Columbia, MO - HDTV - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1186 Old 03-11-2005, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
mec6762's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montgomery City, MO
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed that I'm now receiving KOMU Channel 8-02. Looks like it's a simulcast of 8-01. Does anyone know if this will be for their WB channel or will it continue to be a simulcast of 8-01?
mec6762 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1186 Old 03-13-2005, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
cummings66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moberly, MO
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried over a couple days to see if I get 8.2 and I just don't. Are you still getting it?

For the WB question, I could speculate based on logic that yes it will be the WB channel because what purpose could a simucast of 8.1 serve? It just costs them money to run a second transmitter and there is no point in tossing money out the window. I could see them testing it with 8.1 because it's working and maybe they don't have wb setup yet.
cummings66 is offline  
post #63 of 1186 Old 03-13-2005, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
mec6762's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montgomery City, MO
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I'm still getting it. Pretty strange why I would have it and you don't.
mec6762 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 1186 Old 03-13-2005, 03:13 PM
Member
 
phergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Columbia, Missouri USA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting it too. Still just KOMU. Hope it changes to KJWB.
phergy is offline  
post #65 of 1186 Old 03-13-2005, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
cummings66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moberly, MO
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It might be real low power right now. I'm 35 - 40 miles away from them, though I do get 8.1 at 100% right now.
cummings66 is offline  
post #66 of 1186 Old 03-13-2005, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
mec6762's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montgomery City, MO
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm 45-50 miles to the east of the station and I'm getting both 8.1 and 8.2 at 90%. I just sent an e-mail to the General Manager at KOMU to find out about this.
mec6762 is offline  
post #67 of 1186 Old 03-14-2005, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
cummings66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moberly, MO
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get it now. I manually edited the list of channels instead of autoprogramming and it's there at 100%. I'm not sure why it doesn't pick it up on auto, it does all the others. As you say, it's a clone of 8.1 so far. I hope it's going to be their other channel.
cummings66 is offline  
post #68 of 1186 Old 03-14-2005, 12:47 PM
Member
 
phergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Columbia, Missouri USA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I emailed KOMU this morning, and this is the reply I got. Oh well...

Quote:


Scott..

Thanks for contacting KOMU regarding our digital transmission. We are in the process of testing new equipment for possible future upgrades and multicasting. There are no plans at this time to add WB5 to KOMU's digital transmission. The model provided by the WB Network does not allow us to add this service to our digital signal.

We appreciate you watching and welcome additional comments to improve our product.


Matt Garrett
Director of Audience Development
KOMU-TV8/DT8 WB5

phergy is offline  
post #69 of 1186 Old 03-15-2005, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
bugman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Jefferson City, MO, USA
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I checked last night and I'm getting 8-2 also, even though it's a simulcast of 8-1, as was mentioned.

Has anyone noticed any additional problems with 12-1? I haven't watched HD in a while, so while I was looking for 8-2, I wanted to see if the KRCG situation had improved any. When I switch to 12-1 using my MDP-100, I get around a 50% signal (about normal for me) and my receiver switches to PCM. All of the other channels are fine.

Is KRCG's digital feed still operational or are they having continued problems like KMIZ?

"Can I refill your eggnog, Eddie? Drive you out to the middle of nowhere and leave you for dead?"

Greg Jones
My Former Theater...The Escape
My DVD Collection
bugman72 is offline  
post #70 of 1186 Old 03-15-2005, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
cummings66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moberly, MO
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still fine for me at 81%. What problems are you having that you wonder if they're still having problems? The audio glitching is still there sometimes as are the other problems like lines that streak through it during the SD programming.

When I say fine, I mean they're as good as they ever were, not that they're the best with no room for improvement. The only station we have that seems to be pretty solid is PBS, and it's not perfect.
cummings66 is offline  
post #71 of 1186 Old 03-18-2005, 03:12 PM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if we will get any of the NCAA Tournament in HD from KRCG?
salokin is offline  
post #72 of 1186 Old 03-18-2005, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
cummings66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moberly, MO
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
titantv says no.

http://www.titantv.com/
cummings66 is offline  
post #73 of 1186 Old 03-18-2005, 08:45 PM
Newbie
 
jzzhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am located near Jefferson City. I get HD Channels 12, 15, 22, and 36.
They range in signal strength from 75 to 95% with a rooftop antenna, radio shacks biggest, with an RS amplifier. This feeds a MyHd120. My question is about PSIP. The only station to get it right lately is KOMU. KRCG had it right about a month ago, but they have lost it. Does anyone know if these stations are even working on EPG?
jzzhn is offline  
post #74 of 1186 Old 03-19-2005, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
cummings66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Moberly, MO
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They say so, but to be frank I'm not so sure. I thought by law they had to do it, no choice in the matter.

In any event I see the same thing you do.
cummings66 is offline  
post #75 of 1186 Old 03-21-2005, 08:12 AM
Member
 
phergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Columbia, Missouri USA
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by salokin
Does anyone know if we will get any of the NCAA Tournament in HD from KRCG?

