Minneapolis, MN - OTA - Page 137 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 304Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4081 of 4119 Old 05-19-2020, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
KyL416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tobyhanna, PA
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
but Mankato is its own DMA.
The OTA lineups have to cover everyone in the entire market, not just what the people in the city of Minneapolis can get over the air. You may not receive them where you live, but people in bordering counties can since OTA signals don't stop at the DMA borders. If they weren't in the lineup, it would screw over all the people living in the outer portions of the markets who can receive those stations.


Originally TiVO was using Gracenote/Zap2it for data, but after TiVO purchased Rovi, they switched to their data in 2016. Gracenote provided zip code specific OTA lineups to take care of all those outer areas that got neighboring locals, but Rovi just provides one OTA lineup for the entire DMA, so after the switch TiVO had to start including all the extra out of market stations so no one in those outer portions would lose listings for the neighboring stations their antenna picks up.

i.e. in my DMA Scranton, the eastern parts of the market can pick up Philly and NYC stations, the southern parts of the market can pick up Harrisburg and Philly stations, the western parts of the market can pick up State College stations, the higher elevations in the northern portions can pick up Binghamton, Elmira, Syracuse and Utica, so TiVO's OTA lineup includes all of them.

In a perfect world Rovi would overhaul their OTA lineups to be zip code specific, which people have been begging them to do since the Gemstar days, but for whatever reason they stubbornly want to stick to single OTA lineups for an entire DMA.

Last edited by KyL416; 05-19-2020 at 07:36 PM.
KyL416 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4082 of 4119 Old 05-19-2020, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
I do know how this works thank you.
I live in Mankato, Minnesota...don't know why you're talking about Milwaukee (other than the fact the Ion affiliate got added to the list for some reason...I see you edited your post). But again we arent talking about Minneapolis. I'm talking about Mankato (DMA 198)

Bordering the Mankato market (which is all of 4 counties and the city North Mankato) is the Minneapolis market on 3 of 4 sides. The southern part is Sioux City or Des Moines depending on what county in Iowa you are in. So by default Mankato (all 2 stations) and the CTV translator farms that carry the Minneapolis stations need to be in there. Minneapolis proper stations sure and if you want to add Rochester to the bunch. But the other ones are not needed like LaCrosse/Eau Claire and sure not the Milwaukee Ion station. The LaCrosse/Eau Claire stations in the Minneapolis market/zips sure. But not Mankato.....Unless those 900 mile antennas they show on ebay actually work
MadmanR likes this.

Last edited by unclehonkey; 05-19-2020 at 07:42 PM.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4083 of 4119 Old 05-20-2020, 06:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
I see rabbitears shows o KJNK-DT4 the new news network LX coming soon
https://www.lx.com/

Its a news network from NBC

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...=67955#station
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4084 of 4119 Old 05-21-2020, 05:35 AM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 38
LX is already active on 25.4
robrob10 is offline  
post #4085 of 4119 Old 05-21-2020, 07:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Since I cant pick it up here in Mankato I'll ask

Is 5.5 still a simulcast of 5.2 (45) but on RF35 (KSTP) instead of RF30 (KSTC)?

Reason I ask is Tivo added 5.5 to my already overweight channel list....I thought 5.5 was temporary?
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4086 of 4119 Old 05-21-2020, 09:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Minneapolis, MN - OTA

Tony,


I checked a little bit ago and 5.5 was, indeed, a simulcast of 5.2.

I have to tell you, though, after driving there recently and seeing the city name of Mankato in your post, I now have Pagliai's Pizza on my mind. It was great pizza in the late 1970 and early 1980s and I suspect it still might be!



Jim1348
unclehonkey likes this.
Jim1348 is offline  
post #4087 of 4119 Old 05-22-2020, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Unknown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stacy Minnesota
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
Since I cant pick it up here in Mankato I'll ask

Is 5.5 still a simulcast of 5.2 (45) but on RF35 (KSTP) instead of RF30 (KSTC)?

Reason I ask is Tivo added 5.5 to my already overweight channel list....I thought 5.5 was temporary?
Yes 5.5 is KSTC 45 of 5.2. It is still temporary as the KSTC tv antenna is still being work on. No date on when they will get it back up.
Unknown12 is offline  
post #4088 of 4119 Old 05-22-2020, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
Tony,


I checked a little bit ago and 5.5 was, indeed, a simulcast of 5.2.

I have to tell you, though, after driving there recently and seeing the city name of Mankato in your post, I now have Pagliai's Pizza on my mind. It was great pizza in the late 1970 and early 1980s and I suspect it still might be!

Jim1348
yup its still good pizza
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4089 of 4119 Old 05-24-2020, 04:15 AM
Member
 
MadmanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: St. Paul, northeast of Midway
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 29
No content on either KJNK/25 or K33LN/33

Every single one of the KJNK-LD and K33LN-D program channels are now blank displays.
No content to be seen whatsoever on this Sunday morning.

