LaCrosse / Wausau, WI - HDTV - Page 46 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1351 of 1635 Old 08-24-2009, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lovebohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What game was on Friday? I have had problems with my Fox signal sitting at 85-89% and still getting a few video problems and audio drop outs. The Packer game on Saturday with channel 9 was 100% perfect. I sure hope Fox can do the same thing this year.
lovebohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1352 of 1635 Old 08-27-2009, 06:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Joewee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Eau Claire Wisconsin
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see Dish Network now has WQOW TV 18 as a local
station for the Eau Claire La Crosse area. It appears
to only be a standard definition signal at this point.
I noticed as well this morning that their over the
air signal is having intermittent drop out and other
weird problems. I wonder if this has something to
do with them uplinking their signal to dish network?
Joewee is offline  
post #1353 of 1635 Old 08-27-2009, 07:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gjvrieze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joewee View Post

I see Dish Network now has WQOW TV 18 as a local
station for the Eau Claire La Crosse area. It appears
to only be a standard definition signal at this point.
I noticed as well this morning that their over the
air signal is having intermittent drop out and other
weird problems. I wonder if this has something to
do with them uplinking their signal to dish network?

The OTA dropouts should have nothing to do with Dish grabbing the signal. Dish and DirecTV's uplink site is in the middle of the markets and they grab the locals OTA with commercial grade antennas and whatnot....

KD0MOF

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the poster's only and NOT that of the poster's employers.
gjvrieze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1354 of 1635 Old 08-27-2009, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Joewee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Eau Claire Wisconsin
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That I realize. I just thought it was an unusual coincidence
that the night they begin picking up WQOW's Signal that
the OTA signal has problems. Thought maybe WQOW changed
something to affect the signal. It was very weird. It would
switch for like 1 second to an almost analog fuzzy signal then
would revert back.
Joewee is offline  
post #1355 of 1635 Old 08-27-2009, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gjvrieze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joewee View Post

That I realize. I just thought it was an unusual coincidence
that the night they begin picking up WQOW's Signal that
the OTA signal has problems. Thought maybe WQOW changed
something to affect the signal. It was very weird. It would
switch for like 1 second to an almost analog fuzzy signal then
would revert back.

The OTA would get fuzzy? When exactly was this? (I have a good contact at WXOW, so I can find out what was up with WQOW!)

KD0MOF

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the poster's only and NOT that of the poster's employers.
gjvrieze is offline  
post #1356 of 1635 Old 08-27-2009, 05:31 PM
Member
 
jimboeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't believe how long this is taking. Football starts in a few more weeks and still not a peep out of WEUX regarding OTA FOX HD in Eau Claire. Please update us!!
jimboeau is offline  
post #1357 of 1635 Old 08-28-2009, 07:16 AM
Newbie
 
jakob330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colfax
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjvrieze View Post

The OTA would get fuzzy? When exactly was this? (I have a good contact at WXOW, so I can find out what was up with WQOW!)

Actually I've noticed that for quite some time.
As long as I've had my HD receiver, and I noticed it again during the game.

It happens, right at an "edit". A change from one shot to the next.
Particularly, if the next shot is bright and highly detailed.

During the game, it was noticeable when they cut to a wide shot.
I think it's always there, but just more noticeable on some shots.

My conclusion,(best guess).... compression artifacts.
WXOW needs to "dial up it up", a bit.
jakob330 is offline  
post #1358 of 1635 Old 08-28-2009, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakob330 View Post

My conclusion,(best guess).... compression artifacts.
WXOW needs to "dial up it up", a bit.

This is often an artifact of low bitrates and/or older encoders. KTTC, Rochester's NBC station is notorious for this kind of thing (they are using a circa 2001 encoder). A scene change will result in a 1+ second blurry period that is pretty easy to see on our standard def TVs.
mattdp is offline  
post #1359 of 1635 Old 08-28-2009, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gjvrieze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post

This is often an artifact of low bitrates and/or older encoders. KTTC, Rochester's NBC station is notorious for this kind of thing (they are using a circa 2001 encoder). A scene change will result in a 1+ second blurry period that is pretty easy to see on our standard def TVs.

Ah man, Matt beat me to replying. (I was out on a service call) I think he is right about what you seeing.

I have not watched WXOW much, simply because I only got them for about 1 month before moving out of Rochester, and I have yet to get an antenna aimed to LAX from Kasson, MN yet. (I have gotten WLAX, WHLA, and WXOW off of the side of my Twin Cities aimed antennas quite a few times though, so signal is pretty strong over here!)

KD0MOF

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the poster's only and NOT that of the poster's employers.
gjvrieze is offline  
post #1360 of 1635 Old 09-02-2009, 05:56 AM
Member
 
rgharrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When watching HD transmission that includes your local logo (WFXS), Why would you break in with SD transmission with your local logo and the time and temperature?
It sure ruins the HD experience and doesn't make any sense.

