Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 88Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 4042 Old 09-16-2017, 10:15 AM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Toccoa gets their channels from Atlanta, that is news to me.. All this time I thought they got them from SC. If you drive up through there you don't see anybody's antennas pointed towards Atlanta, they are all pointed towards Greenville area. Most people up there have Dish or Direct. Unless you lived on a tall mountain facing southwest, I would imagine it would be damn near impossible to pick up most of the Atlanta channels without using translators. You can't even get the Atlanta FM stations to come in well up there, but Greenville comes in fine. Toccoa is alot closer to Greenville than Atlanta. I hope this WGTA move is just temporary.
yo-mama likes this.

Last edited by warbird281; 09-16-2017 at 10:31 AM.
warbird281 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 4042 Old 09-17-2017, 06:23 PM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have they moved WPCH 17 to a different frequency or tower? I have noticed that it isn't as easy to pick up as it was a week or so ago. I used to be able to get a booming signal here with just a small indoor antenna (along with 5, 14, 36, 46, 69), but now I have to play around with it using an indoor antenna. It comes in more like 2 does now.
eq2675 likes this.
warbird281 is offline  
post #3693 of 4042 Old 09-17-2017, 09:26 PM
Member
 
D. Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
reception of Atlanta stations in Macon

im able to receive some of the ATL stations with an amplified indoor antenna here in Macon nightly between the times of 8pm to about 9am the following day.

The stations im able to get are as follows:

WSB-TV
WAGA-TV
WPCH-TV
WANN-CD (sometimes)
WGCL-TV
WUVG-DT
WHSG
WUPA
*and one other low powered station (dont know the station name)

now every now and then whenever i do a channel scan i get this station on channel 26 but nothing shows on screen not sure what kind of programming they show, not sure if its associated with WANN's programming in any way.
D. Shadow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3694 of 4042 Old 09-17-2017, 11:41 PM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by D. Shadow View Post
im able to receive some of the ATL stations with an amplified indoor antenna here in Macon nightly between the times of 8pm to about 9am the following day.

The stations im able to get are as follows:

WSB-TV
WAGA-TV
WPCH-TV
WANN-CD (sometimes)
WGCL-TV
WUVG-DT
WHSG
WUPA
*and one other low powered station (dont know the station name)

now every now and then whenever i do a channel scan i get this station on channel 26 but nothing shows on screen not sure what kind of programming they show, not sure if its associated with WANN's programming in any way.
26 is probably the WTBS-LD line of channels. It has a couple of 24 hour news channels like France24 and Newsmax, also a few other channels, all 480i.
warbird281 is offline  
post #3695 of 4042 Old 09-18-2017, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,504
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by D. Shadow View Post
im able to receive some of the ATL stations with an amplified indoor antenna here in Macon nightly between the times of 8pm to about 9am the following day.

The stations im able to get are as follows:

WSB-TV
WAGA-TV
WPCH-TV
WANN-CD (sometimes)
WGCL-TV
WUVG-DT
WHSG
WUPA
*and one other low powered station (dont know the station name)

now every now and then whenever i do a channel scan i get this station on channel 26 but nothing shows on screen not sure what kind of programming they show, not sure if its associated with WANN's programming in any way.
With an outdoor antenna and preamp you may pull in Atlanta more reliably.
tylerSC is offline  
post #3696 of 4042 Old 09-18-2017, 09:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,504
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdvegas View Post
Folks in Toccoa get their stations primarily from Atlanta, and WGTA is based in Toccoa, thus placing WGTA in the Atlanta market. Any station listed as being in the Atlanta market does not mean that all Atlanta market viewers will be able to receive all Atlanta market stations.
Not exactly. Northeast Georgia is technically part of the Greenville-Spartanburg-Asheville market, and mostly Carolinas channels are carried on cable there. It is frustrating for some Georgia residents who would prefer to see Atlanta news stations rather than Upstate SC or western NC. In some cases a good fringe antenna can pick up Atlanta or one of their translators. As for WGTA, it has "moved" to an Atlanta address to be carried on cable systems there. It is not on cable here in Greenville County, and I can't receive it with an antenna. But I can get some of the Charlotte market stations with an antenna, but they are not on cable either.