That is, each individual channel does register a signal -- with the 25s just as strong as they were last week and the 33s somewhat less so -- but no programming is present anywhere across all the channels 25.1 - 25.6 and 33.1 - 33.7.
Good ol' DTV, eh?

Not sure how long it's been true but I was watching Get-TV 25.6 late Saturday afternoon.

"In the choice between changing ones mind and proving there's no need to do so, most people get busy on the proof." - John Kenneth Galbraith

Last edited by MadmanR; 05-24-2020 at 04:22 AM.
MadmanR is offline  
post #4090 of 4119 Old 05-24-2020, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,464
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 359
I'm getting all the 33's at a constant 65% signal strength but picture on all channels breaks up every couple seconds or so, totally unwatchable!
25's have a 87% signal strength but no video on any..... Garbage channels!
jjeff is offline  
post #4091 of 4119 Old 05-24-2020, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Yeh, same with me. 33's just like a few weeks ago...crappy picture and audio all week. 25's same, but off air today.Sure miss the '60's! Less than a whopping 2 miles from IDS and they can't get their hardware working for more than a few days at a time! Where's the FCC when actually needed?
Xiccarph is offline  
post #4092 of 4119 Old 05-24-2020, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiccarph View Post
Yeh, same with me. 33's just like a few weeks ago...crappy picture and audio all week. 25's same, but off air today.Sure miss the '60's! Less than a whopping 2 miles from IDS and they can't get their hardware working for more than a few days at a time! Where's the FCC when actually needed?
dont let it get to you. Its been like this for 4 years when KMBD 43 launched back in 2016. 33 use to crap out when 3ABN owned them so its not like this is something new with a new owner

Have some fun. Take a shot every time 25 or 33 goes kaputsky. You'll be passed out in a day and a half
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4093 of 4119 Old 05-25-2020, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim1348 View Post
We probably have discussed this before, but I wasn't able to find the answer with my search. On my TiVo Roamio OTA, when I do a Channel Scan, it shows lots of channels that I can't receive. From what I have read, that is typical, normal behavior.

A couple of the Channel 2s are interesting to me, however.

It shows two Channel 2-2s. Both show the same content on the guide, except the first one on the list is HD and the second one is SD. The TiVo Roamio doesn't actually decode both of them. It just decodes the first one.

It lists the first as 2-2 HD KTCIDT2 PBS Affiliate.
It lists the next as 2-2 SD KTCADT2 PBS Affiliate.

I also get two Channel 2-4s.

It lists the first as 2-4 SD KTCADT5 PBS Affiliate.
It lists the next as 2-4 HD KTCADT4 PBS Affiliate.

In this case it actually allows me to tune to either one. My understanding is that 2-4 HD KTCADT4 is the correct channel. The other mirrors another channel 2.

Is this behavior simply a TiVo quirk? Would there be any value in my contacting TiVo to report this?
Jim
I looked into it by using a metro zip code (which other than remove the multitude of translator stations is pretty much the same list) and one of the 2-2 says its on RF23 (which is correct) and the other is on RF34 (which is wrong). That is why you can tune to one of them and not the other

The 2-4's both point to RF34 which is right.
KTCA (RF34) has 2-1, 2-4 and 2-5
KTCI (RF23) has 2-2, 2-3 and 2-6
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4094 of 4119 Old 05-26-2020, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Holy Bald Headed Cats!!!
Turned 33's on this afternoon and not a skip or a jump. Perfect signal on 25's too. Now...if it would just stay that way.....
Xiccarph is offline  
post #4095 of 4119 Old 05-26-2020, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,464
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiccarph View Post
Holy Bald Headed Cats!!!
Turned 33's on this afternoon and not a skip or a jump. Perfect signal on 25's too. Now...if it would just stay that way.....
Holy crap! your right, at "this moment in time" both our LPS are working well
I take it back! the 25's are dropping audio several times/second
jjeff is offline  
post #4096 of 4119 Old 05-26-2020, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Holy crap! your right, at "this moment in time" both our LPS are working well
I take it back! the 25's are dropping audio several times/second
LOL....so far 25's still "solid" for me...I'm < 2 miles from IDS, so would "expect" that, regardless.


Keeping fingers crossed.....
Xiccarph is offline  
post #4097 of 4119 Old 05-26-2020, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I've stated it before, it's a issue with the data stream and NOT a broadcasting issue. You could be picking up the LPs 2 miles or 50 miles away with the exact same results - so long as they're above the digital cliff, you're above the digital cliff. You're gonna get the same hardware glitch issues wherever you are.
unclehonkey and MadmanR like this.
mattdp is offline  
post #4098 of 4119 Old 05-27-2020, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Runch Machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I checked reception of 33 and 25 today around 3pm. 33 was not coming in all all. Signal meter was zero. 25 was coming in with a strong signal but with the audio and video issues so frequently discussed here and was unwatchable. Now checking at 6:05pm, all channels on 33 come in fine, as in perfectly. Signal is a little lower then normal, now at 4 our of 10 bars. Usually it's 7-8 out of 10 bars. However, 25 is still unwatchable despite having a strong signal.

