San Francisco, CA - OTA - Page 381 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 418Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11401 of 17781 Old 10-28-2014, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Campbell,CA,USA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
KTVU Problems Today - Oh No Giants Game!

Live in Campbell. Channel 2 normally not a problem except on clear hot days from time to time. But I'm getting a very low signal right now. Not getting a picture at all right now, for the last 30 minutes. Clear skies yes, but hot day, no. Other channels coming in fine, except that 4 is a bit flaky too. Anyone else?


Chris
cpete is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11402 of 17781 Old 10-28-2014, 05:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 3,937
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpete View Post
Live in Campbell. Channel 2 normally not a problem except on clear hot days from time to time. But I'm getting a very low signal right now. Not getting a picture at all right now, for the last 30 minutes. Clear skies yes, but hot day, no. Other channels coming in fine, except that 4 is a bit flaky too. Anyone else?

Chris
KTVU VC 2 has RF 48 better than RF 44 which is strange.

KTVU RF 44 has a big dip right now.

http://ruka.org/~toast/atscdata/char...3A54-07%3A00&e=

Do you know which you are receiving, RF 44 or RF 48?

And can you switch?

SHF
SFischer1 is online now  
post #11403 of 17781 Old 10-28-2014, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Campbell,CA,USA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am on RF 44 and it's come back now. I tried RF 48 and got nothing. I get a signal strength of around 61, which is still weak. It was around 50 before when I was getting nothing. But it's stable now.


Thanks, Chris
cpete is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11404 of 17781 Old 10-28-2014, 05:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 3,937
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpete View Post
I am on RF 44 and it's come back now. I tried RF 48 and got nothing. I get a signal strength of around 61, which is still weak. It was around 50 before when I was getting nothing. But it's stable now.

Thanks, Chris
All the Sutro stations show a dip, KCSM the most.

Did Sutro have a brownout?

SHF
SFischer1 is online now  
post #11405 of 17781 Old 10-28-2014, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Campbell,CA,USA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
All the Sutro stations show a dip, KCSM the most.

Did Sutro have a brownout?

SHF
Spoke too soon, completely lost the signal. Signal strength zero. Off to the local watering hole to watch the game......
cpete is offline  
post #11406 of 17781 Old 10-28-2014, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,661
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
At least there is a watering hole to back in to...

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #11407 of 17781 Old 10-28-2014, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
I don't know if there are any analogs still on in Sacramento.

Chuck
A quick check done on 10/18 in Roseville, .... I still see analog channel 6 showing a character generated flashing text message.
not sure where or what station that is.

Analog 6 is still on in the bay area.
(Checked about two months ago,) 23 was still analog here in Hayward . (After switching KRCB off)
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #11408 of 17781 Old 10-29-2014, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,971
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFischer1 View Post
All the Sutro stations show a dip, KCSM the most.

Did Sutro have a brownout?

SHF
I checked the graphs at toast0's garage and there certainly was a problem around 4 pm.

http://ruka.org/~toast/atscdata/char...A00-07%3A00&e=

I watched the 4 pm news on KGO and the signal was better than average. I checked KPIX just before 4 pm and it was coming in. I can't imagine what happened.

Chuck


Edit: Upon closer examination, there appears to have been a drop in signal strength between 4 and 6 pm. It even affected KKPX but not KNTV.

http://ruka.org/~toast/atscdata/char...A00-07%3A00&e=

This was probably just an atmospheric condition thing to the south bay and nothing to do with the transmitter power which is why I saw nothing here.

Last edited by Calaveras; 10-29-2014 at 08:48 AM.
Calaveras is online now  
post #11409 of 17781 Old 10-29-2014, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,971
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
A quick check done on 10/18 in Roseville, .... I still see analog channel 6 showing a character generated flashing text message.
not sure where or what station that is.
KEFM on the Sutter Buttes, another one of those FM stations.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
Analog 6 is still on in the bay area.
(Checked about two months ago,) 23 was still analog here in Hayward . (After switching KRCB off)
KBFK, another FM station. 23 is KMUV Salinas.

I was aware of another analog signal on channel 22. It never has any modulation, just blank carriers. I figured it was something in Sacramento but the FCC database doesn't show any analog stations on 22 near Sacramento. Turns out it is K22HB in Mammoth Lakes. Was I surprised! I didn't think it was possible to receive anything from the east side of the Sierras but its transmitter is at 7900'.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #11410 of 17781 Old 10-29-2014, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
LATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Are you sure about K22HB? Their license has expired and was not renewed. It was licensed on the roof of building in Mammoth Lakes. A few checks of the site showed no transmitter or antenna.

