Columbia, MO - HDTV - Page 38 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1187 Old 12-14-2009, 12:45 PM
Member
 
tom25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, DWRats_56 - I appreciate the response. Good to know it's not just me. I haven't checked my other receivers either (like you, it's happening on my HR20).

Someone I work with is seeing the problem too. Hopefully KOMU and DTV are aware and working on it....
tom25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1187 Old 01-11-2010, 09:54 PM
 
TV Fringe Viewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The NAB commercial part of this is airing on serveral local channels in my area!



This commercial in not just for the places mentioned!! This video is for the whole USA!!!!

Contract your local senators and congress and express how important OTA is to you!!!!

FCC contract is for all of the USA!
____________________________________________________________ _____
Local TV Reception and Dxing from Thayer, MO and The OZARKS
Everybody can view my blog that wants to!!! Check out my polls and please VOTE if you like!
TV Fringe Viewer is offline  
post #1113 of 1187 Old 03-28-2010, 03:33 PM
Newbie
 
Amos_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KrbkTv.com is up!
Amos_B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1114 of 1187 Old 03-29-2010, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Johnnynf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if anyone in CoMo had tried the CenturyLink Advanced TV? We were thinking about switching from Dish Network to the CenturyLink. I have several questions about it, so if anyone out there has it, I would like to pick your brain for awhile!

Thanks!
Johnnynf is offline  
post #1115 of 1187 Old 03-31-2010, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
PWSHER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Charles, MO
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI Folks, My daughter is moving just outside Columbia and will have Charter cable. Is there a link or can someone give me the lowdown, on FSMidwest availability, types of cable boxes (do they have Moxi boxes here?), # of HD channels? Thanks.
Wayne
PWSHER is offline  
post #1116 of 1187 Old 05-30-2010, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Ionosphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So a while back, I myself contacted KMIZ's engineering staff to ask them about their plans for a power increase. The response I basically got back is that they have two years left to maximize their power to 1000kW if they want, but they have no plans to--they were satisfied with their current coverage at 124kW.

KMIZ would be exciting to have at 1000kW, but for the signal to go what looks like only 10 miles further, is an 8 times increase in the power bill worth it?

Stand Up Against the Spectrum Grab!
Save Free Antenna TV: Facebook Page
Ionosphere is offline  
post #1117 of 1187 Old 07-13-2010, 09:18 PM
Member
 
bookem dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone know if mediacom will do any more HD via QAM so you don't need a box to get them?
bookem dano is offline  
post #1118 of 1187 Old 07-16-2010, 05:07 AM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know about HD, but I just did a scan and their are a lot of digital SD channels now that used to require a cable box.

I have a feeling that these might go away after the finish updating their channel lineup.
salokin is offline  
post #1119 of 1187 Old 08-29-2010, 10:52 PM
Member
 
bookem dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any experience with Mediacom and cablecard?

I'm wondering if the new moxi boxes work well with it.
bookem dano is offline  
post #1120 of 1187 Old 08-31-2010, 05:33 PM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a Mediacom cable card in a tivohd. I haven't had any problems with it. It does everything except for on demand video.
salokin is offline  
post #1121 of 1187 Old 09-07-2010, 01:00 AM
Member
 
bookem dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it a multistream card where you can record and watch multiple things?

I've been contemplating putting together my own dvr(already have built one, but no digital cable card capability...yet) but the moxi boxes seem to have just about everything I needed and they don't charge a yearly service fee. Their new stuff can do 3 channels at once, was trying to find out if mediacom supports that feature.
http://moxi.com/us/moxi_dvr.html
bookem dano is offline  
post #1122 of 1187 Old 09-07-2010, 07:44 PM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is a multistream card. The TiVo only supports two streams, so I know the multistream card will handle that. Not sure about three.
salokin is offline  
post #1123 of 1187 Old 11-06-2010, 07:35 PM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've complained about the quality of KMIZ's HD signal a lot. Ive got to say, the picture quality of the Mizzou game is really good tonight.
salokin is offline  
post #1124 of 1187 Old 11-15-2010, 08:56 PM
Member
 
PhilAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by salokin View Post

I've complained about the quality of KMIZ's HD signal a lot. Ive got to say, the picture quality of the Mizzou game is really good tonight.

Yeah, I've complained too. I watched the replay of the 7pm game on ABC on ESPNU HD and it looked to be of similar quality.
PhilAce is offline  
post #1125 of 1187 Old 11-17-2010, 07:44 PM
Member
 
bookem dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a stupid question.

How is it legal for a company like Mediacom/Dish/DirectTV to advertise that they carry a channel but then not carry the full channel's offerings?

I know there's a lot of 'crud' about different packages sold to those companies, but consumers base their decisions on the advertised channels under the assumption of a full package deal.
bookem dano is offline  
post #1126 of 1187 Old 11-18-2010, 10:46 AM
 
mgsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What Channel are you talking about?
mgsports is offline  
post #1127 of 1187 Old 11-28-2010, 06:33 PM
Member
 
bookem dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
talking about FoxSportsMidwest.
bookem dano is offline  
post #1128 of 1187 Old 01-05-2011, 09:58 PM
Member
 
bookem dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone know how long mediacom and komu are going to hose their 'customers'?
bookem dano is offline  
post #1129 of 1187 Old 01-06-2011, 01:15 AM
Member
 
salokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know, but if it goes to Saturday and we can't see the playoff games on Mediacom, it might be enough to finally push me to satellite.
salokin is offline  
post #1130 of 1187 Old 01-23-2011, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
electronox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if KQFX (local Fox) comes in over Mediacom ClearQAM?
electronox is offline  
post #1131 of 1187 Old 01-27-2011, 09:45 PM
Member
 
bookem dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
21.1 is fox
other local channels
89.x
90.x

listed earlier in this forum I believe
bookem dano is offline  
post #1132 of 1187 Old 01-29-2011, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
electronox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if they had changed from what was posted earlier.

I get the other clearQAM channels but not Fox. I guess there's a filter on my (internet-only) line blocking 21.1
electronox is offline  
post #1133 of 1187 Old 01-30-2011, 10:47 PM
Member
 
bookem dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you just get the internet, they charge you a $15 surcharge...broadcast basic is $24.95....
bookem dano is offline  
post #1134 of 1187 Old 03-05-2011, 11:09 AM
Member
 
tom25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow. Biggest game of the year and 13 is having major issues.
tom25 is offline  
post #1135 of 1187 Old 03-05-2011, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Mizzou!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This looks like a sun transit fade.....
Mizzou! is offline  
post #1136 of 1187 Old 03-09-2011, 12:47 PM
Member
 
PhilAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It sucks that we only get the Big 12 Tournament in SD, when it is actually shot in HD.
PhilAce is offline  
post #1137 of 1187 Old 03-09-2011, 03:12 PM
 
mgsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What Channel in Columbia is carring it?
mgsports is offline  
post #1138 of 1187 Old 03-10-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
PhilAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgsports View Post

What Channel in Columbia is carring it?

My ZOU 17.3
PhilAce is offline  
post #1139 of 1187 Old 07-12-2011, 04:50 PM
Member
 
dwrats_56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anybody noticed that channel 17 and 22 don't have to go SD for weather graphics and recorded HD shows?
dwrats_56 is offline  
post #1140 of 1187 Old 07-12-2011, 08:02 PM
Member
 
PhilAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah they updated the station a few weeks ago. BTW, they will start doing HD news this fall.
PhilAce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off