenna and i live 68th and Kalamazo and thats all i got highest signal i think i got of channel 3 was around 30. Right now i use a indoor antenna from radio shack and get 13,41,8,17,35-2 54-1
maingon16 is offline  
post #143 of 8250 Old 02-27-2004, 11:35 PM
 
grizzledbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,790
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2886 Post(s)
Liked: 1334
tried the Terk(ey) tv55 also. Felt it was junk for our needs. Got just as good reception from a indoor silver sensor. Have an older rooftop VHF/UHF pointed toward Gun Lake now that works quite well.
grizzledbiker is offline  
post #144 of 8250 Old 02-29-2004, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Tankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Comcast coming out on Friday to set me up with their HD reciever. Anybody around here have Comcast for HDTV?? I know that they are very limited on channels now but it sure will be nice when they put digital locals on. If you do have it what box are they using?
Tankers is offline  
post #145 of 8250 Old 03-01-2004, 10:59 AM
Member
 
elbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: GR - Michigan
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tankers, how much xtra is the hd package? And what channels do they offer in HD?

Thx.
elbee is offline  
post #146 of 8250 Old 03-01-2004, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Wolffpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by elbee
Tankers, how much xtra is the hd package? And what channels do they offer in HD?

Thx.

It's gotta be better than the $10/mo for 10 channels DirecTV is charging. Cripe, DTV use to have an upper hand over the cables, but as they have been draging their feet in adding channels they are loosing the HD battle.

Does anyone know if Comcast offers locals in HD (WWMT, WOOD, WXMI)? My location and the trees I'm so fond of really screw up my HD OTA reception.
Wolffpack is offline  
post #147 of 8250 Old 03-01-2004, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Tankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They don't have a HD package like Dish or Direct does at this time. What they have now is ESPN-HD, INHD 1&2 plus HBO-HD and Showtime-HD included if you have one of those movie packages. If they have more please let me know. The nice part is they aren't charging anything extra for these channels all you need to do is pay $5 extra a month to rent the box which is what I they charge for the digital cable box anyway? They don't have the locals in digital yet so no HD locals but they said it won't be long. Hopefully they are right so we can get locals in HD with no antenna since my wife isn't a big fan of antennas. THe funny part is I'm going to save about $40 a month by switching back to cable from dish if you figure in my internet will be $15 cheaper and Comcast will give me $25 a month credit for switching back from dish for 16 months which is $400 savings. They said since I was leasing Dish's equipment that all I had to do is show them a copy of a bill and I will get the credit, without them having to take anything.

Digital Cable with HBO and HD reciever plus Cable Modem for internet right around $95 a month.
Tankers is offline  
post #148 of 8250 Old 03-01-2004, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Luckily Charter dropped their $12 a month "extortion" charge for not having a cable package so I get the best of both worlds with cable Internet and DirecTV. Only reason I meniton this is Charter didn't tell anybody that this requirement of having basic cable was dropped so make sure you call them up or go down to the office and get rid of that extra charge.

I won't get into the whole debate about Dish or DirecTV HD not being worth it (there are plenty of threads in the HDTV programming forum for it). It's been very worth it to me. Of all the money I spent on HD equipment, $10 a month for the HD package is nothing. Plus they currently carry just about every HD channel worth having other then INHD. Once the new sat goes up then DirecTV will actually have some bandwidth to play with. Until then, I'm happy as punch.

Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #149 of 8250 Old 03-03-2004, 08:33 AM
Newbie
 
Deeznutzs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Comcast HD Package and It has ESPN HD, INHD 1 & 2, Showtime and HBO (which ever movie package you subscribe to) and also WXMI-17 and WZZM-13. I was told WOOD-8 will be added very shortly as well as WWMT-3. Usually I dont believe them when the say that but I was told WZZM-13 was going to be added by the end of the week when I got it which was last week Monday and by Thursday it was live. Watched the Oscars on it and it was perfect. I was a Directv Subscriber but where I live I get to much interferrence to get locals OTA so made up my mind to switch to cable once I learned they had the local HDs.
Deeznutzs27 is offline  
post #150 of 8250 Old 03-03-2004, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Tankers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet so they already have some locals that makes the deal even better. I know when they told me they would be adding locals shortly I never thought they would be that quick.
Tankers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off