Jeff
Sony XBR-77A1E TV, Sony UBP-X1000ES Blu-ray player, Marantz SR-7011 Home Theater Receiver
JBL L300 Speakers, Technics SL-1650 Turntable, Technics SL-P3 CD player, Teac A-6600 Reel to Reel tape deck,
TiVo Series 3 HD-DVR
Runch Machine is offline  
post #4099 of 4119 Old 05-27-2020, 04:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've disabled 25 and 33 on my tuners. I've watched everything I've wanted to that's been broadcast on those channels and probably more than once. Not worth the frustration.
JoeHanson is offline  
post #4100 of 4119 Old 06-02-2020, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Is it just me...or is H&I 5.7 a bit blurry and pixelated a bit more than normal?
Like the bitrate is lower than normal.

Signal stats are good, same as always....the picture just look worse than normal.

I like to watch Star Trek in the evenings.
speedingcheetah is offline  
post #4101 of 4119 Old 06-02-2020, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Well, considering KSTP is temporarily broadcasting 5.5 45TV in addition to the usual 5.1 KSTP and 5.7 H&I, it's probably getting less bandwidth than usual.
mattdp is offline  
post #4102 of 4119 Old 06-02-2020, 08:28 PM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Here's a question for somebody in the Mankato market. Did KMNF 7.1 and 7.2 increase their power output? I'm getting a signal strength of 95-100 as of 10pm tonight. I usually had KMNF fade in and out for me and the best signal strength I ever saw was about 35, up until tonight. Now maybe it's a temporary thing with the atmosphere the way it is tonight, but it seems strange. I do receive KEYC 12 at 95-100 almost all the time, so I'm hoping they have increased power. I'm only 40 miles from the tower, but I have my antenna pointing at 54 degrees for the Shoreview towers. Mankato is at 201 degrees, so it's almost completely pointing away. I've always received channel 12 really well this way, and channel 7 just started last year. So I never changed anything.
robrob10 is offline  
post #4103 of 4119 Old 06-02-2020, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
Well, considering KSTP is temporarily broadcasting 5.5 45TV in addition to the usual 5.1 KSTP and 5.7 H&I, it's probably getting less bandwidth than usual.
Does H&I have a HD channel anywhere?
speedingcheetah is offline  
post #4104 of 4119 Old Yesterday, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedingcheetah View Post
Does H&I have a HD channel anywhere?
nope. The master feed available to stations is only in 480i SD
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4105 of 4119 Old Yesterday, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by robrob10 View Post
Here's a question for somebody in the Mankato market. Did KMNF 7.1 and 7.2 increase their power output?
nope. They can't actually because as a low powered VHF station they can output 3,000 watts which they are. They are licensed for 3,000 watts 968 feet up the KEYC tower (KEYC is at 52,700 watts 1040 feet up)

It was probably due to the humidity yesterday
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4106 of 4119 Old Yesterday, 07:10 AM
Member
 
robrob10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Yes, DXing was interesting last night. I had KMNF strong for about 4 hours (9-1 AM). Then from 3-6 AM I was picking up Eau Claire and Wausau stations. This is the 3rd time in the last 5 years, where I pickup EC and Wausau stations with a strong signal for a few hours. The weirdest thing about when this happens is that I have NO signal on low VHF 9 and 11 from the Twin Cities when this occurs and a 80-100 signal on EC and Wausau stations.
robrob10 is offline  
post #4107 of 4119 Old Yesterday, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Unknown12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stacy Minnesota
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone ever gotten channels 28.1, 28.2, 28.3, 28.4 to ever come in. Those are Wisconsin public channel. Somehow out of nowhere last night i did a rescan and they came in. I'm not even close to a area to get them.

Last edited by Unknown12; Yesterday at 04:28 PM.
Unknown12 is offline  
post #4108 of 4119 Old Yesterday, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
nope. The master feed available to stations is only in 480i SD
Why is 480i SD even still a thing?
When u can get a 50in 4K tv for around $200 these days...
speedingcheetah is offline  
post #4109 of 4119 Old Yesterday, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknown12 View Post
Anyone ever gotten channels 28.1, 28.2, 28.3, 28.4 to ever come in. Those are Wisconsin public channel. Somehow out of nowhere last night i did a rescan and they came in. I'm not even close to a area to get them.
you actually are close.
Wisco Public TV has 2 translators near you.
W24CL in Grantsburg and W19EN in River Falls. The River Falls one is actually closer for you. With the humidity last night signal travel further

When it was humid I would get the Grantsburg translator on the North end of Mille Lacs Lake
unclehonkey is offline  
post #4110 of 4119 Old Yesterday, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedingcheetah View Post
Why is 480i SD even still a thing?
because these diginets dont get much bandwidth so why be in HD?
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off