As for the Atlanta radio stations, they make it to Carnesville and some all the way to Lavonia or the SC border. A few may last into Anderson such as 97.1, which used to make it into Greenville but now there is a translator that knocks it out. I usually try to listen to WSB driving south on 85, and 95.5 or 750 will come in just past the Anderson exit. They have good news and traffic reports as you head towards Atlanta. Although I do miss Neal Boortz as he always kept me enlightened and entertained.
tylerSC is offline  
post #3697 of 4042 Old 09-18-2017, 10:12 AM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Not exactly. Northeast Georgia is technically part of the Greenville-Spartanburg-Asheville market, and mostly Carolinas channels are carried on cable there. It is frustrating for some Georgia residents who would prefer to see Atlanta news stations rather than Upstate SC or western NC. In some cases a good fringe antenna can pick up Atlanta or one of their translators. As for WGTA, it has "moved" to an Atlanta address to be carried on cable systems there. It is not on cable here in Greenville County, and I can't receive it with an antenna. But I can get some of the Charlotte market stations with an antenna, but they are not on cable either.

As for the Atlanta radio stations, they make it to Carnesville and some all the way to Lavonia or the SC border. A few may last into Anderson such as 97.1, which used to make it into Greenville but now there is a translator that knocks it out. I usually try to listen to WSB driving south on 85, and 95.5 or 750 will come in just past the Anderson exit. They have good news and traffic reports as you head towards Atlanta. Although I do miss Neal Boortz as he always kept me enlightened and entertained.
97.1's transmitter is in Gainesville, and 95.5 is in Doraville which is on the NE side, so that is probably why they come in better in that neck of the woods. I used to be able to pick up 101.1 WROQ at night with my outdoor FM antenna fairly well, that was until they put some southern gospel station up on that frequency up in Ellijay. I haven't had any luck with Greenville TV stations since the analog days. And I agree, I miss Neil too. I used to listen to him at work alot and we always got a good laugh from some of the things he would say. He is a funny guy.

I just don't think it is right for them to have a transmitter that reaches nowhere but call it Atlanta by having an Atlanta address, forcing people to use cable or satellite to pick them up. H&I and METV need to move closer to town where they can be picked up here. They could put them on WANN or WTBS at least or something. Atlanta has 2 Escape channels now, one on 2.2 and one on 34. It seems silly to me that they would do that.

Last edited by warbird281; 09-18-2017 at 10:56 AM.
warbird281 is offline  
post #3698 of 4042 Old 09-21-2017, 03:55 AM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It looks like Bounce is moving to 2.2, I just saw a commercial saying so. I wonder what they are going to do with 36.2 now?
warbird281 is offline  
post #3699 of 4042 Old 09-21-2017, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
size14d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Atlanta, GA - OTA

Quote:
Originally Posted by 84lion View Post
That's odd. My Tivo HD had no problems tuning in 32.1, 32.6 (Comet), and other WANN subchannels, when I checked just a short while ago. WANN has actually been coming in good for me lately, which is kinda nice because sometimes Comet has some good stuff on.
I also agree with Futrader's comment on the Tivo Rovi data. I have complained to Tivo about the guide not including channel 9.3 (Retro) data, but nothing's happened for months. All of the 12.X channels are also without guide data. Very frustrating as the 32.1 guide isn't always accurate either. I've made some attempts at timed recordings on the Tivo based on the 32.1 data, only to have something else recorded.