Last edited by LATV; 10-29-2014 at 04:20 PM.
LATV is offline  
post #11411 of 17781 Old 10-29-2014, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 8
fox shows the w.s. in 720p only I see lots blur and grainy pq on my Samsung led, anyone agree that 1080p is better for sports? let's go giants bring it home tonite.
uhfyagi is offline  
post #11412 of 17781 Old 10-29-2014, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,661
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 857
Over the air there are two choices, 720P and 1080I. On my TV they pretty much look the same.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #11413 of 17781 Old 10-29-2014, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 3,937
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
Over the air there are two choices, 720P and 1080I. On my TV they pretty much look the same.
Then you will not want an UHDTV set. ($25,000.00)

SHF
SFischer1 is online now  
post #11414 of 17781 Old 10-29-2014, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
LATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Today K22HB filed to renew the license. It was to be filed by June 1st. Sightly late in filing. They also own K49KS-D Santa Rosa.
LATV is offline  
post #11415 of 17781 Old 10-30-2014, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,971
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by LATV View Post
Today K22HB filed to renew the license. It was to be filed by June 1st. Sightly late in filing. They also own K49KS-D Santa Rosa.
Where did you find that? A CDBS search doesn't show it.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #11416 of 17781 Old 10-30-2014, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,971
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by LATV View Post
Are you sure about K22HB? Their license has expired and was not renewed. It was licensed on the roof of building in Mammoth Lakes. A few checks of the site showed no transmitter or antenna.

Process of elimination. The other analog channel 22's are too far and this signal peaks in exactly the right direction.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #11417 of 17781 Old 10-30-2014, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
LATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 53
BRTTL20141028-ABQ K22HB
FAC ID 128743
TX
accepted for filing10/30/2014

Last edited by LATV; 10-31-2014 at 04:09 PM.
LATV is offline  
post #11418 of 17781 Old 10-31-2014, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 8
hey chuck you said that you make your own balun for 91xg, is it optimize only for UHF, unlike the 91xg balun that is wideband. i took off balun on 91xg and looks like it needs to be soldered on? Can you explain what you did dude, txs. hope your at sfgiants parade 😂
uhfyagi is offline  
post #11419 of 17781 Old 10-31-2014, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 90
He made a coax balun which is inherently a narrow band balun, just like the standard UHF PCB balun that has been in use for a while. However, he could tune it for a specific frequency if he chose to do so.

If you want a wideband balun, just remove the PCB and install a standard wire-wound balun. That's what was standard on the driven element for our Yagi series up until 3 or 4 or 5 years ago.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #11420 of 17781 Old 11-01-2014, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,971
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhfyagi View Post
hey chuck you said that you make your own balun for 91xg, is it optimize only for UHF, unlike the 91xg balun that is wideband. i took off balun on 91xg and looks like it needs to be soldered on? Can you explain what you did dude, txs. hope your at sfgiants parade 😂

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
He made a coax balun which is inherently a narrow band balun, just like the standard UHF PCB balun that has been in use for a while. However, he could tune it for a specific frequency if he chose to do so.

If you want a wideband balun, just remove the PCB and install a standard wire-wound balun. That's what was standard on the driven element for our Yagi series up until 3 or 4 or 5 years ago.

First I need to define what I think is narrowband and broadband because I found different people have different ideas about this. To me narrowband is one or two channels wide and wideband would be the the entire UHF or high VHF TV band.

I replaced the 91XG baluns with wideband coaxial baluns.

Referring to the attachments:

1) Loss of the original 91XG balun on UHF. Two baluns measured back-to-back. Divide the loss by 2 to get the loss of one balun. Max loss is 1.6 dB. Min loss about 1.1 dB.
2) Loss of the 91XG PWB balun on UHF. Two baluns measured back-to-back. Divide the loss by 2 to get the loss of one balun. Max loss is 1.4 dB. Min loss about 0.5 dB.
3) Loss of the coaxial balun on UHF. Two baluns measured back-to-back. Divide the loss by 2 to get the loss of one balun. Max loss is 0.6 dB. Min loss <0.1 dB.
4) Image of the coaxial balun without ferrite beads over the center coax.
5) A not very good image of the balun installed on a 91XG.

The loss of the coaxial balun includes about 4' of RG-6 where the loss of the other baluns has no RG-6 so the coaxial baluns are actual slightly lower loss.

If someone wants to build one I can provide I can provide P/Ns for the coax used and ferrite beads.

Chuck
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	91XG_Ferrite_Balun_X2.gif
Views:	58
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	343978   Click image for larger version

Name:	91XG_PCB_Balun_X2.gif
Views:	55
Size:	21.1 KB
ID:	343986   Click image for larger version

Name:	Coaxial_Balun_X2_Opt.gif
Views:	57
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	343994   Click image for larger version

Name:	Balun-1.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	344002   Click image for larger version

Name:	Balun-2.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	110.0 KB
ID:	344010  

Calaveras is online now  
post #11421 of 17781 Old 11-02-2014, 12:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
888CALLFCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 36
What's up with KEMO ?
50-1 & 50-2 are now the same ?
888CALLFCC is offline  
post #11422 of 17781 Old 11-02-2014, 01:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,700
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 794 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
What's up with KEMO ?
50-1 & 50-2 are now the same ?
Good question. I was watching some old funny cartoons on 50-2 a day or two ago, so this is a very recent change.
When I took a look they were just chopping the ends off the HD picture to make it 4:3, instead of letterboxing it, so the sides of the picture were missing.
Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.larrykenney.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.larrykenney.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Last edited by Larry Kenney; 11-02-2014 at 10:01 PM.
Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11423 of 17781 Old 11-02-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,971
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by 888CALLFCC View Post
What's up with KEMO ?
50-1 & 50-2 are now the same ?

