Charlotte, NC - OTA - Page 140 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 373Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4171 of 12182 Old 12-24-2011, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post

I wish there were more GOOD weather subchannels; it can't be hard, costly, or bandwidth hogging. .

It's not..however it generates no revenue..which Me,This,or Antenna Tv do.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4172 of 12182 Old 12-24-2011, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndThenScottSays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post

WNCN 17.3 from Raleigh has been gone for a few months... sad.

That may come back. Universal Sports is disappearing from broadcast channels and going cable-only on January 1st.
AndThenScottSays is offline  
post #4173 of 12182 Old 12-25-2011, 07:32 AM
Member
 
stevohdftmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fort Mill SC (35.000754, -80.912150)
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post


Accuweather still runs on 9.2 with local cut-ins. Not sure about 9.8. Currently the only CLT weather subchannel remaining. In GSP, only WHNS 21.2 has radar and Natl Weather Service audio.

WOLO in Columbia still has weather sub with NWS audio.
stevohdftmill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4174 of 12182 Old 12-27-2011, 08:15 PM
Member
 
bill875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There was a nice rainbow tonight after the rains swept through... Here are some smartphone pics taken of the WHKY-TV Tower in Hickory tonight, just thought I'd share:

(Sorry for the not-so-great quality... these were taken with my HTC EVO 4G phone)



The tower sure would look nice with a fresh paint job.
bill875 is offline  
post #4175 of 12182 Old 12-27-2011, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,449
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1405 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Those are nice!

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #4176 of 12182 Old 12-28-2011, 03:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Awesome pics Bill! Thanks

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4177 of 12182 Old 12-29-2011, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
iam4thapack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Morganton, NC
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill875 View Post

The tower sure would look nice with a fresh paint job.

I agree but Mr. Long and others have long since found that putting white strobes on a tower for daytime FAA/FCC compliance is much cheaper in the long run than painting. I know painting a tower sure helps with inhibiting corrosion but it costs a bunch and must be done over and over again. I have only changed two strobe bulbs in 3 years at a few of my tower sites. Both of those were red night time strobes not daytime. Now fixed lighting/incandescent bulbs that do not blink/strobe those are a different story. When they say they have a lifetime of 8000 hours they mean it!
iam4thapack is offline  
post #4178 of 12182 Old 12-30-2011, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Theo1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 55
9.8 WSOC-WX has been removed from the China Grove translator....

Ted Hand, CPBE. 8VSB, DRB, AMD
Fellow - Society of Broadcast Engineers
I was there on July 23, 1996...First DTV broadcast in the US..WRAL-HD
Amateur Radio - W9SOC
Theo1080 is offline  
post #4179 of 12182 Old 12-30-2011, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
W4DXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post

I wish there were more GOOD weather subchannels; it can't be hard, costly, or bandwidth hogging. WFMY's is a joke. I can't get the Charlotte channels here in Burlington, and WNCN 17.3 from Raleigh has been gone for a few months... sad.

Does anyone watch 36.2? What a waste of bandwidth. They used to have a good weather channel. I'm glad we have Me-TV and Antenna TV.

What's the latest on WHKY's Charlotte signal. Maybe I need to go back and see if that's already been answered.
W4DXL is offline  
post #4180 of 12182 Old 12-30-2011, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,424
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Most NBC stations have dropped WeatherPlus, but I do agree that 36.2 should try to come up with something more entertaining than Living Well network. As far as subchannels, I mainly watch Antenna TV on 46.2 and Me TV on 7.2. Sometimes ThisTV on 3.2 or 4.2. Never watch 36.2.
tylerSC is online now  
post #4181 of 12182 Old 12-30-2011, 09:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
evan237's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mocksville, NC
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

Most NBC stations have dropped WeatherPlus, but I do agree that 36.2 should try to come up with something more entertaining than Living Well network. As far as subchannels, I mainly watch Antenna TV on 46.2 and Me TV on 7.2. Sometimes ThisTV on 3.2 or 4.2. Never watch 36.2.

I agree. The Living Well network is boring; and I never tune into 36.2. There are definitely better options that WCNC could consider.
evan237 is online now  
post #4182 of 12182 Old 12-30-2011, 10:08 PM
 
Country_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I guess I am in the minority here then. I like some of the stuff on 36.2.
Country_Boy is offline  
post #4183 of 12182 Old 12-31-2011, 09:21 AM
mjh
Member
 
mjh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Country_Boy View Post

I guess I am in the minority here then. I like some of the stuff on 36.2.