I have zero signal on Comet via a ChannelMaster DVR+. However, they do have a Roku channel. And it’s free to stream on their webpage, comettv.com. FYI, if they are showing an infomercial the screen will show Back Soon.
size14d is offline  
post #3700 of 4042 Old 09-22-2017, 09:17 PM
Member
 
D. Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
With an outdoor antenna and preamp you may pull in Atlanta more reliably.
only if that was possible from my apartment, tried using these so called "50 Mile" flat antennas but nothing that will hold anything during the daytime...
D. Shadow is offline  
post #3701 of 4042 Old 09-23-2017, 09:28 PM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by D. Shadow View Post
only if that was possible from my apartment, tried using these so called "50 Mile" flat antennas but nothing that will hold anything during the daytime...
This antenna came with my old ATI HDTV Wonder card like 12 years ago. I am not sure what the style is called, but for in indoor antenna this thing works as close to a outdoor antenna that I have came across yet. It is highly directional, but it can pull in channels just about as good as my outdoor setup. I have it hooked into a signal amp, but I have seen them sold with amps inside of them. If you come across one like this, give it a try. I am not sure what this style is called, but it works very well. See attached pic.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg antenna.jpg (631.4 KB, 44 views)

Last edited by warbird281; 09-23-2017 at 09:32 PM.
warbird281 is offline  
post #3702 of 4042 Old 09-24-2017, 12:12 PM
Member
 
yo-mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by warbird281 View Post
This antenna came with my old ATI HDTV Wonder card like 12 years ago. I am not sure what the style is called, but for in indoor antenna this thing works as close to a outdoor antenna that I have came across yet. It is highly directional, but it can pull in channels just about as good as my outdoor setup. I have it hooked into a signal amp, but I have seen them sold with amps inside of them. If you come across one like this, give it a try. I am not sure what this style is called, but it works very well. See attached pic.

Looks like the Zenith Silver Sensor antenna.
yo-mama is offline  
post #3703 of 4042 Old 09-25-2017, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,504
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by yo-mama View Post
Looks like the Zenith Silver Sensor antenna.
Yes that appears to be the Zenith Silver Sensor. Very good indoor antenna for UHF. It no longer appears to be sold, but the Terk HDTVa is still available at Fry's or Amazon. It includes an inline amp and adds rabbit ears for VHF.
tylerSC is offline  
post #3704 of 4042 Old 09-25-2017, 01:59 PM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just be sure to get one with silver/grey colored wings on it. I once got a cheapo antenna styled similar to that pictured Zenith antenna at Micro Center, but it was a little smaller and it's wings were black colored and it's base flexed around up/down/left/right. Even though it looked to be nearly the same style as the pictured Zenith antenna, it was only half as good. That Zenith antenna was just engineered right, some imitation antennas don't hold a candle to the gain it gets on UHF. I am not sure about the Terk HDTVa version, but it looks nearly identical to the Zenith and it has an amp. I would probably go with that one and see what happens.
warbird281 is offline  
post #3705 of 4042 Old 09-29-2017, 10:20 AM
Member
 
84lion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Has anyone else been having issues lately with WSB (virtual 2, actual 39)? In the past couple months or so, I've noticed an increased number of dropouts and a generally lower signal strength. This is in the East Cobb area.

Also, noticed that Bounce has moved to WSB (2.2) and is off channel 36. The subchannel Bounce was on now just has an info card saying Bounce isn't on the channel anymore.
84lion is offline  
post #3706 of 4042 Old 10-08-2017, 04:05 AM
Member
 
yo-mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Ch 17 added 17.2 a few weeks ago, but still have same programming on both chs....why would they do this ? Anyone know of any plans for 17.2 ?
eq2675 likes this.
yo-mama is offline  
post #3707 of 4042 Old 10-08-2017, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by yo-mama View Post
Ch 17 added 17.2 a few weeks ago, but still have same programming on both chs....why would they do this ? Anyone know of any plans for 17.2 ?
someone had mentioned elsewhere that the 17.2 feed does not have the channel 46 news on it (assuming its for the Canadian sat providers who carry it.) In Canada providers are allowed to carry both WTBS (now WPCH) and the Chicago WGN 9 affiliates.

