Atlanta, GA - OTA - Page 139 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 94Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 4152 Old 11-04-2019, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by richart View Post
I would suggest you contact the chief engineer down at WSB and ask him. I will private message you with his contact information.
I sent him an email.
I’ll let you know what he says.
Lend27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 4152 Old 11-07-2019, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
I sent him an email.
I’ll let you know what he says.
FYI, I have not yet received a response.
Lend27 is offline  
post #4143 of 4152 Old 11-12-2019, 07:29 AM
Member
 
rakosnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richart View Post
What kind of picture quality are you getting? Was it working before but not now? Or have you always had problems with WXIA?
What kind of antenna are you using? Is it mounted inside or outside? How high above ground? How much coax cable from the antenna to the Homerun?
Often good signal strength with low signal quality is a symptom of interference such as from a local FM station, or having too much amplification in your system (are you using a preamp?) or signals reflecting out an object or terrain and arriving at your antenna out of phase.
Give us as much information as you can regarding your antenna system. A rabbitears.info signal report for your location would be helpful, too.
I'm using a Antennas Direct Clearstream 4V TV Antenna. It is mounted outside, about 20 feet off the ground. There is just a little bit longer than 100 foot coxial cable between the antenna and the Silicon Dust tuner. I'm using a Antra AT-PAA28 Low Noise Pre-Amplifier HDTV Pre-amp Signal Booster with LTE 4G Filter for UHF VHF Antenna Adjustable Gain Excellent for Weak Signal Regions

Sometimes I get WXIA very well and other times it doesn't come in.

The channel that I have the most trouble with is PBS. It often has 100% signal strength, but it frequently doesn't display at all.
rakosnik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4144 of 4152 Old 11-12-2019, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakosnik View Post
I'm using a Antennas Direct Clearstream 4V TV Antenna. It is mounted outside, about 20 feet off the ground. There is just a little bit longer than 100 foot coxial cable between the antenna and the Silicon Dust tuner. I'm using a Antra AT-PAA28 Low Noise Pre-Amplifier HDTV Pre-amp Signal Booster with LTE 4G Filter for UHF VHF Antenna Adjustable Gain Excellent for Weak Signal Regions

Sometimes I get WXIA very well and other times it doesn't come in.

The channel that I have the most trouble with is PBS. It often has 100% signal strength, but it frequently doesn't display at all.
The Clearstream 4V antenna is a good antenna for UHF channels, but is minimal for VHF channels unless you are in a strong signal area. Both WXIA and WGTV are VHF channels.

To help the group understand the signal levels at your location, could you do a RabbitEars signal report and post the link here so we can see what the signal strength are in your area? Here is the link to perform the analysis: https://www.rabbitears.info/searchmap.php Just enter your address in the box and press search. Then click move pushpin to center of map view, drag the icon to the position of your antenna, select the antenna height and press go. It will take 20 or 30 seconds to load. At the top of the result list will be a shareable link for the results that you can post here.
richart is offline  
post #4145 of 4152 Old 11-21-2019, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
FYI, I have not yet received a response.
Still no response.
Lend27 is offline  
post #4146 of 4152 Old 11-21-2019, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 64
So here is my post repack dilemma:
This is data from 8 am. I lose channel 2 from noon until after sunset.

Channel . Signal str. Signal Quality
2 (32) 100 58
5 (27) 100 100
8 (8) 100 81
11 (10) 97 75
14(16) 93 100
17 (31) 88 0
34 (18) 100 95
36 (25) 100 54
46 (19) 100 87
63 (22) 100 0
69 (36) 100 75

I lose 2 until the sun goes down. 17 pretty much never comes in anymore.
36 only works at night.

Locast is now available in Atlanta so that pretty much gives me the channels I need, but it drives up my data usage and I have a 1TB cap with Comcast. Luckily I don't watch 2 or 17 very much, but wife watches some of the ABC shows.

BTW, Locast is a godsend for people who can't install an antenna.

All channels worked reliably for me prior to Repack. I'm hoping that channel 2 will return once they put their transmitter back to it's original location.

Do you guys have any comments or suggestions based on my signal strength?

Thanks again and Happy Holidays!

Len
Lend27 is offline  
post #4147 of 4152 Old 11-21-2019, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
Locast is now available in Atlanta so that pretty much gives me the channels I need, but it drives up my data usage and I have a 1TB cap with Comcast. Luckily I don't watch 2 or 17 very much, but wife watches some of the ABC shows.

Len
Thanks for the tip on Locast. I don't pick up WGTV channel 8 here at my location and it does have some documentaries I would like to watch from time to time.
richart is offline  
post #4148 of 4152 Old 11-21-2019, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
So here is my post repack dilemma:
This is data from 8 am. I lose channel 2 from noon until after sunset.

Channel . Signal str. Signal Quality
2 (32) 100 58
5 (27) 100 100
8 (8) 100 81
11 (10) 97 75
14(16) 93 100
17 (31) 88 0
34 (18) 100 95
36 (25) 100 54
46 (19) 100 87
63 (22) 100 0
69 (36) 100 75

I lose 2 until the sun goes down. 17 pretty much never comes in anymore.
36 only works at night.
It looks like you have some good signal strengths but poor signal quality on some channels. Since you haven't received much help here about your dilemma, I would suggest you check on the TV Fool 'Help With Reception' forum. There are some very knowledgeable folks there. If you post there, be sure to include links to both your TV Fool signal report as well as your Rabbit Ears signal report and a full description of your antenna system. http://forum.tvfool.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7
richart is offline  
post #4149 of 4152 Old 11-30-2019, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
commodore_dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone noticed horizontal black lines flickering across WSB occasionally for the last few weeks? Trying to figure out if it's a WSB issue or a Comcast issue (all other channels are fine).
commodore_dude is offline  
post #4150 of 4152 Old 11-30-2019, 05:26 PM
GPM
Senior Member
 
GPM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chamblee, Ga.
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
No, just my usual audio dropouts nowadays from being line of sight liftoff/flyover of the increasing number of traffic, etc., helos stationed across the road at PDK that turns the airwaves into chop suey.

Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.
GPM is offline  
post #4151 of 4152 Old 12-01-2019, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
richart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by commodore_dude View Post
Has anyone noticed horizontal black lines flickering across WSB occasionally for the last few weeks? Trying to figure out if it's a WSB issue or a Comcast issue (all other channels are fine).
No issues with WSB over the air at my house.
richart is offline  
post #4152 of 4152 Old 12-01-2019, 12:30 PM
GPM
Senior Member
 
GPM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chamblee, Ga.
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Update:

Been watching either 2.1 and/or 2.2 all week most weeks with only my usual audio issue, but when I switched to watch Castle/2.1 plus overnight movies/2.2 all I got was completely broken up audio/video with still no improvement even after a re-scan.

GM

Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.
GPM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off