Houston, TX - OTA - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
bigrig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey Bill, was that you asking if 250GB is enough in the HDTivo group?

"It's an invention, and it makes Non-Stop Rocking possible!"
bigrig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 09:29 AM
Member
 
FrankV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ckenisell
Has anyone had problems with KPRC's audio dropping out for about a second every 30 seconds or so? My reciever keeps losing the audio but keeps the video just fine. I think it's only during national feeds, but I'm not home much during the day to check local programming. I suppose I could watch the news tonight and tell. It's kinda like my receiver is having a problem figuring out the 5.1 format. It switches off of Dolby Digital 5.1 and then comes back almost immediately.

I'm in the Spring area, so I may not have a strong enough signal, but I've had it for nearly 2 years with the same setup and it just started this month. It's been doing it now for at least a couple of weeks.

Is it just me?

I don't watch KPRC very often, but I have noticed that in the last few weeks.
I have a Samsung SIR-T165 receiver.
FrankV is offline  
post #63 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 10:13 AM
Member
 
jcnuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sugar Land, Tx
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the forum!!
I have two receivers, a sammy 360 and a HD TIVO. Neither unit maps FOX 26.1. I appear to be getting HD signal (when present) on 26.2. no real problem with this, but i see all this listing on this board as showing 26.1 as active. I'm in sugar land and average about 90 on my signal strength meter for all OTA channels. Scanning for digital channels fails to find 26.1 as a digital station.
Any ideas, or am i just wasting my time thinking about this?
jcnuke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jcnuke
Thanks for the forum!!
I have two receivers, a sammy 360 and a HD TIVO. Neither unit maps FOX 26.1. I appear to be getting HD signal (when present) on 26.2. no real problem with this, but i see all this listing on this board as showing 26.1 as active. I'm in sugar land and average about 90 on my signal strength meter for all OTA channels. Scanning for digital channels fails to find 26.1 as a digital station.
Any ideas, or am i just wasting my time thinking about this?

I have both of those receivers as well, and they do the same thing. I personally wouldn't worry about it, as long as everything is OK as far as reception and guide info is concerned. Some receivers just seem to handle PSIP/remapping info differently.
Sid
labmansid is offline  
post #65 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 11:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by bigrig
Hey Bill, was that you asking if 250GB is enough in the HDTivo group?

My vote would be no!!
labmansid is offline  
post #66 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Ursa
HDTivo...must...come...now!

As for KNWS, over on SatelliteGuys, someone mentioned in the Houston Voom thread that KNWS was only at 1000 feet (I could check the FCC records, but that would be too accurate and boring, and wouldn't generate discussion...) versus 2000 feet for the major channels. So, who's actually getting it North of the Loop and what are you using?

Later,
Bill

Believe it or not, I've picked up KNWS-DT before on a couple of rare occassions. I have a Televes DAT75 on a 25 ft tower.
elspankdog is offline  
post #67 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
labmansid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bryan, TX
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Ursa
As for KNWS, over on SatelliteGuys, someone mentioned in the Houston Voom thread that KNWS was only at 1000 feet (I could check the FCC records, but that would be too accurate and boring, and wouldn't generate discussion...) versus 2000 feet for the major channels. So, who's actually getting it North of the Loop and what are you using?

Later,
Bill

I have picked it up before on occasion on VERY good nights using this.
labmansid is offline  
post #68 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool! A whole-house lightning attractor!

As for my participation in other venues, why would you think I would be there? I think it must be some other guy named "Bill" who is expecting a new HD Tivo between Friday and Monday, and who really, really needs (always said with a touch of irony) a DVR solution (that doesn't keep @#[email protected]! breaking!), who is also picking one up from what really looks like a scam artist for $699. Yep, a completely different person.

Later,
Bill

PS: However, if you have any thoughts on the question (I've never had an HD PVR solution that worked well for what I want to do), then I'd be curious about the answer as well...
Ursa is offline  
post #69 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nrmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sugar Land, Tx
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
think i will have to bookmark this group, its good to see some houston info. i live in sugar land and love my high def when its working. does anyone in here use a pc for the high def or do you all use dish or dtv set top boxes to get local feeds
Nrmf is offline  
post #70 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,996
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Neither, I get local HD through my Mits built in HD tuner.

I get Dish Network with the 6000U for the HDpack and HBOHD.

I would switch to TWC if it was offered, but Chitty Charter is in my neighborhood. I want an HD PVR so bad, but I don't want HD Lite either, so the HD Tivo is out of the question. The 921 isn't really a piece of hardware I would ever consider and I will never go back to Voom even if they ever do offer an HD PVR. I wouldn't even go back to Voom if I knew your credit card number. I wouldn't wish that upon anybody.