"Someone had mentioned to me that WPCH SD 17.2 is the Canada feed, right now there playing informercials while WPCH TV 17.1 is playing WGCL 46 news for Atlanta."
eq2675 likes this.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3708 of 4042 Old 10-08-2017, 08:18 AM
Member
 
yo-mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
someone had mentioned elsewhere that the 17.2 feed does not have the channel 46 news on it (assuming its for the Canadian sat providers who carry it.) In Canada providers are allowed to carry both WTBS (now WPCH) and the Chicago WGN 9 affiliates.

"Someone had mentioned to me that WPCH SD 17.2 is the Canada feed, right now there playing informercials while WPCH TV 17.1 is playing WGCL 46 news for Atlanta."

As of 11:15 I see the same programming. And the DVR+ guide is showing Atlanta Eats right now on both 17.1 and 17.2
eq2675 likes this.
yo-mama is offline  
post #3709 of 4042 Old 10-08-2017, 08:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 153
It may be just the news that is pre-empted on 17.2

zap2it shows paid program from 4:30am-7am on both but Titan shows CBSNews46 at 4:30,5:00 and 6:00am (Titan doesnt show 17-2)
eq2675 likes this.

Last edited by unclehonkey; 10-08-2017 at 08:47 AM.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3710 of 4042 Old 10-08-2017, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by yo-mama View Post
Ch 17 added 17.2 a few weeks ago, but still have same programming on both chs....why would they do this ? Anyone know of any plans for 17.2 ?
They are launching CBS46 News At Nine on October 16th...it will be interesting to see if we see something else on 17.2 starting the same day.
eq2675 likes this.
richart is offline  
post #3711 of 4042 Old 10-11-2017, 05:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by richart View Post
They are launching CBS46 News At Nine on October 16th...it will be interesting to see if we see something else on 17.2 starting the same day.
About 17 years ago when WTBS-17 was still being shipped around the country, the Saturday/Sunday morning schedule often had differences between the local Atlanta transmitter programming and the national service. I could watch the differences on DirecTV and an OTA antenna.
eq2675 likes this.

Will the last subscriber leaving Dish Network please turn off the satellite.
rdvegas is offline  
post #3712 of 4042 Old 10-14-2017, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Has anyone lost channel 8 WGTV? I've never had a problem picking up this station here in west Cobb, but I've noticed the last several days I've not been getting a signal even though it still showed up on my HDHomerun even after rescanning. As of yesterday, it has completely disappeared. Anyone else having a problem with it?
eq2675 likes this.
Futrader8 is offline  
post #3713 of 4042 Old 10-14-2017, 09:58 AM
Member
 
yo-mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
Has anyone lost channel 8 WGTV? I've never had a problem picking up this station here in west Cobb, but I've noticed the last several days I've not been getting a signal even though it still showed up on my HDHomerun even after rescanning. As of yesterday, it has completely disappeared. Anyone else having a problem with it?

No issues here on the southwest side ....Peachtree City area. 100% signal strength on my CM DVR+
yo-mama is offline  
post #3714 of 4042 Old 10-14-2017, 02:21 PM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know what the MeTV Chattanooga affiliate channel is? I now able to get Chattanooga in day and night, but only channel 3. I will have to add another large hi-vhf antenna to get 9 and 12, but 3 comes in round the clock at 50-55% during the day and 70% at night using the extremely large outdoor antenna pictured. I have not had any success here in Canton of picking up WGTA, so I think I would have an easier shot at getting the Chattanooga affiliate.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0411.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	2.12 MB
ID:	2298386  
warbird281 is offline  
post #3715 of 4042 Old 10-14-2017, 04:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,575
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1482 Post(s)
Liked: 579
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by warbird281 View Post
Does anyone know what the MeTV Chattanooga affiliate channel is? I now able to get Chattanooga in day and night, but only channel 3. I will have to add another large hi-vhf antenna to get 9 and 12, but 3 comes in round the clock at 50-55% during the day and 70% at night using the extremely large outdoor antenna pictured. I have not had any success here in Canton of picking up WGTA, so I think I would have an easier shot at getting the Chattanooga affiliate.
It's on RF42, 53-3, in Chattanooga.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #3716 of 4042 Old 10-14-2017, 04:14 PM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
It's on RF42, 53-3, in Chattanooga.

