Johnstown, PA - HDTV - Page 127 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 85Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3781 of 3870 Old 12-10-2019, 11:10 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'll point out I was strictly speaking re: the lack of updates, not that it hasn't been fixed yet.
pvdigital is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3782 of 3870 Old 12-13-2019, 11:44 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
pvdigital is offline  
post #3783 of 3870 Old 12-24-2019, 09:35 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So my suspicion is WJAC is moving from RF 22 to RF 33 soon. Reason for that is my Fox 56 RF 22 Scranton channel shot from NA up to a strong 67. Then yesterday it was back to not being received.
pvdigital is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3784 of 3870 Old 12-27-2019, 02:04 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
WJAC has applied to move RF22 to RF33.

- Trip
Am I reading the FCC site correctly that it was approved?
pvdigital is offline  
post #3785 of 3870 Old 12-27-2019, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 165
KyL416 is offline  
post #3786 of 3870 Old 02-02-2020, 07:51 AM
Member
 
cambria county's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Wtoo Channel 50 ( rf-22) Bolivar, Pa.

Wtoo is now broadcasting from Laurel Mt. near Wjac-6 tower. They are running several sub channel's. Currently having audio problems on some of the channel's. For those located in Johnstown area...this now poses a problem receiving Fox 53 (rf-20) and Wpnt (rf-21) and Wpxi 11 (rf-23) due to close location on the spectrum near to rf-22. Rf-22 will now overload all the Pgh. station's when using an amplified set up. I personally have line of line of sight with Wtoo Bolivar, Pa. I have carefully retuned my antenna farm and am able to get 53, 22, and 11 back again. Not an easy task. One of my long range yagi's is the antenna of choice. The 4-8 bay's would not give me a good null on rf-22. Narrow beam width (Yagi) is what worked for me. I am also building a uhf notch filter in the near future. Btw, Wpxi 11 is the hardest to receive (rf-23). Fox 53 and My 22 have very strong signal's here since moving to lower freq's.
wbf likes this.
cambria county is offline  
post #3787 of 3870 Old 02-02-2020, 12:18 PM
wbf
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Pittsburgh - North Hills
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambria county View Post
Wtoo is now broadcasting from Laurel Mt. near Wjac-6 tower. They are running several sub channel's. Currently having audio problems on some of the channel's. For those located in Johnstown area...this now poses a problem receiving Fox 53 (rf-20) and Wpnt (rf-21) and Wpxi 11 (rf-23) due to close location on the spectrum near to rf-22. Rf-22 will now overload all the Pgh. station's when using an amplified set up. I personally have line of line of sight with Wtoo Bolivar, Pa. I have carefully retuned my antenna farm and am able to get 53, 22, and 11 back again. Not an easy task. One of my long range yagi's is the antenna of choice. The 4-8 bay's would not give me a good null on rf-22. Narrow beam width (Yagi) is what worked for me. I am also building a uhf notch filter in the near future. Btw, Wpxi 11 is the hardest to receive (rf-23). Fox 53 and My 22 have very strong signal's here since moving to lower freq's.

Just out of curiosity, what networks are they running on their sub-channels? In the P-G a few months ago, their station manager mentioned that they were adding Get TV, among others. Thanks.

Last edited by wbf; 02-02-2020 at 12:45 PM.
wbf is offline  
post #3788 of 3870 Old 02-02-2020, 02:56 PM
Member
 
cambria county's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbf View Post
Just out of curiosity, what networks are they running on their sub-channels? In the P-G a few months ago, their station manager mentioned that they were adding Get TV, among others. Thanks.
Wtoo Bolivar, Pa. showed these channel's on Sunday. 50-1 Jtv 50-2 Crtv 50-3 Shop Lc 50-4 Qvc 2 50-5 Get Tv 50-6 Justice Tv. They are currently off the air as I type this. My Fox 53 Snr on my Sony jumps to almost a 30 when Wtoo is not on the air. The Sony snr peaks at 31 (full scale). This Tv is carried in Johnstown area on Watm 23 aka rf-31.
wbf likes this.
cambria county is offline  
post #3789 of 3870 Old 02-03-2020, 12:49 PM
Member
 
cambria county's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambria county View Post
Wtoo Bolivar, Pa. showed these channel's on Sunday. 50-1 Jtv 50-2 Crtv 50-3 Shop Lc 50-4 Qvc 2 50-5 Get Tv 50-6 Justice Tv. They are currently off the air as I type this. My Fox 53 Snr on my Sony jumps to almost a 30 when Wtoo is not on the air. The Sony snr peaks at 31 (full scale). This Tv is carried in Johnstown area on Watm 23 aka rf-31.
Wtoo 50 ( rf-22) Bolivar, Pa. is back on the air. All the channel's working with video/audio. They probably took advantage of this nice day to drive to the top of Laurel Mt. and do transmitter work.
cambria county is offline  
post #3790 of 3870 Old 02-03-2020, 04:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 46
WTOO
50.1 Heroes & Icons
50.2 Start
50.3 Decades
50.4 Movies!
50.5 Get TV (4:3)
50.6 Justice

All except 50.5 are full screen 480i
Trip in VA likes this.

