LaCrosse / Wausau, WI - HDTV - Page 54 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1591 of 1634 Old 06-29-2016, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I think you referred to WEAU 13 as CBS in the original post. Hence the confusion. I'd just add another UHF antenna, as your big problem is how far off axis your channels are.
mattdp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1592 of 1634 Old 07-01-2016, 04:35 AM
Newbie
 
mtb54703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
I think you referred to WEAU 13 as CBS in the original post. Hence the confusion. I'd just add another UHF antenna, as your big problem is how far off axis your channels are.
Grr.... yes I did didn't I! NBC is to my SE and it's the one I'm having the most difficulty with. CBS due south with no reception problems using the CS5.

I'm curious - are there no USA manufacturers that do custom combiners?
mtb54703 is offline  
post #1593 of 1634 Old 07-01-2016, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtb54703 View Post
I'm curious - are there no USA manufacturers that do custom combiners?
Not that I know of. I would try two antennas into a backwards splitter first. Will most likely work fine - custom channel combiners were more necessary in the analog era where static multi-path was an issue.
mattdp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1594 of 1634 Old 10-27-2016, 07:35 PM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't know when it happened exactly, but I can report that WLAX 25.3 Laff and WLAX 25.4 Grit are now on the air.
hunmanik is offline  
post #1595 of 1634 Old 10-29-2016, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunmanik View Post
I don't know when it happened exactly, but I can report that WLAX 25.3 Laff and WLAX 25.4 Grit are now on the air.
end of August is when they launched on FOX25/48 but it was done uniquly

La Crosse-Eau Claire: In an unusual situation, Nexstar added four subchannels, but they are split between two stations serving different ends of the market. WLAX (La Crosse) is carrying Laff on 25.3 and Grit on 25.4, while WEUX (Chippewa Falls-Eau Claire) is carrying Escape on 48.3 and Bounce on 48.4. The stations simulcast FOX and Me-TV on their other channels.
DA1745 likes this.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1596 of 1634 Old 12-23-2016, 09:42 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Wpt4

Reception was wacky today for some reason, so I did a rescan to see if any distant stations were coming in that were whacking the closer stations.

Nothing showed up. But the rescan picked up WPT4 or 31-4 out of La Crosse. Nothing there but the text listing the six WPT stations.

16x9 SD.

So it looks like something is coming. Fixed amount of bits spread around even more thinly.
tachmn is offline  
post #1597 of 1634 Old 12-24-2016, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
A post from a WPT programming official on the Madison thread says the new channel will be PBS Kids starting in January.
Jon Ellis is offline  
post #1598 of 1634 Old 01-16-2017, 04:38 PM
Newbie
 
franktank232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Ellis View Post
A post from a WPT programming official on the Madison thread says the new channel will be PBS Kids starting in January.
Its a 24 hour kids station. I have young children so i'm getting use out of it. I also use 24.2 out of Lansing (IPTV) for kids shows. 31.1 runs kids shows until 5;30 and then they switch over to news/adult progamming.

When they add a subchannel, does that degrade the signal to the other channels/??? So did 31.1 (which is HD) just get compressed more?

I'm just north of La Crosse but use 2 antennas (and a switch) to get channels out of Eau Claire (13/18) and IPTV (24) out of Iowa (along with 8,10,19,25,31).
franktank232 is offline  
post #1599 of 1634 Old 01-16-2017, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Jon Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktank232 View Post
When they add a subchannel, does that degrade the signal to the other channels/??? So did 31.1 (which is HD) just get compressed more?
It does mean there is less bandwidth for the other channels -- but compression technology has improved since the early days of digital TV. WPT says they have switched to different encoders that allow better picture quality.
Jon Ellis is offline  
post #1600 of 1634 Old 01-27-2017, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 134
For the folks in the LaCrosse area

Did WKBT 8 add Ion recently?
Northpine mentions that both 8 and WISC3 in Madison added it. Ion site does confirm it
Great news – your local ION Television station, WKBT, is available over-the-air on channel 8.3

Can someone confirm?
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1601 of 1634 Old 01-28-2017, 06:29 AM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, WKBT 8.3 Ion is on the air, thanks for the heads-up!
hunmanik is offline  
post #1602 of 1634 Old 05-01-2018, 02:59 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
WXOW moving for the repack

I have been seeing notices on WXOW and on the website that I will need to rescan on 5/31.

Of course no details to what channel they are moving.

I consulted the Oracle of Google and found the info at https://www.rabbitears.info/repackchannels.php?mktid=158

Moving from RF 48 to RF 28. If they keep the same RF power will have to see if the signal strength increases. WXOW is the weakest of the La Crosse signals for me.

(Wausau mktid is 165, Twin Cities is 20 and Rochester is 186.)