Answer: Robert Raff
Thousands of people love that stuff. It is a throw back to many years ago when all stations did it every 15 minutes, but many, many viewers still want that on the screen and many advertisers want it to reach those viewers. When we have tried to stop or when we have had equipment problems we get so many complaints about it being missing.
rgharrin is offline  
post #1361 of 1635 Old 09-02-2009, 06:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lovebohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So in other words they do not have the updated equipment to place the logo and temp on the HD stream and it needs to drop down to SD to do this function?
lovebohn is offline  
post #1362 of 1635 Old 09-02-2009, 07:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gjvrieze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovebohn View Post

So in other words they do not have the updated equipment to place the logo and temp on the HD stream and it needs to drop down to SD to do this function?

The logo should be able to be applied on the fly with the FOX hardware, but the temps and any other info would require other re-encoding to be done to the video. (unless they put them in the logo space, which I do not know if FOX allows) Not sure how a station would even do the temps on FOX, as I have never seen it done on a FOX affiliate. The bug actually gets inserted in the final encoded video right from FOX, there is a small area where the logo goes that gets re-encoded at the station, the rest of the video does NOT get touched. (this solution is pretty decent compared to many stations using old encoders and trying to run subs) The PDF with the specs on the logo from FOX HQ was on AVS a while back, but I cannot recall where I found it at this point (must have been nearly 2 years ago that I remember it)

KD0MOF

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the poster's only and NOT that of the poster's employers.
gjvrieze is offline  
post #1363 of 1635 Old 09-09-2009, 09:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
willscary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: east central wisconsin
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Nobody posted that WFXS Fox 55 in Wausau began broadcasting RTN today on channel 55-3, so let me break the ice!

Bill
willscary is offline  
post #1364 of 1635 Old 09-10-2009, 05:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lovebohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is that RTV? The retro TV channel? The web site looks cool if i can watch A-Team 24/7! How bad is 55-1 going to look for compressed HD now?
lovebohn is offline  
post #1365 of 1635 Old 09-10-2009, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,715
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1565 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
55-1 will look the same. The Fox splicer shapes all other content on the channel such that during network programming, Fox network content looks the same pretty much everywhere in the US.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #1366 of 1635 Old 09-10-2009, 07:17 AM
Member
 
mgburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Onalaska, WI.
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joewee View Post

What is the latest update on Fox HD in Eau Claire OTA ?

Hi folks! It's been awhile...

As you may have been able to tell...some work is progressing on 48.1 this past week...

I'm hoping by tomorrow I'll be able to give you folks the GOOD NEWS (*wink*wink*knudge*knudge*)...yep, that news...

Stay tuned...

There will be a "few" more "slight outages" during today and hopefully, all the "funky video" will be no more...

I'll chat with you all later!

Gotta' run...


Respectfully,

Mark
mgburg is offline  
post #1367 of 1635 Old 09-10-2009, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gjvrieze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgburg View Post

Hi folks! It's been awhile...

As you may have been able to tell...some work is progressing on 48.1 this past week...

I'm hoping by tomorrow I'll be able to give you folks the GOOD NEWS (*wink*wink*knudge*knudge*)...yep, that news...

Stay tuned...

There will be a "few" more "slight outages" during today and hopefully, all the "funky video" will be no more...

I'll chat with you all later!

Gotta' run...


Good news, good luck and thanks for updating everyone!

KD0MOF

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the poster's only and NOT that of the poster's employers.
gjvrieze is offline  
post #1368 of 1635 Old 09-10-2009, 01:43 PM
Member
 
mgburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Onalaska, WI.
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's done!

As of 1408.56 this afternoon...WEUX DT is now HD/720p on 48.1 (49.1 for you purists...) and SD/480i (49.2) on 48.2.

You'll have everything in HD and in case "something" should happen to the (GOD FORBID!) the HD encoder (like what happened about a month or so back) on 25.1...you can still watch the ".2" channel and still get a picture...it'll be in SD, but it's better than the "BSoD" (Blue Screen of Death).

For those of you who have been tried to your patience end, thank you for hangin' in there...

And, for those of you who've been bustin' my chops...go watch HD...it's here...finally.

Enjoy those Packers/Vikings or whatever we're running...I'll be doing my best to be sure it stays on the air...whatever it is...