"One of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us."
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #3791 of 3870 Old 02-03-2020, 04:48 PM
Member
 
cambria county's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post
WTOO
50.1 Heroes & Icons
50.2 Start
50.3 Decades
50.4 Movies!
50.5 Get TV (4:3)
50.6 Justice

All except 50.5 are full screen 480i
Thanks for update on Wtoo. When I posted the other channel's that is what they were running at the time. Johnstown finally has a lot of free channel's easily obtainable with a simple antenna in most cases.
cambria county is offline  
post #3792 of 3870 Old 02-04-2020, 10:59 AM
Member
 
chum1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambria county View Post
Wtoo 50 ( rf-22) Bolivar, Pa. is back on the air. All the channel's working with video/audio. They probably took advantage of this nice day to drive to the top of Laurel Mt. and do transmitter work.
Were they on Blue Knob and moved? There was a channel 23 that had shopping on it always screwed up my WATM program guide.
chum1976 is offline  
post #3793 of 3870 Old 02-04-2020, 09:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by chum1976 View Post
Were they on Blue Knob and moved? There was a channel 23 that had shopping on it always screwed up my WATM program guide.


Yes. They changed city of license to Bolivar and moved the transmitter site to the WJAC antenna farm on Laurel Mountain.

Incidentally, they are still debugging things. Tonight, two of the 6 channels had audio but no picture, two were the opposite, and two were normal. Overall, it’s a nice collection of diginets.
chum1976 likes this.

"One of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us."
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #3794 of 3870 Old 02-05-2020, 12:20 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Isn't WJAC still broadcasting on RF 22 as well? I would imagine there is some overlap.
pvdigital is offline  
post #3795 of 3870 Old 02-05-2020, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Johnstown, PA - HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post
Isn't WJAC still broadcasting on RF 22 as well? I would imagine there is some overlap.

The Altoona repeater is on 22, however, it appears WJAC has a construction permit to move that transmitter to 33.

"One of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us."
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-

Last edited by PA_MainyYak; 02-05-2020 at 02:44 PM.
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #3796 of 3870 Old 02-05-2020, 04:40 PM
Member
 
chum1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post
Isn't WJAC still broadcasting on RF 22 as well? I would imagine there is some overlap.
Yes it knocked out WJAC for me on 22 so I switched to 29 which is very strong. Its good for me they moved and good for the OTA viewers in Johnstown.
chum1976 is offline  
post #3797 of 3870 Old 02-06-2020, 09:53 AM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I haven't seen any actual construction updates or an estimate of when RF 33 will be live. I have to believe the goal would be Q1 or Q2 of 2020 especially with the Bolivar switch. Glad you have another translator to pick up WJAC with, chum.
pvdigital is offline  
post #3798 of 3870 Old 03-23-2020, 12:37 PM
Member
 
pvdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvdigital View Post
So my suspicion is WJAC is moving from RF 22 to RF 33 soon. Reason for that is my Fox 56 RF 22 Scranton channel shot from NA up to a strong 67. Then yesterday it was back to not being received.
My suspicion was clearly wrong. No further updates from reading online.
pvdigital is offline  
post #3799 of 3870 Old 03-25-2020, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Wtoo

Is there some sort of trick to getting WTOO in the city?

I am only like a mile away from WJAC's tower which WTOO seems to be right near.

Oddly no matter how hard I try, no actual TV that picks up WJAC wants to pick up WTOO.

The only thing that can see WTOO is my HDHomeRun DUAL with a Signal Strength of 87-88%, Signal Quality 61-65%, and Symbol Quality of 100%.

I was hoping to tell others I know who live in the city but it doesn't seem as easy to pickup like WJAC.

EDIT: Forgot to mention, I do have an antenna/cable amp on the HDHomeRun to balance signal so maybe that's why it's the only one seeing WTOO.