- Trip
For some reason I thought it was on 9 (rf9) or 12 (rf12), or it used to be anyway. If it is on UHF that makes things a bit more complicated. I haven't been able to get Chattanooga UHF to come in since the analog days, and even then it was pretty fuzzy. 3 (rf13) comes in great all of the time without any breakups, but that is about it except for the occasional tropo nights. 9 used to come in as good as 3 does, but not anymore. I'm guessing it is because of interference from another tower somewhere using the same frequency. So much for that idea I guess, but I might play around with my cm4221 UHF antenna in different locations a little less woody and see what happens.

Last edited by warbird281; 10-14-2017 at 04:44 PM.
warbird281 is offline  
post #3717 of 4042 Old 10-14-2017, 05:01 PM
Member
 
yo-mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by warbird281 View Post
For some reason I thought it was on 9 (rf9) or 12 (rf12), or it used to be anyway. If it is on UHF that makes things a bit more complicated. I haven't been able to get Chattanooga UHF to come in since the analog days, and even then it was pretty fuzzy. 3 (rf13) comes in great all of the time without any breakups, but that is about it except for the occasional tropo nights. 9 used to come in as good as 3 does, but not anymore. I'm guessing it is because of interference from another tower somewhere using the same frequency. So much for that idea I guess, but I might play around with my cm4221 UHF antenna in different locations a little less woody and see what happens.

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...rket&mktid=107
yo-mama is offline  
post #3718 of 4042 Old 10-14-2017, 05:24 PM
Member
 
warbird281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canton, Ga.
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by yo-mama View Post
Thanks for this.
warbird281 is offline  
post #3719 of 4042 Old 10-15-2017, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 69
This whole thing with the Toccoa station being part of the Atlanta DMA is ridiculous. The station cannot be received in 80% of the market. Strictly a scheme to become a must carry on the cable systems where there is more revenue and advertising dollars.
yo-mama likes this.
richart is offline  
post #3720 of 4042 Old 10-18-2017, 04:42 PM
Newbie
 
CaptainEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by richart View Post
This whole thing with the Toccoa station being part of the Atlanta DMA is ridiculous. The station cannot be received in 80% of the market. Strictly a scheme to become a must carry on the cable systems where there is more revenue and advertising dollars.
Dacula, GA - Antenna Recommendation

I'm preparing to purchase an OTA antenna (or two). Antenna will be at 20ft located in the attic.


http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4a78b8ca6dc



Concentration of channels are predominately SW. So I am thinking one directional antenna pointed in that direction will suffice. However, if two antennas would pick up a few additional channels I would be interested in that option as well.


Current Setup: Entire house is Cat6 networked with HTPCs running KODI. Some HTPC are PC(AMD/Intel) and others are ARM (Libreelec). I believe I can run the antenna coax to a tuner card in one PC and share the OTA signals throughout the house via Cat6 network & KODI. Please correct me if this assumption is wrong or if there is a better solution i.e. HDHomerun external tuner.
If running the antenna cable to a tuner card in a PC for streaming is a preferred method, advice on the best PCI tuner card would also be helpful. Also the distance from the antenna to the PC with a tuner card would be 40-50ft. I'm not sure if this distance requires any amplification.

Last edited by DrDon; 10-20-2017 at 06:05 AM. Reason: link added
CaptainEO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off