I know that at least 2 of the games on Saturday were in broadcast in HD. Only certain sites had HD cameras.

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=509515

According to that thread, the rest of the game should be HD.
phergy is offline  
post #76 of 1186 Old 03-22-2005, 09:06 PM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by phergy
I know that at least 2 of the games on Saturday were in broadcast in HD. Only certain sites had HD cameras.



According to that thread, the rest of the game should be HD.


Thanks. I saw the thread, but was a little worried when I didn't see any HD Thursday or Friday.

I watched the Texas Tech game in HD. I thought it looked pretty good. It was the first HD program I've seen over the air since I got my new OTA tuner.
salokin is offline  
post #77 of 1186 Old 04-07-2005, 08:08 PM
Member
 
comojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hbo hd is now on medicaom. channel 780
comojoe is offline  
post #78 of 1186 Old 04-09-2005, 11:21 AM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by comojoe
hbo hd is now on medicaom. channel 780


Excellent. Deadwood in HD.
salokin is offline  
post #79 of 1186 Old 05-17-2005, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
mec6762's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montgomery City, MO
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been having problems with KOMU Channel 8 (36) losing signal strength? This has been happening the past couple of days for me. IT'll show a strength of 90, then drop to 49, then a few seconds later, back up to 90.
mec6762 is offline  
post #80 of 1186 Old 05-18-2005, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
bugman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Jefferson City, MO, USA
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I haven't had as many problems with KOMU as I've had with KMIZ. Man, I wish they would get their stuff straight up there. I was wanting to watch Discovery's Science of Star Wars last night, but I don't have a satellite feed in the theater. My wife is obsessed with American Idol, which came on at the same time. She was going to watch it in the theater, but the feed kept dropping. Haven't had any problems before...until last night, of course.

Is KMIZ EVER going to get everything right so we can watch ABC programming in HD again?

"Can I refill your eggnog, Eddie? Drive you out to the middle of nowhere and leave you for dead?"

Greg Jones
My Former Theater...The Escape
My DVD Collection
bugman72 is offline  
post #81 of 1186 Old 05-23-2005, 01:22 PM
Member
 
blue trombonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC IS in high definition. I just watched it last night. It's also the only channel in this area that actually has Dolby Digital 5.1 audio. I watched the 2 hour Alias last wednesday and it was in high def with 5.1 audio. I'm pretty sure that all of their prime time stuff that is available in high def is being broadcast. It's in 720P, so you have to have a display that is able to show that resolution, but most displays do nowadays.
blue trombonium is offline  
post #82 of 1186 Old 05-23-2005, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
bugman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Jefferson City, MO, USA
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just must be missing all of the HD programming then. It seems that everytime I go downstairs to watch something or channel surf through the HD channels, KMIZ is never showing anything in HD during primetime.

At one time I was able to watch KMIZ in HD...heck I've even got the HD Test feed with the Shuttle launch and images of Times Square archived on my HD. My Panny AE-100 (man, I need to upgrade ) is able to reproduce the 720p signal from the MDP-100, so that's not the problem.

"Can I refill your eggnog, Eddie? Drive you out to the middle of nowhere and leave you for dead?"

Greg Jones
My Former Theater...The Escape
My DVD Collection
bugman72 is offline  
post #83 of 1186 Old 05-27-2005, 01:45 PM
Member
 
blue trombonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They have HD on almost every night from 7 to 10. Most saturdays they play movies in Hi Def too. On monday they will be showing the NBA playoffs in HD too. Just go to the titantv website and put in your zip code and they can tell you the programming for the area and whether or not it is HD.
blue trombonium is offline  
post #84 of 1186 Old 05-29-2005, 04:54 PM
Member
 
comojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know where I can get some theatre chairs in the columbia area?
comojoe is offline  
post #85 of 1186 Old 05-29-2005, 10:10 PM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if there are plans for FOX in HD in mid-Mo?
salokin is offline  
post #86 of 1186 Old 05-31-2005, 11:43 AM
Member
 
blue trombonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think they can do fox in HD because it is still a low power tv station. Read what Inundated says about this on page one of this thread. There is a possibility that they could provide Fox HD to mediacom like they are doing with ABC, but they have to have the capability to receive the HD signal FR0M Fox.
blue trombonium is offline  
post #87 of 1186 Old 06-28-2005, 03:54 PM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ESPN2HD now on Mediacom in Jefferson City. Channel 731
.
salokin is offline  
post #88 of 1186 Old 07-18-2005, 03:40 PM
Member
 
VideoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Could someone please check the OTA guide info for 17-KMIZ.
Just wanted to see if its coming thru.

Thanks
VideoTech is offline  
post #89 of 1186 Old 07-19-2005, 12:44 PM
Member
 
blue trombonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone having problems getting 13.1? I haven't been able to tune it in for the last few weeks. Thanks.
blue trombonium is offline  
post #90 of 1186 Old 07-19-2005, 06:44 PM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting the guide on all channels except for pbs.
salokin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off