EDIT #2 : Why is Decades telling me I am watchng WOSC Pittsburgh? lol

Last edited by RedPenguin2; 03-25-2020 at 10:02 AM.
RedPenguin2 is offline  
post #3800 of 3870 Old 03-25-2020, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 46
If you have line of sight to the WJAC tower farm, WTOO should be a snap. I don’t know what type of antennas you’re using on the other TVs, but have you tried moving them around? My living room antenna works best elevated and pointed East, almost 90° away from “atop the Alleghenies”.
In that orientation (and with an assist from a homemade aluminum foil reflector hidden in the drapes) I also get WTAJ and WATM out of Altoona.

"One of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us."
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #3801 of 3870 Old 03-25-2020, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thanks again!

I messed around with differrent antennas on my HDHR.

So far, I got up to 80% signal quality with 100% from WJAC.

Oddly my video editing programs keep claiming lots of video warnings in the recordings.

The channels look and sound great, so is it maybe just they are still getting the channels operating 100%?

I ask because my HDHR signal levels seem to say I am getting a great signal and I should not have warnings/errors in the recordings.
RedPenguin2 is offline  
post #3802 of 3870 Old 03-25-2020, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedPenguin2 View Post
I ask because my HDHR signal levels seem to say I am getting a great signal and I should not have warnings/errors in the recordings.
If you are only a mile away from the transmitter LOS, then you may be experiencing signal overload when using your more sensitive antennas. That could be the reason you're getting all those warnings. I've heard of viewers using paperclips to get reception when they're that close.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #3803 of 3870 Old 03-25-2020, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
If you are only a mile away from the transmitter LOS, then you may be experiencing signal overload when using your more sensitive antennas. That could be the reason you're getting all those warnings. I've heard of viewers using paperclips to get reception when they're that close.
I guess I did the math somewhat wrong.

I guess according to Google Maps in Air Miles I am 2.21 miles away.

Anyway, I thought of that also, even tried a piece of coxial wire only.

For some reason even WJAC seems to need a full blown rabbit ears and I am not 100% sure why.

My kitchen area is one of the worst where even with a better antenna, I still get break up at times especially if a large vehicle like a dump truck or whatever goes by.
RedPenguin2 is offline  
post #3804 of 3870 Old 03-27-2020, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Well that's some interesting results.

I decided to try the antenna by itself on a three splitter with the TV, HDHR, and my Win TV USB card that I use at times without the amp at all.

WTOO is about 79% Sig Strength, 75% Quality, & 100% Symbol.

WJAC is 100% on all 3.

I still get occassional warnings in programs like ffmpeg but I don't visually see or hear anything in the particular spots.
PA_MainyYak and Brian in CT like this.
RedPenguin2 is offline  
post #3805 of 3870 Old 03-27-2020, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedPenguin2 View Post
Well that's some interesting results.

I decided to try the antenna by itself on a three splitter with the TV, HDHR, and my Win TV USB card that I use at times without the amp at all.

WTOO is about 79% Sig Strength, 75% Quality, & 100% Symbol.

WJAC is 100% on all 3.

I still get occassional warnings in programs like ffmpeg but I don't visually see or hear anything in the particular spots.
You were using an amp THAT CLOSE to a TV transmitter? No wonder you were having problems. Good job on fixing your situation.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #3806 of 3870 Old 03-27-2020, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
You were using an amp THAT CLOSE to a TV transmitter? No wonder you were having problems. Good job on fixing your situation.
Originally I wasn't but a little while back I had a very tough time getting WJAC to balance out. It was like fine most of the time then randomly cut out.

I changed antennas and fixed that.

Now I am running TSReader and noticed that WJAC comes in crystal clear with no errors what so ever.

Oddly though, WTOO will work for like 3-4 min straight, then have uncorrectables/TEIs then work say 8-10 minutes, then uncorrectables again, then be fine.

It seems I am so close to great reception but I don't know what is causing those temporary uncorrectables every so many minutes.
RedPenguin2 is offline  
post #3807 of 3870 Old 03-28-2020, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedPenguin2 View Post
Oddly though, WTOO will work for like 3-4 min straight, then have uncorrectables/TEIs then work say 8-10 minutes, then uncorrectables again, then be fine.

It seems I am so close to great reception but I don't know what is causing those temporary uncorrectables every so many minutes.
There is a reasonable chance your reception problem with WTOO is due to signal multipathing. That could be the reason WJAC was also giving you problems. You said that your "kitchen area" is a bad spot for your antenna. It may be due to TV signals bouncing around off metal surfaces. If you have many obstructions in the signal path (like dump trucks) causing pixilation, you may want to give your antenna more height. Since I assume your television is in the kitchen, is there any way to put your antenna on the second floor (or attic) and snake coax down behind a wall that would reach your TV? That might be the answer to your problem.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #3808 of 3870 Old 03-28-2020, 06:29 PM
Senior Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
There is a reasonable chance your reception problem with WTOO is due to signal multipathing. That could be the reason WJAC was also giving you problems. You said that your "kitchen area" is a bad spot for your antenna. It may be due to TV signals bouncing around off metal surfaces. If you have many obstructions in the signal path (like dump trucks) causing pixilation, you may want to give your antenna more height. Since I assume your television is in the kitchen, is there any way to put your antenna on the second floor (or attic) and snake coax down behind a wall that would reach your TV? That might be the answer to your problem.
Actually, my area has basically non-stop dump trucks going by, it's like the city has become the PA Turnpike....