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #71 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nrmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sugar Land, Tx
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well i think for hd pvr i am leaning towards an MYHD-120 pc card will allow me to have the functions for a pvr and record as well, i think i will give that a shoot have read some wonderful things about it i used to have an old rca dtc-100 but i recently sold it, i dont think the enocder in it was all that great compaired to the new ones today.
Nrmf is offline  
post #72 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jcnuke - I never got 26-1 either, but it is supposed to be there from what I have read. Theoretically, it is the local SD feed, but maybe 26 got smart and isn't multicasting very much (if at all).

Nrmf - I have tried almost all of the HD tuner cards, except the MyHD and HiPix. If you have a decent video card and processor, then the F3Q is a good choice (it is stable with OTA signals) and the best value. The Sasem OnAir is a good choice if you also want it to double as an SD capture device AND you have a USB 2.0 port. The MyHD is the best if you are looking for no-compromises HD display, and are also planning to use it for DVD playback. My personal bias says it is both overkill, and that it takes up too many slots (2, with the DVI daughtercard) for what you get vs. the other options. However, I did not own one, I'm merely extrapolating from how much better it would have to be than the Fusion at twice the price...

ckenisell - given that the file sizes I have recorded off of my DCT6200 are about half of what they should be, HD-Lite is not something that is solely germane to D*.

Later,
Bill
Ursa is offline  
post #73 of 6311 Old 10-13-2004, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jagouar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
damn the signals are coming in really good, im even getting all the htown stations on the little wimpy voom provided antenna
jagouar is offline  
post #74 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,996
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 241
OK, I asked Edgar what the problem was (since it has now been fixed). I also asked him if he had a list of true 5.1 network shows this season. Here was his response.
Quote:


...copied and pasted with the permission of Edgar
When we started using the external Dolby encoder during the Olympics (is the only way we can do 5.1), we tell our encoder that it needs to accept an external signal , and the encoder by default sets the audio PES timing to 1 frame. When we use the internal encoder the PES timing is 100ms. Because of audio sync problems we were experiencing with some set top boxes, I had changed the timing from 1 frame to 150 ms, which had solved the lip sync issue in the past, but apparantly that timing causes the symptom you described in some set top boxes. I have since reset the PES timing to 100ms, which I hope will be good enough to prevent the lip sync issue as well as your problem , which you already reported has cleared.


As far as 5.1 shows, we need to work on some local equipment to acomplish that properly, and in the mean time, even if NBC has a show available in 5.1, you will continue receiving it in the surround 2.0 mode. I suspect it may be 3 to 4 weeks before we fully implement the changes necessary and can make the proper debut of 5.1 on our network offered 5.1 shows.


It would be easy to turn the 5.1 encoder and just let it ride, but if the audio fed in to it was not produced for 5.1, it will not sound right... I think another station in town has done that in the past...

So there you have it.

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #75 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 09:14 AM
wjg
Advanced Member
 
wjg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Spring, Texas
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What was everyones opinion of FoxHD last night ? I saw it stutter a few times and go to SD briefly, but overall, I was pretty impressed with the presentation. Now all I can ask for is a BULLPEN !!!!


Bill
wjg is offline  
post #76 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Is anyone else (particularly FrankV since you have a Sammy 165 like I do) having problems with KHOU reseting their HD tuner. Whenever I turn to 11-1 my box resets. This doesn't happen with 11-2 or 11-3 or any other channel.

I'm talking to the KHOU engineer about this, but so far I'm the only one to report it. It'd be nice to get some other feedback if anyone else is seeing this.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
post #77 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,996
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:


Originally posted by wjg
What was everyones opinion of FoxHD last night ? I saw it stutter a few times and go to SD briefly, but overall, I was pretty impressed with the presentation. Now all I can ask for is a BULLPEN !!!!


Bill

I'm not real happy with KRIVs method of switching from network HD to local SD (upconvert to HD). Right now, I think they're having to do it manually and it's no good. In fact, for abou 3 minutes, the game was in 4:3 SD with side bars. Also, around that same time, they had such a bad glitch, my Mits TV had to literally REBOOT. I can't do or see anything while the TV is rebooting. So I missed about a minute and a half of the game.

"So what?" you might say. I'm one of those baseball fans that actually understands that it's more of a psychological game than a physical game. 9 times out of 10 I can tell you what the next pitch is going to be. Unless Qualls is pitching. And then, nobody knows what the next pitch is going to be. Not even Qualls.