There's a similar situation over here. KCSO 33.1, 33.2, and 33.3 all show the same program except 33.1 is in HD. The other two have the ends chopped off. The PSIP program information on 33.3 is the MeTV schedule that hasn't been shown there for over a year. KCSO used to be an example of a well run LPTV station but it's gone downhill in the last year.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #11424 of 17781 Old 11-03-2014, 10:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaveras View Post
There's a similar situation over here. KCSO 33.1, 33.2, and 33.3 all show the same program except 33.1 is in HD. The other two have the ends chopped off. The PSIP program information on 33.3 is the MeTV schedule that hasn't been shown there for over a year. KCSO used to be an example of a well run LPTV station but it's gone downhill in the last year.

Chuck
It is the new ownership. Obviously no one is minding the ship.


The Class A KMUM is supposed to be showing Telemundo but it is obvious they are using a cheap consumer receiver pulling in the 33.1 from KSPX. They go fix it and within 5 days it defaults back to 29.1 and they end up broadcasting ION for weeks on end.


Bill H.
wndhh1 is offline  
post #11425 of 17781 Old 11-04-2014, 12:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,700
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 794 Post(s)
Liked: 201
I was scanning around the channels a while ago and noticed that KTLN 68-2, 68-3 and 68-4 are missing. Only 68-1 is on the air.

I wonder if this is due to a technical problem, or are they gone for good?

Larry

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.larrykenney.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.larrykenney.com/broadcast.html
Live reception scans from my HD Home Run receivers: http://www.larrykenney.com/hdhr/
Photos and info on my antennas: http://www.larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html
Larry Kenney is online now  
post #11426 of 17781 Old 11-04-2014, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Calaveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hereford, AZ
Posts: 5,971
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1748 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kenney View Post
I was scanning around the channels a while ago and noticed that KTLN 68-2, 68-3 and 68-4 are missing. Only 68-1 is on the air.

I wonder if this is due to a technical problem, or are they gone for good?

Larry

I checked it just now and they're all on the air.

Chuck
Calaveras is online now  
post #11427 of 17781 Old 11-04-2014, 06:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Today I started getting break ups on 7-1. I noticed that there are double channel entries for 2 & 7 (2-1 2-1 2-2 2-2 7-1 7-1 7-2 7-2 7-3 7-3). All other channels are ok. Any ideas? Thanks!
gimp is offline  
post #11428 of 17781 Old 11-04-2014, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 3,937
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimp View Post
Today I started getting break ups on 7-1. I noticed that there are double channel entries for 2 & 7 (2-1 2-1 2-2 2-2 7-1 7-1 7-2 7-2 7-3 7-3). All other channels are ok. Any ideas? Thanks!
Easy, check Larry's list.

You will see that KGO VC7 has two transmitters, one on Sutro on RF 7 and one on Mt. Allison using RF 35.

RF 7 looks good :

http://ruka.org/~toast/atscdata/chart.php?c=7

But if you change to RF 35 you see problems (Samples are ~ 30 Minutes apart).

Which transmitter is best for you, RF 7 VHF or RF 35 UHF, you will have to determine yourself.

Some DTV sets do not allow you to select which one. Some do not even tell you that there are two.

KTVU VC 2 has two also. One on Sutro on RF 44 and one on Monument Pk using RF 48. Both UHF.

Good Luck.

SHF
gimp likes this.

Last edited by SFischer1; 11-04-2014 at 08:46 PM.
SFischer1 is online now  
post #11429 of 17781 Old 11-05-2014, 07:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 3,937
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 123
HDHR Tuner(s) Replaced

Hi,

To Larry and anyone who might be interested, my original HDHomeRun Tuner power supply failed and I decided to replace the power supply by replacing the Tuner(s) and the power supply.

The New HDHR4-2US is a little better tuner and KTNC comes in a little better on my main antenna so the Attic antenna may be retired again. (Four HDHR Tuners on my main antenna.)

KKPX (ION) had some multi-path which I saw on first light from my outdoor antenna and I am seeing breakups now on the Blue Bloods marathon Thursday (14:00 - 01:00) on KKPX. Hopefully those will be gone and I can retire from possible use the Terk HDTVA antenna.

KEMO at ~ 97 miles is just a tad better but it is hard to judge.

Next up, "Nuke" the hard drive on my backup HTPC (W7 32 Bit) and replace the active HTPC (XP) for many reasons. (Mainly for Linux Sabotage of the hard drive.)

SHF
SFischer1 is online now  
post #11430 of 17781 Old 11-05-2014, 10:41 PM
DAP
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have two of the original HDHomeRuns. The power supply both failed. I'm running them off of an old AT power supply. They still work. The HDHR4-2US do a better job of reception so I have them set to record the more challenging stations KGO and KNTV.
DAP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off