WJAC is actually pretty solid now in the kitchen thanks to one of those cheap $5 flat antennas. Originally for WJAC years ago you could just throw on a not-connected-on-one-end coxial and it would work.

I was doing some diagnostic tests with the folks over at RabbitEars and they seem to believe for WTOO that I will need a much better antenna, something like a Yagi vs my Wal-Mart UHF Loop/Rabbit Ears or my flat antenna.

Using TSReader on my upstairs HDHomeRun, we noticed that sometimes for 5-10 or sometimes even 20 minutes WTOO will have perfect signal than get 50 or so TEI/uncorrectable errors.

The kitchen TV refuses to even see WTOO at all while the living room just sees it, works for a while, then the picture but not audio freezes.

Even though I'd like it all over the house like WJAC, if I can at least get it working on my HDHR perfectly, I can then record via MythTV and send the video over my network to the other TVs if need be.
RedPenguin2 is offline  
post #3809 of 3870 Old 03-29-2020, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Brian in CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairfield, Conn.
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedPenguin2 View Post
Actually, my area has basically non-stop dump trucks going by, it's like the city has become the PA Turnpike....

WJAC is actually pretty solid now in the kitchen thanks to one of those cheap $5 flat antennas. Originally for WJAC years ago you could just throw on a not-connected-on-one-end coxial and it would work.

I was doing some diagnostic tests with the folks over at RabbitEars and they seem to believe for WTOO that I will need a much better antenna, something like a Yagi vs my Wal-Mart UHF Loop/Rabbit Ears or my flat antenna.

Using TSReader on my upstairs HDHomeRun, we noticed that sometimes for 5-10 or sometimes even 20 minutes WTOO will have perfect signal than get 50 or so TEI/uncorrectable errors.

The kitchen TV refuses to even see WTOO at all while the living room just sees it, works for a while, then the picture but not audio freezes.

Even though I'd like it all over the house like WJAC, if I can at least get it working on my HDHR perfectly, I can then record via MythTV and send the video over my network to the other TVs if need be.
Why keep the antenna in the kitchen if it's in a dead zone? I would still try to find a better (and higher) place in the house to put your antenna. That way, all those trucks going by won't be messing with your reception.
Brian in CT is offline  
post #3810 of 3870 Old 03-29-2020, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
RedPenguin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian in CT View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedPenguin2 View Post
Actually, my area has basically non-stop dump trucks going by, it's like the city has become the PA Turnpike....

WJAC is actually pretty solid now in the kitchen thanks to one of those cheap $5 flat antennas. Originally for WJAC years ago you could just throw on a not-connected-on-one-end coxial and it would work.

I was doing some diagnostic tests with the folks over at RabbitEars and they seem to believe for WTOO that I will need a much better antenna, something like a Yagi vs my Wal-Mart UHF Loop/Rabbit Ears or my flat antenna.

Using TSReader on my upstairs HDHomeRun, we noticed that sometimes for 5-10 or sometimes even 20 minutes WTOO will have perfect signal than get 50 or so TEI/uncorrectable errors.

The kitchen TV refuses to even see WTOO at all while the living room just sees it, works for a while, then the picture but not audio freezes.

Even though I'd like it all over the house like WJAC, if I can at least get it working on my HDHR perfectly, I can then record via MythTV and send the video over my network to the other TVs if need be.
Why keep the antenna in the kitchen if it's in a dead zone? I would still try to find a better (and higher) place in the house to put your antenna. That way, all those trucks going by won't be messing with your reception.
Sorry for the confusion.

I meant the kitchen TV has it's own flat $5 Antenna on it right now.

All my TVs except the one in the same room as the HDHR upstairs have their own cheap indoor antennas.

I just did that as WJAC comes on so well in most rooms that in one room even a not-connected-on-one-end coaxial cable worked.

I am trying to get a much better Antenna now to power the HDHR at least for now as my main objective is to be able to DVR the channels and I can feed other TVs over my LAN if need be until I can actually get a multi-feed system to do the entire place.

I wouldn't mind using my old ABB wiring but that still has my Internet only going through it.
RedPenguin2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off