Once the repack is done, the era of DXing stations coming in on tropo will be over. There will be very few empty channels. I only see 14, 19 and 31 empty on UHF.
tachmn is offline  
post #1603 of 1634 Old 05-01-2018, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tachmn View Post
If they keep the same RF power will have to see if the signal strength increases. WXOW is the weakest of the La Crosse signals for me.
If you click the "Technical Data" in Rabbitears, you'll find that they are going from 371kW ERP to a 251kW ERP (with 107.6 kW of vertical ERP). AGL is moving from 787' to 798.' The projected contour is 0.2 miles larger.

What's your antenna setup/distance from LaCrosse?
mattdp is offline  
post #1604 of 1634 Old 05-01-2018, 06:44 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
If you click the "Technical Data" in Rabbitears, you'll find that they are going from 371kW ERP to a 251kW ERP (with 107.6 kW of vertical ERP). AGL is moving from 787' to 798.' The projected contour is 0.2 miles larger.

What's your antenna setup/distance from LaCrosse?
Phooey, I would have hoped they would stay at the same ERP to boost their footprint. But I suppose it will reduce their power bill. I hope the repack won't repeat the VHF digital transition debacle.

For some reason WXOW isn't listed on the TV Fool report. If memory serves it is on the same tower as WLAX and maybe WHLA. That distance is 60 miles.
tachmn is offline  
post #1605 of 1634 Old 05-02-2018, 01:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tachmn View Post
Phooey, I would have hoped they would stay at the same ERP to boost their footprint. But I suppose it will reduce their power bill. I hope the repack won't repeat the VHF digital transition debacle.

For some reason WXOW isn't listed on the TV Fool report. If memory serves it is on the same tower as WLAX and maybe WHLA. That distance is 60 miles.
Word on the street is that the TVFool database is messed up. Hence, it's missing random stations and what. A real shame, as there's nothing else quite like it.

I don't think we'll be repeating the VHF debacle here. I'd assume they're using the same modeling used on post-transition UHF allotments. Roughly, the FCC said that UHF needed 1/5th the ERP on digital than it did on analog. On VHF-Hi, they said it needed <1/10th the power. Which made no sense whatsoever (if anything, you need need more power to overcome the higher level of impulse noise). After allowing stations to move up to whatever power they needed, most stations settled on about 1/6th to 1/5th analog ERP.
mattdp is offline  
post #1606 of 1634 Old 05-02-2018, 03:28 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I just remembered I saved past TV Fool reports.

My hunch was correct. WLAX, WHLA and WXOW are ~61 miles away on the same azimuth.

Signal NM(dB) 7.8, 5.5 and 2.5 respectively.

DigitalStream DTX9950 signal strengths 65, 58 and 50. Good today actually, WXOW is usually in the low 40s. Lose picture at 30.
tachmn is offline  
post #1607 of 1634 Old 05-03-2018, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 21
mattdp is offline  
post #1608 of 1634 Old 05-09-2018, 03:55 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
What preamp/antenna are you using?
Preamp is Delhi 476U/V, mid 90s vintage.

Antenna is the UHF remnant of a Delhi VU-936S. Story behind that is covered in posts 3128 and 3191 over in the Rochester HDTV forum.

I did take the bearing shown in the picture down. Infuriating that they didn't use low temperature grease so it wouldn't become very stiff in the cold.
tachmn is offline  
post #1609 of 1634 Old 06-09-2018, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 134
hmmm I see Gray is asking for a DTDRT (fill in translator) on RF30 for WEAU in LaCrosse proper. 6,000 watts at same location as most of the other stations.

https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...23d06&goBack=N

The WEAU CP authorizes post-auction operation at 1000 kW
effective radiated power (“ERP”) nondirectional at 616 meters
antenna height above average terrain (“HAAT”), which is an
expansion beyond the reassignment facility of 633 kW ERP at
616 m HAAT. Despite the expansion, there will be loss of
interference-free service within the portions of the WEAU
pre-auction digital service area, as demonstrated in Figure 1. The
loss results from the incentive auction’s reassignment of WEAU
to Channel 17.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1610 of 1634 Old 08-18-2018, 11:51 AM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In La Crosse, W50DR, the KTTC translator, was recently replaced with W34FC.

Also, there is no 10.2 present on W34FC, just 10.1 (NBC) and 10.3 (H&I). So we've lost KTTC/CW 10.2.
hunmanik is offline  
post #1611 of 1634 Old 08-18-2018, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunmanik View Post
In La Crosse, W50DR, the KTTC translator, was recently replaced with W34FC.

Also, there is no 10.2 present on W34FC, just 10.1 (NBC) and 10.3 (H&I). So we've lost KTTC/CW 10.2.
Interesting. Isnt the CW on KTTC and WXOW the same thing anyways (both CW+ affiliates)? I know KTTC-DT2 had the Vikes preseason games...but so did WKBT

Whats interesting is WEAU has a "fill in" translator application for channel 30 in LaCrosse (still pending with FCC) due to WEAU moving to channel 17 in the repack
https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...23d06&goBack=N
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1612 of 1634 Old 08-19-2018, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I did an install today near Rochester, with a quad antenna setup (2 VHF-Hi's and 2 UHF's) pulling in both Rochester and LaCrosse stations.