So anyhow, I'm not one of those who has the game on while I piddle around in the kitchen or flip back and forth to the debate. I watch every pitch and try to figure out what the pitcher, catcher, batter, base runners, infielders, and outfielders are thinking for every pitch!

Other than that, the game looked GREAT in HD. Now, if we could only get better pitching. Unfortunately, I don't have much faith in the 'Stros again tonight.

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #78 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nrmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sugar Land, Tx
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
URSA

by dvd playback what do u mean on the myhd-120
Nrmf is offline  
post #79 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About six months ago or so, the folks running development for the MyHD added the ability to use the MyHD card as a hardware-based DVD player using the MyHD card for both MPEG decoding and scaling (the main benefit to the hardware cards are that they have very good scalers on them, as opposed to a graphics card). Thus, the MyHD card is a very good HD and DVD solution if you do not want to mess with a program like FFDShow (it can be annoying, to say the least, when you are first starting out with it).

If you have a good graphics card, and you want to save ~$200, then my recommendation is to go with the Fusion. However, if you want a more stable platform, and the money is less important to you than time, then go with the MyHD. I used to have the AccessDTV card (which is based on the same reference design and chipset as the MyHD), and it was very good with OTA, but I decided I wanted to play with QAM decoding along the way (see the second post for the end-results of that failed experiment).

Later,
Bill
Ursa is offline  
post #80 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nrmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sugar Land, Tx
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so what you are telling me is that i can take an output from a set top dvd player and input it into the myhd120 card and use its upscailing capabilities if this is correct will there really be a noticeable difference or will there be more distortion.
Nrmf is offline  
post #81 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nrmf - We've miscommunicated. You would use a DVD drive in your PC as your DVD player, with the MyHD card providing the decoding and output. Check the HTPC forum for more on this - there are lots of threads on this issue, and we don't need to take this one too much further off-topic.

Later,
Bill
Ursa is offline  
post #82 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 09:49 PM
Member
 
TexGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Richmond
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyones,

I have a question. Why is ABC 13-1 (KTRK) so hard to get a signal on?. I live in Richmond, just bought a tv and indoor antenna and had no luck so far. I had tried it with the Terk, RS, and Philips. I have on order the CM 4221a (4-way bow tie). Hope this will solve this problem for me.

Darn 'Stros bullpen is really killing us.
TexGuy is offline  
post #83 of 6311 Old 10-14-2004, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TexGuy - How far are you from the antenna farm exactly? Have you tried antennaweb.org to see what antennae will work for your location? The CM 4-bay bowtie is a good one, but you may want a pre-amp as well (CM 7777 is about the best).

Later,
Bill
Ursa is offline  
post #84 of 6311 Old 10-15-2004, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,996
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally posted by TexGuy
Darn 'Stros bullpen is really killing us.

Our Darn bullpen wouldn't be killing us if Garner would leave in the hot pitchers like Wheeler instead of pinch hitting into outs and substituting them for guys like Qualls, Harville and Miceli. They're really not playoff material pitchers and it's a shame that Garner keeps relying on them to come through in such close games.

I mean, why not put Lidge in the game in the eighth inning where we needed him the most? What? The guy can't pitch more than one inning just because he's our closer? Please! He didn't even get to pitch because it never got a chance to go to the Cards in the 9th. Poor management lost the last two games.

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #85 of 6311 Old 10-15-2004, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nrmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sugar Land, Tx
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank You URSA i will check the HTPC area and see what i can come up with, just licking my chops waiting for my card to get here on monday to see how good i can get local HDTV, and DVD woooohoooo. go Cards
Nrmf is offline  
post #86 of 6311 Old 10-15-2004, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Motion for Nrmf to be banned from this discussion thread for the remainder of the 'Stros romp to the World Series. All those in favor?
Ursa is offline  
post #87 of 6311 Old 10-15-2004, 10:17 AM
wjg
Advanced Member
 
wjg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Spring, Texas
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AYE !!!!!!!!!
wjg is offline  
post #88 of 6311 Old 10-15-2004, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
elspankdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ban user, delete post!
elspankdog is offline  
post #89 of 6311 Old 10-15-2004, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chet - Phil Garner did not decide to strand 13 runners in scoring position. I think Miceli has got to go, but Munro just doesn't have the power to let him "work through" too many jams when his control looks like its going (it was wet and all - that wreaks havoc on your grip if the ball gets too wet...).

Nrmf - you're welcome on the advice, btw. Let's just keep that other little unfortunate side of your personality to yourself, now, okay?

Later,
Bill
Ursa is offline  
post #90 of 6311 Old 10-15-2004, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nrmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sugar Land, Tx
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cards 2
Stros 0

looks like the killer bees have turned to killer flees.
Nrmf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off