Well we may be a minority, but you're not alone. I like some stuff on LWN, too. Mostly the cooking shows.
mjh is offline  
post #4184 of 12182 Old 12-31-2011, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 33
<--- will admit to watching LWN a few times. Are all of the affiliates HD like WTVD 11-2?
ejb1980 is offline  
post #4185 of 12182 Old 12-31-2011, 10:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 16,449
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1405 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
No.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #4186 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I notice last night that WBTV channel 3 in Charlotte have switch Bouncetv with This Tv on channel 3.2 and move This TV to 3.3 and the video for This TV on 3.3 wasn't stable
LMckin is offline  
post #4187 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 6,424
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1182 Post(s)
Liked: 224
They have apparently switched but they have not corrected the program info to correspond with the change.
tylerSC is online now  
post #4188 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 04:13 PM
Member
 
bill875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
WBTV's First Night Charlotte was in HD for the first time which they proudly announced at the beginning of the program. They utilized "Raycom's High Definition Satellite Truck" to deliver the event. I hope this is a sign of things to come for WBTV's live event coverage. Sadly, I can't help but think that the equipment was available simply because it wasn't needed for a sporting event

Maureen O'Boyle and Paul Cameron:



Raycom's HD Satellite Truck:

Images captured with my Slingbox Pro-HD and Windows Built-in Screen Capture
bill875 is offline  
post #4189 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill875 View Post

. I hope this is a sign of things to come for Charlotte.

FOX Charlotte's (WCCB"s) Live Shots have been in HD for almost 24 months now..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4190 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
mcy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

They have apparently switched but they have not corrected the program info to correspond with the change.

I do hope they change the info but WBTV doesn't seem to have any luck with doing that, at least on their first two subchannels. Back when they had an SD simulcast of the main channel on 3.2, they tried changing the name of 3.1 to WBTV-HD several times. Also, since they added This TV to 3.2, they've tried to change the name of it to THIS TV several times. In both cases, the changes never lasted any longer than a day or so before they reverted to the previous names. I'm honestly surprised they were able to label 3.3 as Bounce!
mcy919 is offline  
post #4191 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcy919 View Post

I do hope they change the info but WBTV doesn't seem to have any luck with doing that,

Truth be known... It's not a simple as one would think....

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4192 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 04:47 PM
Member
 
bill875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

FOX Charlotte's (WCCB"s) Live Shots have been in HD for almost 24 months now..

Excellent point... editing post to say WBTV. Does WCCB have the ability to do live HD shots from as far away as Hickory? If so, I'm curious as to how that is accomplished if you wouldn't mind explaining it.
bill875 is offline  
post #4193 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill875 View Post

Does WCCB have the ability to do live HD shots from as far away as Hickory? If so, I'm curious as to how that is accomplished if you wouldn't mind explaining it.

Sure Bill..We can only do HD live shots to be exact..(as all of our cameras are HD..no SD's)..from anywhere in the area that the HD live trucks have line of sight to our HD receive site in downtown Charlotte and our HD tower out in East Charlotte (beside WSOC's tower). The exception is from BOFA Stadium, TWC Arena, and the Speedway which are shot in HD and transported via fiber in SD 16:9 Widescreen. This is due to Time Warner "TELECOM" (not cable)..being unwilling to upgrade the fiber feeds we lease from them to carry HD. (We can also do special live shots in HD from Columbia for WOLO which originates from WCCB). There is a LOT of additional equipment required to do HD live shots than just a camera..trucks..editing..encoding..microwaves..decoders..etc ..as well as operational considerations.

Best place to see "good" live HD that's not just a talking head? Mornings on FOX News Rising with Jon Wilson. :>)

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4194 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 05:37 PM
Member
 
bill875's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Bob, thank you very much for the information.
bill875 is offline  
post #4195 of 12182 Old 01-02-2012, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Bob, your sat truck do HD?

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #4196 of 12182 Old 01-03-2012, 02:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackcat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcy919 View Post

I do hope they change the info but WBTV doesn't seem to have any luck with doing that, at least on their first two subchannels. Back when they had an SD simulcast of the main channel on 3.2, they tried changing the name of 3.1 to WBTV-HD several times. Also, since they added This TV to 3.2, they've tried to change the name of it to THIS TV several times. In both cases, the changes never lasted any longer than a day or so before they reverted to the previous names. I'm honestly surprised they were able to label 3.3 as Bounce!

Seems to me that 46/55 does the best job of this along with excellent picture quality on their channels. They were real quick to fix a problem with their guide info. being incorrect when they went on air with antenna TV too. Top notch outfit.
blackcat6 is offline  
post #4197 of 12182 Old 01-03-2012, 04:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

Bob, your sat truck do HD?

What Sat Truck?

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4198 of 12182 Old 01-03-2012, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

What Sat Truck?

Ours uplinks HD!

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
post #4199 of 12182 Old 01-03-2012, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,855
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

Ours uplinks HD!

We have uplink @ WOLO that can do HD if needed..and we also have the new handy dandy MPEG4 encoder and fiber link that feeds FNC NY full time.

No plans nor desire for a Sat Truck..nor Helicopter..I left them over at 'BTV..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #4200 of 12182 Old 01-03-2012, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

We have uplink @ WOLO that can do HD if needed..and we also have the new handy dandy MPEG4 encoder and fiber link that feeds FNC NY full time.

No plans nor desire for a Sat Truck..nor Helicopter..I left them over at 'BTV..

I saw the flag burning story in HD on FNC. Was wondering how you got it there in HD.

Our truck is a hybrid truck. We have old Bertha out back, but we only use it as a rolling billboard these days since it takes a CDL to drive it.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers. "Arguing with an engineer is like mud wrestling with a pig. After a couple of hours, you realize the pig likes it"
foxeng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off