I took SNR measurements at 3:30pm. In the LaCrosse UHF department, WXOW 19 had a SNR of 28-29dB, WLAX 25 was 26-27dB and W34FC was 15-17dB (not reliable). WHLA 31 was absolutely nowhere to be found. Considering I was getting W34FC, I'm thinking WHLA was off the air? Can anybody confirm this?
mattdp is offline  
post #1613 of 1634 Old 08-19-2018, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
I did an install today near Rochester, with a quad antenna setup (2 VHF-Hi's and 2 UHF's) pulling in both Rochester and LaCrosse stations.

I took SNR measurements at 3:30pm. In the LaCrosse UHF department, WXOW 19 had a SNR of 28-29dB, WLAX 25 was 26-27dB and W34FC was 15-17dB (not reliable). WHLA 31 was absolutely nowhere to be found. Considering I was getting W34FC, I'm thinking WHLA was off the air? Can anybody confirm this?
according to Wisco Public TV they are running at low power
https://wpt.org/contact_us

La Crosse Service Notice
WHLA continues to broadcast at slightly reduced power, which will impact some WHLA viewers. WHLA will return to full power on September 7th, and on that date over-the-air viewers will need to rescan.

FCC site shows a STA for 100kw on RF30 and shorter stick so they can do tower work for the repack
https://enterpriseefiling.fcc.gov/da...643f0&goBack=N

Due to the nationwide Post-Incentive Auction spectrum repacking process, ECB was assigned to move WHLA-TV from Channel 30 to Channel 15. This channel change will require ECB to replace the top-mount antenna for WHLA-TV, and WHLA-TV will not be able to resume full power operation on its new top-mount antenna until linked station WQOW(TV), Eau Claire, Wisconsin ceases operation on WHLA-TV’s post-repack channel 15. The related tower work to coordinate this top-mount antenna change process will require ECB to begin operating WHLA-TV at a reduced power of 100 kW ERP, a reduced height of 183 meters above ground level, and with the antenna and technical specifications indicated in this STA application starting on or about to May 17, 2018. Due to the expected duration of the tower site work, ECB seeks STA to cover the continued temporary operation of WHLA-TV with the reduced power/height facilities proposed in this application.
mattdp likes this.

Last edited by unclehonkey; 08-19-2018 at 08:46 PM.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1614 of 1634 Old 08-19-2018, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mattdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 21
"Slightly reduced power."


Running the transmitter off of 9 volt batteries?

edit: Thanks for the added info from the FCC. I doubt that they're at 100kW right now (we probably would've picked it up).

Last edited by mattdp; 08-19-2018 at 08:52 PM.
mattdp is offline  
post #1615 of 1634 Old 08-19-2018, 08:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
"Slightly reduced power."


Running the transmitter off of 9 volt batteries?
I edited my post with the FCC documentation.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1616 of 1634 Old 08-20-2018, 03:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,369
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1357 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdp View Post
"Slightly reduced power."


Running the transmitter off of 9 volt batteries?

edit: Thanks for the added info from the FCC. I doubt that they're at 100kW right now (we probably would've picked it up).
It's 100 kW, but almost certainly side-mounted on the Wisconsin side of the tower. If you happen to be looking through the metal on the tower, then it could be attenuated quite a bit.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #1617 of 1634 Old 08-20-2018, 07:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunmanik View Post
In La Crosse, W50DR, the KTTC translator, was recently replaced with W34FC.

Also, there is no 10.2 present on W34FC, just 10.1 (NBC) and 10.3 (H&I). So we've lost KTTC/CW 10.2.
I've been helping someone over at Tivocommunity with a lineup change and they mentioned 10.2 showed up late Sunday. You may need a rescan
unclehonkey is offline  
post #1618 of 1634 Old 08-21-2018, 04:36 PM
Member
 
hunmanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: La Crosse, WI
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
I've been helping someone over at Tivocommunity with a lineup change and they mentioned 10.2 showed up late Sunday. You may need a rescan
Rescanned with both of my devices. I still see no 10.2 on W34FC, just 10.1 and 10.3.
hunmanik is offline  
post #1619 of 1634 Old 08-23-2018, 10:41 PM
Member
 
tachmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunmanik View Post
Rescanned with both of my devices. I still see no 10.2 on W34FC, just 10.1 and 10.3.
KTTC 10.2 in Rochester is CW and WKOW 19.2 in La Crosse is CW. Could that be the cause?
tachmn is offline  
post #1620 of 1634 Old 08-24-2018, 04:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by tachmn View Post
KTTC 10.2 in Rochester is CW and WKOW 19.2 in La Crosse is CW. Could that be the cause?
very possible. And both stations are owned by Quincy so it was kinda redundant. But I'm confused still as the member above says 10.2 isnt there yet at tivocommunity a member there says it showed up on Sunday.
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off