Respectfully,

Mark
mgburg is offline  
post #1369 of 1635 Old 09-10-2009, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
chadg2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! Mark, This is great news. I've been depending on the twin cities for Packer HD and that's only a few games during the season. Now finally all the Packers Fox games will be in HD. Gotta love this. Chad
chadg2 is offline  
post #1370 of 1635 Old 09-11-2009, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Joewee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Eau Claire Wisconsin
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mark for all of your hard work. Hopefully the equipment won't have any
hiccups and we will be good to go for a long time.
Joewee is offline  
post #1371 of 1635 Old 09-11-2009, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
billiefan2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by willscary View Post

Nobody posted that WFXS Fox 55 in Wausau began broadcasting RTN today on channel 55-3, so let me break the ice!

Bill


http://northpine.com/broadcast/index.html

WISCONSIN:
WFXS (Wittenberg-Wausau) has added Retro TV Network (RTV) on channel 55.3. The station continues to carry FOX on 55.1 and Untamed Sports TV on 55.2. (9/11/2009)

http://northpine.com/broadcast/index.html
billiefan2000 is offline  
post #1372 of 1635 Old 09-12-2009, 03:23 AM
Newbie
 
RainX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgburg View Post

It's done!

As of 1408.56 this afternoon...WEUX DT is now HD/720p on 48.1 (49.1 for you purists...) and SD/480i (49.2) on 48.2.

You'll have everything in HD and in case "something" should happen to the (GOD FORBID!) the HD encoder (like what happened about a month or so back) on 25.1...you can still watch the ".2" channel and still get a picture...it'll be in SD, but it's better than the "BSoD" (Blue Screen of Death).

For those of you who have been tried to your patience end, thank you for hangin' in there...

And, for those of you who've been bustin' my chops...go watch HD...it's here...finally.

Enjoy those Packers/Vikings or whatever we're running...I'll be doing my best to be sure it stays on the air...whatever it is...


Mark,

On behalf of all Football fans in the EC area who were stuck watching Packers games in SD the past couple of years, THANK YOU! Just in the nick of time for the start of the NFL regular season!
RainX is offline  
post #1373 of 1635 Old 09-14-2009, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Schlar01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone watching Fox (House) tonight? The show is broadcast in HD but Fox here in La Crosse doesn't appear to be broadcasting it in HD. Not sure why. I'm on DirecTV but I also have the OTA signal and neither is HD.
Schlar01 is offline  
post #1374 of 1635 Old 09-15-2009, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Joewee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Eau Claire Wisconsin
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Fox HD signal is looking good in Eau Claire. I am on the North
side of Eau Claire with a Dish Network VIP 722 receiving a steady
signal strength of 75.

I have also noticed this A.M. that WQOW TV-18 ABC out of Eau
Claire does not broadcast the HD signal of Good Morning America.
Anyone know what is up with that?
Joewee is offline  
post #1375 of 1635 Old 09-22-2009, 10:59 AM
Member
 
mr.pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RainX View Post

Mark,

On behalf of all Football fans in the EC area who were stuck watching Packers games in SD the past couple of years, THANK YOU! Just in the nick of time for the start of the NFL regular season!


+1!

When I heard the news that you guys went HD, I swung my Channel Master around and am pulling in 48.1 perfectly. No more missed football games. I'm in New Richmond and very happy with my "new" WI Fox channel!
mr.pope is offline  
post #1376 of 1635 Old 10-08-2009, 07:09 AM
Member
 
N9IWP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE Minnesota
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is some info for the La Crescent KTTC translator. I recieved this message today (Oct 8)

We will start installing the broadcast antenna early next week, perform
some testing and hopefully start broadcasting a digital channel 50
signal by the end of the week. Stay tuned to WXOW or KTTC analog channel
67 in the La Crosse area as we will be promoting the start date for this
channel.

Thank You,
Tim Morgan, KTTC-KXLT-NTTC Director of Engineering
N9IWP is offline  
post #1377 of 1635 Old 10-10-2009, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
m and n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgive me if this subject has been discussed before, but can someone please explain why Mediacom still does not carry FOX, ABC, IA and WI PBS in HD yet?

I am a Mediacom cable subscriber (I live in the Prairie du Chien valley, so no antenna will work). I understand that the subscribers in Marquette and McGregor, IA DO have FOX, IA PBS, etc.....we are probably paying the same rate but still have to watch the Packers in SD. I get the standard "it may be available soon" from Mediacom...they have been saying that for 3 years now.

I also know some folks in the Viroqua Mediacom area and they are in the same situation.

Is there a technical reason?

Thanks.
m and n is offline  
post #1378 of 1635 Old 10-10-2009, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 40
m and n: Just out of curiosity, go to TVFool.com and post your results (we'll see if reception is possible).
mattdp is offline  
post #1379 of 1635 Old 10-10-2009, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
m and n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my results from TVfool:

//www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d03fbe4db476ff4

Please add http: to the above as the Forum would not allow me to post URL's...
m and n is offline  
post #1380 of 1635 Old 10-11-2009, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Um..... yeah. You are most definitely in a valley (I'd peruse satellite or digital cable).
mattdp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off